New Honda City facelift launch

The new Honda City was unveiled today (11/10/2005) after a marketing campaign to build up hype for it for the past month or so. This new facelift is known as the Honda City ZX in Thailand.

Here I will list some key differences between the new Honda City and the old Honda City here in Malaysia.

For the exterior, the front bonnet has been raised by 30mm to reduce the unbalanced appearance of a short bulging front. There is a new front grille and the bonnet now has stronger design lines to it, with a less bulging curve. The rear brake light clusters have also been updated to a new design, with some parts of the light extending onto the boot lid itself instead of just flanking the boot lid.

The sports rims design has also been updated. The new rims have the same design, but are 6-spoke for the i-DSI model and 7-spoke for the VTEC model. The redesigned front bumper now has fog lamps, which were missing on the old City and had to be added by 3rd party usually.

Once you get into the cabin, you will immediately notice the new meter panel which are self-illuminated like Toyota’s Optitron meters. The gear indicator has also been moved to the left-most meter instead of the previous right position. Logical, as now you can see which gear you are in when you are manual mode, and keep your eye on the RPM easily.

The VTEC model doesn’t have Ultra Seats anymore, but the new standard seats have storage compartments under the seat. I assume this is a measure to save costs after surveys have shown the VTEC model buyers don’t really have much regards for the Ultra Seat. This translates to a lower price hike for the VTEC model which you will find at the end of this article.

The i-DSI and VTEC engines are still the same, but the CVT gearbox gets some reprogramming to offer a sportier driving experience. Same goes to the suspension tuning. All this ‘sportiness’ is to attract young buyers, which Honda hopes forms the bulk of Honda City owners.

Just for a quick recap, the i-DSI 1.5 engine is a SOHC 8 valve unit with dual spark ignition and makes 88hp at 5500rpm and 120Nm torque at a low 2700rpm. That sounds so diesel-like.

The VTEC 1.5 engine is a SOHC 12/16 valve unit. The engine works on 12 valve mode at low speeds and once VTEC is engaged it switched to 16 valve mode. It makes 110ps at 5800rpm and the 143Nm torque at 4800rpm.

There are also two new colours, Satellite Silver Metallic and Habanero Red Pearl. Other colours include Artic Blue Pearl, Alabaster Silver Metallic and Nighthawk Black Pearl.

How much will it hurt your wallet? For Peninsular Malaysia, the new Honda City facelift i-DSI model costs you RM84,300.00 including insurance which is RM2,341.00. The new Honda City facelift VTEC model costs you RM89,300.00 including a RM2,471.50 insurance premium. This is a price increase of 2.9% for the i-DSI model and 2.7% for the VTEC model. For other region prices, check out Honda’s new Honda City page here.

For more pictures of the Honda City, please visit these previous blog posts.

New Honda City Facelift in Malaysia
Honda City Facelift (City ZX Thailand)

Honda holds 7.1% share of the Malaysian automobile market. It sold 23,000 cars last year and estimates sales of 25,000 cars this year. It hopes to increase sales to 27,000 cars in 2006 and hopes the new Honda City will spearhead this sales increase. The Honda City currently accounts for 47% of total Honda sales in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:27 am

hmm..impressive…

fuel economy…..better front grille and bonnet design….

anyway..will it be a CKD or CBU in Malaysia???

• MutantTomato on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:43 am

Even though I am a Toyota diehard, I must say this car looks pretty good! Well, at least much better looking than its "flowerhorn" big brother, the present Honda City.

I think they should have used a different font for the speedometer and RPM meter though… It looks too much like what you'd see in Speed Racer's car or some other kind of anime! :P In other words, the font is too cartoony for my liking. This is my humble, humble opinion though.

The aerial is also quite "out" la. It is centre mounted, above the windscreen but they still use the "ol' skool" type of aerial? Use something a little less tacky la!

I like the under seat storage compartments though. Granted, it is of no use to the driver, i.e. you still have to stop, go to the back and remove stuff. But it sure beats just leaving things on your backseat la!

The interior looks even more spacious now. One thing where the VIOS sorely lacks in… :(

Power wise however?

Honda:

VTEC IDSI

110hp at 5800rpm 88hp at 5500rpm,

143Nm torque at 4800rpm 120Nm torque at 2700rpm

Toyota VIOS (from www.vios.com.my):
    109 hp at 6,000rpm

142nm at 4,200rpm

Price: VTEC = RM89,300.00

IDSI = RM 84,300.00

VIOS E = RM85,439.74

VIOS G = RM87,382.14

nb: all prices are inclusive of insuarance.

So, if you were a person looking to buy a new car and was not biased to either brand, which would you choose? There isn't a BIG difference in power output when comparing the VTEC and VIOS E/G. However, the price difference is approx 4K cheaper for the E spec and 2K cheaper for the G spec.

Maybe my comparison is flawed. I'd love to hear some constructive criticism. :D

• MutantTomato on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:50 am

Cheh! Mistake!! The price of the VIOS E is RM 79,481.18 and the G is RM87,382.14. So, there is quite a bit of difference in pricing if you compare the E spec to the VTEC. Quite close to RM10K.

Of course no idea yet about the new VIOS facelift version pricing la… Paul, bro, any idea? :D

• I personally think there will be some power difference between the vios and Vtec city due to the transmission, CVT vs standard 4-speed autobox, which is pretty obvious. But personally i think vios is pretty cool and practical city car, for ppl who wants more control over their car, they should go for city

• aksMs on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:56 am

Honda immediately realize that a lot of their loyal customer are complaining about the rear-end design on the previous model. And they DID do something about it!

I am one of those people (not Honda loyalties but did fancy EG6) who think the rear-end is hideous. But now? Heh…they did some remarkable face lift I must say. And they removed the 'unwanted' item/accesories. Why? Because they LISTEN and they CARE. And ACT on it!

See where this thing going? LOL! Tau takpe! ;p 'THEY' should've known better!

• E-Nabill on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:59 am

lucky the interior is black color now,the biege is a a nightmare to maintain…

• deutsche volks on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:02 pm

vios interior..the meter cluster is still in the middle issit?..so it dont suits me..

• E-Nabill: City i-DSI is beige. Only VTEC is black.

• karheng on Oct 12, 2005 at 4:48 pm

HEhehe the city is flowerhorn/dugong no more…

it looks much smarter now…

anyway…what's the difference between PS and HP? Someone please clarify..sometimes power figures come in PS and sometimes in HP.

FACT: Did u know I first commented that the City looked like a flowerhorn when launched due to the flowerhorn craze? I did not know where it spread to but if someone termed it flowerhorn, then it's probable that it is spread thro word of mouth…;)

• PS is metric HP.

• Nameless on Oct 12, 2005 at 5:05 pm

Good car, Top Gear Will Rank it a good comment later on!

• ex-mivec on Oct 12, 2005 at 5:25 pm

much better than the 1st version CITY. Congrats Honda!

• paul, how does the 12 valves mode work? 2 exhaust 1 fuel each bank or 2 fuel, 1 exhaust?

• 1 intake 2 exhaust for the 12 valve mode. this is for greater intake velocity at lower rpm as the intake area is smaller.

• pycazu on Oct 12, 2005 at 5:53 pm

Really impressive improvement of the exterior design, especially front bonnet, but with the pricing.. humhum..

• looks better now atlease my mom no longer complain that it looks like her iron…

a good investment to look out if you opt for economic fuel consumption car…even with the vtec version. :D

• Yum……..!

• Michael Chua on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:22 pm

Looks like the outgoing Civic :)

• Jebon on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:57 pm

someone says bout TopGear comments. I shall say it will get burns by JC in an instant. the car was fishtailing, swirling like bunking bronco on the highway. stable only while the petrol tank shown full.

this car for me………. 3 out of 10 on overall.

performance wise….wosh 9 out of 10 in the category.

• dear MutantTomato

thanks for the price compare with the Vios. Seriously there is not realy a big different between the 2, so it will goes down to design.

My wife love the City because of the sporty look, I on the other hand like the Vois for the more gentlement look. I love the Vois centre meter, while my wife prefer to conventional layout. I like the CVT gears on the City compare to Vois standard 4 speed auto.

so, finally we decided NOT to buy. :) not now, but surely later (2 years time).

• proton crap on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:22 pm

very nice looking, but the engine not improvement.

toyota use DOHC, but City only SOHC

• icecool on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:25 pm

hmm… i have to say it looks better than the last city but unfortunately the new city still looks like an iron .. but good effort on the front and the back.. ..toyota vios definately looks better still.. :) …but this is just my opinion… :)

• deutsche volks on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:33 pm

PS is actually come from germans word…which is Pferde Starke…and it simply means in english=horse power.!HP

• travis on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:48 pm

sounds to me everytime a face lift is announced there will be a price hike as well, ouch!!!!

maybe later when the toyota vios is out the E will cost 80K++ while the G version may cost almost 90K++ Ouch!!!!

Still, i rather advise motorist that 80K is very worth investing for cars like vios and city rather than paying 60K++ on Potong junks! Else go for Myviloh, if u can tolerate its waiting list !

• Barry Ong on Oct 12, 2005 at 8:21 pm

looks nice but the price sucks….

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 12, 2005 at 8:34 pm

Buy Mitsubishi Grandis or COLT is a better choice now!! Go and check at the show room now!!……..Sorry I am not a Salesman lah!

• cbljkkj on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:22 pm

Kar Heng, I think the previoius Honda City looked like a "flowerhorn" so to speak due to the fact that it was based off the Jazz platform. If you look closely, the City resembles a Jazz with a sedan rear end. Hope this clarifies. My 2 cents.

• cbljkkj on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:33 pm

Does anybody realize that the rear if looked from the side angle resembles a BMW 5 series?? Thought it looked a little classy. This is a definite change from the old one. It h

as the front grill of the Civic 2.0 VTEC that I like coupled with a sleek body and a great interior to boot. The meter cluster is the same as the Honda Jazz's which I really like and found easy to read.

Did a little research, apparently the VTEC version is lighter than the I-DSI. The I-DSI does not have the valve switching function like the VTEC does. Just for your information.

Cool car, interesting design. Clever interior. Nice engine. Can hardly find anything wrong with it.

• napps on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:52 pm

it still looks like a girlie car to me….

• travis on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:04 pm

dog the wan,

my fren, the mitsubishi grandis and colt cost RM100K++, the colt is the most ridicilous priced car with RM120K++ in which u get a better car in the honda jazz for 10k less.

• Coldfusion on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:21 pm

Yesterday went to the showroom and look at the car…..it's totally meet my next new car's criterias!! The only things is no money…. :(

After all, it's a great car in all aspect for me :) Will put new City in my buying list and plan for it!

• karheng on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:36 pm

cbljkkj: the only reason why it seemed like one to me was because it looked a had a bulky front and small tail. And it did come out during the flower horn craze…so everytime i saw the car…reminded me of one. ;P..

I may sound insulting but even if a BMW is as ugly as how the previous city looked, i would have justified it with a callsign too. A handsome/pretty car is easily distinguishable and tugs at heartstrings right away

The City looks WAY better than it's predecessor and that only shows that Honda did realise that they had an ugly car in their production. Sure it sold quite a bit…but then these cars were only sold in Singapore and Malaysia. Don't know if Thailand has any but if they're selling this in Thailand, heck i think that Honda is surely more assured with this design. Kudos to the designers for recognizing that Honda is Honda and that trying to add a standalone boot to the Jazz (which looks fine btw) resulted in an ugly car.

I think this new city looks great because they've eliminated the need for a bulky front without really foregoing (the A pillar which is obvious in new designs) to having a spacious interior, plus the rear of the car looks much more spunky now.

Given the new City and the Vios, i'd choose the City hands down without looking and i'll go for the vtec version.

• epalhead on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:58 pm

i think MYvi can compete with this car..i mean the one without vtec.

88ps@5500. MYvi 87ps@6000rpm.

wat u all guys think……so honda…don look dwn on MYvi….

• honda8811 on Jun 29, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Please la… bro, technology is different, Myvi is the 90s tech abondoned by toyota/daihatsu, then sell in malaysia.

• i like the CVT and steermatic 7-speed sport transmission in the honda city..

feel like being in an F1 car~

ahaks no money……………..

• Gerhana on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:04 am

I think iam the only indonesian reader here, just fwi for information, if toyota did not sell their vios to taxi company here(they change the name to toyota limo, but it is a vios, so in jakarta now there are many vios as taxi, sort of like merecedes in germany which they use as taxi), i might think that it is better from shape of its body, but when you ride both, i think honda has more comfortable feelings in it, so my point goes to honda….

• City Lover on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:40 am

While i like the design very much, I am still sceptical of its CVVT. Can It last, and how expensive it is going to be when troubles hit the gear box?

please enlighten, thanks.

• zzjoe on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:49 am

I ordered this car, still in queue to get it.

I don't care what people says but I agree it look better than the old City.

My main reason is i-DSI gives better FC (can't afford the CIVIC HYBRID thou)

Face the fact, the petrol price will sure increase in near future.

…and I have nothing against VIOS, the competitor will make your choice a better product..

• sekot on Oct 13, 2005 at 2:08 am

Wait la…. dont buy city yet … tak nak tunggu vios face lift ke? dekat dah ni…..

• dear DOG THE WAN

check the car already, I say the car is great, BUT the price is shit.

sorry mit, but I am not other compatitor salesman, just a surfer. :D

• NISSAN …………. NISSAN

where is NISSAN……….?

why u guys talk about Honda and Toyota only………. NISSAN…..u forgetten him ??

anyone know of the facelift Sentra ??

Paul, why u one eye big one eye small,…. why no blog on NISSAN :D

• I don't have enough photos of the new Sunny (Sentra here), only have 1 front shot. like nothing much to blog about =/

wait until get more pics first.

• travis on Oct 13, 2005 at 3:02 am

Talking about nissan what i know is they going to release the Tilda, and it can seen in sgpore and china.

But i wonder when Tan Chong will release the tilda. The tilda is also 1.5CC car and expect to rival the city and vios.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 13, 2005 at 3:48 am

Edw arr!

Me too!! the price is SUCKs because it was SUCK by our G!!

Maybe until we all became AH PAK!! still dreaming and dreaming!!!!

Buy the toys RC carlah maybe is possible anytime!! :(

• I am a die hard honda loyalists.New city looks nice with the Civic grille.whatever it is ,the engine remains the same.Only cosmetic changes.reasonable pricing for a Honda.

• thatbottle on Oct 13, 2005 at 7:42 am

if i'm not mistaken, Honda will be tweaking its Civic, and then followed by its Accord…

After which, Accord will have a totally new face-lift

And each of these models will be larger than the previous.

Timeline : 1 1/2 yr – 2 yrs if i'm not wrong

• nekoof on Oct 13, 2005 at 7:52 am

dun get fooled by the 88 ponnies on iDSI version, even though City is SOHC while Vios is DOHC, power wise both car are almost the same. said it before, iDSI n VIOS play..iDSI could keep up tailgating Vios. VTEC version dunnit say la, can go more! heheh that only for high speed play. Nothing against Vios :)

• cbljkkj on Oct 13, 2005 at 8:16 am

nekoof

Some of what you just said is true. People sometimes do not know how to differentiate SOHC and DOHC therefor claiming DOHC is better. The only problem here is that the VTEC version has valves that open from 12 to 16 and the I-DSI only has 8.

Pick up wise they can nearly be identical but the horsepower figures are very far apart. Horsepower is meant for assisting top speed and torque is for pick up. In this department of top speed the VTEC will most likely win.

This is actually the time to save petrol so the I-DSI will be more appealing to some as it uses dual spark ignition. It depends on how the person is willing to drive it. All in all, the Vios and City will go head to head considering the Vios is also very appealing with it's new grille design and flip up side mirrors.

Yummm

My 2 cents

• nekoof on Oct 13, 2005 at 9:48 am

cbljkkj,

do agree with you, iDSI are those who are more into FC minded while for me VTEC is the best all around. pickup,top everythin. smooth ride for VTEC. iDSI somehow you can feel a lag. throttle down the pedal, u'll notice a lag then only kick in. Its like waiting for the other 4spark plug to fire up. heheh

Any current 3G or new city owners? log into www.teamcity.rules.it
    We'll be having an official gathering this Friday at Damansara Perdana, Friendster Cafe. City owners who are interested in modding are most welcome to join. At present all our cars are 3G n 3 2G cities.

• E-Nabill on Oct 13, 2005 at 1:07 pm

i noticed the current vtec 1.5fited on the city has abit of a whining sound…specially wen u accelerate,,,the isdi is very quite…bt the vtec on highway is abit noisy i noticed,…drove both….bt ya the vtec 1.5is nt bad…very responsive..wish it was a manual though rather than auto…

• BTW out of topic: Paul Nissan juz launched their new sentra…not sure its a facelift of new spec…any info on that?

• Blue Chaos on Oct 13, 2005 at 7:27 pm

Well, in Indonesia they sell this New Honda City from yesterday, which they call New Honda City 2005. We got four variants in here, i-DSI Manual, i-DSI Automatic, VTEC Manual and VTEC Automatic. All the Automatic variants are 7-speed CVT. The prices are about 6-7% more expensive than the previous Honda City batch. They have been advertising it in the newspapers now and I can't wait to go to a Honda showroom and get my hands on it for a test drive. From what I can see, people can't wait to buy this new car and ditch their old Honda City. Maybe now the old Honda City's prices will lower down quite a bit, now that everyone has their eyes on the New Honda City…

Must sell my 4-years old Peugeot 206 and trade it with a black New Honda City VTEC CVT… argh! The urge… but no money…

• December on Oct 13, 2005 at 11:20 pm

This is impressive, hammered down from the top version of the previous ugly mofo City, the car looks longer, neat, very neat. Good stuff man, Honda figured out that the flowerhorn design didnt actualy brought luck.

• Blue Chaos said,

October 13, 2005 @ 11:27 am

Maybe now the old Honda City’s prices will lower down quite a bit, now that everyone has their eyes on the New Honda City…

Must sell my 4-years old Peugeot 206 and trade it with a black New Honda City VTEC CVT… argh! The urge… but no money…

——-> B4 this it cost abt RM68k for 2nd hand model 1 ~ 2 years old….now how much?

And bro, stand the pain and kill off ur 206 now b4 the Naza 206 produced and ur 206 became very low value :P

• Blue Chaos on Oct 14, 2005 at 2:56 am

Abu,

I bought my 206 new at about RM 67,5k 4 years ago and now it barely sells to about RM 37,5k. Amazing, simply amazing. The New Honda City 2005 VTEC CVT is about RM 71k here in Indonesia, and I don't know where I can get the money to make up to that amount, haha. Maybe this car will only be a dream… like Honda City's motto, "Beyond Expectation Continues". Yeah, well, the car is beyond our expectations, back then we can only expect and expect, and now with the price increase, we just continue to expect and expect. Truly beyond expectation, in a sense, hahaha…

• after all they have done with the honda city, the butt still look ugly…….please do consider buttlift……..hahahahahaha

• benunited on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:31 pm

7/10

• Liong Chian Min on Oct 15, 2005 at 7:53 am

Paul,

I noticed there's a discrepancy in the brochure and the Honda website pertaining to the colour available for the honda city. The Satelite silver…it appeared in the brochure as some sort of gold colour…but in honda malaysian website, it looked like white silver. In the brochure, the white silver is Alabaster silver.

Can someone please clarify?

• Chorwin on Oct 16, 2005 at 9:08 pm

It really look far more better then the old version City. Anyway, I don't think the old version price may came down immediately as the price for old City still remain the same. They will remain the same price to sell out all stock of the old City first then only the new City price may go down.

Honda really do consider the feedback of consumer and make change to the design. If Proton do like Honda listen to consumer, it will be a great success for Proton in future as well.

i-DSI engine really design like a diesel engine with high torque at low rev. Because high rev equal to high petrol consumption. so, it really a good idea in new engine design. Not like Campro, encourage people to push to high rev to reach optimum torque……..

• anyone know the fuel consumption for IDSI and VTEC….how many km/litre..

how about maintenance cost for IDSI and VTEC engine….

• Blue Chaos on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:51 am

Wait a minute… there's no engine temperature indicator on this car. So how can we know if the car is overheating? I know that there are some cars out there without a temperature indicator, but I never had one like those, and I never know how the owners of those cars can manage without a temperature indicator…

*KABOOM!*

• Liong Chian Min on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:44 am

Is it true City got no temperature gauge? Then it is quite dangerous to buy a Honda City then…

EVERYONE DONOT BUY HONDA CITY……IT IS A DANGEROUS CAR.

• Liong Chian Min on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:04 pm

I am not a car expert…but I was just informed in another forum that ther actually is an indicator…and it will turn RED if it's overheating. So, I think it should be safe now..phew!

Paul Tan is ignoring our posts here…he should have clarified the matter!

• Liong Chian Min: an overheating indicator is different from a temperature meter. with a temperature meter you can notice the meter going up and do something about it BEFORE the car overheats. with an overheating indicator, you only know once the car has ALREADY overheat. anyway one can always add an aftermarket water temp meter. shouldn't be a big reason not to buy this excellent car.

• ajmal on Oct 25, 2005 at 12:01 am

futurestic styltsh …….wana to enjoy

• King Lee on Oct 27, 2005 at 9:43 pm

anyone know the fuel consumption for IDSI and VTEC….how many km/litre..

• Driver on Nov 02, 2005 at 6:22 am

IDSI-16.3KM/L

VTEC-15.5KM/L

• wwlung on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:27 pm

Paul, just out of curiosity: the Malaysia Honda City cars are shipped with only Kenwood AM/FM + CD player as the audio player. I understand that for Japanese model (Fit Aria), a more functional audio player is installed. Click: http://www.honda.co.jp/Fit-ARIA/interior/cd-playe…

Anyway, you can help find out if we can order this customized audio system here in Malaysia?

Thanks.

• Will city price reduce at 2006 follow by new NAP tax structure ??? year end car is such a disadvanctage to consumer…..but will 2006 price will increase or decrease…

• Elfvedor on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Is anybody know that when can we get the car? im waiting for one month, but still no news from the sales person…fedup.

• I prefer Honda city bcos of Safety. Ask all of you a question, do you want your wife or family those are seat beside you is safe? answer is yes, rigth? then y all of you going for Vios? Safety first!!

• eoeo77 on Nov 10, 2005 at 3:36 am

hi everyone.I prefer Honda city bcos of Safety. Ask all of you a question, do you want your wife or family those are seat beside you is safe? answer is yes, rigth? then y all of you going for Vios? Safety first!!

• Liong Chian Min on Nov 13, 2005 at 6:33 am

thanks Pau for the explanation…but my current car also dont hv the car temp gauge. If it turns red, then switch off the car con-lor…then go to the workshop and repair.

OK…for those who know who Daniel Lee is…and if you want to join his Official Fan club, go to www.mi2daniel.proboards25.com.

He is launching his debut album on 22 Nov soon, and you can buy his album at first day special discounted price. Go to Planet Hollywood on 22 Nov, 10.30 am.

• Liong Chian Min on Nov 13, 2005 at 6:34 am

I meant air-con…LOL.

• kulitnio on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:55 am

proton crap said,

October 12, 2005 @ 11:22 am

very nice looking, but the engine not improvement.

toyota use DOHC, but City only SOHC

TRUE, ITS ONLY SOHC BUT THE 1.5VTEC ENGINGE OF THE CITY IS MORE POWERFULL THAN THE DOHC 1.5VVTi OF THE VIOS. RIGHT? SO WHERE'S THAT IMPROVEMENT YOURE TALKING ABOUT. IF THAT VTEC ENGINE IS ALSO A DOHC WOW…I CAN ONLY IMAGINE HOW MUCH POWER WOULD THE VTEC LEADS FROM THAT OF TOYOTA VVTi. HAVE YOU REMEMBER THE CIVIC SIR DOHC VTEC? ITS THE MOST POWERFUL 1.6 LITER ENGINE.

• banjarman, need some on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:58 pm

I am planning to buy a good Japanese car for my wife this January. We've been thinking of Honda Fit, Corolla Altis and New City.

Seems that Fit is overpriced car and Altis is not having a good rating for safety. Is this true?

New City seems a good option.

How about new 2006 Civic?

TQ

• kulitnio on Nov 19, 2005 at 4:50 am

Civic 2006 and New City….I think the price of the civic is another story.

• Smartass on Nov 21, 2005 at 3:16 pm

All of you seems to be missing the point totally. If anyone would like to put the Vios and the City side by side, why just compare power outputs? I believe that a matured buyer always look at the more important parts and not isolate a car by looking only at how much power that the car has.

Life isn't a trump card, so I hope you guys realise that both cars are quite similar in its target market and in my opinion, the City wins.

The Vios isn't as practical (no Ultra seats) and less refined than the Honda. Just look at the Honda brochure and you can see many features that beats the Vios hands down. I have driven the new City VTEC and let me say that it has far better grip, turn-in and speed than the Toyota.

I challenge anyone here that has a Vios to follow me to Bukit Tinggi and I will prove how good the City is compared to the Vios myself

• kulitnio on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:03 am

You're precisely correct Smartass. Even the previous City beats the previous Vios featurewise. Their only claim on the Vios is that it looks better than the City which I don't agree. The vios design was more on standard sedan while the city has the look of the future – a concept car.

• kulitnio on Nov 23, 2005 at 9:30 pm

Liong Chian Min said,

October 24, 2005 @ 1:44 am

Is it true City got no temperature gauge? Then it is quite dangerous to buy a Honda City then…

EVERYONE DONOT BUY HONDA CITY……IT IS A DANGEROUS CAR.

IMO, I think Honda is NOT silly ENOUGH to make a car without temperature monitor. The temperature monitor of the City is indicated by TEMP ICON which changes color when the temp rises at abnormal level. What youre looking is the conventional analog temp gauge used before. As explained by Honda, the indicator changes color when the temperature rises at a warning level but NOT at the point that the car is already in the overheat condition. Simply means that you are WARNED that the car is about to overheat. Hence your immediate action or measures before the onset of the actual overheating is expected. Hope this will shed lite to the issue.

• Huzefa Haider on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:57 am

mmm….so civic changes it shape and the old shape is given to new city ,,atleast honda should have been more constructive in shaping it , the grill is completly same like the civic 05. anywyas im happy now city has a shape or else it was like it had been punched from the head .

• damon on Nov 26, 2005 at 3:45 am

the city provides good performance and the design really looks gorgeous! i'm going for city over vios although it is more costly.

• Saqib baloch on Nov 28, 2005 at 2:35 am

New city & civic 2006 are awesome cars having all the qualities of a best luxury car of the town.

• daniel tan on Nov 28, 2005 at 11:58 pm

I've did a survey within VIOS and New City before i make up my mind and i found out that with this New City, not only interior but the outlook of this New City attract me very well. With the interior black in color as well as the dashboard and everything are in black it looks so sporty. The luxurious of city interior there is no comparison between VIOS and New City. Differences are not more than 2k to compare for VIOSG series with New City (VTEC) model. Talk about speed, there's not much differences but VIOS can be a bit more powerful seems that VIOS attach with DOHC while New City attach with SOHC but the different are not much even SOHC or DOHC.

The design wow what can i say it's almost perfect as everyone know nothing is 100% perfect. Overall for me i just ordered this New City and the good news is the dealer just told me that i can get it by this week after a month of passion waiting and another few days more i can enjoy my New City.

Thanks to HONDA that come out with this new design that to worth value money buying.

Adios :P

• Blue Chaos on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:07 am

Kulitnio,

Do you have a picture of the "TEMP ICON"? Just making sure…

• Netguy on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:43 pm

City interior is good for Vtec spec…. Exterior not nice, the body still cacat.

new Vois 2006 Interior ….. i dont like the meters… , but exterior will be nice… more sporty…..

how ahh … buy city or vios ahh …. price about the same…

• kulitnio on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:21 am

Blue Chaos said,

November 30, 2005 @ 2:07 am

Kulitnio,

Do you have a picture of the “TEMP ICON”? Just making sure…

HERE IT IS:

[IMG] http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a31/sportshonda/…

Actually the ICON or indicator looks like a symbol of a thermometer. When the engine is cold its color green. When the engine is running at normal temperature the icon is off or does not light. When the temperature rises at a an alarming or warning level, the indicator will light up RED. It's not yet an indication of failure but rather a warning, so you'll still have time to make the necessary measures to prevent overheating.

Blue chaos, if the pix could not be displayed please advise your email add and i will send it to you.

• blueprint on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:48 am

i have a New City myself and it wins the Vios hands down, no-contest. Performance-wise New City is Ultra-responsive with the 7-spd CVT, take it on the high way and you'll be overtaking b4 you realize it. You may think im pulling your leg but try shifting around on different speeds yourself, you will too agree that it leaves conventionl 4-speed autoboxes way way behind.

Have tested 2 standard cars, the Vios 1.5G belonging to a friend of mine, straight roads and on curves, it can only smell my exhaust pipe smoke.

VTEC a bit bumpy ride for back passengers but still smooth if driven slowly…

Definitely a superb car for the present.

• daniel tan on Dec 05, 2005 at 10:02 pm

Well..well well..

Finally i received my New City last week. What can i say, 2 days driving that New City i can feel the comfortable of that car. Earlier i was thinking that is the VTEC 1.5 SOHC engine power enough to full fill what i wanted the speed to be?

Questions has been answered. With the transmission of switching manual and auto drive in a 7 Speed Mode button, i guess it's so impressive to me. I drove using auto transmission and with the engine that powered by VTEC 16 valve, it goes smoothly and still that powerful when i'm over taking some cars. And with a press on a 7 Speed Mode to manual i can swith over manual transmission over taking any car beside you are so easy and once that car has been overtaken a press again back to auto and walla…i guess i'm having fun and so impress with this New City that i recently bought it.

It's true when HONDA slogan are "Power Of Dreams".

I Love my New City so much..

er..by the way where can i look at the new VIOS 06 model???

:P

• Edlan on Dec 20, 2005 at 9:15 am

hmm.. I simply wonder what this fuss is all about, vios and city.. Let me tell you folks about my city. Its not even a new city, just a 2year old city VTEC. Fell in love with it from day one, and still very much in love with it to this day. Nothing on earth is perfect, but my city is simply an almost perfect car. Perfect for travelling home to my kampong.. perfect for weekend round-round with my wife.. perfect to go to the pasar.. perfect everywhere. And, believe it or not, I dont remember any make of car that I've not overtaken with ease at Bukit Tinggi.

So, to you guys who are still tossing and turning in bed over which car, vios or city.. take my advice.. go for the city. You'll never want to drive any other car again for the rest of your life..

• saqib on Dec 24, 2005 at 8:30 pm

nice car now it look more impressive . Can any body tell me when this is launching and in which countries

• Saravanan on Dec 28, 2005 at 10:23 pm

NEW CITY VTEC, I just bought one on Dec'05, in a word it's simply Beautiful, Intelligent, Marvellous and Out Standing Machine on the road.

• Who_cares on Dec 30, 2005 at 4:37 pm

Blue Chaos said,

October 19, 2005 @ 11:51 pm

Wait a minute… there’s no engine temperature indicator on this car. So how can we know if the car is overheating? I know that there are some cars out there without a temperature indicator, but I never had one like those, and I never know how the owners of those cars can manage without a temperature indicator…

*KABOOM!*

Hey blue you soon realize once youll burn w/it lol. if you feel hot and burning at the same time it means the car is over heating lol ahahahhahahahahahha

• daniel tan on Jan 03, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Did U All know that SOHC VTEC Engine produce the same output power with DOCH Engine? But not DOHC VTEC Engine.

• Daniel, I dont think the sohc vtec is as powerful as the dohc (no vtec) of the same capacity. I cant make comparison for the 1.5L engines, but if you compare the CRX 1.6 DOHC (no vtec), it has the same power as the 1.7L SOHC VTEC of the civic. Both produce 130hp, but SOHC vtec is 100cc more than the DOHC of the CRX.

• danieltan (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 6:41 pm

Sorry Bean for the late reply. But yeah like u say but i found out this when i surf and did a research on VTEC Engine and there's an article talk about VTEC Engine comparison. Let you have a click on this site.

"The SOHC VTEC is a system that achieves mild power gains. Usually, SOHC VTEC engines gives about as much power as DOHC non-VTEC engines of similar displacement. Whether or not the added complexity of the VTEC mechanism off-sets the simplicity of SOHC (versus DOHC) is up for debate. SOHC VTEC is currently found on the Civic EX, Accord LX/EX/V6, Odyssey LX/EX, Acura TL, CL, and CL Type-S."

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/framed.htm?parent=q…

• genevinz (Member) on Jan 08, 2007 at 8:30 pm

hi..bro and sis..anyone of there can tell me how much is the latest on the road price for Honda City V-TEC? any promotion offer if i buy yr of 2006 manufactured car?

• Honda@advisor (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Hmmm..
    The red colour have charge to grey..
    pls change it at the forum.
    no more red at all.
    thank you!

• mukesh singhvi on May 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm

i want to buy a honda city v tec ,i am confiues about manual vs auto trasmission plz tell us which one is better for me ,point of mililage & cost fater

• can somebody tell me the audio system model of honda city v-tec facelift?

i could not see it because it was undercover.

• tell me one more thing.. if itz a Honda Civic Exi 2007 black with 71K KM.. how much should be the value??

• ColdFire on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:21 pm

i’m not a big fan o facelift models, i don’t see the point of doing these , it’s a waste of time and money when they could do new models

• mohd faiz yoo.... on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:52 am

baikkkkkkkkkkkk punyo………..

• azrul on Nov 06, 2011 at 1:59 am

saya masih guna city vtec 2005.. minyak save..kuantan to penang 570km xhbs 1 tgki..full tank rm70.00 Rm1.90 ron 95