Volkswagen Passat R GT

I previously blogged about the Volkswagen Jetta R GT concept, one of the three concept vehicles which Volkswagen AG unveiled at the 2005 SEMA show. Now let’s have a look at the second of the three concepts, which is a modified Volkswagen Passat – the Volkswagen Passat R GT.

The base vehicle was a 2006 Volkswagen Passat 3.2 V6 FSI, which already had a respectable DSG transmission and 4MOTION all-wheel drive. The original 3.2 V6 engine, same one in the Golf R32 was put through a similiar modification as the Jetta R GT, with twin Garrett GT25R ball-bearing turbochargers bolted on, sending compressed air through twin intercoolers to the engine air intake. Resulting horsepower output is 575 horsepower.

The chassis rides on KW 3-way adjustable coil-over racing suspension, and brakes have been upgraded to Phaeton specification Brembo brakes. The wheels are same Avus 19″ wheels wrapped with Michelin found on the Jetta R GT concept.

Notice the iPods? The sound system has a direct interface to Apple’s iPods, and a Sony Playstation Portable is integrated into the back seat.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blackhead on Nov 17, 2005 at 6:55 am

jetta RGT looks better for me

• zaidizero on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:13 am

wow.. very nice

• i guess this is to compete with M5 and AudiS8 and E-AMG la rite…

good stuff… at least Volkswagen, peugeot, audi and citroen these days are far more better than the ones i remember in the 90's. much much better designs and engine.

correct me if im wrong… in the 90's only mercs and bimmers worth a second/third/etc look.

Proton should get this platform la….baru la betul…

• wtfknnccb!!

iPODs and playstations intergrated into a speed demon!! now THATS cool. ahahaha..

must be damn stim to play GT4 in there..

perhaps by the time it releases, GT10 would have already been out.. haha..

btw, is that PS2 or 3? hahahahahaha

• hokkein lang on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:13 am

a! megami sama,

this is cool car….. intergrated with ipod! some more PSP!

if that thing was in proton sure alot people book proton now!

if proton can't afford this babe… at least there can put a device can interated with all kind of MP3 or MP4 player…. IF THAT DEVICE HAVE.

• neurra on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:56 am

why are the last two pictures totally doesn't coincide? it's a diff pic altogether! -_-'

• Useless on Nov 17, 2005 at 10:59 am

Wow,

That is one hot looking car.

• damion on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:39 pm

i think the last picture belongs to another car no?

this passat is way cool but judging from the controversial front air intakes and dramatic styling…

i'll say even uncles with super deep pockets won't even think of going near it..

let alone buy it and maintain it here..

as i'm not familiar wif the DSG box, could you also indulge me if the standard autobox handle all the newfound power the engine is putting out?

aesthetically wise it's a real looker with good performance on spec sheet…

definitely gives the M5, AudiS8, AMG E55 a good run for its money…

if it makes to production that is.. hehe..

cheers mate!

• deutsche volks on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:44 pm

yeah..i think last pic is for another car..coz the steering is more to phaeton..

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:31 pm

VW passat interior looks simple and nice. I think Jetta win because of the TYre had additional RED line……..Ha..ha..ha….. :) I will add it on my CAR!!!

Is R GT means Race…..GO TO ………………..HELLL……!!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• Could this the replacement for perdana if potong really work with VW…whoops juz fell down from my bed *dreaming*

SEE FU ur post is juz ahead of mine….so YAO MOU GAU….:D..CHOR~~!!!!!

• ah sheesh, the last pic's from the touareg r gt. removed.

• repsol on Nov 17, 2005 at 4:37 pm

awesome, keep it up !!!

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:03 pm

nice car, nice car……….

• Karem on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:10 pm

Ah…why thiese fast-fast cars on Automatic? Got Manual Transmission?

• Karem: i think it's because the clutch required to harness that ridiculously high power would be very very hard.

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:55 pm

Hmm.. now this car looked more "matured" than the Jetta R GT. And it's not so Ah Beng looking, the front & rear looked very solid.

But it is sad that it's gonna be on sale here… ;(

• knn 575 bhp means wats the top speed ar? wahlan eh… :O

• ex-mivec on Nov 17, 2005 at 7:24 pm

MANTAP!

• damion on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:26 am

abu, bhp is irrelevant to top speeds…

top speed highly depends on the ratios chosen for the gearbox.. be it automatic or manual..

• peter on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:54 am

I'd take the Jetta with it's 550 bhp. Although the all-wheel-drive would be nice on this one, and the interior is nicer too. Still I agree with SEE FU… the red line on the Jetta tires is the way to go!!

• beautiful…. notice the tail pipes…

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:17 pm

oh please VW ill kick your ass/Civic SI and 5times cheaper than you claim to be.

• Keith Tan on Dec 09, 2005 at 9:28 pm

Super man!! iz dat 20-inch rims ar?? Yea, shes a beauty….. interior iz very sporty, the combination of silver and black interior very nice…… Volkswagen iz really good at building high quality cars……..

really WOW!!