Nissan Skyline GT-R Proto

Nissan unveiled it’s Nissan GT-R PROTO yesterday at the 2005 Tokyo Motor Show. This model will be the concept where the next Nissan Skyline R35 GT-R will be based on. It’s more of a design concept than a full-blown concept car though. No engine specifications or other tidbits about the new car have been revealed so far.

At first glance it looks much like the original Nissan Skyline GT-R R35 Concept unveiled at the 2001 Tokyo Motor Show. Nissan’s designer team led by Shiro Nakamura have created a sleek looking mean machine. The body design flows pretty well, looks very aerodynamic. Of course, you have the trademark Skyline round taillamps at the back.

Quad exhaust pipes, two at each side, integrated nicely into the rear bumper design.

Thanks to Mark Vincent for these lovely showroom photos. (Edit: Photos taken by Dino Dalle Carbonare)

You can click all of the photos in this blog post for a bigger version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 20, 2005 at 3:23 pm

Don't like the headlights. Looks like as if it is sleeping. =.=

• Button on Oct 20, 2005 at 3:48 pm

A great looking car.. it would be great to see it on the road..

• Mark Vincent on Oct 20, 2005 at 3:49 pm

loving every bits of it.

• SEE FU on Oct 20, 2005 at 3:56 pm

Different angle different Feel…….I think it is good looking Nissan GTR. Good job!! Still keep the original shape and image!!

YAU MO KAU………CHOU!!

• Beautifully crafted machines with soul.

• KL Lim on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:39 pm

Well Done!

• MoMoSosicko on Oct 20, 2005 at 5:32 pm

imagane all the attention you get drving this hot mama

• Michael Chua on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:10 pm

Its front looks a bit like an Audi, doesn't it?

• December on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:13 pm

Good that they maintain the rear round lights, sort of a signature lights on skylines, its sleek and has aerodynamic features, but at a glance it still reflects the skyline original design.

• See Fu…this baby is damn freaking sexy and its nice in shape ~~~~ gals will 'pok' to get on ur car when u ride this in the city…

MO KAU………CHOU this time!!!!! :P

• Btw wats the top speed? any idea?

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:22 pm

Looks awesome! Subtle yet agressive.. Nice carbon fibre grille section, tho surely that wont bode well in pedestrian crash tests. ouch..

• Lantis on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:37 pm

hmmmm….how to open the door huh??? :-/

• Jusoh on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Mana nak cekau duit beli "Garisan Langit' ni..Design very good, however for the real GTR signature, the front bumper design should incorporate a big damn intercooler. But to think again, maybe this time the GT-R is using a NA engine like the 350Z….

• This is what my fellow cars and I call….The Perfect Car.

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:47 pm

There are rumours that itll use a 3.2liter V6 twin-turbo making 480bhp.. Not finalised yet tho, but that would like WOW

• roni_united on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:33 pm

Like nice buddy…. It's power and moden. I like to front end the real lamp. But it's bit like 350Z.

• travis on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:39 pm

this is a true supercar killer to die for!!!!!

• E-Nabill on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:51 pm

again , the front looks less macho than the rear wich i luv…ike the latest evo,has the black color integrated into the front bumper section….maybe its using the 660 kancil engine anyone??!! 0 to100in one ful day!

• Streamyx User on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:11 pm

Yes it uses 850 L2S engine. With sheepdog BOV.

Now this is what I call a GTR.

• jebat on Oct 20, 2005 at 10:56 pm

dammed good car……so nice looking. LAWA SIOT….giler babes punye

• xprezzy on Oct 20, 2005 at 11:12 pm

nissan gt arre, most chinese talk like dat.

gtr…..hmmmm…..looks the same with the r34, only they make it more roundy look so dat people think dat it is a new design and new evrithin.

its still the same concept nothin change……

poor gtr…only get the plastic surgery for the face, and a little bit of extra bodykits…….. :(

• hfrshah on Oct 20, 2005 at 11:49 pm

xprezzy i think you got mixed up between the R34 and the GT-R Concept car fron the 2001 Tokyo Motor Show. The R34 and this one looks a world apart

• diabloCruiser on Oct 21, 2005 at 1:43 am

very nice design….New Mitsu Evo Concept or GTR Nissan Concept better? hmmm…..:P but one miscue there…GTR Proto —> seems like GTR Proton….very sad….tsk tsk tsk…hehe…

• toolan on Oct 21, 2005 at 2:50 am

haiyya i think this car is not going to be fast. the tyres are bridgestone. ferrari use bridgestone oso n beaten buy renault. change to michelin then i buy.

• cbljkkj on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:22 am

Since when can you judge how fast a car can go by looking at tyres alone???

Anyway, the rear and side profiles definitely exude the true signature of the GT-R. I did hear somewhere that the side and rear are near production but the front is going to experience more tweaking ( thank god!) before launch in 2007.

The front portion is too mundane. Expect strong power figures from the engine. The GT-R will not disappoint.

• APking on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:38 am

I wanna lelong my Helikopter and buy this beast with my last AP.

Before I die… I wanna drive GT-R!!

• gegaoff on Oct 21, 2005 at 4:45 am

bravo!! car of the year!! man, i want this ma…

cheers…

• is nice n luxury. but the spoiler a bit small.

• iguanaa on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:42 am

..where the hell is the Intercooler..???…damn…the look will never be complete without the intercoolers..!!!

• The_Hives on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:21 pm

what an ugly car!! looks like some car from robocop..

• albagmane on Oct 21, 2005 at 10:01 pm

gosh… where will be the plate number put in the front?

it looks very sporty.. the concept looks like the fairlady type of sports car, no more ordinary car looking..

i prefer the older skyline gtr.. looks like a sports car but oso an ordinary car looking..

• aaron on Oct 22, 2005 at 12:03 am

the car lacks the muscular stance of the r34. they should buff up the rear fenders and rethink the quirky roof. i don't like how it has that 350z/G35 shape. i'd be much more pleased if it had the stance of a ferrari or zonda. but i guess it can't be helped since this isn't a mid-engined car.

• im pretty sure the top speed is like 300km/h LOL.

if the rumours are true regarding the specs of the car it will be in the same class as lambo/ferrari. that makes it even less affordable than it already is :(

aiya

• omg.. if you ask me to choose between the front lights of an R34 and this.. the R43 would win by 427843 miles man.. the front is really too.. ermm.. timid..

the mitsu sportsback concept is totally 100 times more meaner than this model.. although the supposed engine of this baby is pretty tempting.. hahaha..

but still, not too enthusiastic about the shapes of concept cars.. too round, too much technology.. my 2 cents.. :P

• skylineGTR_guy on Oct 22, 2005 at 9:38 am

who the heck is Mark Vincent? he didnt take those last two photos, they were taken by Dino Dalle Carbonare and i can prove it because he was live at the show and he took those pictures and uploaded them directly from the show, what a schmuck trying to take credit for other people pictures!

http://blog.gtroc.com/dino/

• skylineGTR_guy on Oct 22, 2005 at 9:40 am

*last two showroom photos I mean*

• neurra on Oct 23, 2005 at 1:38 am

350Z still surpasses this car in terms of design

• Bryan on Oct 23, 2005 at 8:17 pm

PROTO = GREAT!!

PROTON = SuX!!

• Shaun on Oct 23, 2005 at 9:20 pm

Paul, i have to correct you when you mention "Nissan Skyline GT-R PROTO". Nissan has ditched the 'Skyline' moniker to make GT-R a brand of its own as well as distancing the name from the Skyline sedan range. So this car would simply be known as the Nissan GT-R when it comes into production.

Cheers

• Shaun: Contrary to what you just said, I've read that the car will be sold as a Skyline in Japan, but internationally it is still unknown whether it will be offered as an Infiniti or a Nissan. If it is an Infiniti, it will be called the Infiniti GT-R. If a Nissan, the Skyline name will still be there. Then again, this is what I've read for research before blogging about this. So it might be wrong! :P

• Matheus on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:50 am

I've heard this PERFECT car will have 380bhp

And I think this one is so much beautiful than the 2001 Tokyo Showroom.

Can you show us some specs of this car?

• i still can't get over the 32 GTR its still amazing drive better than many 2005 models.

• R35 GTR 4WD?

What engine? How much of power

• Alistair on Nov 09, 2005 at 2:26 am

This car is wickeg i will have one in a few years

• kieron kelly on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:14 am

the nissan skyline GTR proto looks a lot better and they still got them circle back lights and a powerful 3.7 v4 engine but the nissan skyline GTR will be still around and talked about for a long time.

• sharma on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:29 pm

hai…nissan car innovator…..i mean the creator of this high speed demon….u all have done a good job combining all the sporty and luxury ….in this gtr…..well….i a small request …can i have a ride on that demon…..?

well

hope 2 get one of it in free….hehehehe

• DAvid F on Nov 19, 2005 at 1:11 pm

By getting the GTR 35 into the american market all other car manufacturers will be obsolite. Obviously the government is going to put a high tarriff making this car seem as a BMW M3… Take your time in putting it out so i can start saving my pennies as of now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also rather have it as a nissan not as an infinite because the name infinite is going to cost us money… continuing the g35 line will be a great idea also..it gives people choice

• Lucifer96 on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:58 am

This car will rip and dominate most cars, and lookwise it is incredible. The back of the car looks incredible, would make most car enthusiasts horny at the very least. The front, although bit weird compared to previous shapes, looks okay, but too much of a "350Z/G35" influence, as aaron said. Still, if i had the money I'd buy it…. and even though i don't have the money, I'm still going to take out a loan and buy one :p

• i'm in love with anything nissan makes and puts gtr on it but still the r 32 to r 34 are the best in the world no cars can compare not even the maclaren that car is nothing compared to nissan skyline love for nissan skyline cause i hope to become it's future professional driver in all the worlds race series love u nissan skyline and all nissans drive u soon my pop got a r 34

• beautiful but design kinda lapuk…

• whaa!!!!! Awesome!!!!!cool!!!!!

• I heard that the engine would be twin engined 3.2 ltr V6 in Japanese market with 480 hp, and 4,5ltr v8 in international market with 480 hp too.

It wont be 4wd.. i thinks its good..i dont like 4wd.. kinda mixture of 2 wd n 4 wd. the front wheel only drive when it needed..

The design is magnificent… I like it so much..

but its front needs to be more cruel.. more muscle… bigger air dam, then it would be outstanding.

• The rear overfender needs to be much bigger too…

geez the design its great… but it needs the spirit of masculin or macho kinda thing more

But it still great though..

• Ibrahim Haddad on Dec 12, 2005 at 12:01 pm

What do u want me to say ??

Its an amazing ,superb car this car is wat i call a "BOMB"

i wish i can afford a car like that , and if i do afford it u guys you would wanna see me rip tht car like hell especially people who live in UAE u know wat it means to take a car on " EMIRATES ROAD " >>> yaaaaaaaaa thts wat i call RIP a car on a ROAD .

!! "GTR……….." MA FUTURE DREAM" !!

• epalhead on Dec 13, 2005 at 7:08 pm

u all have'nt seen the BUGATI Veyron…….see to believe.

as for the Skyline….huh no match with the Bugati…

0 to 60mph @ 2.5sec…….

Hey Paul….why don't u blog some of the BUgati here…….

YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!!!!

• KethoN on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:42 pm

I wonder this GTR design for ladies?? cuz it look way back far behind from the current original GTR..I prefer the current GTR…

yea babe..

• P3RZ!AN BO! on Dec 15, 2005 at 11:19 pm

nice job! luv da car

• GTR32 on Dec 16, 2005 at 4:05 am

I hope this GTR comes back to Australia (please) and back into

Bathurst Racing (pretty please) because i am sick of watching the 2 pig race.

Ford and Holden watch out!!!

HSV+FPV

• GTR32 on Dec 17, 2005 at 12:48 am

Ford and Holden watch out!!!

HSV+FPV

• GTR32 on Dec 17, 2005 at 12:51 am

HSV+FPV does not equal GTR

GTR Got To Race

• SteeLSireNofBrunei on Dec 18, 2005 at 2:57 am

Stick it with nissan bagde.infinity defines luxury ofcourse but nothing commands performance like nissan wic is oso synonym to NISMO the performance name even the far reaches of asia would recognise.Base pricing isnt a matter of discussion.there are nissans priced at 62k USD.Even more for this GTR's predessesor tagged at 75k USD.so stick with nissan badge.its about time the Saleen S7 has a competition.the prevoius infinity badged skyline was a disaster.plus Never omit the trade mark "twin lights".its much of the emblem as the GTR bagde is.above all else,

CONGRATULATIONS NISSAN/INFINITY this brings hope and relief to the eventual successor of the nissan skyline line. good job.

• the man on Dec 21, 2005 at 8:54 pm

epalhead, a buggati veyron also costs $1.2 million, has twice as many cylinders, and twice as many turbos. It better be faster than a car under a hundred grand, too bad it isn't much faster. Give me $1.2 million and i'de rock a buggati veyron and still have enough cash to buy myself two houses.

• gtr monster on Jan 06, 2006 at 11:24 am

the infinite gtr has a VQ engine like the 350z and the g35 also it uses IHI turbos kinda like the ones in STI's so do some research before u clowns go post stupid shit like v4 engines(kieron kelly) and as for the ass who made the bugatti veyron comment skylines will have a few things bugatti will never have and the handling, class and most importantly character!!! bugatti only has one thing an ugly name!!!

• gtr monster on Jan 06, 2006 at 11:32 am

*also the GTr has an electronically controlled 7 gear tranny w/ paddle shifters* and will come three colors plus a nismo gunmetal edition- just some fun info i figured

• Aku nak satu tapi tak mampu nak beli , kalau sapa sapa nak sponsor boleh jugak

• barcin on Jan 07, 2006 at 9:27 pm

ok i honestly dont like the new look, its not the traditional skyline……i think it would be a bigger hit if it looked more like the gtr 34, now that i think by far the best skyline ever, this is a nice car, however it just doesnt have the traditional look, thats just me.

• JDMfreak (Member) on Mar 06, 2006 at 6:41 am

Hmm… Looks like from the pictures the dimensions this time are smaller than the R34's. i may be wrong though. it has a LITTLE resemblance to the Veyron from the back hehe. Overall it is a sleek smooth car but lacks the in-your-face styling of the R34. Hey does anyone know about the current Skyline that they're selling in japan now?

I was so worried that it would be the Skyline for years to come. That car is NOT the skyline that we're all used to.

Check it out.

http://www.nissan.co.jp/EN/lineup.html

• dip (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 10:33 am

wish i could own this car in the future… god help me get this car :)

• munna (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 4:17 pm

Looks Ok needs far bit more work though

info on other skyline models http://nissanskyline.6te.net

• junior (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 9:53 am

After having some few bottles of Jack Daniels & Chivas Regal at one of the hottest pub in town with your ever gorgeous chick, you surely would not one to mess around with one of these rides especially in the middle of the night and surely not to bump in any of the traffic lights eventhough youre riding on a well upgraded 350bhp evolution 9!!!

• lisa_duncan (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:41 am

when exactly is the UK launch and what will its retail price be???

• 2FA5T (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 12:57 am

errr ummm…. whaTT?? they shud hav stopped at r34…. i wud luv to drag this peice of shit… drag bak to japan that is, my FD wud flog this shitty faggot lookin car, oh n junior ur evo 9's slow…. well not enough to b boasting about it, u shud learn how to drive b4 u get behind tha wheel just a tip, i think u shud hav anothr bottle of jack n stay at home where is safer

FUCK R35s, there useless peicess of shit, the only reason they made it v8 is to compete with the european cars, they shud stop NOW

• liam (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 10:24 am

I find this car to be an insult to all skylines

• i gotta 350z n i lyk fast cars (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:49 pm

this is one of the best cars in the wworld i mean OMG it 0-60 is 3.7 the same as a 911 turbo i fink ne way around one second slower that a BUGATTI VERYRON. ill admit the design team didnt have the hardest job in the world but this is a cross between the 2 greatest nissans in the world, 350z and the skyline. and the last thing i can say is im getting this car when it comes out

• lim chun huang on Apr 12, 2009 at 12:32 am

nice la this car