BMW 335i to get twin turbocharged inline-6

BMW’s 3.0 litre Twin-Turbodiesel won the 2.5 to 3.0 litre category in the International Engine of the Year awards. With this new-found expertise on how to mate an engine with a turbocharger, they are going for a new petrol twin-turbo engine for their E92 335i.

The E92 is a two-door coupe form of the 3-series. The sedan was designated E90 and the touring stationwagon was the E91.

BMW’s new coupe will be called the 335i. The 35 in the model name does not mean the car will have a 3.5 litre engine under the hood.

BMW will actually be turbocharging their in-line 6 cylinder 3.0 litre engine from the 330i with twin-turbos. The turbos are sequential, one small one for the low revs and a bigger one for the higher revs. The resulting power is equivalent to a 3.5 litre normally aspirated engine, which explains the 335i insignia that will be on the bootlid.

Their new twin-turbo petrol engine is expected to make about 330hp, roughly 70hp higher than the normally aspirated 3.0 engine. The engine is currently being tested on their 5-series model with a modified bumper to allow better airflow for the intercooler.

BMW 3-series coupe launched – BMW 335i
BMW 335i Driving Experience

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gegaoff on Oct 15, 2005 at 3:18 am

ah, y i got a feel that this car like a turtle? damm..

again, y not hybrid version? sigh…

• they are not emphasizing on the hybrid

they are goin to the hydrogen ones instead

btw, if u can afford one of this, u wont care about the petrol price isnt it ;)

• Charger on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:07 am

The gills! The gills!!!! Which were only found in the M-series! WHY!!?!?! WHY????????

• SEE FU on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:15 am

Awasome!! I love this babe BM……..When can it available!!

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!

• e-Nabill on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:18 am

wats the hysteria abt hybrid la….sit down and admire the technology thy put into this car,thn again.we can only admire….cannot buy!

• gegaoff on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:30 am

ya… price high as sky… giss…

^_^

cheers…

• Streamyx User on Oct 15, 2005 at 7:12 am

I'd rather put my money on BYD AUTO anyday.

• Charger: that one is memang M3 on testing -_-" I just used the graphic for fun.

• Charger on Oct 15, 2005 at 7:48 am

Shit u lar Paul, kena conned by you!!!! LOL!

Phew! Luckily the gills still for M-series only, else my car damn cheap liao. Every Tom, Dick & Harry's car also got gills. :PbPbPb

• karheng on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:36 pm

If i am not wrong….BMW"s 3 series coupes are supposed to be 4 series. …. Not too sure if BMW has changed their mind over this issue but this format has been decided 3 years back.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:36 pm

Paul, I knew Mitsu will launch the new Model on Monday Called OUTLANDER, the type is new SUV in Mitsu. The look is closed to Toyota Harrier. I like it man, The price is around RM80k in Japan. Please BLOG it

check this out: http://outlander.jp/

• diabloCruiser on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:41 pm

This car rox….the only weird thing is it's eyes….should have design it more like that 7series….and that bumper not so sagging looks like a big flap of meat……then it will be Perfect!

• "The resulting power is equivalent to a 3.5 liter normally aspirated engine, which explains the 335i insignia that will be on the bootlid."

Paul, are you sure?

BMW does not have any 3.5 liter engines. I don't think any other manufacturer does. Power output is also dependent on a lot factors besides displacement. So what would justify the comparison?

Also, the BMW 323 has a 2.5 liter engine. Can't be the 2.5 liter engine's resulting power is equivalent to a 2.3 liter engine.

I suspect the 335 designation has nothing to do with equivalent power outputs, merely a designation.

• aw3: the 3.5 liter is estimated lah of course. as for justification, ask bmw lol. it doesn't necessarily mean for every difference in model number to engine capacity the reason has to be the same. that model number to engine discrepancy is also in the 318, which had a 1.9 and 2.0 engine for some years.

• uhh.. damn.. M3s are sweet

• looks really muscular.. haha.. i'm beginning to like BMWs again.. :P

• andrewjpan on Oct 16, 2005 at 1:58 am

Don't forget the 1.6 engine paul….

Paul said,

October 15, 2005 @ 12:57 pm

aw3: the 3.5 liter is estimated lah of course. as for justification, ask bmw lol. it doesn’t necessarily mean for every difference in model number to engine capacity the reason has to be the same. that model number to engine discrepancy is also in the 318, which had a 1.9 and 2.0 engine for some years.

• I think I know why BMW called it 335. The car's main competitors will be the Infinity G35 and the Lexus IS350. They all indicate 3.5 liters :D

• honda_driver on Oct 17, 2005 at 5:14 pm

i remember being embroiled a huge debate with some bmw owners in another forum last year. They were arguing that turbocharging a bmw is blasphemous, and that such a finely engineered engine doesn't need something as low tech as a turbo. I mentioned that bmws of old had turbochargers as well, but they were in denial. I wonder what they will think of this news.

• Sexythang on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:23 am

i guess most of the car companies are getting better at turbocharging. so good to a point you wont notice the turbo charger is there. and with bmw i think they can still maintain the smooth power delivery even with the turbos installed. if benz can do it….then bmw should be able to do as well. unless im mistaken and benz have only turbocharged thier diesel engines.

since this beast looks so good up front….maybe they should do something bout the backlites.

hope the japs have something to counter the bmw supremacy in this class of cars.

• hfrshah on Oct 18, 2005 at 2:20 pm

Mercedes-Benz do have a few turbocharged engines. The one used in S/CL/SL600 is a 5.5litre Bi-Turbo (twin-turbo) engine with 500bhp. This engine supposedly has unbeatable drivability(among its class) with loads of power at any given engine speed, without any hint of turbo lag.

The S/CL/SL65 AMG uses a 6.0litre Bi-Turbo producing a massive 612bhp! Each of these cars can out-accelerate a Lambo Murcielago to 160km/h.. Very impressive considering all uses (comparatively) conventional 5-speed auto-box.

• The Lexus IS350 is such a beauty. I've been up all night building a forums site just for it, it might be my favorite car now. That shouldn't be taken lightly, as I was about to buy a E46 M3 a month ago and I've changed my mind!

Take it easy,

Ryan IS350Forums.com

• vmarquez (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:48 am

have a nice day-

i writing you from colombia and i have a 330 i e90, i was an idea to put to my car m5 wheels and what a surprise i saw your picture with these wheels.

my question is the picture wheels is 19 or 18 inches. and which is the size front and rear, to my car looks similar.

thanks for your time

• fredquarters (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 3:38 pm

I'm sure that this is a very nice, well engineered car. I still can't get past the styling. I remember being out at Borrego Springs when I saw 4 of Chris Bangle's new designs, a car mag was testing them and had stopped at the resort I was staying at.

When I expressed my dismay at the new styling (the Bangle Butt), one of the fellows asked me how old I was. (I'm 55). Ha.

I still would be ashamed to have one sitting in my driveway. Sorry Chris. Nice drivetrain though….

• Glee power on Jan 07, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Five years later this car us still great….time moves so fast sometimes