2008 BMW Z10 Supercar

BMW’s last supercar was the M1 back in 1979. That car was the first car produced by BMW Motorsports, which makes the M cars like M3 and M5. The BMW M1 had a 3.5 litre inline-6 24 valve engine that made 277hp at 6500rpm and 324Nm of torque at 5000rpm. Tuned versions could make up to 850hp.

Now with it’s involvement with F1, BMW naturally would go what the other car manufacturers in F1 are going to do, make a supercar. Toyota has it’s Lexus LF-A and Honda has it’s new NSX coming down the lane. BMW’s new supercar is going to be called the Z10.

BMW has set development targets for the Z10 to be a rear/mid-engine supercar powered by a V10. The V10 would be likely a tuned up version of the advanced M5 V10 5 litre engine that won the 2005 Engine of the Year award. Targetted performance figures are 550hp and a curb weight of 1200kg which gives the car a power to weight ratio of 458bhp per tonne.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 850 Rpm? O_o

whazat?

upto 850rpm?

• typo… sorry sorry. hahah.

• yhtan on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:31 am

this car look a lil bit cacat for me….

quite weird of this car design especially in front

• kalen_XI on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:38 am

yhtan…

its a SUPERCAR!!its suppose to look different…obscene..sexy…powerful..unique..and one of its kind..

if not..ar..i wudnt be a supercar..

name one supercar…that looks like an ordinary car…

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:59 am

Awesome only the front end not the back.

• gegaoff on Oct 15, 2005 at 3:15 am

may be just the photo take from different anger… may look better in other view?

i like the BMW in this kind of blue color… damm the nice..

cheers….

• Charger on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:11 am

kalen_XI: M5?

Ok, maybe M5 is not supercar, but this supercar is gonna use the M5 engine.

• kalen_XI on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:42 am

charger:M5!??!?!?huh?!?!?!..pleaseeeee lah

jk dude…wut i meant..is supercar…thats outrageous…like lambo…ferrari…bugati..mclaren…koesigneagagg…sumthing..ahha..dont know wut those norwegian call that..neway…there's nuthing conventional bout any of those cars…besides having a freaking huge engine..and the price of 2 houses

• Streamyx User on Oct 15, 2005 at 7:07 am

HAHAHAHA looks like a BMW squashed by savvy monster truck.

• bUttsHAk3r on Oct 15, 2005 at 9:16 am

this is weird. the side profile and rear screams of lambo gallardo. but i think lamborghini is audi owned.

still, i dunno.

• diabloCruiser on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:38 pm

The front looks like the station wagon flattened and pull to length….and that back of that car looks like toyota MR2 Spider……aikss……not a little bit BMwish……hmmm…..I think BMW should concentrate on his current 3, 5 & 7 series which can target more Bachelors…and Playboy Uncles's….lolz….

• hauzi on Oct 15, 2005 at 8:52 pm

tis car is so COPYABLE

• Aris Tee on Oct 15, 2005 at 9:11 pm

why the rear so ugly wan? cool to have bmw supercar, but might suffer the same perception that vw got with their passat. when ppl wan supercar, they want ferrari, mclaren,lambo and porsche… even merc had to join in mclaren to sell in this business

• the back reminds me of the lambo back. ahaha.. nice car la.. not too exhuberant about it.. :D

• weilun on Oct 16, 2005 at 4:00 am

the headlamps= gen2

• neurra on Oct 16, 2005 at 4:51 am

the rear definitely mimics lamborghini..

• Sleepyhollow on Oct 16, 2005 at 5:37 am

the car has the face of a cobra….as in the snake..heh

• adamckc on Oct 16, 2005 at 5:52 am

talking about gen 2 the 1.3 auto version is out today he..

• cbljkkj on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:49 am

The front end looks exactly like the new 3 series, the side profile from a Z4 and the rear from a Murcielago.

• weilun on Oct 16, 2005 at 3:14 pm

off ropic a bit

adamckc

saw gen 2 the 1.3 version in energy orange…

the wheel caps sucks and no fog lamps

• clark_kent on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:27 pm

for a BMW fan myself, IMHO, nearly all the other supercars in the market now looks better than this Z10. The rear looks like Porche Carrera GT mixed with a Lambo, and the front is too curvy compared the rear where its more angled. Feels a too sudden of change.hmmm…

probably BMW is still new in supercars genre, in time i believe it'll improve.

• Looks too much like a Gallardo. But performance will be awesome with the M5 V10. This Z10 only weighs 1200 kg.

• Michael Chua on Oct 17, 2005 at 10:29 pm

Looks every bit like a supercar.

• IT,S A FUNNY LOoKIN cAR

• I like the way the Z10 looks. It looks like a very purposeful roadster.

• churaibeto on Oct 30, 2005 at 10:30 am

hey everybody comments the design but no body comments the performance because it will squash the lambos and ferraris.

• eat my dust on Nov 12, 2005 at 1:29 pm

oh my god people bitching bout wat is looks like comparing it to other cars well why not judge its performance then compare that to other so called supercars it has 5.5 litre engine 550 bhp which will send it over 200mph it only £90,000, £30,000 cheaper than a ferrari or lambo so u get can this for cheaper than those cars and its faster than most too 911 turbo and v8 vantage watch out coz this car will make a dent in ur sales too.

• Chris on Dec 26, 2005 at 6:43 pm

All i can say is that if it were human, i would have sex with it in a instant.

• ezy_zee (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 1:23 pm

this cars performance is awsome but the the front is shit the back is like a a gallardo but it reminds me of the Carrera Gt

• Arclight (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:27 pm

I've been a loyal BMW fan and owner since 1973, but I'm sorry, the Enzo, the Carrera GT, and the Saleen are true supercars, the M10 sadly looks like a "Tuner" version of a Z-4. Performance is only one part of the package, If it's touted as a supercar, I think that it must look the part too – at least a little bit. Another disappointment in styling/design from Munich!

• drM (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:14 pm

what? this is chop and chop and chop BMW, Lambo, Audi,

and there u have this so-called SUPERCAR?

countering Mercedes SLR?

come on. blue ocean strategy maaaannn…dont compete. just complete each other!

• it's a fake. this not a supercar. it's only good photoshop work. this car created using other bmw cars like M6 and 3 series and the Lamborghini Gallardo. it's like M6 stretched to the body of Gallardo and they put head lights of 3 series. rear of car created using some ideas from Audi R8 except stop lights and bumper. lights created manualy or modified from other car's stop light. but i know only 1 thing that it's not a real supercar and remember that BMW never make same details to it's cars especially if it's like a new supercar that everybody wait from BMW. that's all:)) and sorry for my bad english:)

• master of designer on Mar 08, 2009 at 9:40 pm

its look like gumpert apollo..

• Razvan on Jul 14, 2009 at 5:27 pm

The back looks like the back of the lexus lf-a.. anyone see the resemble?