Toyota Corolla Compressor

Toyota has launched an updated version of the Toyota Corolla hatch in the place where everyone loves hatches – Europe.

The new Toyota Corolla hatchback, called the “Toyota Corolla Compressor” has a forced inducted version of the 1.8 litre VVTL-i DOHC engine, also found in the Toyota Celica and Lotus Elise.

The new supercharged VVTL-i engine gets a power boost up to 215bhp, compared to it’s naturally aspirated brother which makes 189hp. Maximum torque at 4000rpm is 215Nm.

If you look carefully, you can see the redline is just a little bit higher than 8000rpm, and the meter goes up to 9000rpm. VVTL-i engines are like VTEC engines, they have two sets of cam profiles. The ‘wild’ cam profile activates at higher rev ranges, and screams on all the way to the 8000rpm redline on this car.

Only 250 models are being made available. Pretty limited edition, though you could probably achieve the same power boost over the N/A version with an aftermarket supercharger kit. But the car also comes with other goodies like a sports suspension that’s 15mm lower, 17 inch alloy rims wrapped with 215/45/R17 tyres, a rear spoiler and a twin-tailpipe sports exhaust.

The Toyota Corolla Compressor goes on sale in the UK on 1st November 2005, priced at £19,995.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MutantTomato on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:27 am

Sweeeeeet….. :D But 20k Pounds? Thats a bit pricey man… You can get many other nice cars in UK for that price!

• HumanSanzz on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:06 am

wah damn nice lar.saliva also come out liao

• yhtan on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:12 am

Nice car,good engine with more power

• a distant relative of the hachiroku by chance? (screw the fact it may not me FR)

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:35 am

i love hatch… bring it to malaysia lah…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 27, 2005 at 8:23 am

Malaysians don't like hatches , Its a proven fact.

But I do like them. Nice , but not outstanding. I'm still impressed by what Jeremy Clarkson said about the Vauxhall @ Top Gear.

• blackhead on Oct 27, 2005 at 8:32 am

while look at the first pic, "huh toyota's satria?"

scroll down n found out these much more better

VVTL-i somemore, quite expensive

• aksMs on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:24 am

eRis-Aeir4s: I couldn't agree with you more. Malaysian (in general) didn't fancy much on hot hatches. Or is it because there's not many choices (except a wide range of Satria VR4s and used EGs and EKs?) I know some of us here would love to get a hand on those yummy hot hatches…say, Golf GTi anyone?

But that Corolla is damn hot! (for me lah, at least). I always love hatches. But I don't wanna pay over 150K for a car with 2 door less. Argh! Damn tax! I'm getting older but these hot hatches still seems out of reach. To drive one of these cars at my age are either a 'tokan'/hit 1st prize Toto/direct sales people. Damn…

If I'm not mistaken, this Corolla only available for Europe market. Is it true?

• aksMs on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:26 am

Err…Paul. Where did you get those photos?

• aksMs: from a few places around the net. here and here

• aksMs on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:48 am

Thanks Paul. Thought gonna get that tomorrow. LOLs. All those pretty cars never fails to give me sleepless night! ;)

• wiraone on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:45 pm

Too damn expensive for Japanese car, you can have Golf GTI for the same price or Vaxhaull Astra VXR for £1K less. The engine may be powerful, but the appearance is lacky.

• this is takumi's new car

• Now..this is a smat car. Masculine line..Yess.Has some Picnic and Wish blood in it.

• xprezzy on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:42 pm

i hope TRD going to do something on that car to satisfy the "needs" of the europian people….. specially those are kaki moto…… 215bhp for an hatchback? i think these people needs more than that…..

i hope that hatchback will also come to asian market………and please……. TRD ;) make it go faster and more powerful!!!!!!!!

• 215bhp not enough meh? Where you want to go? Highway limit only 110km/h maa…

• travis on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:21 pm

well in mysia we can have hot hatches if we consider the satria gti and the gen2 r3 as a hot hatch. The stock gen2 has higher chances and potential to become a great hot hatch.

Unfortunately, due to most of our car manufacturers here cater for "uncle" car market we kinda lack of choices for hot hatches, unless we take an existing hatch and modify it.

A hot hatch version of the perodua myvi anyone????

I was hopingh toyota will retireve the lagency of the AE86 by introducing a new 1.6-2.0 hatch with FR, cater for drifters. But somehow toyota now goes hybrids tech and enviroment friendly cars, so changes to see a new AE86 sucessor is kinda slim.

sigh

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:29 pm

Hei, This car is crying!! look at the head lamps got teardrop??

I don't like this car….because the Hatch back!!

YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!

• haha.. i would say it's pretty good..

ermm, travis.. lagency of AE86??? wad's lagency? :P

• MyBoy on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:09 pm

What a good looking car. :D

• epalhead on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:10 pm

i've lives in UK …..i worked there, as a mando (some sort of like that) for team of building cleaner. I earn 250 pound/month. My wages is paid weekly. So one month I earn about 1000pound.

Guys,

Perodua kelisa is priced @ approximate 5000pound

Honda jazz @ 11000pound

Toyota corolla Altis @ 16000pound

Impian/Waja @ 11000pound

Gen-2 @ 8000pound to 11000 pound

and so on so forth…..

Guys….

calculate the car price/wage ratio in UK…..

take waja for instance for instance…..

11000/1000 = 11.

compared it to malaysia;

Engineer salary @ 3000/month

60000/3000 = 20

guys….what can u all conclude????

and if u lives in UK….the petrol price is @ 0.95 pence/litre (those days, now i dunno)…..with that salary, i can't be rich but still, i can buy petrol…this is simple math. if u want to compare the oil price @ UK after conversion to RM, make sure u convert my salary too….

• honda_driver on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:12 pm

thats the difference with us malaysians as car consumers, our choices and habits make us a minority. In europe, they dont look and compare a "continental" and a "japanese" car like the way we do. a 3 series is just a 3 series, and a golf is just a golf. or worse, a vauxhall. There is generally no extra prestige harped upon these cars as we do in malaysia.

eRis-Aeir4s, wheres the proven fact that malaysians dont like hot hatches?

Even though hot hatches are popular in europe, they still make up the minority when compared to sedans and MPV's.

the satria R3 is still the best case study imho. RM79,000 which is not cheap, practically beaten and used to death platform,some cosmetic touches, reworked chassis and handling, same old engine with same old power output. conclusion, all sold out in less than a year.

• Michael Chua on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Lovely. Hatches are so hot nowadays. More and more people are favoring hatches to sedans. Because they look sportier and have less air-drag?

• MyBoy on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:28 pm

honda_driver: u were right about the R3, it a car developed on a dead (almost :)) plat form and yet priced at some RM79K. Thats insane! Where is the vaue for money here?

• ddkwh on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:30 pm

wow!! sweet hatchie-back!! now if only it were to reach malaysia. confirmed will get one. is there anything we consumers can do to get them to market it over here?!

• travis on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:40 pm

sorry not lacency its legency. Sorry for my spelling mistakes!

regarding on our lack of car choices comapred to sgpore and most european countries, all thanks to our bolehland gov and proton for limiting our choices of car with this useless national car project >.

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:03 pm

epal arr!!

I don't understand your SIMPLE MAths lah!! Pls teach me how to calculate this.

"I earn 250 pound/month. My wages is paid weekly. So one month I earn about 1000pound."

Not logic lah!! Pls correct it!!

YAU MO KAU…..CHOU!!! Paste twice!!

• December on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:05 pm

Quite indentical Ford focus…but this is sweet, certainly is.. :D

• MyBoy on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:11 pm

SEE FU: I think what he meant is:

“I earn 250 pound/"week". My wages is paid weekly. So one month I earn about 1000pound.”

• EDDIE FANS on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:54 pm

Y THE DASHBOARD IS ALWAYS THE SAME!!

• ex-mivec on Oct 27, 2005 at 9:18 pm

can beat civic type r ke?

• epalhead, your XP's interesting, but tell me does people over there (uk) with 250 pound/week own/buy car?

..probably over there cars not top priority as we are here (i.e. 2nd only to house) ?

..talking about hatch/hot hatch cars, so far all my cars are hatch! not only they're nice looking, sporty but practical in a sense we can have an entended boot space…

• Looks ok. A bit like the Civic type R and the Focus ST. Both of which are cheaper than this Corolla and the Focus would be more powerful.

• stewpid on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:23 pm

we in bolehland also interested in hot hatch, if not why those gti was selling like goreng pisang panas, the limit is its too way overpriced here….

looking at the toyota reminds me about the legendary starlet turbo in the k-car class…

• peter on Oct 27, 2005 at 11:04 pm

Hatches are better for the following reasons:

1. Practical – Easier to park thanks to shorter body, when you fold down the seats you can load it up with stuff that a sedan simply will not carry (you can use it like a little van!), usually lighter so easier on fuel.

2. Look better – In the UK they call these types of Hatchbacks "Hot Hatches" because they are … well.. hot.

3. More ridged chassis – They offer better handeling and road holding, and this is especially true of the 3 door versions because the body stiffness is far better and contributes to the overall strength of the chassis.

4. Cheaper – Hatchback versions are always cheaper than their sedan brothers.

These are just some of the reasons why hatchbacks are so popular in the UK (and Europe). Over there we have a massive choice of hatches to choose from too and many of them are stunning. It's one thing I miss here in Asia, there are just too many boring sedans here.

• travis on Oct 27, 2005 at 11:04 pm

The focus ST is turbocharged, honda civic type R is NA while this is supercharged. Choose one!

Anyway the only thing i dont like is the rims, while the rest is great stuff!

• Ed tothe Izzo on Oct 27, 2005 at 11:45 pm

Literally double the price of a Gen2 in UK. More than double the horses and triple the thrill.

That's how Malaysians should benchmark cars overseas :)

• ShaolinTiger on Oct 28, 2005 at 12:26 am

This is a sweet motor.

Still prefer Golf R32 tbh.

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:20 am

What the difference?

VVTI vs. VVTL?

• epalhead on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:33 am

SEE FU

U got me….typing error..250pound/week

thank u SEE FU…so glad this blog have u in…

• SEE FU on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:38 am

epal arr!!

Bro you are good man!! Let's go BANGSAI YAM CHA……..I pay NO SEE NO GONE. (BUTT KIN BUTT SAN) Okay!!

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!!!

• Deodorant on Oct 28, 2005 at 2:24 am

Well if we're going to compare overseas earnings/car prices …

My first job out of college in NYC paid US40k/yr (about US3k/mth after taxes and stuff), or about US$500 a month in extra after expenses.

You can buy a second hand car for US$500. I bought a 9-yr old Civic hatchback for $1,100, and used it for 2 years with absolutely no servicing, no oil change (only top-up fluids), no wash, no break down, and sold the car for $400 before coming back to M'sia.

$700/24months = $29 per month.

For RM29 a month, you can't even buy a bicycle with a 10hp motor. (Earning power is somewhat equivalent numerically; flipping burgers in BK earns you US$6, flipping burgers here is like RM5).

• he-said-i on Oct 28, 2005 at 2:36 am

emalaysian, VVTi is the first variable valve timing produced by toyota, similiar to honda's v-tec. VVTLi's difference that is was a join collablration with Yamaha to produce a unique piston head in order to churn out even more HP at hig revs. It's quite outstanding as looking at a 2.0 V-tec only pushing abt 160 hp comapred to this 1.8 VVTLi tat produces 190 hp.

• Hoong on Oct 28, 2005 at 3:10 am

i love this car! Is my dream car

• Toyol minyak on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:17 am

* ho hum *

• diabloCruiser on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:43 am

Deodorant, I heard ur cry…….we all cry to this fact too….thats life…..we are bolehpeople…..!

• hfrshah on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:54 pm

VVTL-i means Variable Valve Timing and Lift – Inteligent.

i-VTEC is Inteligent Variable Valve Timing and Electronic Lift Control.

Pretty much the same concept actually, just executed with minor differences.

Civic Type-R's 2.0 i-VTEC has 197bhp, so its about on par with Toyota's engine. Tho generally i-VTEC engines car rev up to higher RPMs, enhancing its sporty appeal.

Honda S2000's 2.0 N/A VTEC engine had 240bhp btw

• jared on Oct 28, 2005 at 3:52 pm

Hfrshah,

Yup, correct. The VVTi-L comes with electronic lift jointly developed with Yamaha. It’s just like Vtec except that VVTi-L is more “advanced”. With lift control, not only the timing of the cams is controllable but also the duration of the lift. It’s just like BMW’s Double Vanos and continuously variable with virtually no preset cam changeover point, unlike Vtec which is two-stage i.e. “slow” and “go”. However now Honda has i-Vtec which is slightly better than Vtec but still slightly behind VVTi-L. Anyway, the difference between the two is not much and in daily operation they perform equally well.

I personally prefer VVTi-L because it uses almost maintenance-free timing chain as opposed to Vtec’s timing belt.

Wait for Lotus’ AVT which is Fully variable valve timing (FVVT), far ahead in technology and it promises “camless” operation

For a snippet, go to http://www.all4engineers.com/index.php;sid=19/sit…

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:33 pm

Thanks

• Flannel on Oct 28, 2005 at 6:23 pm

nice engine, but the price wtf????????????????????????

• epalhead on Oct 28, 2005 at 6:30 pm

SEE FU arr;

YAM CHA, LENG LUI…..

• KuntaKinteWakatauSin on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:06 pm

out dated design………lost to honda EP3

• benunited on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:53 pm

design=7.5/10 price=2/10 wtf???

• anychance its going down here locally??? dream on..

• terran on Oct 29, 2005 at 6:24 am

the s/charged engine is awesome.. other parts just not radical enough… interior alamak..old and new satria look much better….sigh.

• Verne on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:14 pm

I've always loved the Corolla hatch. They used to call it the Corolla TTE too. Always wondered why its not available in Asia. Weird. Compressor? Hmm..nice!

• Nameless on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:28 pm

like potong kereta type,front using Vitz facelift,rear using Honda civic hatchback,interior using corola altis

• albagmane on Oct 29, 2005 at 9:58 pm

this car will blow a lady's dress off.. haha~! everthing seems nice BUT the rims look suck! they are totally unsuitable!

• Brian on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:16 am

Pretty sweet. Of course we can't get it in the states….

• Sexythang on Nov 03, 2005 at 7:30 am

i think the hatches are only for europe. they have the exact model in australia called corolla sportivo, its the NA one but comes with all the goodies but is 4 door. price is 30k aud. i'd say thats a bloody good price. considering a year before that i bought a corolla levin with the plain older engine for 27k aud. only problem with the sportivo is that there is not much feel in the handling. sort of like driving in gran turismo 4.

i think the supercharger is quite nifty. helps down low. but i think the torque on normal corolla are pretty good already. just not enough for spirited driving at the lights. took em 3 years to come up with that.

and yes, i do agree the chain belts on the corolla offer much more piece of mind even though there is nothing much to worry about considering you change the vtec engine timing belt when its time is up. but still when you're revving around 7k rpm alot….timing belt split on a toyota=nothing to worry about. vtec's would need a new engine.

btw….the seats on the sportivo or levins arent good for asians. no support at all. it needs to be more bucket like on the integras.

• (Info from Go-auto, Australia)

Very soon Camry ( TS-01) will come with this option using the Roots-style super-charger, sourced from Toyota Racing Development in the United States – added to the venerable 3.0-litre V6 engine, which with 0.5bar of boost lifts maximum output to 185kW (up 40kW) at 6000rpm and 320Nm (up 36Nm) at 4000rpm.

We hope Malaysian can enjoy this on a 2L Camry..

• howlingblues on Nov 09, 2005 at 5:13 pm

I think I sat on this T-sport Corolla during the 61st IAA Frankfurt.

The dash may look too grey but practical, std design for Toyota, right?

i feel the foot pedals and gear shifting are awesome.

…another mind-blowing sleeper.

• SexyThang, are u the one from AW? I used to be on that forum :)

I got a corolla ascent and it came with bucket seats at the front.. Good to hug small asian bods like mine… kaka

• T-Vios on Jan 06, 2006 at 11:14 pm

nice engine with super charger.. hope to get one into my car.