Proton Savvy Automated Manual Transmission

The Proton Savvy Automated Manual Transmission was launched yesterday. The car uses a manual transmission with a computer controlled clutch, supposedly supplied by Magneti Marelli, similiar to the Renault Quickshift 5 available in the Renault Clio.

Proton’s Automated-Manual Transmission (AMT) has 5 gears. There are 2 modes, a manual selection mode where you can switch through the gears sequentially by with the gear knob. It works like a manual transmission with clutches and gears, not like an oil-driven automatic with a torque converter. No power loss there. Clutch control is computerized with precised timing, shifts are much quicker than any average driver can ever attempt with a normal manual gearbox and foot-operated clutch.

The Proton Savvy AMT costs RM45,888.00 on the road without insurance and can be booked at any Proton showrooms around the country. There’s a new colour called Galaxy Grey, specially for the AMT I’ve heard. It looks like the dark grey on the Proton Waja.

I’ll try to get a test drive and report my findings.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mousanc on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:50 pm

Nice.. got some improvement.. want to try if get any chance..

• Jason on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:56 pm

ya, sound look gd!!!!!

• good job proton

• ah LIM on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:00 pm

nice…… think that reporter from NSTP group can test drive for another 2-6 months la……

• i test drive the manual savvy before, very good feeling except for the vibrating gear knob (just like kenari), this one solve the issue….

• pycazu on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:07 pm

Opsss.. come in top 5 in post my comment!

A good improvement but it'll be better if not on the Savvy. Franky, Savvy's control is much better than any other proton car. But sigh… with the outlook, many have no interest to own one.

Proton must seek for really long-term collaboration with other giant car makers, if possible a good deal with VW. It's really inefficient developing cars on too many platforms, not cost-effective at all…

• rafreez on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:16 pm

good job proton…with this improvement, when can we have savvy r3…hehehe hope proton will upgrade the exterior cosmetic just like what they did to satria – satria GTI – satria R3….

• michly on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:47 pm

still its POTONG. never know until the market repond to the problem.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:06 pm

yeah paul.. thanks for this topic.

i found a review at www.autoworld.com.my

at least it's a very good improvement.. and new tech btw..

if, if they want to make this AMT gear TOP.. all model later must have AMT too..

say SRM with AMT, PRM with AMT etc etc..

then never ever had problem with the gearbox sparepart maybe.. the prce will be cheaper perhaps.

and sale the tech to another car maker too.. ;)

.. but normal way.. mesti ada orang kata tak best lah.. itu lah.. padahal tak pernah test pun lagi.. ;)

• SEE FU on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:43 pm

If this AMT is success in SAWI, I wish POTONG will consider to add it on JEN-2 or SRM models soon.

GOOD job!! POTONG…….boleh :P

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• superman on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:50 pm

Jake,

The vibrating gear knob in the Savvy is due to it having a rod linkage system. Enrytime the Engine /transmission rocks, the knob vibrates.

Most cars have cable linkages, so it's not directly connected.

i've driven the Savvy AMT and I must say it's a new technique alltogether.

Unlike a normal Auto where you just keep your foot floored in the AMT, during upshifts, when I lift the throttle slightly the shifts are very smooth.And when you're driving in town or just plain lazy to shift gears just leave it in Aoto mode and the shifts (on light throttle) are close to normal Auto boxes (torque converter)

• Ferox on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:51 pm

Looks like Proton Bashersâ„¢ have to rest today. Great transmission offering from Proton. Too bad the rest of the car… well… u know.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:06 pm

Just returned from testing the AMT.

One word: GREAT.

Two words: GO BUY.

Three words: KEEP SERVICE SCHEDULE.

Four Words: I'D BUY THIS CAR.

Five Words: KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

Oh… and I'm not the one who will end up with the car for PROLONGED periods…

• Charger on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:19 pm

But Savvy with AMT if you can't afford a BMW's SMG. Hahaha!

• abe pie on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:54 pm

elllo..proton bashing.. where are youuuu>>………hello anybody there..helloooooooo.. have you drive this savvy AMT or even manual transmission…

have you..????? hello/.. toot

no answer.

• abe pie on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:56 pm

lor.. wrong word to type..should be proton basher.. hehehh..sorry

• yhtan on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:58 pm

I still don't quite understand about it?

is there any clutch?is the gear box similar like honda jazz or audi car?

• doc2mee on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:02 am

Hei u have RM 50K to spare ah..?

Loan it 2 me to buy the SAWI lor

then I can tell u wat rong with it it 2 years time ah..

? glove compartment ? power windows? lights ?… Only time will tell lah .. so dun tempt us…!!!

• More picture please, especialy the grey metal colour.

• Prometheus on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:31 am

wa wa wa.. this is gonna be a poor boy racer's dream la! This is gonna be one fun car to own in the city.. Auto in the day Manual by night! So cool!!! Some more 45 thou plus.. affordable.

Rafreez: There's a Savvy R3 in Eneos, not for sale yet, but 1st one i think..but dunno if it is with AMT? or just manual?

• crash on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:38 am

Great.. superb… booked one also… yeahhhh…. yesss… Auto in the day Manual by night!

• Paul, how come Uncle Chips from Motortrader mentioned that RM45888 with insurance?

Is it RM45888 with or without insurance?

• kaze: there seems to be differences in the price whether with or without insurance around the net, i will check again and edit if necessary.

• kanasai on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:01 am

do they come up with Air Bag and ABS like Myvvi for the auto version? I hope proton can improve on this as well as a standard package. Responds from Proton Sales man saying that Savvy cost a lot for mantainance… :( someone pls verify and let me know how much is the figure to maintain Savvy during services. Thanks

• Sharfox on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:19 am

Way too good!! This is a major improvementby Proton. Although they borrows from Renault, hell yeaaa…it's in Proton cars. Hope they will not stop just rite here on Savvy. Like others, I reallt hope the AMT can be applied to the coming SRM model. If they are really keen to work with Kleeman for the engine tuning, I would rather sell my Sentra N16 for that!!!! Coz when U say about quality, there's much things to say about this N16 also. Somehow, some of the forummer outside manage to fool me…hahahahaha….. pathetic me.

One more thing. Ya know, a words of wisdom says : " SUCCESSFUL PEOPLE TALKS ABOUT IDEAS, AVERAGE PEOPLE TALKS ABOUT THINGS AND THE LOOSER KEEP ON TALKING ABOUT PEOPLE". In here, they dun just talk but they bashed without any ideas to help. Way to go loosers………

• CarNut on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:39 am

great concept. now, how much would the servicing cost, which is the same problem that plagued the Waja 1.8 owners, some had to go to Renault's workshop to get their Protons sorted out. let wait and see.

• MutantTomato on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:59 am

Waaaaaaa! :O The AMT is from Magneti Marelli? Really? MM are makers of high precision automotive parts. If I'm not mistaken, they supply the dials and gauges to F1 cars. I think they are the ones who make the famous F1 "9" dial.

If this is for real and there's no compromise on parts and all the usual stuff we have come to expect as a norm from Proton, then WAY TO GO PROTON! Finally, Proton is realizing that all they have to do is put some quality in their cars and people will buy them! Good for P1… Hope everything really turns out well.

• wonderer on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:10 am

Hiii.Good job proton. A bright hope i guess..But please please don't forget after sales and service.Don't to be like what carnutt said..

• trav da man on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:12 am

wow, i surprise nobody bashing proton here , sweat

But seriously this is a great improvement to proton and finally the savvy is automated with AMT. At least tthere a use of a modern technology compared to carbs frm iswara..

Provided their after sales support and parts and maintance is great (which i quite doubtful to be honest), i really hope the savvy AMT will gain some acceptance among us and be the least problem proton.

Really so far i didnt heard any disaster report frm Proton Savvy, kinda a great achievement frm them! But perhaps wait longer then……

On the other side, looks like volks will bought over 40% of Proton. Well at least better than nothing.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:34 am

the bashers is already eat their own words!.

GTH! BASHER.. hua hua.. and that's why i tot u not tooo fanatic with p2.. (like p2 is farkin' perfect huh) ..

i wish they gonna redesign the REAR part..

// for everyone.. it's easy to imagine what is the gear like..

Anyone riding a cub motorcycles? .. Example = kris, kristar, ex-5, yamaha lagenda etc.. Soo!!.. the manual without clutch is similiar like that.. YEAH!.. very fast lah..

// just imagine rite now.. wanna test drive it later..

• It is a good thing Proton Savvy has this AMT technology

And it is better if with this AMT, Proton can boosts it's Savvy model's sales and probably outsales the Perodua Myvi( as Proton has larger market at overseas than the domestic market alone). I hope Malaysians are more concious about this AMT tech and appreciate it as a tool for better fuel efficiency since oil prices are skyrocketing nowadays since manual gear consumes less fuel and produces more speed than auto gear one, right?.

Personally, I really wish Savvy can outsales the Myvi. Why? Think about it, the locally designed( made in Malaysia) model outsales the rebadged Toyota Passo/ Daihatsu Boon which is made in Japan. Does not this sounds great to every 'truly' patriotic Malaysians?

Good job Mr. Proton!! Keep the Kaizen* spirit in heart…… Yeah!!

*Kaizen= Continuos Improvement…… a word we borrow from the Japanese

• Actually what I meant 'made in Japan' is the Myvi was designed by the Japaneses not the locals although it is produced here in Malaysia auto plant

• Zamil on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:04 am

Yea. Malaysia Boleh!!! wish tot ry it someday in the Bolehland Autobahn..hahahah

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:35 am

There is no way that Savvy can outsales MyVi. Ppl buy myVi not bcoz they dont like Savvy. They buy Myvi most probably bcoz they "think" it's a realible, affordable, nice looking 1.3 perodua with a big interior space. And it's good for the family too.

But I bet Savvy can outsales, outclass, outrun a KElisa… Anytime!!!

• Teratai on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:50 am

With Renault Inside, sure flop one.

• neurra on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:03 am

excellent proton… keep on improving..

• Ihateproton on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:04 am

Bob,

imho the Savvy is more French than Malaysian… and we have seen what happens when there is a french something in a malaysian car… think: Waja 1.8 and Tiara

I'll give it time before I can be sure to say that it will be as cost effective to run and own as a Myvi – after all Myvi already have an ecnomics of scale running by selling 10x more Myvis, not to mention some parts (like the engine) can be found in other models. so I think finding parts for the Myvi would be cheaper

and time will also reveal if the Savvy is as reliable as the Toyota based Myvi.

Question: if proton is to have AMT on their other models, do they have to build one from scratch to suit the campro, or can they just use this one?

• hatukngkau on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:12 am

heh… i'm noytt actually a proton basher but merely saying what i think most proton buyers had experienced. nonetheless, lets get back to topic.

ppl, dont poke ur nose and be arrogant to and provoke the bashers… yes, although this new feature AMT is very interesting, but then again, nothing is created perfect, and there is no guarantee that AMT wont have any problem, and one day if it does, it will be the bashers turn to ask "where is the supporters?"

dont think that the supporters had won once and for all… everything remains to be seen…. the road is long and there are many other things proton need to address.

back then when Gen2 came out, supporters were arrogant enough, to do the same thing u guys did today, calling out to the bashers… "Gen2, nice looking car, Camppro engine, blah blah blah…." ttongue wagging.. but then again straight forward a couple of months… problems and complaints starts to surface and the proton bashing fest satarted again and the supporters are either nowhere to be seen or getting shot up down left right front back….

so dont be arrogant just yet and claim the yet realised victory. let's all wait and see how far this car can go, and, let's see the sales volume to determine whether it is the people's choice or not.

by the way, talking about myvi being designed by japanese and only rebadged by perodua, dont be too proud of savvy that was DESIGNED by KOREAN company LG either….

• psycho on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:32 am

i would like to know how many of u have driven other cars which have a similar automatic gearbox…and how many have compared this gearbox with those….

this is just a one-sided review…the main reason for that is there are no cars with this type of gearbox in this price bracket…if cars of the same class were available at the same competitive price range as the savvy, i think none of u would go with the savvy..

since that is not the scenario….savvy is the only car in its range with that gearbox..the only others would be the ones with the Honda CVT transmission.

that is all..

• Nooris on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:27 am

Hai guys.

I test drive Savvy AMT this afternoon at Proton Edar USJ.

And for the first time I saw the Savvy R3 with my own eyes in the showroom.

Savvy R3 ….wow. See it yourself. The skirting give totally different impression.

Savvy AMT driving experince….excellent. Go test drive yourself.

Infact, this is my first experience driving Savvy.

This car is Great compare to other competitors in it class.

Auto mode – feels like normal auto gearbox

Manual mode – this where the fun begin.

It's like playing PS2 GT4 in Manual mode with Steering Wheel comewith gear knob.

Just push/click the lever and the gear shift without having to depress your acccelerator. Can you imagine that.

The sales person said that you can ask them to fit the R3 skirting to your Savvy AMT by adding RM 2xxx. But they cannot help on the sport spring/absorber.

Hopefully Proton will comeout with Proton Savvy AMT R3.

Bye…

• trav da man on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:29 am

u telling me u hoping the savvy outsold the myvi. HELLO R U IN DREAM LAND???

Still i prefer the myvi over the savvy, no sweat.

well that personal thoughts k.

Still if u watched top gear last week (the new season just premiered last week!) Jeremy and co ranked France made cars (rated among the top 10 bottom of 100cars in its Top Gear car satisfaction survey.

He did told the viewers to go to topgear website to check the survey's result to see if the car they planning to purchase is either good or French (i laughed like hell that time!!!)

• the silver AMT savvy looks sweet (saw one on the road today!). It doesnt matter whether they will continue to face problems but the important thing is that proton is moving in the right direction. im sure many agree that proton today is better than proton 5 years ago (totally full of shit, dont get me started).

Now i have the hots for a savvy and im a myvi fan! seriously the silver one really looks sweet but ill have something probably done about the front grill and that proton logo (never really liked the colour; would have looked better if they went with just a steel design like many other auto companies namely VW (check out the new VW)). i never really liked the ass at first but it grew on me…

i hope the keep coming up with new models that feature this transmission. I dont want to see savvy in the showrooms after 5 years tho (or in the case of saga 20 years WTF). they have to keep coming out with new models and start being competitive like they are doing now not just 'hangat hangat tahi ayam'.

im just waiting for the one day i can be proud driving a national car that is on par with many overseas counterparts..

• double post, but the english/americans/many ppl never really liked the french. the comments made by the host were just a cruel in-joke to either sound witty or outrageously unfunny. thats of course if you didnt understand it…

do you regard peugeot as a crappy auto manufacturer? maybe, but i didnt think so…

• intermilan on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:36 am

ehh.. mr. hatukngkau….

are u serious with your statement "dont be too proud of savvy that was DESIGNED by KOREAN company LG either…. "

pro-proton ppl dont la to eager to claim "victory". dont fight fight.

let the AMT walk the talk first. if all ok, everybody will be happy. we are all malaysia-loving malaysian after all.. kan?

• kinrara on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:42 am

amt ,,gmt,,pmt whatevr improvement proton make,, the basher will still bash…

waja famous problem,, just its power window … not a life treatening problem xcept for smokers who smokes while driving.

heard any engine problems,, gear problem,, suspension,, body fall apart etc

rare case..

other manufacturers have to call back their cars to replace items.. cause it is a hazard…(design defects, parts batch defects etc)

but basher can still bash lah… if not they cannot sleep…

• Hmmm, almost fell for savvy but i think better wait for AMT first buyers to experience if something right or not. I'll give it till year or two, if sound promising then why not?

• gegaoff on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:01 am

whether the basher gone or not is not important. most important now is we all got eyes to c that there is a improvement on POTONG. but POTONG must stick with this direction, and still got far way to go, man. :D

i wondering will that be possible to apply this ATM to all POTONG models? emm.. sounds great right?

i'm driving Myvi, i also wondering what will happens if Myvi apply ATM too? yummy… :D

cheers…

• gegaoff on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:03 am

sorry, not ATM, is AMT. opps… hehehe

• Handsfree on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:12 am

GOOD JOB PROTON….. WELL DONE.. TODAY.. PROVEN SOMETHINGS.. ALL MALAYSIAN STILL LOVE U.. PROTON… SO KEEP IT UP.. WE KNOW IS A BORROWED TECHNOLOGY BUT IS OK….

WE BEHIND U PROTON BUT PLS DONT LEAD US TO NO WAY … AND NEVER NEVER LEAD US TO dead end…..

heheh.. boleh

• kinrara on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:33 am

if proton puts ATM inside better also,,, hw i guess it will better fits the arena.. got bigger space …can get two ATM behind it.. hw Maybank is a must…

• blackhead on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:52 am

1 thing appear in my mind, if the AMT gearbox down, izzit we only can go back to proton SC? they will chops?

• Having tested Savvy AMT at PE HQ (Centre of Excellence) on Monday, I changed my earlier booking from MT to AMT straight away. Although this means havnig to pay another RM6K becoz of the discount given to the MT for the Proton 20 years celebration, I personally think it is the right thing to do.

For those of you who are eyeing at Savvy, please don't hesitate to go for test drive on MT and AMT then decide what is best for you. For me, the AMT offers the same performance and responsiveness of Savvy MT plus the convenience of Automatic mode. This makes it a real fun car to drive in all traffic conditions.

One remark during my test drive though, the Auto mode (D) is a bit jerking when switching gears. This is most likely due to the Quickshift gearbox that is known for quick to shift but slow to adapt.

I am getting my Savvy AMT next week, so I am looking forward to reading more REAL experiences from the REAL AMT owner in the near future.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:27 am

trav da man said,

November 16, 2005 @ 9:29 pm

u telling me u hoping the savvy outsold the myvi. HELLO R U IN DREAM LAND???

Still i prefer the myvi over the savvy, no sweat.

well that personal thoughts k.

Still if u watched top gear last week (the new season just premiered last week!) Jeremy and co ranked France made cars (rated among the top 10 bottom of 100cars in its Top Gear car satisfaction survey.

He did told the viewers to go to topgear website to check the survey’s result to see if the car they planning to purchase is either good or French (i laughed like hell that time!!!)

————————————————————–

You're right, French cars are in the very bottom area of the top gear survey. But there are so many reasons why they are there. It could be reliability problems, it could be customer service, it could be low value for money, it could be alot of things. Mercedes have been in the bottom half of the survey for years now, it's not because of their engineering, but because of their customer service. I'm just saying, the people of UK aren't satisfied with French cars, doesn't mean that their parts are bad. it could be bad, but until someone can actually prove it, it's unfair to assume that way. Having said that, there were alot of problems regarding Renault engines in previous proton cars, it would be interesting to see how it goes in the Savvy.

I am actually quite sceptical with the AMT. I had a very bad experience before, driving the SMART Forfour, which has an AMT for the transmission. It was so jerky and rough, really hated it.

I guess there is a divide between people that hate and like Proton. Personally, I think it would be best to have a neutral point of view. If Proton does something good, then give credit to them. If they made a bad move, then give some constructive criticism. If they made a really really stupid move that affects the whole of rakyat Msia badly, then bash them like hell.hehe that's how it is supposed to be…in my view anyway.

• abe pie on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:30 am

hey guys.. lots of people here says "GOOD JOB PROTON, CONGRATS " lah apa lah..lots of "puji-pujian" to proton dan memacam lagilah.. does it automatically give some credit to Tengku Mahalel also ? Personally ..some/a little credit should be give to him also. so..wat do you think guys? Is it fair or not.?

( ehem ehem.. i heard the some people at proton purchasing dept make a little money with proton supplier..mmmm. no wonder lar some of the parts no quality at all. if it is true . BPR should get in.. jeng jeng jeng)

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:36 am

go proton, go proton.

myvi outsell savvy only because it is launched earlier. when savvy launched, myvi already overbooked. most people won't let go their booking fee.

well, i do support p2 as well.

i support malaysian industries. CI already fell below 900, if economy and RM currency continue to fall, be prepare to pay higher price for all cars including p1 n p2. we don't have everything locally. by then, don't barking around here talking about how low is proton price in UK or elsewhere.

sincerely, malaysia boleh.

• abe pie on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:42 am

WTF, GTH(pergi masuk neraka). do u know how big the fire in the real HELL or can you send anybody that you want to the real HELL/NERAKA.

personally reminder from me..to all of u.

dont use this word lar ok. its not a good word. we are so close to die actually.

anytime.

• ahyong on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:52 am

CEO of the year no more, Proton is getting better without him. way much better… Kudos to Proton!! w/o Mahaleel that is.

• hokkein lang on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:00 am

is their 1st test now. let we see if we heard if they have a problem next, like door cannot close, cannot shift to manual mode or else.

btw since that guy from proton feller explain to us i see less people KUTUK proton now.

• AllStar on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:11 am

but the outlook still like shit

• hatukngkau on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:12 am

intermilan said,

November 16, 2005 @ 9:36 pm

ehh.. mr. hatukngkau….

are u serious with your statement “dont be too proud of savvy that was DESIGNED by KOREAN company LG either…. ”

===============================================

yup i am damn positive about it… if u went to autotrade forum or motortrader forum, u'll get to read some discussions about it. plus with proof some more….

anyway, i'm not too keen on Proton, AMT or not. maybe, maybe in future i will buy a proton as 2nd car, even that only will be happening IF they have improved… if they keep on having problems, erm…. well, even if a proton is given free to me, i'd immediately sell it off!

• rikeys on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:25 am

don worry I'll go buy one then trash it & see

and if I don't like it later I'll set fire to it & claim insurance

then buy other cars ok hehehehe! so if you read in the papers

one savvy on fire you'll know its mine! haha

• nice 2 see.nice 2 drive,if accident nothing happen.oh yeah mysavemy…..

• intermilan on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:38 pm

swee said,

November 16, 2005 @ 9:35 pm

double post, but the english/americans/many ppl never really liked the french. the comments made by the host were just a cruel in-joke to either sound witty or outrageously unfunny. thats of course if you didnt understand it…

do you regard peugeot as a crappy auto manufacturer? maybe, but i didnt think so…

=======================================

ya lah… top gear never evaluate the french badges fairly.

even jeremy admits that he never (or ever so rarely) give renault a favourable reviews and he dont know why (..ceh!). perhaps its the anti-french sentiments of the brit. perhaps its like what swee said, "a cruel in-joke".

btw, peugeot is NOT a crappy car manufacturer.

By world standard.. china is a crappy car manufacturer.

the ratings that they give to frenchies are just not justifiable.

perhaps, one of the (major ??) responsibilites as a host/reviewer of top gear are: bash any french car.

• actually one of the latest Top Gear episodes shows them crash testing a Megane… with a real human crash test dummy! got very favourable results.

• Silver Waja on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:09 pm

Hey I am here.. de PLOTON BASHER!!

AMT sounds nice but who cares? Wait till the warranty expires & problems start cropping up.

Proton's reliability is always in question.

No matter how attractive (by that I mean technology. btw, it's not) Proton

makes a model, I will not buy another one coz after the warranty expires,

that's when the financial headache comes in. Before the warranty expires,

you'll have the 'leave' headache (take leave to send car to SC).

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:16 pm

Wah POTONG topic is always the Hottest in town!!

If you ask me Mawi or Sawi, which is Bolehland ppl choice??

I would said, Bolehland ppl prefer GOOD OUTLOOKING more than INSIDE PERFORMANCE. I means Majority of ppl likes would to make their decision based on the EXTERIOR LOOK and second is the DRIVE. (Don't talk about QUALITY ISSUE first and asume it is the Same OKAY!)

Therefore, MAWI still getting higher demand than SAWI. I still prefer MAWI look more than SAWI look. Is like choosing your GIRL FRIENDS, ppl still like the outlook more than the inside (80% of the man)……..Correct me if I am WRONG!!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! :)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:48 pm

as expected!..

the basher is still basher..

they wont accept any good matter in proton.. no matter how, no matter what..

yeah.. that's the bashers way..

i saw today on the road, the silver dark silver one.. nice.. look more bigger than the black and normal blue one. and the silver one also change with 15 inch sportrim..

yeah.. still waitin to see a fully loaded one..

maybe i wanna buy 1 later.. but if the AMT has a really good performance.. :D

• thomas on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:16 pm

I think the good QUALITY of SAVVY is mainly because of the TUV control, The TUV factor already turn PROTON became a reponsible car manufacturer. Look at the latest batch of GEN2, the QUALITY also improved a lot. ( TUV just take over the QUALITY inspection )

SAVVY's RENAULT engine also a reliable ENGINE, RENAULT CLIO just won the "CAR OF THE YEAR AWARD" in EUROPE.

Hopefully PROTON can maintain this type of attitude because the ppl only need a reliable & troublefree vehicle.

PROTON not only a car, also a national symbol.

REMARK : look at our 100 ringgit note.

• Silver Waja on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:35 pm

wearing the same shirt doesnt mean tt it is de same person. haha..

JIA LAT LORR!!

• kinrara on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:48 pm

Silver Waja said,

"Proton’s reliability is always in question."

============================================

what do u mean reliability??… how many proton u see stranded by the road side?… nowadays its only lorrys or old cars.(also includes honda, merc, nissan etc)

reliability is not the problem,, but u can say waja power window have problem but then its after 1 year etc… mine broke down after 2yrs.

but then dun hear any gen2 having the same problem( so protons improved),, even dun hear any major complaint.

haiya,,, what reliability issue here?????.. hw Mc Claren does have that issue…. Last lap also can get engine blow… suspen..suspen.

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:49 pm

I noticed that most Proton bashers are non proton owner & P2 owners.

They think that P2 is way better than P1… or is it actually true!

• Oh my god…… some people were more interested with my personal patriotic 'dreamy' statement :

—————————————————————-

– Personally, I really wish Savvy can outsales the Myvi. Why? Think about it, the locally designed( made in Malaysia) model outsales the rebadged Toyota Passo/ Daihatsu Boon which is made in Japan. Does not this sounds great to every ‘truly’ patriotic Malaysians? –

—————————————————————-

Yeah I know its sounds dreamy and unrealistic for such thing to happen, but I was dissapoint no one paid any attention about the general facts(or logics) in my first paragraph :

—————————————————————-

– And it is better if with this AMT, Proton can boosts it’s Savvy model’s sales and probably outsales the Perodua Myvi( as Proton has larger market at overseas than the domestic market alone). I hope Malaysians are more concious about this AMT tech and appreciate it as a tool for better fuel efficiency since oil prices are skyrocketing nowadays since manual gear consumes less fuel and produces more speed than auto gear one, right?. –

—————————————————————-

Guys, y'all were emotional and consequently could'nt comment in orderly fashion, and failed to recognize the differences between personal comment and general fact. It is not like you people do not know which ones are more important and has to be debated or the one has to be just ignored since it was just a comment. Comment is not fact!! Do I have to tell you people about that?

Why there was no ones were argue Proton has larger markets oversea( UK population= 57 million, Australia population= 18 million, South Africa= 42.5 million) than the domestic market( Our population= 23 million) alone? Now compare it with the markets size that Perodua is now into. That all are facts, right? Instead you people were talking more about the local market alone as though there are no larger markets outside Malaysia. Moreover Proton's cars have better quality for export market than the locally.

• Forgive me for been off-topic anyway

• I am looking forward to read the car's review in our local mags.

I had follow the savvy from the back at night and its honeycomb rear lights looks very interesting, and front lamp is very brights also which is good for night travelling at trunk road where sometime cow is sleeping on the road.

Anyway, still waiting for the first buyer experience of this Savvy AMT and I think Proton is moving to the right direction by improving the car's body shell rigidity and its interior quality. Maybe the AMT can be integrated with Campro engines, a french flavour in local engines.

Perhaps this is achievable by sourcing the parts from Class A vendor only.

The rest of the vendor especially the bumiputras co should improve their quality and works instead of relying on political ties or family link with Proton's employees. Its time to move further ahead and become a global company and not rely on domestic market only.

• Silver Waja on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:36 pm

kinrara said,

November 17, 2005 @ 9:48 am

Silver Waja said,

“Proton’s reliability is always in question.”

============================================

what do u mean reliability??… how many proton u see stranded by the road side?… nowadays its only lorrys or old cars.(also includes honda, merc, nissan etc) > There IS, dont say NO! and a big TQ to our tow car for acting fast enuf..

reliability is not the problem,, but u can say waja power window have problem but then its after 1 year etc… mine broke down after 2yrs.

> this is CLEAR enuf..

but then dun hear any gen2 having the same problem( so protons improved),, even dun hear any major complaint. > u work in P1 service? who r u to say no?

haiya,,, what reliability issue here?????.. hw Mc Claren does have that issue…. Last lap also can get engine blow… suspen..suspen.

> who cares those r for race, they r not gonna spend more than 3hrs in tt car. Wht we talking here is buying an liability tt ties u up to 7-9 yrs unless u dispose it off.

Xoomie said,

November 17, 2005 @ 9:49 am

I noticed that most Proton bashers are non proton owner & P2 owners.

> to b honest, p1 bashers just had enuf from a lousy manu.

They think that P2 is way better than P1… or is it actually true!

> no one knows, lets look further

• Good Job guys. I see lots of positive remarks. I'm impressed. Proton has done a great job introducing AMT transmission. This tech is foud only in expensive cars except for some models. The price seems ok. Not much of a fuss.

Price of fuel is expensive today. I recommend this car to be a good buy to the people. Use Savvy to work. If you have another bigger & powerful car use it to bring your family around over the weekends. It saves you wear & tear a lot.

I can't wait to try the AMT Savvy this Saturday. If they have Black with AMT i will go for it. Do they have that colour in AMT ?

I'll check it out anyway.

Kelisa here Savvy comes. You know old people use to say. "NOBODY STAYS ON THE TOP FOREVER". Everyone will have their time…sooner or later.

Never under estimate your rivals always

SYABAS PROTON !

• psycho on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:01 pm

most of u guyz are lost in ur patriotic support for proton even if it does screw up u r car sooner or later…

i think the patriotic thing to do is to encourage proton to learn from thier mistakes instead of turning a blind eye to it.

• kanasai on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:45 pm

i wonder any of the proton supported here is actually buying savvy? LOL

• superman on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:29 pm

LG assisted in engineering some components in the Savvy. The design were by local Malaysians.

Love him or hate him. T Mahaleel had a hand in the Savvy as the TRM project kicked off under his leadership.

The AMT transmission and engine in the Savvy is not old hand me down from Renault but current speccification equipment used in the Clio, Modus.

BTW I see more Beemers and Mercs starnded on the road than Protons

• albagmane on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:27 am

gosh.. whatever shits this potong has, its just disappoints me.. yucks!!!

• Driven2020 on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:38 am

AMT? good idea! but if buy new one expensivelah.. I know!! find a totalled Savvy and salvage the AMT and put it to Myvi~~ just joking.

But I dunno how to install AMT to Myvi… hmm I dun think can ask p1 engineerslah, anti p2 i guess.. I know!! I ask Renault or Magneti Marelli! they can help me~~ just joking.

Anybody knows what is the replacement cost of an busted AMT? anybody knows whether there is an additional waranty for it as well? i wan to prepare future provisions….oops there goes my holiday trips

I love this Savvy thingy!! Fantastic ride and handling by british engineered Lotus, exquisite powerplant from french engineered Renault, talented AMT by italian engineered Magneti Marelli and of course.. ahh of course the one of a kind no one can beat interior and even-big-foot-cannot-crush body shell by p1. u can do it!!!

Myvi? so wat if got compact specialist from daihatsu and extremely reliable engines from toyota. Savvy's got AMT.. u got or not?

P1 WILL NEVER sit back and relax. savvy sales will definitely BEAT P2 myvi someday BOLDLY SPEAKING.

Hmm dunno whether can get clear lights for the back, that way i can confuse the traffic police coz then i can make the front look like the back.

i dunno y ppl said myvi sales more than savvy..when u see alot of 2nd hand savvy u know wat mean? alot ppl buy savvy lah. no one buy myvi. if no one buy myvi, how to end up in 2nd hand shopleh? wahlaueh

ah look it's raining, i always wanted a fish bowl at the trunk

Oh by the way just joking..PERIOD.

I support the local market! healthy competition promotes improvements. Keep it up!

• kinrara on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:19 am

kanasai said,

November 17, 2005 @ 12:45 pm

i wonder any of the proton supported here is actually buying savvy? LOL

========================================

i have 2 cars already,,, still under 5 yrs,,, but if not,,, i'll get one..

dun see any proton stranded today… have u guys seen that "unreliable" car broke down today xcept for that bateri kong or flat tyre?

———————————————————–

Silver Waja said,

November 17, 2005 @ 10:36 am

u work in P1 service? who r u to say no?

==========================================

how bout u?..u work in p1 service? who r u to say?????

btw we all have friends driving gen2 … just ask if theirs major problem? n if there is,,, its sure be as famous as the waja power window… BUT,,, theres none floating around…

so why dun we admit it that theres been improvement …. lets not be egoistic n shy to compliment others if theres some good that the others had done…

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:44 am

superman said,

November 17, 2005 @ 2:29 pm

….

Love him or hate him. T Mahaleel had a hand in the Savvy as the TRM project kicked off under his leadership.

————————————————————-

Well, I'll say, if he wants to take the credits for the AMT, he must take the responsibilities for all the bad things he's done for Proton, all the money that he wasted etc…take all the credits for the good things AND responsibilities for the bad things, or take nothing at all. Winning CEO of the year in one year, next year gets the sack heheh goes to show how connections and 'know who' play a mojor part in Malaysia's industries. very sad. If I was TM, I'd be so ashamed of that.

Anyhow, I'm not trying to burst everyones bubble, but before we get too carried away in praising Proton about the AMT, we've got to see if any reliability issues comes out. There are still things that I'm concerned about, the SRM for one, is still yet to be launched. Judge the company as a whole, for CONTINUOUS improvements and developments, not just for one piece of news that is still yet to prove itself reliability wise. But credit is given when it's due, kudos to Proton for this development. But as I said, let's not get carried away, it is still too early to rain them with too much praises.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:36 am

superman said,

November 17, 2005 @ 2:29 pm

LG assisted in engineering some components in the Savvy. The design were by local Malaysians.

—————————————————————-

oh yeah? "assisted" only-kah? tell that to the LG ppl lah ya? continue glorify mediocrity lah… i wonder where did u get ur "facts"? but for sure i have my facts here
    http://www.lgcns.co.kr/lgcns_e/case/case_08_03.js…

and take a look at the discussions here
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

=============================================

Driven2020 said,

November 17, 2005 @ 9:38 pm

Myvi? so wat if got compact specialist from daihatsu and extremely reliable engines from toyota. Savvy’s got AMT.. u got or not?

—————————————————————-

aiseyman… don be so arrogant for Proton-lah… "Myvi got DVVT.. u got or not?" comparing like this is not constructive… let ppl choose on their own, we'll see which one ppl will choose in the long run…

=============================================

plus talks about fuel saving… some ppl keep glorifying AMT and compare it to auto gears… hello… any manual gears also will save fuel better than auto gears la… and i dont think AMT would do any better than any normal manual gears la…

but then again, FC are very much dependent on car design, weight, travel condition, etc.. etc.. la… so, to be fair, why not just compare Savvy manual's FC with Savvy AMT's FC, running the same road, carrying the same load… then only we can say whether AMT saves fuel better or not, which i doubt… i'd think it's the same….

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:40 am

ur comments are very well said, zongtwi a.k.a. speed junkie!

• aksMs on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:43 am

Aiyyoh guys…come on…y'all bashers and supporters, don't bash or defend blindly. Why can't we make it more educational? More constructive? Be it P1 or P2. They are still Made in Malaysia by Malaysian! Regardless of some Japanese parts or French parts or wherever in the world it came from.

Just something to think about… If you are a kid, and you didn't do too well at school, and all your parents, relatives and so called friends did was calling you names, like bodoh, bahalul, bongok etc. or ignore you and just leave you behind, how would you feel? But, if your parents, relatives and friends keep on supporting, encouraging and gives never ending constructive critism for you to improve, don't you think you gain something from it? Succesful maybe? For once, please look at the mindset that most of us have now.

I wanted to see Malaysia to be a world class leader someday. Be it its people, its technology, sciences, or the product that they produce like Proton, Perodua or Modenas for example. Don't we all wants to see them at the top of the world?

Wanna bash? Criticize? Fine. But please do it positively. If you just hate it too much and couldn't find even one single good word that make sense to say, then don't say anything. Save your arrogantness and proudness somewhere else as no one here will get any benefit from it. I'm sure most of us here just wanna find out creative and constructive arguement.

I'm sure Paul will be very happy if people who visited his blog learn something useful and refreshing instead of feeling sick and foolish. Nobody and nothing is perfect in this world but there's always room for improvement. Take it, or leave it!

My apology for deviating.

• aksMs on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:17 am

Just to add a bit….

And this is MY PERSONAL OPINION. I think Tengku Mahaleel deserve some credits for some improvement that Proton has achieve today. He may not get everything right. He probably made some wrong decision. But his decision to bring in TUV into Proton is a wise decision I'd say. At least we get to see some improvement in the product so far (the Savvy that is as I haven't get to experience a Gen2 post TUV). I may sound sceptical but I do believe significant improvements are achieveable.

From what I have learn, Proton car's quality may not improve at all regardless of the introduction of new models if they didn't appoint TUV to audit the vendors. There has been some fierce objections from some of the top management (who are protecting some vendors) when TM decided to do so. As a result, a lot of vendors are declared uncompetitive an unfit to supply the parts up to world standard. Hence, they get the lower and lowest grade. Proton to produce a high quality product? Achieveable.

Sure…if the BIG HEADS just focus more on the business in the interest of the RAKYAT rather than protecting a certain POLITICAL CAMP!

• endlessrain on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:40 am

one question about AMT… issit really like cub motocycle? ok, for the cub, each time u shift the gear but without let of the gear shifter off after that, clutch will automatically still on..which mean you can rev the engine.. (so hard to explain…hehe… cub users sure will understand)… can AMT do that osso?… if can sure it will be more fun… if not…its still gud enough dow…

im wondering… AMT with sport/racing ekzos/intake system… its gonna be interesting… score dude… 2 thumbs up…hihi

imho…about the realibility… everything with automatic system sure will reduce realibility compare to manual one… no metter what type of thing… important thing is, how you maintain it properly… auto is about making live easier…. when u gain something… u gonna lose something… :p

about the ugly butt… why dont u guys who not satisfied with it, figure it out how to make it hensem enough…like adding some eye lid for the back lamp for smaller-sporty look, or adding some fibreglass near the logo maybe, etc… dont just comment laa…sure its gonna be more interesting rite…

one more thing…someone did mention about no power window at the back savvy… guest what, enzo ferari dont have power window osso… kuang kuang kuang…

• Hopefully Proton QC Dept can learn something from the TUV wolfgang and can audit the QC for next generation Proton's car. The German will leave one day, and thus the locals should learn as much as they can and master the traits and show it to the people by continous improvement in Proton QC.

There are still a hope for Proton as long as they are willing to listen to markets, produce what peoples want, at certain quality and reasonable price.

Congrats Proton for introduce AMT at lowest possible price.

• kanasai on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:52 pm

in the next 2 months, we will see how well is savvy going to sell… nowadays Myvvi on the road everywhere… personally i think that savvy not suited for gals and only suited for guys, but again guys like big cars rather than small one. Gals prefer kellisa for my point of view

• Proton needs to put AMT for all of its future models if it intends to survive

• Driven2020 on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:54 pm

To my opinion the AMT is a damn good idea.

To all whom have driven the AMT Savvy:

1. When you engage 1st/2nd gear without pressing the fuel peddle, will the engine die of like a manual would? I was thinking what would you do when starting off from uphill slope?

2. If in first gear and the AMT TCU detects that the fuel peddle was not pressed, will the TCU maintain the clutch dissengaged until the fuel peddle is pressed?

3. When shift to 1st/2nd gear without pressing the fuel peddle, once brake peddle released will the car creep or clutch remained dissengaged as fuel peddle not pressed?

4. Will the AMT in manual mode, allow the car to cruise at 40km/h at top gear (just over 1100rpm)?

5. Will the AMT throttle off the engine momentarilly when during upshift even when fuel peddle pressed at constant position?

6. During manual mode, will the TCU upshift automatically when gearing revved up to the red line?

7. When in manual mode and during top gear and high speed, when doing sudden braking will the AMT shift down smoothly? From scale from 1 to 5 (most comfort to most discomfort). What would be your rating.

8. Does the TCU allow you to dissengage the gear whilst driving e.g. freewheeling during down hill? If that is the case,

9. Will the TCU allow you to re-engage the gears whilst vehicle still in motion (let say around 60km/h)?

points to ponder for the this article:
    http://www.autoworld.com.my/emzine/review/viewart…

The writer should not compare a torgue convertor type automatic with an AMT. It is a totally different concept. This is essentially a manual gearbox driven car with a automated transmission shifting mechanism.

The writer claimed that the fuel consumption is slightly higher than the manual version. Hello? It's a manual based gearbox man. How can the FC of a manual transmission based AMT is more than the conventional manual transmission? Unless the gear ratio is different than the argument applies. Additional weight? even if the whole damn control unit is 30kgs i doubt there will be much difference in the FC.Either the writer is talking bullocks or the p1 engineers have zero idea of the car.

AMT can never fully replace the flexibility available on manual trannies nor the characteristics are fully identical to a torque convertor type automatic.

It's just another gimmick. read this
    http://tiuloh.blogspot.com/2005/09/smart-is-rathe…

I'm not condemning nor praising it but it's just a reminder that potential buyers should test the car fully before buying it before becoming a LPPL situation.

• Jerry on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:58 pm

This caught my attention…

• Marmitecrab on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:39 pm

Hahahaha!

I actually wanted to say something earlier but was kinda busy, lah.

The questions Driven2020 asked sums it all up. Nobody knows two hoots about the car and yet, all the praises is coming in. Have you all forgotten about the crappy products Proton has been giving us so soon? All that bashing in the past and all Proton had to do was offer a new gearbox on a super ugly car and all is forgiven? How easy it is to please us all, eh?

C'mon, be realistic. It's gonna take more than just one gearbox which, by the way, nobody really knows how well it's gonna perform, to convince me that Proton "is headed in the right direction".

For all you know, it's gonna prove so messy, difficult-to-maintain, expensive, complicated and downright impractical for the Ah Bengs to use that Proton is gonna scrap the whole idea altogether and then, I'll sit back and say, "I told you so!"

• WE see hope from PROTON, but pls build higher roof car.

• endlessrain on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:17 am

super ugly car??? ok why dont u design one… we will see issit everybody gonna luv it… you try to compare manual with outo… of cource AMT gonna be more messy… same as any other auto laa… renault had been using it for 2 years man… and they still continued it with new quickshift 6…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:50 am

LG build Automation etc related.. seems the electronic part.. Hyundai also aff with LG too..

IF THE BMW launch AMT .. it should be good damn farking GOOOOOD!

but in the name of proton = everything is Saaaks.. haha

• kedaipotong on Nov 19, 2005 at 3:06 am

i haven't try savvy AMT but to answer Driven2020's question i think i read somewhere that renault's auto clutch will creep the car in first gear which is different from smartfortwo that does not have this feature.

• Driven2020 on Nov 19, 2005 at 4:40 am

If you have the money to choose from Savvy to Myvi, which will you pick?

have a thought…………made up your mind? GOOD.

Let's get back to basics and forget the all the bashing nonsense.

We'll neglect female preferences as well. They are not techno-savvy anyway. If they see something they like, they'll take it. They don't give a damn of what the car can do. As long it brings them from A to B, that's fine. But if you insist, go right ahead.

You like cars right? what do you want in cars? fast? responsive? nimble? powerful? fully tech loaded? futuristic? etc etc. you have your own preferences. Give it a thought of what car you want based on your honest preferences. Still the same choice? GOOD.

Most ppl in this forum say not fair to judge local cars with foreign cars. Ok fair enough we talk only about p1 and p2.

Most ppl say not fair to judge products from p1 and p2 coz p1 more older, done most things themselves as has been claimed countless times (ok I'll pretend that the french, italians & koreans have nothing to do with Savvy which they have infact but I'll just pretend i did not know such a sort) and p2 got Daihatsu and Toyota as their back bone coz they cannot develop and whole new platform from the ground up. They have to depend on the japs like a baby sucking a milk bottle. Fair enough?

Here are the stats.. BOTH are practically built, economical engines, carries 5 ppl, and with a certain price tag.

So what's the big deal?

Sounds like both cars are kinda equal. So the choice may still be the same. Either this or that, but you made your choice earlier on so we will stick to your choice..GOOD

With your choice, in your mind figure out how far you are going with the car of you choice. What I mean is how long the car will keep your interest towards it before sending it off to the 2nd hand shops. Have a thought…..GOOD.

On the other hand…

How far you will go then if you were to choose the other car? Just keep that figure in your head. I don't really want to know coz it's your head anyway.

Enough with the brain washing. I'll tell you what I think.

For Myvi..

I can go and buy toyota passo or daihatsu boon bodykits and slap it on the Myvi then it'll look cool. Personally I don't like the front and back part of Myvi but i dun care coz I CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

The lights? why just buy the toyota passo or daihatsu lights and part of the body panels and u have yourself and passo/boon the price of myvi. Personally I don't like the standard lights on myvi but i don't care coz ___________________(fill in the blanks)….correct coz I CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

I would also get the 998cc version myvi. yeah the engine sucks but who cares? it's around 40K+ for the cheapest version. Still cheaper than the Savvy.

But that is not the main reason.

I'll get a daihatsu yrv half cut and slap the 1.3L engine and tranny there. But why would i want to put the 1.3L half cut? y not just get the 1.3L version myvi since the both engines are the same? It is because the yrv engine already comes standard with 1.3L turbo and 4 gear automatic transmission. Adding up the mod costs the total car cost maybe around the region of 55K. Still ok to me, I'd pay for that than to get the standard 1.3L myvi. and y would i want to go through the trouble to mod it? coz _________________________(Good I'm glad we are on the same wavelength)

Now comes to Savvy.

My thoughts are..

kinda quiet here..I can even hear the pin drop a block away

anybody home?

I think I'll have a cuppa tea

Oh megatron, my beloved transformer. where on Earth have you been? err Cybertron (megatron seems to say)

Honestly, really, I don't know what to do with this car. No matter what I want to do with this car the front will always look like the rear. There is just not enough options for this car.

I even saw a Savvy with rally mud flaps on it…wtf

THERE IS NOTHING I CAN DO

People think Jeremy Clarkson's words are harsh? he doesn't care where the car is from. He is commenting based on practical experiences from tonnes of cars he drove. That experience cannot be gained by watching, it is embraced from the steering wheel he drives. Ever seen a babies cry or laugh? they do it coz it's a genuine gesture. You think Jeremy is faking his smile when drifting the RX-8 around the test track? hardly so.

I too don't care where the car is from. It's all about the X-factor. There is just not enough oomph to favour Savvy.

You could even put the most beautiful woman in the world beside the car and no one will even notice it coz everybody is looking at the woman at the first place..

The furthest I could imagine with Savvy is the big drain just across the street, with the Savvy in it…four wheels facing the moon.. with the banana peel nearby the road where driver thought since it is Lotus handling, y not i give a try…would hurt to find out…….what a costly decision.

AMT? so? I can get a crashed Savvy's AMT and slap it inside the myvi. it's troublesome but not impossible right?

Lotus handling? Y not go get the Lotus engineers to tune the myvi? or get mugen or whoever jap tuning companies? definitely expensive but not impossible right?

Change savvy engine? of course possible, but the AMT is configured to suit savvy. A definite no no..but if you still insist you can sell me the AMT coz I plan to modify it to suit my car…cheap cheap can lah

What I see in this blog is that ppl are thrashing over pride. p1 and p2 supporters alike. I dun mind but is pride more important? What pride going to help you in? are you going to receive a free car for being loyal for 10 years? are you getting company shares by buying the car? does the company belong to you? can get a free AP?

No, no, no & I REALLY WISH SO

It's just simply & utterly childish.

To sum it up be it with AMT or Lotus whatchamacalit handling, savvy just doesn't spark my fancy as in terms of flexibility in parts and mods, improvements so on and so forth, is not up to par with myvi. then again,

It's my opinion, so why would anybody care right?

I hope my terms does not qualify me as a basher. I'm just being realistic. If I do, my apologies to all fellow readers for being so harsh.

SO……..

what's your choice?

made up your mind?

GOOD

Whatever it is I will respect your choices. Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder(personally I think this phrase is too cheesy)

HAPPY MOTORING

• Wonderer on Nov 19, 2005 at 5:37 am

To all, not much to say but i wonder after 1 year will Savvy AMT give us headache or driving pleasure.I rather wait after that time to revaluate both MYVI and SAVVY cars.

• toritori on Nov 19, 2005 at 5:45 am

My personal point of view,

Mmm.. actually ah, most Savvy car owners didn't really intend to modify their stock cars. Most of them already happy with it and generally the important 'factors' of the car already 'shines' the beholder and beholder to be.

Some said the savvy rear like ultraman or like underwear with butterfly on it, front like toilet seat, body like karipap, etc… I guess that is his or her personal view and perception of his or her mind interpreting an object which then categorized it as ugly or beauty.

I have no problem with that Savvy exterior design especially the rear side, when I watch ultraman, I still think he has a great unique superpower look, toilet seat also important what, imagine your toilet without one, underwear important too for me but some don't wear lah and lastly, karipap… I love it.

Just like married couples, most of them (really in love) won't ask his or her life partner to 'modified' his or her looks just to please himself or herself even when they are getting older, uglier, fattier, etc

When it 'shines' inside, it doesn't matter how it looks outside because the inner beauty already capture the 'true' heart of the beholder

Test drive it and it is a fun car to drive (oops no commission one) and from 'inside' you can only feel the 'inner' beauty :)

• toritori on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:28 am

Oh ya… one more thing, I always do the driving 'inside', so can't really see the 'exterior' design lah… really that bad meh?

But what to do, we feel good inside where got time to bother how people look at our car from outside… normally all become 'transparent' just like falling in love… love is blind :p

• Sexythang on Nov 19, 2005 at 9:45 am

semiautomatics for msian might be like landing on the moon. shows how far back and deprived our auto industry is. by proton.

• Driven2020 on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:54 am

Some driving reviews from 4car for renault clio quickshift 5
    http://www.channel4.com/4car/road-tests/driving-i…

Quickshift5 has idle creep on clio meaning slope start off possibe, expect to have it in savvy.

specs and figures for clio with quickshift 5 and savvy.

Renault clio
    http://carpages.co.uk/guide/renault/renault-clio-…

Savvy
    http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/id/…

Comment:

The dimensions are all awefully close to each other. So as the weight. Seems Savvy is a direct variant from clio. Even the weight is a mere 3 kg difference.

So much for the made in house statement. y not call it proton clio for a change lol

some comments of AMT from autoworld
    http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?su…

I stress again guys, better test the darn thang fully to comfirm/dispell the myths. The storm has not reached the coast yet but the boats are rocking already.

• obviously im not the only one who thinks the savvy looks like shit, but overall its a decent car with plentiful features that make it worth buying. although i also must agree that the decision on splunking 45k on something that looks like ass may puzzle some but then again to each his own.

myvi on the other hand has brilliant design although i think the rear is a little bland for my taste. it has a fairly reliable engine and parts are easily avaliable for repair/modification. Toyota+daihatsu VS Proton?

jesus cmon you KNOW the answer regardless of which is better than the other in any terms whatsoever. keep in mind that the savvy is a huge improvement over proton's older models and represents a step in the right direction. anyways..

Myvi is the more rational/favourable choice for the obvious reasons. the release date of the savvy plus the lack of automatic transmission at launch unfortunately and inevitably sealed its demise despite it for the first time being a proton product, its not entirely shit, but looks like shit (imagine caviar/pizza/kolo mee/laksa that tastes exceptionally good, but looks like a huge steaming pile of shit?). i hope you enjoy the imagery, which i did as i am chewing on my cha kueh right now

im not going to rant about the Perodua success story and how it changed the malaysian automobile industry, because it didnt! all the Myvi did was provide the middle/lower class population a new toy to drive around with that looks good at the same time! thats good isnt it (the japanese are so smart the myvi makes perfect business sense. Perodua is very clever as well)

now Proton is doing the same, except pulling the design out of their own ass and raping a french engine then stick it into their Epitome of Ugly. ok enough bullshit, the savvy is actually a good car because its the 1st non-shitbox proton ever produced.

like it or not its the first time THE national auto maker is trying to BE the national auto maker, and they would only benefit from some encouraging response from the public, not blind negative comments from people that only seen the savvy from their rear window (yeah i know its not a pretty sight) or worse only on paultan.org (LOL no offense) walk into a showroom and drive it. even better get a salesgirl and bang her along the way, both are free :D

i wouldnt deny despite thinking the host of Top Gear is an asshole im a big fan of the show. now how does this compute? Its a show about rich men who have everthing in the world talking about cars. in this case talking about cars they wouldnt even normally under ANY circumstances whatsoever drive, even if it was to save their life… maybe on the show because thats their job.

I like the show because of the nice pictures i get to see of the cars i probably wouldnt even get within 5 feet in my entire life, let even drive it. they could have Paris Hilton host it for all i care, and the attention whore probably never even drove in her entire life because she doesnt need to! (so rich, u get what i mean?).

we beleive the slick guy because hes the host right..? please. experience it first hand. only virgins talk about which porn is good and which is not. real men have girls. rape is not an excuse because it will result in you having a big boyfriend in jail named Hamid…

Brand loyalty will get me nowhere, but loyalty must be earned. on-hand experience is what counts. go to the showroom, drive it, find the salesgirl and ask her out. Double win for you. ok im talking about the car not the salesgirl the salesgirl is your choice if there is no salesgirl you can go fck yourself to a jenna jameson video or the dvd you bought from petaling street

CONTRARY TO POPULAR BELIEF I AM NOT DRUNK

instead it is 4 am and i cant sleep. Thank you for joining me in my kinky adventure.

and that new Harry Potter movie rocks. Drive your myvi to watch it because it will rock twice as much. cheers :D

• superman on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:29 pm

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] hatukngkau said,

November 18, 2005 @ 2:36 am

oh yeah ? “assisted” only-kah? tell that to the LG ppl lah ya? continue glorify mediocrity lah… i wonder where did u get ur “facts”? but for sure i have my facts here
    http://www.lgcns.co.kr/lgcns_e/case/case_08_03.js…

and take a look at the discussions here
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

You get your facts from the internet. I get mine first hand from Lotus, Proton and LG engineers that worked on the Savvy Project. How about that?

On the site LG are taking more credit that they should.

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Savvy with R3 bodykits damn cun.

RM2480 for 7 pieces R3 bodykit & Safetint.

• LotusGT1 on Nov 21, 2005 at 2:43 am

is a good car to review…. but but but do not come with the ABS and air bag is the weakness…. i will rather but MYVI

• Driven2020 on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:04 am

yeah what's the point of building a performance orientated car when the most important aspect of safety features are not built in (ABS & SRS).

If p1 included ABS & SRS in the RM46000 price tag sure will make savvy more competitive..for that to happen will on be during a blue moon.

• 8ball on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:34 pm

it's good thing that proton make something different… i think its goin to be a hell of a car…

can anyone tell me where 2 get the savvy R3 bodykit ?

• SavvyFan on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:52 am

what is the top speed of savvy amt or manual tested.

Please let me know. Thanks.

• kakutalamapahapentah on Nov 29, 2005 at 10:13 pm

I'm looking for a new car. Can somebody help me how to get the MYVI out less than 2 months? Answer…..nope…..haha, go get savvy loh.

• anonymous 17 on Dec 02, 2005 at 2:04 am

what ? automated manual transmission ? how does it works ?

• the savvy will kill perodua's market for kancil and kelisa.the reason , majority of student who learn how to drive begin with the kancil.why would anyone want to a kancil or kelisa when they know the quality of the 2 cars mentioned,better get a savvy and enjoy 5 years or more of driving than p2 cars.p2 cars mentioned after 5 years will flex and that is not a nice experiece compared with stiffer savvy chassis

• A man on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:02 pm

go to motortrader.com.my to see how it works.

• savvydaddy on Dec 04, 2005 at 6:48 am

hello instead of bashing the savvy , would be great to hear from savvy owners and their experience with the car.

• lalanuni on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:32 pm

yeap..u r rite! savvydaddy..i agree with u.

• driving institute are dogs . u think they will savvy instead of kancil.No.

they are kiamsiap dogs.

They know how to take care of their own and

let uneducated stupid INSTRUCTER to teach and always problem and scold people.

Padan muka they are lack of money .(instructor)

• RichX on Dec 29, 2005 at 10:15 am

I've come to be interested in this car, and tried to google for "renault d4f torque curve" to see what the engine's response is like (the max torque and power figures don't tell so much about the drivability). Google turned up this document: http://www.renault.com/datamedia/doc/mediarenault…

It's mostly about the Clio III, but a good half-page (page 10) was devoted to the engine that lives in the Savvy. Something in the write-up caught my interest, and I have no idea how this is possible:

With a cubic capacity of 1,149cc, the new generation 1.2 16V (D4F) engine has a power output of 75hp (55kW) (80hp/57,5kW when coupled with the

robotized gearbox) at 5,500rpm and maximum torque of 105Nm (11mkg) (108Nm/11mkg with the robotized gearbox) at 4,250rpm.

It's strange that there is a gain in power and torque when paired with the robotized gearbox. I'm assuming that the same gearbox is now known as the AMT in the Savvy. This is very interesting indeed – not just do you gain 10% fuel economy (according to the same document), but also power and torque?

The engine also supposedly idles at 650rpm, lower than any other Renault engine, giving a small amount of savings in city driving. This makes the Savvy a very interesting car indeed …

• RichX on Dec 29, 2005 at 10:18 am

Ah this little footnote on another Renault document explains the gains. Let's hope the Savvy AMT versions have these enhancement too? Maybe I'm asking for too much …

(*) In addition to being more powerful and offering more torque, the 1.2 16V engine coupled with the robotized gearbox (D4F+) features an

active thermostat and variable valve timing with a view to optimizing fuel efficiency and performance.

• RichX on Jan 06, 2006 at 11:20 pm

After an effort to find out from Proton about the engine used in the AMT, I've resigned to the fact that the AMT uses the same D4F engine as the manual transmission model, which is sad – it would have been a really compelling reason to pay the extra RM3800 for the AMT version, since you'll get variable valve timing, more power and torque. Looks like my favour goes to the manual version (cheaper, lighter, faster) …

• no more proton cars! on Apr 23, 2009 at 9:49 pm

my hubby and i drive same car, savvy. mine is manual while his is amt. both our cars is about 3++ years old. about 5 mths ago, my hubby amt has gear box problem. while cruising on the road with auto transmission, the gear will suddently change to 'N' especially when slowing down at traffic light, or tol booth. when this happen, the "system failure" light indicator at the speedo meter will light up.

when driving at manual, same problem will occur, the "system failure" light indicator will light up, he cant change gear, it wont change to 'N' gear like the auto transmission, but suck to the current gear he is driving. say the car is moving at second gear while slowing down, it wont change gear for a few minutes resulting my hubby to be force driving in the middle of road in second gear for about minutes when suddently the gear is back to normal.

the problem become frequent after few months, basically every 15 minutes of driving, he will have same problem.

go to pesc and coe, they ask us to change the entire gear box. some pesc quote rm11,000, some quote up to rm15,000. this is ridiculous. apparently proton dont know how to ratify the problem because it is a renault engine. they ask us to change speed sensor, speedo meter (which we did) based on assumption and so call "experience" while in reality they have no idea where the problem started. lately we been told the problem "might" be amt robotic in savvy or the wiring which we doubt if it is so.

so far the best solution to fix this at this moment now is to change the entire gear box which will cost us five figure.

many amt owners faced this problem esp those who already reach 3 years of ownership (which is great as proton only gave us 2 years warranty when we purchase ours). try read it here from savoc.net :

http://www.savoc.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6145&a…

http://www.savoc.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=293545…

so my hubby savvy amt basically parked infront of our house for the last 2-3 months now and we have to car pool. good thing mine is manual.

• We have a slightly used Proton Savvy and the previous owner told us that when we park we should leave it in neutral and put on the emergency brake. Leaving a car in neutral is illegal in most states in the US. Is this what we should do here in Malaysia? When parked in “N”, the car tends to roll — and there is strain on the emergency brake. What gear do you suggest we should park it in? I say “1.” Am I right or wrong?

• emkay on Feb 08, 2013 at 6:01 pm

A lot of car troubles me .. the price of expensive spare parts, especially the inner gear, twice already I do and I had to withdraw money from almost 8k for this only .. To Proton should not be harmed consumers, consumers are not CEOs or managers protons, if they can our range of discount .. if this … I was kind fooled .. all sorts of pork

• jojon on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:59 pm

hello,

I know its been a long time from it launched.
    I have Proton Savvy AMT 2007, I want to be able read the ecu and tcu.

I bought Mini ELM327 Blutooth from ebay, and try to connect using ISo and CAN protocol with no luck.

Can you tell me how can I read the ECU and TCU ?