Government to help Karamjit

Looks like Karamjit’s plight had reached the cabinet, thanks mostly to Malay Mail’s efforts. Our PM Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi raised the matter of Karamjit Singh’s lack of sponsorship to continue rallying at the cabinet on Wednesday. He asked, “If Karamjit is a Malaysian and has been producing results and bringing honour to the country, why has support not been accorded to him?”

Karamjit was slapped a RM46,000 (10,000 Euro) fine by FIA after he pulled out of the World Rally Championship due to lack of funds to run the races. He also needs RM57,000 to ship his car back from New Zealand. He is currently in the process of finalising the sale of his apartment to pay for the fine and the transport fees if there are no sponsors in the next few days.

Karamjit said he is touched by offers to set up funds to raise money for him to race, but he will not use public or Sports Ministry funds to race as he believes there are enough big corporations in Malaysia who can sponsor him. Otherwise, he will race for another country next year.

Sports Minister Datuk Azalina Othman Said said that the government will do whatever they can to assist. She mentioned there are several possibilities to help Karamjit continue racing and those options are being explored before a decision will be made.

Sources: Malay Mail 1, 2, 3

Related blog posts:
Why can’t Karamjit Singh secure sponsorship?
Karamjit will not be able to defend APRC title

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jit_Poi_Jiu on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:57 pm

Unbelievable, there are so many wealthy corporation that could sponsor him, and yet no one knows this guy has talent, u make me shame Malaysia…..Sigh…..

• yhtan on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:06 pm

We should give our support to him

some more government should sponsor him because he is a proud of malaysian

• Jason on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:21 pm

Man, this is damn nice to hear! Although late, is about time we do something about this.

• E-nabill on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:23 pm

ya its been pathetic the way hes been treated..as if all of our athletes are doing so well…hope he gets the money…paul,on a diff note…do u know 2day thailand has REDUCED petrol prices??? it mite sound unbelievable bt its true….since oil prices been going down cnstantly in the past mnth…hope our gov do the same…

• Huh…?? our G want to REDUCED petrol prices??? dream on…

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:37 pm

All largest coorperate in Malaysia contribute less than 2% of their income to the public.

• "Karamjit said he is touched by offers to set up funds to raise money for him to race, but he will not use public or Sports Ministry funds", he is a real champ! SHAME ON YOU CORPORATE MALAYSIA!

..but, why wait for the PM to raise the issue then only to do something….what happen to you azalina? you are still dreaming being a 'puteri'?

• rafreez on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:51 pm

Malaysia is always like that…after everything is to late only someone raised the issue…previously, the dangerous Shapadu Highway in Klang, after a few died bcos no pedestarian crossing built then only someone take action.

Now after Karamjit got the fine only it was brought up and thank god, PM is the one who realizing our fellow M'sian potential…pathetic lah all our Msian company, rich but very stingy…

• aksMs on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:54 pm

What an effort there. He had to sell his apartment to pay for the fine. But still, he didn't has enough to bring his car home. Yeah, shame on our big corporates. (I prefer to refer them as keparat since they spent less than 2% for social services). All this while I only heard Proton and Petronas behind the Karamjit's success. And a small sum of donor from Tourism Malaysia and MAS. Where are the others? Where's ASTRO? Where's Sports TOTO? Where's the other keparat? You see? They couldn't care less.

But at least, other athletes should learn a lesson from Karamjit. He DO NOT want to compete on rakyat's money. He got his pride. And he's TALENTed. Unlike that other so called x-F1 driver…..my arse!

• aksMs on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:59 pm

Eh…just wanna share this out….heheh.

"…The Malay Mail, which called for e-mails from readers on their views on Karamjit’s plight last Wednesday, saw good pubic response."

What pubic? Aiyyoh….

• Michael Chua on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:17 pm

Malaysian Government is so cool. I doubt Singapore's Government would bother to help a singaporean race car driver in a similar situation.

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:35 pm

Money is always a problem for malaysian sportsmen. It is good that the govt can help people like keramjit. Hey! He is a malaysian. Be proud. I am happy to contribute my tax to such a cause.

• xprezzy on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:48 pm

what had happen to our rally master of malaysia???

long time didnt see him……

wey…. i hope he can drive those petronas rally machine back again. i really misses the rally event sometime long ago………

malaysian goverment should give the highest support rally and other automotive sports….

BOLEHland BOLEH!

• SEE FU on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:53 pm

Yeah!! Cheers!! Kampai!!

Finally……..Karamjit SIGH no need to sell off his Underwear just to bring back his Babe (WRC car). Why the G always act at LAST minutes??? Karamjit almost BOGEL at NZ because of RM57k, this amount is damn small compare to BANK ISLAM Scandals 700 million lost to nowhere. Like chinese said DAM LOK HAM SUI HOI…….Drop under the deep blue Sea!!

If Karamjit BOGEL and bring back the car, We BOLEHLAND ppl face will be GONE and shame!!!

YAU MOU GAU……..CHOR!!!

• outspoken on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:16 pm

give credit to this man.. and his co-driver of course.. allen something..

• MahathirSpeakz on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:29 pm

Just called it BIASED!

• Booty on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:39 pm

so karamjit is 40+ now or near 50? say some company willing to pour money into his team now, how long would it take to get the sponsorship sorted out? 3 months? 6 months or 1 year? If i were karamjit, i rather drive for whoever willing to pay me and prepare for retiring. be it thailand team, china team or even western team. its too late now for malaysia to realize this. or they doesnt really bother at all? A story of a forsaken rally driver by his beloved country.

• michael lee on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:44 pm

" Malaysian Government is so cool. I doubt Singapore’s Government would bother to help a singaporean race car driver in a similar situation."

Mike, it all has to do with whether we need to show the world that we are world class or not. It our beloved country, we really do not have too many things to talk about – and it get's seriously worse if some stupid clowns decide for themselves what to show, and what not to show. Karamjit, Nicol, and all our other worthy sportsmen and women, have a big role to play in projecting a proud face to the ourside world – if not, you want to look at our football meh ? … still in freefall in world rankings lah.

Keep it up our good friend.

• Well AskMs I agreed with you…Magnum and other ko-pa-lat threw millions to our so called x-F1 driver but what is really a result he showed us? and almost his entire racing history he managed to achieve something….got his only Point after few cars were forced out from the race….other than that, almost all the time has to rely on the wildcard..107% of Schumi's result to qualify. I doubt Minardi's engine is tat teruk but the driver…well besides his charming smile, i dunno wat he knows.

Karamjit is juz an example of being sacrificed well… becoz:

1) he wasnt involve in a sport tat makes hoo-ha in the news like F1

2) potong juz making loss of billions and they aint gonna dig another hole juz to sponsor him

3) MAS? they oso making loss..SPORTS TOTO? PAN? MAGNUM? they all been scared by throwing the millions into the deep blue sea called 'F1' and who wants to throw more? sorry again it wasnt a worldwide 'famous' sport like pootball or F1. Air-Asia rather dump their $ on Man U and our tourism board willing to throw $ juz to have a 'board' display on stampord bridge..

Jokess???? a Bad 1 i tell u…pathetic :(

• alansm on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:00 pm

If Malaysian G can save money from numerous embarrasing "Malaysia Bolehlah" campaigns(e.g sent a bunch of people to North Pole & then parachute with a lousy plotong car from a plane), maybe then authentic national achiever like Karamjit can see his effort being recognised by our G. The darkest day of Malaysian sport and we are still going no where.

• wiraone on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:00 pm

If we were talking about patriotism .. here is the man .. and wonder why those rich-rich corporations won't be able to support the man. If Petronas can sponsor the F1, why not our flying sikh?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:10 pm

Yeah, thinking about how Sauber is gone now.

Petronas could dump $$$ on Karamjit.

• MyBoy on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:30 pm

He threaten to race for "another country" next year?

• MyBoy: how can you call it a "threat". if no one here wants him, he will have to go race for people who want him. dont tell me be beggar here?

• blackhead on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:48 pm

thumb up for this fellow

• F1 not even in the top 10 for Petronas Team + Proton… why not just withdraw from F1 and support Karamjit as he is alway be the champ and at least a runner up… always think about prestige but end up nothing to be proud of…

• awtar on Oct 29, 2005 at 12:15 am

If we could our in millions in F1 without producing our own successful team, why can't we support Karamjit in rally race who already had proven track records?

• cbljkkj on Oct 29, 2005 at 12:26 am

Really glad to hear this bout Karamjit Singh. Been trying to raise awareness for the past few years bout this matter. The war isn't over yet. As you might notice, all of these things are still in it's early stages. It might not even come to realization. It is only speculation.

• on-and-off on Oct 29, 2005 at 12:44 am

Jack said "..but, why wait for the PM to raise the issue then only to do something….what happen to you azalina? you are still dreaming being a ‘puteri’? :"

I agree fully with this statement, same thing came to my mind when I read the news. Azaline behaved as if she has nothing to do and does not need to do anything before PM brought it up, and when he does, she just came in like a heroine, without feeling the slighest of guilt.

SHAME ON YOU!!!

Karamjit's statement on his refusal to use public's money gets my hats off to him. How many times we have complained that our tax money have been misused by the government for unjustified causes, and here we have someone who is going the other extreme : use private money or he switch country to race for?

I just hope this is not too little too late..better show some results Azalina!!!

• KuntaKinteWakatauSin on Oct 29, 2005 at 1:26 am

Instead of GLC(petronas,proton,celcom n etc) companies helping him all this while,where is the other private mega corporation such as YTL,GAMUDA,,GENTING BERHAD,EMKAY,MAXIS!

Until when we have to depend on the goverment to support everything in sport?

S

• There must be lots of big corporations willing to sponsor flying sikh after what PM said…

hehe..

I like the ethics in business world.

• Sinapz on Oct 29, 2005 at 1:46 am

Well, the same case happen to Vijay Singh when he was in Malaysia in 1980's and training here..the goverment refuse to sponsor his training and now he is one of the top in the world!

I hope Karamjit races for another country, makes his name and get reconginized world wide. This way, it will just further embarass the Malaysian organization and government for not helping him earlier on.

Btw, hats off to the Flying Sikh! and Nicol David : )

• narrowband on Oct 29, 2005 at 1:47 am

Karamjit Singh and Allen Oh have, many times, produced very good results in the rally scene. We don't get much exposure to this rally well, because lack of sponsors to bring in the program to our TV. I guess it is the same reason why he's struggling financially in the championship. Maybe the people in the ranks are not interested in Rally after all?

Petronas has invested alot on other stuff, at least they did their part in putting Malaysia in the maps. Can't blame them for not sponsoring Karamjit.

Actually, I believe, if there is enough exposure to Malaysian audience (watching it on TV), there may be sponsors who'll be interested to invest. Otherwise, why wanna sponsor when the rally's not aired or shown on TV often? Even the WRC also we don't get live telecast, unlike F1.

Btw, I once read that Karamjit couldn't race in the WRC (with Sebastien Loeb and the likes) because of lack of funds, too. Currently, he is in a different league, is that right?

• narrowband: APRC and WRC are 2 diff races. he is in both.

• he has to sell his apartment to move his CAR from overseas? omg if 10 big companies just sponsor like 5500 each he wouldnt have to sell his bloody apartment, and 5K is peanuts.

this guy is a winner and how can't they see it? the G is right to step in because i beleive hes a good start to increase our countrys reputation in the rally scene.. too bad if he goes to race with another country, he will probably get a bigger apartment instead and we lose out, lol.

now alex yoong is another case. why is he so famous anyway? because of hair gel? zzz

• "Karamjit said he is touched by offers to set up funds to raise money for him to race, but he will not use public or Sports Ministry funds to race as he believes there are enough big corporations in Malaysia who can sponsor him. Otherwise, he will race for another country next year."

I believe the statement shown Karamjit is VERY DISAPPOINTED with the Ministry of Sport aka Malaysian government. The lack of fund issue have been raised up so long, yet the ministry have not given a helping hand. Are they not sensitive or ……………..

• aksMs on Oct 29, 2005 at 2:40 am

Sometimes ago I heard that Karamjit could've already compete in WRC group-A. Unfortunately, the cost for going group A is close to a whopping 2 billion (I'm not sure wether it is dollars or RM) per year. Karamjit is indeed in different league from the rest of the race driver that we have in Bolehland. Saladin Mazlan didn't even come close to par with him. If we look closely at the racer that we have right now competing in international races, most of those guys are son of somebody, meaning he got strong financial back up. For e.g, we have (I forgot his name) the son of the former MB of Perak racing in Porsche Asian GT under Jaseri Team where races are mostly in Macau, Mainland China and Hong Kong. We also have 'Fairus-what-his-name' driving together with Alex-'no balls'-Yoong in the A1 GP right now. Is he Mofaz's son? He's probably one of those prominent people's son lah.

The thing is the unfortunate Mr Karamjit is a son of nobody. He worked his way up through his talent and hard work and still, even with constraint budget from PERT Team they manage to make ends meet and be a champion. Now that's a true champion. But what have our big guns keparat did? Turn deaf ear on him and his team mates struggle. If I'm not mistaken one of the big team in WRC has put him 'under consideration' after his maiden stint on snow rally last year. Unfortunately, he's a bit 'too old' already since the trend now goes with young drivers like Sebastian Loeb and Chris Atkinson. Even Carlos Sainz retired already.

Will we ever see our own breed in this most gruelling and toughest race event in the world? I surely like to hope so….Now, where is our Proton LANCER again?

• Deodorant on Oct 29, 2005 at 3:26 am

I'll be devil's advocate today!

To all of you saying shame on your corporate Malaysia … wtf? Corporations don't have a duty to sponsor anybody. Their boards DO have a duty to make money for the shareholders, a vast majority of whom couldn't give two sh*ts about some random guy in an obscure sport (in their eyes) – they're interested first and foremost in their $$.

Put it this way, the only "real" reason for any sort of sponsorship is publicity/marketing. If I as a director of company XYZ feel that my marketing dollars would be better spent NOT sponsoring anyone, why should I?

• FiveElements on Oct 29, 2005 at 3:45 am

Deodorant

What you said is right. That is why and where the Government should come in an play a role here to encourage these Corporate people to sponsor.

If the sports or games gain alotta public awareness then itself will have values. Just like EPL. The sports will boom, the people in this industry will make more, and the economy will be better and the name of MALAYSIA will be better known overseas.

Just look at over footballers…playing like kids..shame….

Some of our politicians acting like kids too, making a scene on how best to sing NEGARA KU….

Sigh….wake up la MALAYSIA

• aksMs on Oct 29, 2005 at 3:47 am

Well, Alex Yoong is a classic case here. He is no real driver to me. But my hats off to his father Mr Haniffa Yoong (is this correct?) for making it to the F1. But his son's achievement is nowhere to be proud of. Really. Who cares if he's the 1st F1 driver that we ever have. Look at his former team mate in Minardi. Mark Webber. Where is he now? One of the driver to look out to in every race. Where's Yoong? He couldn't even score a sponsorship for Indy Race in the states. Indy what? In fact Fairus drives better than him. That kid scored more points than Yoong did in British F3000 races and even in the top ranking.

Auto racing is an expensive sports for many people. What Deodorant say is true. If they want to sponsor a team, they want something back. Nobody wants to sponsor a loser. That's why our football FA's always running on defisit year after year. Nobody want to spend money on a sport that has no improvement and no winning attitude. But we're talking about a winner. Karamjit wins many of his rally. Probably he wins more than anyone ever has in Asia Pacific. Isn't that should be something?

• potong-oriented on Oct 29, 2005 at 4:10 am

hmm..Bolehland now have no other very-talented rally driver like our flying sikh..so sad..and finally we will not seen anymore our proton lancer evo in APRC or WRC..hurm..wtf keparat..

• keniji on Oct 29, 2005 at 4:38 am

Msia Government: "better spend the RM90 million

on sending kampong boy to astronut"

what a shiiiiitt!!!

• hoho after all this commotion im sure plenty of firms will be willing to jump on karamjit… this is a good opportunity for cheap PR. no need billboard ads etc, just a sticker on his car..

i guess karamjit does not have to worry bout it no more. Regardless of whether he receives sponsorship he will continue driving, whether under Bolehland or other countries. The only thing he is lacking is the star quality of other WRC or F1 drivers (look at Alex yoong, not the best driver but plenty of fans and support).

the way i see this man is only good at driving and not anything else (dont take it out of context, im just saying that he has almost nothing companies would be interested in to be his sponsor). However without the support he will almost never reach his true potential, and the firms are waiting for this to happen and then jump and sponsor him? Please.

Now the big G is going to act, his face is in the news and this spells good for the attention-whoring companies out there. Theyre entirely justified to act this way, because its in the best interest of themselves, but since when giving a little $$ to see a fellow Malaysian do well in a prestigous international event isgoing to hurt? Their ego? Dun wan to support a nobody or just dont give a shit?

id take the latter. The day when the big people give a shit about the nobodies (those that actually matter) is the day that we will acheive something.

Alex yoong acheived something.. he gets the chicks and gets free hair cream. as if his hair isnt greasy enough, howd he get so far that sly bastard.. heheh

Ho Hum

• Herzog on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:03 am

Karamjit.. it is best to drive for other country… or other car manufacturer… Go karamjit…. why borther….

• Hatuk Ngkau on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:07 am

the plight of uncle Karam has been mentioned again and again over many years already… even a few years before uncle Oh retire… but nobody, i repeat, NOBODY ever step up and help, despite the achievement of the pair…

while it is true that corporate entities are not obligated to sponsor anybody, but based on the pair's achievement, wouldnt it be a great marketing tool? doesnt every corporate entity wishes to be affiliated with something successful? but alas, it all falls back to the short-sightedness of them… after all, Rallying is not a glamorous sport in malaysia, neither the government is promoting anyway… so the corporate entities and even the sports ministry dont give a damn-lah!

i'm not some joe millionaire, but if i am, i wouldnt hesitate to do my part to help out uncle karam… i've known him since i'm a kid anyway… by the way, uncle karam has been very much a patriotic person… few years back he got an offr to race for some other country, but he rejected bcoz he wants to race for malaysia, he wants to prove that a malaysian can succeed in a field where not many ppl would believe we can…

but alas, uncle karam has to pull out not because he's incompetent, far from it, but because he lacks the support to continue rallying… uncle Oh has retired partly due to age and partly, also because nobody turns up to help them…

it's a shame for us here in malaysia… where the incompetent gets pampered, and the true heroes are ignored…

• aksMs on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:40 am

Hatuk Ngkau: Kudos! That's absolutely right….so true…

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Oct 29, 2005 at 7:51 am

Oh what the hell, someone push the keparats to sponsor Karamjit. Push him to the WRC A-group dang it………he's the one that have talents, ex- yoong here gets the spotlight in A1 GP. Karamjit's the one with all we want to see damn it…….

• iguanaa on Oct 29, 2005 at 8:05 am

…no need to worry…after what Pak Lah has said…..those corporate arse lickers will be begging to sponsor Karam….

• daniel on Oct 29, 2005 at 2:21 pm

as the malay saying goes.. "dah kena ketuk, baru paku nak masuk.." huhu.. relevant or not? typical malaysians, eh? hail karamjit~ *cheers.

• Jenson on Oct 29, 2005 at 3:31 pm

Karamjit was always there …………. still remembered those days when he was driving PERT's 4WD Turbo Iswara………… he's still there my man…… a model of consistency & hard working guy we've got

Just a shame dat he cant do what he does best (Going into corners sideways) I bet his name still command respects in the APRC rounds………. watched him twice in Aust Rally. During the Langley Park Spectator Stage they purposely set him up against the local hero Ed Ordynsky (Aust official Ralli-Art driver)……… so we have Karamjit in the Evo 3 Group N vs Ed in the Ralliart Evo 4 Group N (1995 or 96 cant recall) and boy ……… Karam was on fire & blew Ed sideways (literally =p)…………. !! He set the 2nd fastest Group N time dat nite and top 10 time overall (with the likes of Tommi, Sainz, Yuha & Mcrae still very much in action) ………….

Fight on Karamjit !!!

• epalhead on Oct 29, 2005 at 5:15 pm

Hatuk ngkau said:."it’s a shame for us here in malaysia… where the incompetent gets pampered, and the true heroes are ignored… "

I really really really damn agree with this statement….

YAU MOU GAU……..CHOR… SEE FU!!!

• awtar on Oct 29, 2005 at 5:35 pm

It is golden opportunity for Proton to improve its public image by sponsoring Karamjit in the race.

• MyBoy on Oct 29, 2005 at 5:52 pm

Paul: I have always salute Karamjit for what he have done for Malaysia. He produces many great results compared to his F1 counterpart and i always believe he deserved more support from the Gov itself (not just from the big corporations). However, thats not justify "Otherwise, he will race for another country next year".

• MyBoy on Oct 29, 2005 at 6:06 pm

Hatuk Ngkau: I agreed with u. Sometimes the incompetent do gets pampered, and the true heroes are ignored. I really that ti Gov and big corporations will open their eyes this time. Lets hope our patriotism will not be outdo in any cases.

Go Karanjit, Go!!!

Malaysia Boleh, Karamjit Boleh!!!

• By the way, where is PERT whom sponsored him all this while?

So EON, after split with Proton, your sponsorship NO MORE?!

Are they not value the person whom paid the pricework and gained the international recognation?

• gegaoff on Oct 29, 2005 at 11:57 pm

money is a problem for our sportman? nope, u c those badminton player? how rich they are? karamjit is unlucky becoz the sport he is in is not popular in malaysia, those corporate c no benefit, of coz they will not entertaint him. and the sport minister, shame to u becoz only PM raise this out, only u can speak?! what are u doing all this while? like rafidah the BULL? damm…

"We also have ‘Fairus-what-his-name’ driving together with Alex-’no balls’-Yoong in the A1 GP right now" this one good. no ball… hahahaha…

cheers…

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 30, 2005 at 1:45 am

I wish Karamjit Sigh all the best, keep the good performance! We proud of YOU no matter G or other company care or don't care of you. You must keep on moving forwards!!

I think to be popular or not is not important, most important is the Personal satisfaction and Achievement, especially do it for the nation, country and personal goals!!

YOU ARE THE REAL HERO!! Our Malaysian Hero!! Malaysia Boleh spirits!! GOOD LUCK!!

• neurra on Oct 30, 2005 at 1:49 am

about time Malaysia took action.. pity him

• HANG JEBAT on Oct 30, 2005 at 5:45 am

FLYING SINGH!!! WE SUPPORT YOU!!!!!

• aksMs on Oct 30, 2005 at 9:14 am

gegaoff: Hehe…I remember now…his name is Fairus Fauzi, son of Mofaz founder. For that 'no-balls' guy, he think he's been racing since 15 years old, now he's good enough, huh? Ceh….all he did was complaining his car (Minardi) is underpower and got no power steering. WTF??? I didn't hear Webber complain…

• MyBoy on Oct 30, 2005 at 9:18 am

aksMs: U are right about that 'no-balls' guy.

• abc12345 on Oct 30, 2005 at 5:50 pm

Excuse me, Paul. Why you didn't update your webpage for 2 days?

• kalen_XI on Oct 30, 2005 at 8:23 pm

i dont understand why proton division R3 not sponsorin..im mean it..Racing RALLY Research rite?!…

• neurra on Oct 31, 2005 at 12:30 am

heh.. ya.. i was bout to ask the same question.. why didn't u update for the last two days?

• Handsfree on Oct 31, 2005 at 1:08 am

If malaysia dont want this expert….. go to next door…… i strongly believe sure can name a good name for yrself n the next COUNTRY….

What a shame for malaysian gov…… good poeple dont want to support.. keep support those lose money n lose face for the country…

• michael lee on Oct 31, 2005 at 1:43 am

Hiya there Paul – you not checking ah ? … now we can all get racial again … JUST JOKING !!! A very Happy Deepavali and Selamat Hari Raya to all our friends – please drive carefully – your loved ones care, and will always wait for you.

Hah Paul – pre empted your coming blog or not ? You got to watch it all the time lah ……. heh, heh, heh.

• MyBoy on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:52 am

Happy Deepavali and Selamat Hari Raya to all

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 7:59 pm

When is DEEPAVALI and HARI RAYA arr???? Working too much until the Holidays was forgotten lei!! ANybody KNOWS IT???? Let me know!!

YAU MOU GAU…….CHOR!!!

• HANG JEBAT on Oct 31, 2005 at 8:06 pm

Aiyyyo See Fuu, tomorow Depavalli lah, & maybe this thursday Aidilfitri… don't be to workholic maa…

anyway happy Deepavali & Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all our Hindu's & Muslim's friend…

Drive Safely…

• trav da man on Oct 31, 2005 at 10:03 pm

man, i always watched karamjit progress since a long time ago, back to the days when he and allen oh formed a dynamic duo partnership attacking out estate gravel tracks with his proton iswara and then to proton pert (aka evo 3).

Last time b4 the economical crisis strikes rallying is popular, with i remember once colin mcrae came to mysia with his subaru WRC team in 1994 to race for the malaysian rally. Back then we can attrach a num fo foreigners as well while mysia is represented by proton PERT. After the financial crisis, rallying become slow in mysia with less competitors. Karamjit meanwhile did completing at international stages in the asia paciffic wrc.

In 2003 perhaps the most memorable for all mysian rally fans when he took the wrc production crown and the asia paciffic rally crown as well. However the following yr, he was dissapointed whne there arent any malaysian companies willing to sponsor him (even proton refuses to sponsor him??? wtf) and the only company to sponsor him was JK tyres frm india.

Now in 2005 he still waiting for sponsorship frm local companies, but even when petronas didnt sponsor him (went to put their money on the noiw defunct sauber instead), and proton, hail speechless (went to sponsor norwich which flopped in the primier league and its bad financial state, well obviously) , now he cant complete in both the wrc and the asia pacific rounds. Which is sad, and a big dissapointment.

I cant deny that mysia motorsports is still in infancy stages, ask any malaysian joe about motorsports and they can only say F1 Sepang, not rallying. Rallying also get less revenue than F1, therefore alot of local companies refuses to sponsor racing teams in mysia.

I dont see proton is helping karamjit, his the one that bring proton (well its a mitsubishi anyway) to the world fame and now they forgetting him?? Bagai kacang lupakan kulit.

well donr forget potong is mismanaged and in deep financial probelms now. sweat!

At least i happy to see finally mysia gov is responding to him, but guess his has reached his peak where even in this yr early rounds in the prodcution car wrc, he seems struggling, coz not only his getting old and most of his competitors r younger tahn him, his car also did not perform well (his evo 7 proton pert cant complete with the evo8 n subaru impreza of the same class).

Guess its is time for him to retire fro racing but that doesnt mean his leaving the rally world. Its time for him to train new local rally drivers. Ex WRC like carlos sainz and colin mcrae has their protege at the Junior WRC. WRC is popular in europe and asia (see that manaic crowds in japan!) and we have the potentil to suceed with what we have now.

I guess its time for the mysia gov, proton and the gov to collaborate with Karamjit to come out a new generation of malaysian rally driver. It would be nice to see Karamjit to be the team manager and mentor to a young mysian driver, while proton R3 develop a new gen2 WRC car (possible, i know R3 is developing a 200Bhp into their 1.6 campro) to complete in the JWRC (1.6 cc car required and cost lesser then a WRC class A car) and the giv provide some funds with petronas.

Sounds like a dream but i hoping we can achieve that.

• trav da man on Oct 31, 2005 at 10:09 pm

ops forget to end my previous post:

No matter what circumstances u facing, the flying sikh will always in our hearts, GO!!!!!

• benunited on Nov 02, 2005 at 6:30 pm

go karam go..go allen go…go to another country go…go go go…

• mawi_fan on Nov 03, 2005 at 8:16 am

bottomline is no money no race… just look at msia, you get all these fat old people mostly business man racing in drags and the MME race, the reason is they got money…meanwhile the real young talents are locked up in a financial cage…what a sad world…

• wafies on Nov 04, 2005 at 8:52 am

Lol .. just because Rally doesnt popular in Malaysia , doesnt mean that u cant make profit out of it .. shame on corporate world in Malaysia ..

Go Go Go Karamjit .. make us proud

• Xenon-X on Nov 06, 2005 at 1:16 pm

When Gen 2 club members were at EON Glenmarie's Test Drive fiesta recently we got to see and speak to karamjit.. he was expressing the same thing, he says there is a lot of other sports that big corporation in malaysia sponsored but not into rally.. He look very very sad, and all of us there felt like using all our effort to help him.. but what to do, according to him, he needed quite ALOT of moolah, made all of us like breathless a bit.. :p.. Happy to know that our Govt. is going to assist him.. Way to go..

• blardy hell..why must depend only on proton,Gov,GLC to sponsor….?where the other bilionaire corporate like Maxis,Genting,Berjaya,Astro,YTL…u all already drain so much money from malaysian but to greedy aaa…?dont want to spend some money from ur pocket for someone else aaa…that's the prob with "some" races in Boleh Land..too greedy!…even when tsunami landed on our shore…those companies just keep hidding inside their mega house..pretending dont hear anything…that's the prob

• joker on Nov 09, 2005 at 6:45 am

supposedly the world is watching us after 10 years of sponsorship in F1, hmmm, wonder how long will the world notice us if karamjeet was sponsored by the same company, my guess is lesser of course.

another thing, assuming karamjeet had a different kinda tan,maybe he might just get that sponsorship he needs and also the coveted datuk he deserves for putting malaysia on the world map.

how many atheletes have we got who has done this, yes we can count by our fingers sadly…

• if this karamjeet is some of minority sure is early been sponsor by government not till now. just he is not really a (bin) tittle that why have no sound at all.

• keshveen (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 11:32 pm

I would like to enter the petronas rally.How to enter the rally.I really don’t know i need your help.Can u give me your number so that i can contact u.
    Thank You.