Volkswagen Golf Speed Special Edition

This is a special edition of the Volkswagen Golf called the Volkswagen Golf Speed. Only 100 units will be built, and the car will only be available in two special Lamborghini colours called Giallo Midas and in Arancio Borealis. To the rest of us, that’s orange and yellow.

The special edition hatch will be powered by a 2.0 FSI engine putting out 150hp or a 2.0 TDI turbodiesel making 140hp.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Oct 13, 2005 at 3:59 pm

Yeah Be the No. 1 today

• SEE FU on Oct 13, 2005 at 4:01 pm

This Yellow color looks SUCKs!!

Just Hate ORANGE OR YELLOW………RED is much better! :)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 13, 2005 at 4:25 pm

hoh!.. 2.0 maah? power!.. patutlah twin exaust..

did anyone mention it little bit look alike savvy? from the sideview maybe.. :D

• nekoof on Oct 13, 2005 at 4:39 pm

is that the CAI at the lower bottom right side bumper? smokin power!

• it's so different with savvy maa… savvy got unique curve at the door…kihkihkih

• Lantis on Oct 13, 2005 at 4:51 pm

The exaust is like LOTUS and SAVVY design. It put in the middle there…hehe.

• honda_driver on Oct 13, 2005 at 5:02 pm

volkswagen?? whats that? i thought this is a wald?

• biothing on Oct 13, 2005 at 5:07 pm

hah! hah! honda only in Msia it's a Wald! Will it soon be Proton VW?

• Aris Tee on Oct 13, 2005 at 5:09 pm

my goodness… even the bolts on the wheels match the color of the car!!!

nicee… sweet color, especially the orange… :D

it's about time VW took advantage of their ownership of Lamborghini… hehe…

• Joshua on Oct 13, 2005 at 5:31 pm

wald just rebadges of a lot of different different cars such as WV, toyota, and such. then sold like its a wald. but those cars are just rebadged then imported using APs.

actually the front of the golf doesn't look that good also, i like the rear though. wonder why WV wants to make so many different verions of golf. macam we have many different version of wira. haha.

• December on Oct 13, 2005 at 6:24 pm

We certainly had enough of Golf's, its nice la..but then too much redi la

• biothing on Oct 13, 2005 at 6:48 pm

This Golf version is surely 'acquired' taste one, or simply for the enthusiasts. I don't think this will be in msia though, will it Paul? Can imagine my little sister driving it though, if she could afford it.

One thing about diesel engine is big in Europe. with biodiesel on the horizon, i wonder if it will improve diesel quality in Msia. Diesel is less corrosive than petrol.

On AP stuff, if Wald can import cars from multiple brands, they could become more efficient importer, that will reduce the cost of cars, like NAZA is doing, (Only NAZA uses many different APs using many different companies. What a waste of money). Of of course, Govt policy

why not check out this wald japan website – so cool, music is funky.
    www.wald-japan.co.jp

still, we want hybrid (repeat many times!!), whatever the brand..

• E-Nabill on Oct 13, 2005 at 9:00 pm

such a nice car bt probably bloody expensive to buy . wald is jus a sticker,thy dont do anyting else….i saw one red golf GTI that has a wald logo behind,which was not put properly,was like a half hearted job….thse idiots cheat us with wald dis and wald that….thy tell ppl thy retune the cu for omre power n all that shit..bt wen u read the spec sheet….exatcly same as the stnd one…all thnx to amazing shit…oops i mean amazing tempo!

• Jeremy C on Oct 13, 2005 at 10:30 pm

Nice…bloody nice…

Really changes my opinion on orange and yellow coloured cars…

• Lantis on Oct 13, 2005 at 10:35 pm

Mitsubishi Motors plans more major launches

By ZURAIMI ABDULLAH

October 13 2005

MITSUBISHI Motors Malaysia Sdn Bhd plans to make two to three “major” launches next year, including special edition vehicles, after the recent launch of six models simultaneously to mark the company’s return to the Malaysian market.

Mitsubishi Malaysia chief executive officer Fumihiko Minami said the company also has plans to start assembling certain Mitsubishi vehicles locally within two years at least, or after it has achieved a monthly sales of 300 to 400 units of a model.

He also said Mitsubishi Malaysia wants to capture 20 to 30 per cent of the four-wheel drive (FWD) vehicles market with the new Mitsubishi L200.

“Mitsubishi used to be the market leader in the FWD segment through Mitsubishi Storm with a share of 40 per cent to 50 per cent. Some 5,000 units of the Storm were sold a year previously.”

The Storm was distributed by USF-HICOM Sdn Bhd, but now is handled directly by Mitsubishi Malaysia, which was set up by Mitsubishi Corp and Edaran Otomobil Nasional Bhd about two months ago.

Minami said the full L200 line-up includes recently-launched three new variants of the 4×4 2.8L automatic with turbo intercooler, 4×2 manual single cab and 4×2 manual double cab to complement the existing 4×4 2.5L manual with turbo intercooler.

“The response so far has been overwhelming, with more than 100 bookings made prior to the model’s launch last week,” he said in an interview in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

“With much to offer — competitive pricing and appealing to a wider market — we expect to sell 300 to 400 units a months.”

Chief operating officer Syed Azlan Syed Bakhor said the 4×2 double cab is the most popular version, accounting for about 70 per cent of the current bookings for the pick-up truck.

The L200 is fully-imported from Thailand and the price ranges from RM56,500 for the 4×2 single cab to RM93,800 for the 4×4 automatic, on the road without insurance.

Minami said the company should be able to rake in monthly sales of 500 units of Mitsubishi vehicles within the next few months.

Besides the L200, Mitsubishi Malaysia recently launched five other models — the Lancer sedan, Colt hatchback, Grandis MPV, Outlander SUV and Lancer Evolution IX high performance sedan.

• Michael Chua on Oct 13, 2005 at 10:47 pm

Volkswagen Golf Speed is fast. Its ride is a tad bumpy too heh?

• SEE FU said,

October 13, 2005 @ 8:01 am

This Yellow color looks SUCKs!!

Just Hate ORANGE OR YELLOW………RED is much better!

—-> See Fu now start thinking of gong xi fatt choy liao ka?? YAO MOU KAO…CHOU!!!! :p

• sinleong on Oct 14, 2005 at 2:02 am

hahahaha

• biothing on Oct 14, 2005 at 2:04 am

hi lantis, why talk about mitsubishi on VW session?. thnx for the info though. e-nabill pretty angry at wald ppl/cars! my Wald Wish OK what? priced a bit higher than normal Toyota Wish but it's definitely more 'hansem' inside and definitely more power. well it's the inside thant count right? he he

Wish I could afford a hybrid though, when the time comes. Eyeing any Modellista hybrod version (real Toyota tune up!)

Well, VW/Proton Golf still dream onnn

• gegaoff on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:16 am

ah… just don't like yellow on this WV's babe… too bad… :(

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:41 am

Yellow is so-so , Orange is GRREATT.

But Golf is so overpriced here. Like Jeremy Clarkson said , I'd rather get the Vauxhall Astra.

• aksMs on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:23 am

man….i have a sentimental value for P1 but yet so tired of their lack of effort on so many things. eh, eris, u think jeremy clarkson could create another chaos tak? just like what he had done to Rover. im so tired up to the extent i almost dun care if P1 gone in smoke. heh, i want to see what the boneheads up inside the boardroom will do lah if jeremy open up his mouth…..

BONEHEADS!

ps: sorrylah Paul. whenever i saw VW i think of P1. *sigh*

• SEE FU on Oct 14, 2005 at 4:44 pm

Abu arr!

Gong Xi fa cai??

Still long way to go, Now plan to PUASAAA first, recently my body gain weight up 3 kg, maybe too much Beeeeeerrrs and enjoy too much. I will join those Pakcik Makcik Puasa together about 1 month. Abu No Puasa Haram yoOh!!

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!!! Still my trade Mark!!

This color still SUCKSssssss!! No Eye see!!

• oldgolfer on Nov 28, 2005 at 8:58 am

wald is a tune up brand like brabus. it's not a rebadge ofVW. you don't find the brand wald in EU