Motorists to pay more for petrol by card

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal announced that motorists purchasing petrol at stations with a credit card would have to pay more for their petrol. He said a new formula was being devised to balance out the credit card charges currently being born by the petrol stations.

Let’s hope it’s nothing more than the 1.25% commission charged by banks. In fact since the costs should be shared by the motorist and the station, it should be exactly half of that. It would be a blatant and obvious rip off if it wasn’t.

The new formula will be announced later today.

Update: formula announced!

Related

Source: Bernama, NST

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SEE FU on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:32 pm

Easy money made by the BANKERS!!

YAU MO KAU………CHOU!!! Zero interest will be the best!!

• carlos on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:54 pm

jln kaki la P keje……… no more DEEPA RAYA….. save money to pay credit card…….

i heard that SURBO (see METRO for IKLAN)can save fuel consumption….. my cousin has use it….. save 10% to 25%………. is it true paul?

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 24, 2005 at 6:01 pm

:O shaittttttt… ingat ini low yat ka. bayar kredit kad extra charge.

should make if purchase more than RM50.00 0% laa.

• Halimi Saidi on Oct 24, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Just made some calculations… with 50% of the 1.25% bank charge (0.625%) … at the petrol prices at rm1.62/lit … it works out to about an extra 1 sen added to every litre of petro purchased. so instead of rm1.62/lit foe cash purchases… it will be rm1.63/lit for credit card purchases. feel free to check in case I made a mistake.

• keniji on Oct 24, 2005 at 6:39 pm

come on

ripping us again,

monopoly!

that is station and banks battle,

we are not to be charged!

• use Maybank ATM card instead. I don’t know about others bank, but Maybank ATM card can be used at Petronas petrol station. (but i'm not sure if they charge it too)

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 24, 2005 at 6:58 pm

since when maybank didn't charge their customer for using their own money.

• Kung Fu Karipap on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:14 pm

Lucky i dont have credit card…..Thats why la "free for life" cos u have to pay more for everything…

• yup, i'm almost forgot. they charge us after the 5th transaction. stupid bank.

• lets all fill up @ projet already

• smm, about project, are they still going to absorb the credit card charges and dont charge us for credit card? it can be logic because projet stations are all manage by projet them self.

• HumanSanzz on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:44 pm

ehmm……..All also wanna charge.Siao meh???

Now a 2000cc car full tank also can pump up till ard 100 ringgit.Have to bring so much of money to pump petrol.Haizzz……..

• Wilfred on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:12 pm

burden rakyat onli….

wat stupid banks and petrol station owners and G

oredi make money…yet wanna charge on consumer…

where is consumer's right???!!

• Wilfred on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:16 pm

i foresee a new crime hotspot….

petrol station…

coz to pump with cash….a lot ppl need to carry a lot cash…

in dat way…

robber can attack and rob….

no one dares fight of coz….the flick could blow fire up….

well…..easy money for robber…..

stupid G….

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:20 pm

free free credit card… lelong lelong, free credit card, just give your me ic.. free free…

interest free tak ada kah?

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:00 pm

What are the benefit we got if we spend money on CREDIT CARDS?

Anyone know it?? TELL US PLS!! :(

What a modern licensed ROBBERY on town!! No consumers rights and protection!!!

Those Card holder (VISA or Master) must pay members fees annually.

Shop owner who claim to provide better service to customer and yet the charges pay by consumers. What is the logic of using these cards to consumers?? Better use CASH, save annual fees cost and shopping no extra charges. Why BOLEHLAND go backwards…….>>>>

Why why tell me why??

• Twoxer Hayzen on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:39 pm

Hi,

Well Dog the Wan, Credit cards offer many plus points. It's the technology that's driving it.

* You need not carry cash

* You do get points from your card issuer

* It's quicker, although maybe that's debatable

* It offers some people the benefit of consolidating their expenses

On the last item, I for one use the credit card to pay all my utilities and recurring payments. So at the end of the month I pay to only one point – the card issuer. And benefit number 2 above is linked to this.

And technology goes one step further; I pay all my credit card bills and other auxiliarry bills via e-banking! Save time, despite the RM2.00 charge (petrol, parking, and LONG QUEUES is worth more than RM2.00 I think).

But yes, I agree the charge issue is too much. As it is, we're paying for the items, which means giving the station operators livelihood!

Your choice.

• pay by cash loh….

end of the day, why should I pay more. The credit card only for my convenience only, in this case, pay CASH la.

:D :)

• rafreez on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:00 pm

I think bank should give a previlages to card holder as we already been burden with annual fees and charges every month…if we have to pay by cash, how can we achieve cashless society in the future…I understand that all svc has it charges but how about ppl who dont just buy petrol using cards,sometimes ppl buy stuff frm the petrol kiosk to and the stuff is not usually cheap. So Gov have to reconsider to add burden to customer…

• hokkien lang on Oct 25, 2005 at 12:09 am

you are right dog the wam

they are all legal thief they are the only people where steal and rob legal from law but we no choice! if have perdana V6 or etc. you fill a full tank in your car, you pay cash is over RM85++ on the day you plan for long journey will you have any 'spirits' to continiu…..

if you say 'yes' i respect you

thank you

• in my opinion

bank charges high interest as card fraud case. After all it is the banks suffer (not directly as they buy insurance for that) not petrol station, high interest to cover loan.

Want to blame, blame the high fraud card rate then.

• Paul,

Bernama.com has a news updated on this matter. No charge on consumer :) but for those using credit card at petrol pump, no more bonus point.

• Joe, IIRC projet does not belongs to any sort of organization

so they are actually on their own :D

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Like said, malaysian consumer always lose out