Proton tops Dealer Attitude Survey

The National Franchised Dealers Association has published the results of the latest Dealer Attitude Survey and Proton topped the charts.

Proton scored top in terms in the supply and demand area, and got second place out of 32 manufacturers in the technical support area. Proton’s technical support hotline for dealers had beat the likes of Jaguar and Mercedes.

In areas of technical training and parts availability, Proton was in the top ten manufacturers.

Proton sales in Norfolk are up 136% where the retail market in whole is down by 12%. Proton’s market share has inreased from 0.54% to 0.82%, and Proton aims for a 2% market share by the end of 2006.

Source: Protons Performance Hits A High In East Anglia, Top Results For Proton In Dealer Attitude Survey

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:44 am

the competiton there is fierce…..n only 0.82% market share….hahahahha….thats close to nothing la….this is what will happen if the open up the narket i guess….

n with that amount of sales sure they can take care of customer well…..n besides those foreigners better wrking attidude…

but surprisingly i hope they can improve la…bukan jaguh penipu kampung aje…

• deutsche volks on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:06 am

hei come on…even 0.1% counts in bissnes world…its not pisang goreng theyr sellin,..so maybe it worth millions rm…

• many stocks are ready to be delivered :) that`s Proton`s advantage

• e-Nabill on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:54 am

proton had a a comprehensive dealer restructuring actually in the uk few yrs bck..thats y thy are always do very wel in dealer n customer satisfaction…i tink wen thy want to do sting rite,thy can really do it,even in australia thy do wel in thse surveys,bt locally thy dont concentrate much on that….bt now thy have to,anyway , kudos to proton….if thy can do it in uk,wer every single manufacturer sel cars thr,means thy can do it rite anywer

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 7:11 am

yeah…maybe im wrong…..even though their quality kinda sucks….but they improving tremendously….as seen in savvy….simple yet effective….

their engineering quality is good….but the quality in car is the killing part….

i do wish to c them doin well soon….n the opening of our market…..all the best to them….

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 7:23 am

guys have u all seen the new gen2 centinial 1.6? the inside cun giler…..the dashobaord ahve darker tones…full leather seats…n even side door leather insert….ver very nice

• blackhead on Oct 10, 2005 at 7:56 am

i heard from FM proton's share grow because of VW, many ppl thinking if VW's plan may success?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:44 am

macspeed : 'their engineering quality is good….but the quality in car is the killing part….' – Oh yess , I agree with that.

But the Savvy have proven me wrong. I guess , anyone seen a Savvy break down yet? – If no , then I am wrong and Proton are gradually improving. But Gen 2 remains a cursed model. Even with the Hi-line Gen2 , it fails to impress (impress me.)

• before i spend 50,000 on their shiat, they better impress me good

• narrowband on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:06 am

I just saw a souped-up Savvy today, and I hate to say this but, it looked damn blardy good.

• cyborgx on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:52 am

"Proton scored top in terms in the supply and demand area, and got second place out of 32 manufacturers in the technical support area. Proton’s technical support hotline for dealers had beat the likes of Jaguar and Mercedes.

In areas of technical training and parts availability, Proton was in the top ten manufacturers."

fyi,the article has NOTHING to do with Proton Malaysia.Read! its just on East Anglia.Their good customer service in East Anglia has NOTHING to do with Proton Malaysia.Aww.. disappointment to protong supporters.

• biothing on Oct 10, 2005 at 11:09 am

I am just waiting for Proton to buy the hybrid technology from Toyota, then put it in whatever car they have; PerSona, PerWira, PeerDana(harta), PerWaja, Jentut, Sawi, have I missed any yet –ooh Iswara, Satria, andTiara, and save petrol, save the environment.. u know waht I mean!!. forget RND to make hybrid, waste of money… in biotech mayme MAKE technology, in automobile, BUY it, time not on our side.

we want nybrid!! even Proton sawi hybrid

• Streamyx User on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:22 pm

I think Proton is improving since new savvy, New management i guess. Or scared to P2.

• Wilfred on Oct 10, 2005 at 4:58 pm

but then…..when the NAP can be stopped?????

i hate the tax….

• aksMs on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:12 pm

Only now P1 (forced to) realize that the rakyat no longer stupid and very much aware that the Anglos and overseas P1 owners gets better built and quality cars. And better after sales service too!

And now P1 terkial-kial to win back the hearts of so many frustated and hurtfull old costumer (the new one too!). Well, they better do one hell of a great job. They better be. They must be. Impress us!

P.s; Well, at least they slowly got me attracted to Sawi. Damn….

• Handsfree on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:50 pm

bring these set of working procedure back to Malaysia….

hopefully the local dealers are at the same mind set too….

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:00 pm

I think Proton Malaysia service is improving too as i experience it.

1. my waja never gave me any problem.

2. some of waja sprot rims recalled. they came to my house with a letter from proton to my house and check the rim for me. this is two months back.

3. last day go to service my car (20k), their service is very good n friendly. This guy named joey even send me to my house while they service my car. Proton actually allow to send to ikea/tesco only. And this Joey also politely ask me, "Can i send u using Savvy? The other car out already". Heheh… Savvy is nice. i wonder why it receive so many critics.

one thing i wonder though, when i asked the package for 20k, that guy said, sini pakai mineral saja. semi syntethic tak ade. fully pun x ade. WTH, but they checked again and there is fully syntethic. i happily received my BBQ set later :-)

kudos to them.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:49 pm

check this out…

In February 2005, the opening of Norwich Proton, managed by Coredale Limited, gave Proton a place in the history books as the only car manufacturer in the UK to have a fully operational showroom at a football ground.

hmm….why don't they suppor our local football team huh???

looks weird….

• Jason on Oct 10, 2005 at 11:24 pm

Well, congrats Proton!

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 1:57 am

Great Wall Of China: Proton do supprt la. Got their own football team playing in Piala Presiden or Liga FAM. I'm not sure which…

Wait and see lah, if Proton FA can succeed like MPPJ or MK Land.

• HANG JEBAT on Oct 13, 2005 at 6:33 pm

hmm hope someday Proton can be one of the top car manufacturer… same as Jap's car if not Euro's one…

• see fat on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:30 pm

pigilah, sikikt sikit sudah mau action….service and support kasi first class utk customer olang putih tapi utk rakyat malaysia sindili, macam sampah