R3 Amprex loses title due to fuel leaks

Proton R3 Amprex’s Lotus Exige 300RR almost achieved victory in the G2 category of the Zhuhai FIA GT championship, but due to a fuel leak problem they lost the title to Belgian Racing.

The teams were close, but the Exige 300RR had fuel leak problems that forced the car to enter the pits four times instead of only one time as planned, according to Tengku Djan Ley. Oh well boys, better luck next time.

Proton R3 Amprex to race at Zhuhai, China

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Go, go. go…. R3 rocks!

• SEE FU on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:23 pm

COme on R3!! Check the car before and after the RACE PLEASE!!

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!

• travis on Oct 24, 2005 at 6:06 pm

pls be supportivelah ppl

anyway i proud of the r3 amprex team, although i not a fan of proton.

Hope next year u guys will start winning races after sort all these reliablity problems! (ops did this car isnpected , proton QC style? ) :P

• Andrew on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:24 pm

abothen!? it's a potong after all!!!

• Joshua on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:11 pm

typical proton quality la. not unexpected. hehehehe. poor lotus, degraded itself after being aquired by proton.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:23 pm

stupit basher… thinking like 10 years old boy!..

Wake Up!..

even ferrari not won every race..

// tired looking a childish people here..

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:04 pm

Ayooh TENGKU DJAN, what happened???? Leak?? F***K man.

A yoYo ……Miss!! Who is the mechanic of this car? I wanna to SUE him. :(

• rafreez on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:16 pm

aggree with mitsu_galang_2000 I am…fuel tank leak can happen to anyone, even space shuttle discovery…

• Guys, please don't be unreasonable. You have no idea how hard a race car is pushed. Oil temperatures are bloody high. Breakdowns are normal. Don't associate R3 Amprex's car with any impression of Proton's QC that you have. They're quite unrelated.

• Bryan on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Plotong is still a plotong

• honda_driver on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:49 pm

bryan, got nothing intelligent to say, don't post lah.

• superman on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:53 pm

Joshua,

Lotus had no money and shoddy quality BEFORE Proton bought them lah.

SEE FUU,

a fuel leak could happen to anyone , hello. A race car in race condition goes through many stresses that YOU could only dream off.

Andrew

If you aren't fammiliar with race conditions ( especially a gruelling endurance race) please keep your misguided unfounded comments to yourselves.

• yhtan on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:00 pm

R3,i support u although we know you are from proton

keep it up…..

• travis on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:55 pm

Paul, i just kiddinglah, the sacrastic way.

Well i can see the lotus R3 amprex recently have the problem with the fuel pump. Perviously during the 12 hr merdeka endurance race if u read this month's hypertune they did faced that problem. Luckily managed to fix in time.

Man this time they soo close.

• KuntaKinteWakatauSin on Oct 25, 2005 at 3:50 am

I wonder what actually Tengku Djan Ley do in Proton?, R3 Tuning Bos?, Race car driver or just a spoilt brat wasting proton's money…………..

I think Karamjit Singh is the better bet for Proton, Proven Champion…….

Help Him Proton!…………

• Bryan on Oct 25, 2005 at 12:02 pm

honda_driver … i have my right to post what i wan ,right?

• Bryan on Oct 25, 2005 at 12:15 pm

honda_driver ,

If PLOTONG is belong to ur father, mother or watsoever ..then i say sorry coz offence u.. but if that was really belongs to ur family or wat.. then pls lah.. be supportive and change ur nick to proton_driver..

• Raymond on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:44 pm

Yes, Bryan u have the right to post whatever u like.

honda_driver,

BTW, i dont see that u are posting something INTELLIGENT here.

Both of you pls submitting sth related to this news. Thanks

• honda_driver on Oct 25, 2005 at 5:06 pm

KuntaKinteWakatauSinkolanChemaun:

R3 is protons motorsports division. last i heard, they have sold out all their limited edition cars, and are also modding and selling performance parts and bodykits. sounds like they're making some money of their own.

at least R3 is breaking new ground for malaysian motorsports. Gt racing is something new for malaysians to be involved in. and i believe its only the 1st year ever that anyone from malaysia is doing it. at least its a local team with locals working on the project, including building, preparing and tuning the car. all other overseas malaysian motorsports have seen foreigners making up the majority of the team, or its only the driver who is malaysian.

as for karam, in case you didnt know, over the last 5-6 years, the malaysian govt, petronas and proton has been giving him millions every single year to go rallying.

sure, he is going true some seriously tough times now, but i think its his own fault for not working hard enuf to secure sponsors for himself. instead, he always expects to be given what he wants. There are hundreds of malaysians in motorsports today, many with the potential to be world beaters, but are struggling even to find sponsors to race locally. How come no one talks about these guys?

bryan, just coz i own a honda, doesnt mean i have to be a proton basher. but yes. sure, i have a thousand complaints about proton and the crap cars they produce like the gen2. but please dont post just for the sake of making a crude comment thats got nothing to do with the topic.

• Julian on Oct 25, 2005 at 5:38 pm

haha, honda_driver.. where are u copying all these.. sounds like talking crap..keke.. kidding..~~

• Riders on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:40 pm

honda_driver,

I guess what bryan says is just mean to be a joke lah, just take it easy and be mature a bit and and try not to offending ppl lah.

• honda_driver on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:04 am

hahah.. great, now i'm being accused of attempting to offend people and being immature.

• superman on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:15 am

KuntaKinteWakatauSinkolanChemaun ,

Tengku Djan Ley, before being appointed Head of Proton's Motorsports Division was a top notch Ride& Handling Engineer at Lotus Engineering Hethel UK. His previous job before that was at Porsche Motorsports in Stuttgart, Germany.

He has competed in 3 Merdeka Millenium Race, 2 Japan GT Races , And last year finished second in The Kumho Lotus Championship Australia

Julian & Riders,

Honestly if you read Honda Driver's posts he's actually pretty intelligent, compared to some other idiots we have here at PaulTan.ORG

Last Time I checked, Karamjit was a Rally driver, which is a different diciple to curcuit racing

• truely asia on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:20 am

Its not only R3 motorsport running the show ler, its a joint racing team between R3 motorsport and Amprex motorsport. Hence the name R3 Amprex..

http://www.amprexmotorsport.com/home.asp

• in MME, mostly Proton win.

go for toyota or honda la..

cabut!