Mitsubishi to supply new engines to Smart

Mitsubishi Motors and Smart gmbh have signed an agreement where Mitsubishi will supply its next generation normally aspirated and turbocharged small-capacity engines to smart to be used in the successor to the Smart Fortwo model due in 2007.

This same engine will be used in the Mitsubishi i minicar. The Mitsubishi i will be available in January 2006. The engines will be produced at Mitsubishi’s engine plant in Mizushima. According to spec sheets of the concept, it’s powered by a 3-cylinder turbocharged MIVEC engine, so likely that and a normally aspirated version would be supplied to smart.

This deal will help ailing Mitsubishi Motors Corporation realize better economies of scale for the new minicar engine series, lowering costs per unit.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marquis on Oct 31, 2005 at 9:00 pm

what is their current engine ?

• aksMs on Oct 31, 2005 at 9:48 pm

Smartcar is a bad car for me. Bad handling. Bad gear shifts. I just simply don't like it. 80K+ for a ridiculously small Smart fortwo? But still, a friend told me the sales are increasing this month. Haiyyoh…really didn't make any sense….

The I minicar looks better… Cheers! :)

• smart car is cool la aksMs, for noobs who can't side park.

• aksMs on Oct 31, 2005 at 10:14 pm

HA HA HA HA HA!!! You got that right! LOL!

Haihh….

• SEE FU on Oct 31, 2005 at 10:40 pm

Paul check this out.

New Outlander engine and "i" engine from Mitsubishi.
    http://media.mitsubishi-motors.com/pressrelease/e…

http://response.jp/issue/2005/1028/article75838_1…

This engine is small but High tech!!! "i" will be launched next Year 2006 January!! RM40k only. :)''''

YAU MOU GAU……….CHOR!!

• Jimmy on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:21 pm

wow small capacity but the output power is outstanding…a 659cc is quite similar to the 1.1cc that found in kia picanto

• E-nabill on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:45 pm

i tot GM want to close down their SMART unit since its been making loses from day one….ya ia greee.smart cars here have rediculous price tags….nt even worth half of their prices!

• Michael Chua on Nov 01, 2005 at 12:17 am

Correct: "Mitsubishi is supplying its engines to Smart."

Wrong: "Mitsubishi is supplying it's engines to Smart."

It's means it is.

• eMalaysian on Nov 01, 2005 at 12:24 am

I don't understand why people buy small car?

• SEE FU on Nov 01, 2005 at 1:24 am

eMalaysian….ar!

Have you married???

Do you understand WOMEN?? I you don't then I know why you don't understand why ppl buy small car. Women like SMALL little CUTE things including Car lah!! That simple!! Man bought it cause NO MONEY lah!! That simple!! Some more YOu tell me lah!!

YAU MOU GAU…….CHOR!!

• SEE FU: does this mean women like their men's "tools" to be small little cute things?

• cbljkkj on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:10 am

LOL, See Fu knows and sees all

• Jason on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:39 am

That Mitsu Minicar looks damn good. I like Smart Car, easy to drive in city but price wise sorry la.

Eh, i think any grammar or English correction should be mentioned to Paul personally like in email.

• gegaoff on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:53 am

i think the reason we don't understand y smart car's sales increase is just like we don't understand woman either huh? hahaha…

cheers…

• zongtwi on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:30 am

I test drove the Smart Forfour the other day…the worst ride ever. The gearbox was awful, if you weren't careful, you can bang your head into the windscreen and get a concussion, everytime you change gear. The interior reminded me about when I was young and built a spaceship from boxes and pretended that I was an astronaut in space. I guess the only bit that I liked about the car was the panoramic glass roof, and the swinging arm rest in the middle that can swing both forward (to be used by driver and front passenger) and backward (to be used as a cup holder for the rear passengers). When I got out, the door wouldn't close. Had to bang it very hard to get it to close. I guess not only Proton has that problem. But very disapointing, as I expected better quality from Daimler-Chrsyler a.k.a Merc.

• Booty on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:31 am

please blog about benz B class.

• E-nabill on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:35 am

so think twice b4 u get married! no wait..thnk three times…wat the heck..think a million times la b4 u decide!

• Johan on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:45 am

looks so cute…just like an enchanced version of Smart!

http://mitsubishi-i.jp/#

• SEE FU on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:58 pm

Paul arr Jahatnya!!

Pls ask your Girls x2 lah!! But as far as I know usuallly they don't like "SMALL TOOLs" also not "TOO BIG"….medium is the Best!! Like the Steak WELL DONE is the most important things …Ha…ah….ha…….. :)

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!! PAUL arr how's yours???? Okay??

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 01, 2005 at 4:41 pm

ham sap chai.. :D

big or small. it's just a 'thing' :p

anyway.. maybe to lower down the price.. they use cheaper price one.. so can mass production.. Smartcar is ideal for city driving.. but in malaysia.. for sure they make it as a racing car. than kabanggg.. langgar lori mati.. like a poor kancil.. car for city ride but jadi racing kononnya.. ;)

• Holyday on Nov 01, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Michael Chua,

Correct: “Mitsubishi is supplying its engines to Smart.”

Wrong: “Mitsubishi is supplying it’s engines to Smart.”

It’s means it is.

It's does not just mean it is. 's means belonging to also.

In the context of the above sentence, it's means Mitsubishi's engine.

• lau eh…SEE FU and PAUL…u need a blog to discuss the size of JJ ? and SEE FU dun ask other ppl's size…diff. ppl diff. expectation ma :P

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!! is JJ related to that smart's engine ar?? wuahahahahahaha

• see fat on Nov 01, 2005 at 9:43 pm

saw a cutey chick driving a 2-door smarcat and let me tell u: if anycar bangs into the front of her smartcar,(the front hood virtually non-exsitent) she will be turned into a chick pizza

• eMalaysian on Nov 01, 2005 at 10:43 pm

Yah lah. Small car is for women.

There is no way I am going to fit in that car.

Har har har.

• SEE FU on Nov 01, 2005 at 11:00 pm

abu arr!!

I am talking about CARs and STEAK lah. What are you thinking about??

JJ and Paul??? I am not sure, pls ask him LOL :P

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!

• since when this post become about our love pole?

too big also not good, later she scream like hell (+bleed) and every1 in the neighbourhood would know.. then she walk funny tomolo

lucky if she ever call u again :(

but if you move to angmoh.. woohoo 7 series (angmo spec) sure bigger than 3 series mah (jap spec)

sure u all get it LOL

• MyBoy on Nov 02, 2005 at 3:50 am

Happy Deepavali and Selamat Hari Raya to all

• ony concern. What is the crash test result?

• peter on Nov 02, 2005 at 12:29 pm

GGG, don't know about the crash test result for the Mitsu, but the Smart did okay when it was launched. Problem with it is that although it's strong, it doesn't crumple much because it's so small. Side impact protection is good apparently, because a car that might hit it from the side will probably miss because it's too small!!

Seriously though, it's not a good car. It would be cool in a city in Europe if they had an electric engine in there and free charging stations. I've seen a few of them in Bangkok and they look very uncomfortable bouncing over the bumpy roads here. Only smart thing about it is the name. I have also heard that the Smart ForFour is also not a great car. Only difference is that now 4 people can suffer together rather than just 2.

• Aris Tee on Nov 02, 2005 at 2:16 pm

wow… cool… i'm glad they're continuing the fortwo, since there were rumors they're gonna stop it even tho it's the car that started the brand…

• SEE FU on Nov 02, 2005 at 5:51 pm

Paul, I have made a new BLOG for you to discuss about SEX and JJ. Please click it!! now!!

http://yaumougauchor.blogspot.com/

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! CHEERs!!!

• SEE FU dont advise your SEX and JJ blog here…here is merely for cars…probably steak!! Not abt JJ man!!

p.s. btw SEE FU u have any good 'ohm' supplement to add more 'ohm' to the 'power' of the 'steak'??

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! :P

• auyongtc on Nov 03, 2005 at 2:37 am

See fu ah… you eat your steak well done ah? Hard like rubber lor… LOL!

• weilin on Nov 03, 2005 at 6:59 am

is it true??Merc using mitsubishi engine????y don they use toyota or honda engine instead of mits….

• Cikgu English LOL on Nov 08, 2005 at 11:15 pm

Quote:

"Holyday said,

November 1, 2005 @ 10:16 am

It’s does not just mean it is. ’s means belonging to also.

In the context of the above sentence, it’s means Mitsubishi’s engine."

——————————————————–

Dude, 's does mean belonging to BUT when 's comes after it, it should be spelled as ITS. This is to avoid confusion that IT'S can also mean IT IS. It's (read: it is) one of the millions exceptions of English.

Harap maklum. Sekian, terima kasih.

• siren on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:28 pm

As a woman, I'd just like to say that not all of us find the Smart cute, or smart.

Yuckkkk.

• ag_pga14 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:03 pm

saya dah setahun pakai smart forfour, yang saya hairan kenapa kereta yang begitu power tak banyak orang pakai, nak kata mahal, yaris lagi mahal, banyak lagi kereta yang sewaktu dengan nya lebih mahal, setakat nii saya amat berpuas hati dengan smart saya, cuma tak leh bawa awek sebab bila bawa awek semua akan pandang kereta lepas tu siapa pemandunya, pass tuu siapa sebelahnya, kantoi beb ngan bini heheheh