2006 Mazda RX-8 Sport Prestige Limited II

Mazda has launched updates to two of it’s Mazda RX-8 models, one of which will go on sale today and the other in mid-November.

The new standard Mazda RX-8 Type S (6-speed manual transmission) and the Mazda RX-8 Type E (4-speed Activematic auto transmission) received two new colours which are Galaxy Gray Mica and Phantom Blue Mica. It also got a new interior design. Other enhancements include a factory-installed keyless entry and start system. Adds to the cool factor indeed!

As for the Mazda RX-8 Sport Prestige Limited II Special Edition, the 2006 model has been updated with new seats made with a mix of alacantra and leather. The interior is sand-beige colour themed. Steering wheel and handbrake is wrapped with black leather.

In the exterior, lamp bezels have been given new glossy paint. I personally don’t like lamp bezels that are too outstanding. The model also gets a new exclusive colour called Copper Red Mica. The sports rims for the automatic model has been upgraded to 18 inch where it was 16 inch before. The delicious rims are wrapped with 225/45/R18 tires. A new rear lip spoiler has been added.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • armandd on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:31 am

very nice! hmm, i heard the FC of the car's 1.3l rotary is damn high…

• E-Nabill on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:19 am

ya true..rotatry engin produces very low torque compare to normal engin bt slightly higher horse power..thats y driving this car have to keep gears 4k to 5k rpm in order to get going…seeing the car in real is so dif from the pic..really looks very wide n macho…bt who cares got limited edition or not la…nt that all of us are having one in our garages rite?!

• armandd on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:20 pm

yeah, i've seen one in taiping, parked in front of a hotel… really nice in white!

• izudeen on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:28 pm

cool looking car!

btw paul, perhaps you could do more 'info' blog, rather than just car review as I seen the last 'info' you gave was a long time ago on how to use automatic brake correctly. And you could do some review on 'cool' technologies as well such as how does the keyless entry works…. just an idea

• hfrshah on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:58 pm

This version also adds new suspension which includes large-diameter dampers and front cross member. Both additions improve stability, comfort and steering feel. The auto version also gets unique bigger brakes.. I'm pretty why Mazda keeps specific upgrades exclusively for the auto version..

• izudeen: i will… once i shake off this workload. end of semester, final year project, etc = pengsan.

• druck on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:36 pm

It might have low torque, but with all those revs to play with the gearing (4.444 final) mutliplies what arrives at the wheels to around the same as a Boxster (non S). You do need to keep the revs up to get the best out of it, but thats what they are there for and the renesis loves it. The only upside of the less than stellar fuel economy is that it makes no almost no difference if you try to drive it like a granny, or properly thrash it – so the choice is obvious. :D

• Lantis on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:25 pm

Is it only 2 passengers can have a sit at rear??? hemmm…i think the 4th passenger should get the 'bantal' to sit on the middle box over there…hehehehe :D

• xprezzy on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:26 pm

rx8? hm…..enjin kecik tapi rev very high…… 1.3cc(rotary)+big wheels(19")=monster……. rx7 ada turbo boleh tinggal kena rx8. rx8 vs 'garisan langit', sprint test, kelajuan boleh membelah langit……..tinggat 'langit' (skyline), betul kan paul?

• Michael Chua on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:49 pm

I heard this 1.3L Rotary engine which is equivalent to a conventional 2.6L engine is one hell of a petrol guzzler.

• mr.eims on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:19 pm

oh.. my dream car.!!

• Nameless on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:26 pm

Nice car no matter what version from Mazda

• Its more than a hell of a petrol guzzler , i think the petrol comsuption is about the same as my dad 420SEL

• i have a pal who has the rx8, and he say he rather take bus to work than drive the rx8

maybe he lazy drive or not enough money to pay the fuel i dunno, lol

• SEE FU on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:43 pm

ZoomX3, the only model that I like from MADZA!

YAU MO KAU……CHOU!!

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 2:05 am

Well its fuel consumption is marginally higher than our usual everyday car, but isnt that expected? Its a sports car after all. Besides, some of you says it as if it magically makes fuel in its fuel-tank disappear in a matter of seconds. Its official fuel consumption figure is 12.6litres per 100km of city driving. For comparison, a Jazz 1.5 VTEC's is around 5L/100km.

And H22A, your dad's Merc 420SEL should make around 15L/100km when NEW. Now its probably slighly higher. How bout changing to an RX-8? haha..

• masdaspit on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:06 am

i drive a mazda6. lup to add an RX8 as my weekend car, and mazda5 mpv as family carrier. in the end, my car porch will be filled with mazdas! ;p

• I am not a real fan of Mazda's …own a mazda before , its heavy on fuel comsuption and the power isnt really there . Parts is expensive and there is no second hand value . for the price of a new RX-8 , you can get yourself a second-hand porsche boxter . I think the maitenance would be almost the same.

• honda_driver on Oct 20, 2005 at 5:14 pm

h22A, which mazda did you own btw? just curious. coz all the usual mazdas that i know off, not counting rotaries or other turbos mazdas are usually good in the fuel consumption department.

btw, porsche maintenance is and never will be the same as any japanese car ever made. if you bought an old 911 for RM90,000, you would still be paying close to the same maintenance as a newer 911. Average sparkplug change will put you back around RM600+

• RX8, nahh – give me back the old RX7 anytime, especially the last RZ model!! That's the best from Mazda followed by the Interplay series.

• narrowband on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:08 pm

Gimme the RX-7 instead, anytime.

• nonok_racer on Oct 22, 2005 at 2:20 am

Rx7 is still the masterpiece from mazda, renesis is just less umphhh

• nebee on Dec 30, 2005 at 9:16 am

i'd sat on the driver's sit..once…with engines starts and even closed the door.. hehe.. i'll buy it someday;D work..work..work…

• ok i own RX8 and Super Turbo Kelisa..KL- Kuantan if trottle 160 to 200kmh i can get around 300 to 350km, if i drive 100 ti 120 then can get more like 360 to 450km…but my super kelisa..full tank can cover KL-Kuantan, kuantan-KL..just topup RM10 after gombak toll hahahaahah