Perodua Myvi Accident

I previously blogged about a Proton Savvy accident here on my blog. I’m sure most of you would like to know how a Perodua Myvi would fare in a collision.

Though the accident in this series of photos are not as ‘hardcore’ as the one in the Proton Savvy accident, it should give you an idea of whether the crumple zone functions, and whether the passanger safety cell has been compromised. Photos thanks to mraha9 from Malacca (photographer) and cbljkkj.

Let’s hope we don’t ever get to see a completely crushed Perodua Myvi – pity the driver.

You can click on each photo for a larger version.

Related Links:

Proton Savvy Accident Photos
Perodua Kenari on fire

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gowin on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:02 am

So pitty……new car oh!!!

• The driver was testing about airbags?

• December on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:30 am

Nevermind the car, that's one wickedly strong lampost! Hats off.

• wah,both air bags work! good job.and the crumple area hit the lampost in the middle!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:49 am

Not hardcore as the Savvy 1 lar.. What does this prove? Myvi drivers are not as hardcore as the Savvians?

Cannot judge by this lo, you know la, some lamp post can fall just from the wind blowing on it liao de. Who knows if this is a good comparison anot.. And i'm actually curious how the driver managed to get the car spot on the center.. Impressive..

• E-nabill on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:52 am

i dont thnk u can compare this accident with the savvy one.the savvy was more of a 'proper accident'it looked like it fliped over n very dramatic.n we saw how wel the crumple zone hold out..this one seems like a 50km/h accident…doenst really tel much…the impact have not even reach the crumple zone…n btw,the post is not as strong as u tink.actualy it can be bent on a simple impact…although its metal..bt its hallow inside…

• NSDS3HvLDjJd on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:13 am

New car, new driver. Note the P sticker.

• kinrara on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:24 am

if theres a peraduan "guess wheres the number plate fallen" i dun think any one can win….

• Jason on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:25 am

Yeah, i agree with E-nabill. Dont compare this with the Savvy accident.

• kinrara on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:26 am

i think the driver is trying to park inbetween the lamp post n the bunga bunga…

faillah,, have to revoke that P…

• HumanSanzz on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:30 am

errr nothin much abt this lar.5K can kaotim liao.Sap sap sui.Small problem.But the airbags are another problem.Toyota airbags is ard 1-2k.Quite expensive leh.I rather dun wanna install it back.

• mud_chains on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:38 am

Tough car lol…. drive carefully next time… or some1 will dead

• Ferox on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:16 am

"Toyota airbags is ard 1-2k.Quite expensive leh.I rather dun wanna install it back."

I'm quite sure my life is worth more than 1-2k. ;)

• andrewhtf on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:40 am

hmm… i wonder how he/she drove… that myvi also he/she can crash… plus on that tiang lampu some more… either he/she a lousy driver or drunk! such a waste of a myvi….

• atleast the driver didnt went to hospital..

• cbljkkj on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:18 am

True, true. This should not be compared to the Proton Savvy accident for many reasons such as the accident environment, velocity and trajectory. What it does show is the impact that is absorbed by the front hood of the car which certainly performed its job in this scenario here.

All in all, Perodua and Proton have done their homework and certainly have given the safety criteria priority. Kudos

• Andrew on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:57 am

Eh, why no shots of the license plate? How to buy 4D la like that? ;D

• neurra on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:44 am

i agree with cbljkkj.. P1 n P2 both have done a great job on safety..

but i tink this accident not that fast.. impact like dat can be had with motorcycle at 50km/h oso

• neurra on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:45 am

btw, how the heck did the no. plate go there??? o.O

• aksMs on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:17 pm

Pity the owner. Probably avoiding something. Should've hit the brake instead of the gas pedal. :p

Anyway, it's good to see that the crumple zone is doing its job well. But it could be better if there are photos of the interior too as it could tell the other side of the story, not just the airbags.

I wonder if the door will still work properly or if the pedals bent if the car hit a wall or another car at higher speed (WAJA/Impian NCAP crash test result on Top Gear).

• SEE FU on Nov 18, 2005 at 3:37 pm

Let me imagine….. Ha….actually, This new driver thought there was a Parking lot at the middle of Divider, and trying to park there, when the car just hit a bit or just touch the Lamppost only, suddenly the whole car was cramp like a KEROPOK……proven that MAWI car is SOFT …softer than KEROPOK….wHAT ABOUT this version…..can arr!! ??

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Savvy is much more Serious accident compare to this lah!! I think no way to compare it just based on these two cases.

BTW, the driver still need to pay the LAMPPOST replacement fees becoz MEROSAKKAN HARTA BENDA AWAM, wow that bill is No cheap. Somemore he/she will lost his/her driver's license for few year…..F***King PITY to this person.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! again….YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! LANGGAR LAMPPOST!!! F****ker

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:03 pm

mabuk ka?

• The airbags really works..good job P2. A proven example of active safety gadget that can save the drivers face from serious injuries and myvi steering marks.

Maybe the driver lost contol of the car since a new driver, get the 'kopi-O' licence, sure nervous with real action on the road. So nervous until hit the lamp post! He or she must now being tortured mentally by his/her parents and of course by wicked friends…

• bmanja on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:04 pm

Ahaa…..gotcha!Amazingly in paultan'ssssss…..

If I not mistaken…this young Malaccan lady driver overtook me in my Innova from left lane in a crazy speedy gonzales tried to catch up with the traffic light with digital timer. Realizing a bus infront of her, she suddenly change to the right lane again…too late the clock was at zero and motorbikes infront of me already made a stopped. There she goes… kissin the lamp post…..otherwise a few motorcyclist and pillion makcik went down ground under…….mabe the lady in urgency due tosakit prot makan rendang and drinkin coke too much…

But not dare even to stop and help her….pegi mampus….wasting G money with advert…BERHATI-hati (read as bermati-mati) di JRaya.

Congrat too my malaccan colleagues….ahaa…at last we now got our own SULTAN….poor DR. AZAHARI….my ex classmate!

• Wilfred on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:12 pm

well well well….worthy buy……

seriously…..i bet driver of this sustain less injury than the savvy accident…

coz this takes up more momentum of the hit…

whereas the savvy don't….which let the driver/passanger take the hit….

• keniji on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:23 pm

too small

dangerous!

• trav da man on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:23 pm

SEEFUU:

i actually used to respect most for ur posts, but ur recent post over here has made me think u just nothing but a blind basher. Shame.

That is not a car park, its confirmed its a road. We also have no idea how fast that myvi went or how that savvy involved in the accident (frm a few motnhs ago one). I dont really see that myvi become a keropok like u said. Put any car, like the vios or city and sure the front is pretty much damaged.

But it would be more interesting if the savvy has this similiar accident! Built Tough perhaps?

There a good thing about cars being soft. Take alook at toyota's GOA. Toyota' GOA allows the front is soft and absorb all the damage, as this design will prevent the driver from absorbing the damage.

YAM MO CAU CHOR???? pls say that to ur self…………

• Xoomie on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:56 pm

I think this was a slow accident. I had similar accident with my previuos Wira. The front was totally wrecked. The passenger cabin was ok!

I also saw a Proton Saga that went side ways at hit a lamp post to the middle of the car. Guess what happen to the Saga? As you guys expected, "habis" but the car didnot broken to 2 pieces. But the lamp post "tumbang".

• Nameless on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Air Bag ok, QC test passed! Grey colour Myvi,pass the Test,congratulation!! Now driver can claim insurance liao! But Your "P" license probably will suspended by JPJ, dun drive at this period, or you might Kiss my car one day

• Silver Waja on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:59 pm

SEE FU said,

November 18, 2005 @ 7:37 am

So-high, I dun think tts funny!

Let me imagine….. Ha….actually, This new driver thought there was a Parking lot at the middle of Divider, and trying to park there, when the car just hit a bit or just touch the Lamppost only, suddenly the whole car was cramp like a KEROPOK……proven that MAWI car is SOFT …softer than KEROPOK….wHAT ABOUT this version…..can arr!! ??

> So-high, haha.. Well, I dun think tts funny. U r thinking like an IDIOT! YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Y dun u just say de driver saw u – SI (shit) FU then he was tryin to rammed u to pieces thn u splash ur SI (shit) to de driver windscreen causing de driver lose vision?!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! again….YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! "he try to LANGGAR a piece of Si(Shit) FU…… tt's funny! huh? Idiota

• hey trav.. dun be so serious man.. lets makan keropok

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:08 pm

just be thankful not another fatal accident 0:-)

• SEE FU on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:20 pm

Come on lah!! Don't be angry!! Why?

I was just Kidding it, can't you read the first sentence from my post…..LET ME IMAGINE!!! ……Imagine can be WRONG!! get it??

Just wanna to make a JOKE, I do feel sorry about that DRIVER as a beginner.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!! make jokes also kena BASH like HELL!! SO, don't ever let me see you guys JOKING on this BLOG in the FUTURE OKAY!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! to all bashers!!

• Prometheus on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:20 pm

I really envy cars with airbags. At least theres a hope of some kind of protection getween the steering and the driver. Some kind of hope meaning.. hopefully they will open when necessary only.

In my professional experience, there have been times when the airbag opened and gave a whiplash injury to the driver. But they have definitely saved more lives than it has taken.

Anyone working in proton knows if they can install both driver and passenger airbags onto my Proton Putra?

See fu.. if you intentionally using such language to represent the chinese hawker community and mentality, you are doing a great job.. (just simply saying only ah… don't take to heart. don't taro me back ah, i scared of confrontation)

• accident do happen….pity…

• Prometheus on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:29 pm

Ha ha ha .. i just saw see fu post.. Sorry to see fu also get bashed.. This blog is like free for all bashing.. I oso kena bash.. Bash Fest.! Don't feel sad see fu.. its like that la.. People only bash in blog like this because, identity is unknown. Face to face, i seriously think the human moral and ethical values will be present. where got so much bashing.. Being here is like being drunk.. no inhibitions. Of course this is a generalization. I'm sure not everyone i like this..

• Pity this person, the Myvi will need to recuperate in the sick bay for at least a month

• airbags R us on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:58 pm

"errr nothin much abt this lar.5K can kaotim liao.Sap sap sui.Small problem.But the airbags are another problem.Toyota airbags is ard 1-2k.Quite expensive leh.I rather dun wanna install it back."

airbags just RM 1 – 2k??? i don't think so.. a friend of mine totaled an airtrek.. both bags deployed, and the claim (mind you it was official) submitted from mitsubishi (parts ordered from japan) was abt RM 15k PER air bag. maybe it won't cost that much for the cheaper cars, but if it was only RM1 – 2k, i'd get it installed without a second thought.

• hamsaplo on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:20 pm

The driver so-high lar, agreed the road so damn blardy straight oso can langar lampost kar?

Time for the driver to go yumcha in the police station

• toritori on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:25 pm

See Fu,

Aiyo, you also kena bashed ?!?!

I guess, temporary no more jokes from you already.

Look at 'Proton Savvy Accident', people post from 'ant to mosquito to fengshui' that cause Savvy the accident (even crazier joke than yours)

I guess you pick the wrong car to joke lah,

if those previous poster post their joke here…

I guess you will even here more saying YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR

:] Cheers

• At least the airbag works ! That's the first airbag being deployed among Malaysian cars. Seriously haven't seen one deployed for years.

We have airbags in Waja (HL) & Gen 2 (HL) with some Wira's (1.8 A/M) & some Satrias too.

But I haven't seen one from a Proton Car. Wonder if it works after collision ?

I'm not sure…there have been many accidents in town yet 1 airbag deployed in Proton cars. I'm not saying they don't, it's just that i have not really seen one from a Proton car.

Airbag is important but the overall structure of the car is most important

It all still depends on electronic gadgets.

But I hope they can install airbags if possible for Perdana V6. Top end car without airbags. COME ON Man !

Waja & Gen has one with Satria as well…

Why not the Perdana….is it the cost factor ?

• trav da man on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:35 pm

i also kena bashed b4 what, its all bout malaysian, we loved to bash each other

anyway no hard feelings to u see fuu ok? SEE FUU ur posts always entertainting, haha!

I myself also sometimes cant diffentiate a joke or serious, ouch!

Anyway back to topic guys, ok?

• albagmane on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:50 pm

haha.. just a lamp post the car oredi become like this.. if strong impact towards another car? im sure the local production will still become a COLA TIN.. airbags? useless at all!

• michly on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:01 pm

GUYS.. did your notice the mirror didnt even crash.. not bad eh.. try your POTONG . i think u will get GLASS SHOWER, if without tint paper.

• SEE FU on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:03 pm

Prometheus arr!!

This sound like a human said. Thanks!!

Honestly, Who did like the POST that I had made before? and Who didn't LAUGH one? RISE up your hands or your legs or your DICK!! Who?? Show me on this BLog!!

I always love to see PPL smiling and Laughing, that's the best looking face I like to see!!! ha..ha..ha!! Enjoy man no Fighting Okay!! Cheers!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! :)

• karheng on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:14 pm

I think seeing an accident like this tells u how fragile the Myvi can be.

Settling this problem for a few k is one thing, having the car as stable as stock would be another problem…

In reality, this is a slow accident at bout 20-30 km/h with brakes applied.

Had it been faster, I don't think the driver would be walking now.

The savvy 'accident' was probably not an accident….didn't seem like one at all..

• Hikayat Mini Cooper on Nov 18, 2005 at 8:33 pm

I think this is a classic case of the DRiver vs the Tiang Lampu match. Which one is the strongest…..The driver must be brave enuff to accept the challenge from the flickering Lamp Post. The driver must be intimidated by the challenge to show that humans are more superior than lamp post. Unfortunately Myvi has involved between this two competitors. Like in peribahasa but a bit related to myvi relative…Gajah sama Gajah bergaduh myvi mati di tengah….the end

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 18, 2005 at 9:05 pm

"At least the airbag works ! That’s the first airbag being deployed among Malaysian cars. Seriously haven’t seen one deployed for years."

u never see any does not conclude it never work :-) and this one does not mean the first.

airbags kill 1 person on every 20 human it save

• altar on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:05 pm

The front doors appeared deviated and unable to close after the impact. Based on Euro NCAP classification, Myvi only has 3 stars..

But fortunately the airbag functioned well…unlike the cars produced by its elder brother….

• Mutant Tomato on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:28 pm

Yeah man! Airbags might be a livesaver, but do not underestimate the force at which they deploy! They can cause some serious injuries man! I read a repot once before on Yahoo News where this lady in US had a car with side airbags and she had strapped her kid in the front seat. She got into an accident and the airbags deployed. The side one actually broke her kid's neck! Don't know about other cars la, but in a VIOS, on the driver visor, there is a warning about the airbag. It says something like "sit as far away as possible from the airbag. Can cause serious injuries!"

• nuggyn on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:29 pm

You guys wanna compare with Diana's Merc S-Class??

• karheng on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:53 pm

nuggyn: Diana's S class happened to hit a friggin enhanced concrete wall as it is a tunnel which has to support traffic overhead. It didn't help that the S class was travelling 10 times the Myvi's speed…

• Teratai on Nov 18, 2005 at 10:56 pm

People always have to learn the hard way.

They will only drive carefully after an accident.

• Marmitecrab on Nov 18, 2005 at 11:14 pm

Having airbags alone is not enough. Look at the Jiangling …..something Wind.

The car has to be able to absorb the impact by having crumple zones so that the passengers are not jolted around forcefully. But if the crumple zones invade into the cabin, then obviously it would mean injury to the occupants.

Also need to look at the brake paddles, whether or not it would intrude into the cabin and break your legs. How about the operability of the doors? No use if you survive but can't get out of the car. Imagine you're all alone in an accident on a lonely deserted road or in a ravine and you need to get out to seek help.

So many elements to think of. I remember many, many years ago, Audi had this system called Procon Ten on their Audi 100 model whereby the steering wheel actually pulls AWAY from the driver in the event of an accident. Wonder what happened to it?

• Wilfred on Nov 19, 2005 at 12:29 am

fragile car != not safe…

the toughter the car is….more danger the occupant will be

that is physics….

everyone who understand science do understand…

don argue on how fragile a car is…as long as it prevent fatality and injury

• infinity on Nov 19, 2005 at 12:48 am

i read in an article bout airbags..it's call SRS airbag…SRS stands for supplementary restraint system..which means the airbag wont work on its on..it wont save lifes on its own…we need to wear seat belt only it can work..jz imagine if your car crash(touch wood)..the force is so great, tat if without the seat belt,and the airbag deploys..then your face will hit hard on the airbag which is deploying..the impact on your face is so strong tat it may cause fatallity..so, the airbag is just supplementary…(side dish)…without the seat belt (main dish) it wont work..so guys…whether your car got SRSairbag or not..wear seat belt,ok??main dish more important…hehehehe

• blackhead on Nov 19, 2005 at 12:49 am

a "P" driver… luckly their bought a car with air-bag for him, they love their kids

• giganet on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:23 am

Not serious accident la coz the lamp post still standing. But can see the crumple design and airbags work I think. Anyway, seatbelt is more important than airbags. That's why Proton don't need airbags. Their CEO said that first, not me. I noticed that Lamp posts & trees are the most popular targets for "P" drivers nowadays. Used to be roadside patrons. kekekeke.

• john doe on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:26 am

Wilfred said,

November 18, 2005 @ 4:29 pm

fragile car != not safe…

the toughter the car is….more danger the occupant will be

that is physics….

everyone who understand science do understand…

don argue on how fragile a car is…as long as it prevent fatality and injury

…….

Aik, dulu org kutuk Proton, cakap mcm tin Milo,senang sgt kemek. Skrg, apparently the tougher the car is, more danger to the occupant. Does that mean Proton's safety features dulu was better?Susah nak paham…

BTW, paul, wen will u blog about the Bugatti Veyron man? Check this out:

http://speed-junkie.blogspot.com/2005/11/new-mean…

hehe kelakar la jgk, esp towards the end.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 19, 2005 at 2:32 am

who said this is serious accident so stupid lah!..

airbag also can blown out at little speed lah.. no need crash above 150kmh.. 50kmh pun bleh kuar la itu bag.. aiya..

and what the main fact this is NOT A HARD ACCIDENT?.

ini accident kecik saja maa.. WHY?

DONT YOU SEE? THE FRONT MIRROR pun tak pecah, tak retak.. aiyaaa.. bawak bawah 50 pun dah accident teruk macam nih..

POOR MYVI!

Dont be stupid to tell anybody that the front miror / glass is BULLET PROOF aaaa P2 fanatic fan!.. HAHAHAHA

• mitsu_galant_2000 which century do u live in? nowadays all car manufacturers give laminated windscreen, which means shatter-resistant

i know ur wira/satria doesnt have 1, but hey, u shud upgrade to a savvy…it has laminated windscreen already…time to change, dude :)

• diabloCruiser on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:54 am

Simple parking and the metal give in to a aluminium cased lampost….tsk…tsk…..

• Charger on Nov 19, 2005 at 7:37 am

There's no skid marks, the vehicle shouldn't be going fast, unless the driver accidentally mistaken the throttle pedal as the brake pedal. OMG!

As for putting babies on the front passenger seat with SRS airbag, that's plain stupid!

• blackhead on Nov 19, 2005 at 7:38 am

giganet,

the tiang is darm hard 1, i think small car dont have chance to make it lay on floor, bus or lori maybe

• macspeed on Nov 19, 2005 at 7:42 am

wai,

ahhahahhahahahhaha……shatter resistanT?

so u mean the glass kena batu also wont shatter? who told u that?

laminated means there is a film that covers the glass, so that when the galkss shatters it stay in one piece, cause the film holds it in place….get your facts rite la…..

• karheng on Nov 19, 2005 at 8:21 am

Wai,

Take note that when a car crashes into a solid stationary object at 40 km/h, the accident goes all the way into the windscreen and cabin.

This does not even include half of the engine…it's definitely slower than 50 km/h.

• HighEndPcMonitor on Nov 19, 2005 at 8:54 am

Just now browse through the .pdf file of toyota SRS Airbag manual online and find out that the srs airbag will deploy if your car hit large poth hole, fly over road bump…etc…wah so sensitive the sensor. like that it will costly to replace and dangerous when deploy while driving at highway.

• neurra on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:43 am

LoL.. betul gak tu.. if proton car easily kemek = tin milo.. if perodua easily kemek = pedestrian safety features.. come on la.. be a wiser malaysian.. ROFL.. and i don't see any reason why would anyone be offended by see fu.. definitely he's just kidding.. is myvi a keropok? if not then u shouldn't be offended.. haha

• no matter what car u driving as long as it is myvi/savvy size..

it will always be Lorry 1 Driver 0

• cbljkkj on Nov 19, 2005 at 11:40 am

Whether the airbags were deployed, it makes a world of difference. The severity of the crash cannot be calculated. Better deployed than never.

Then again, the car would not be able to calculate the whiplash within the car. Whoever thinks that it should not deploy even in this kind of accident apparently doesn't think straight. Better to be safe than sorry.

• Silver Waja on Nov 19, 2005 at 4:52 pm

cbljkkj said,

November 19, 2005 @ 3:40 am

I agree wit tt. But this…

mitsu_galant_2000 said,

November 18, 2005 @ 6:32 pm

who said this is serious accident so stupid lah!.. > I think u r de stupid one. If this wasnt serious how serious u wan it to happen? Like today's Starpaper Pg.3 wira split into 2 onli thn call serious? Use ur stupid brain. Airbag r there to serve its purpose. But sorry to say la, ur old version doesnt hv! So u kiss my ass goodbye if anything happens to U!

airbag also can blown out at little speed lah.. no need crash above 150kmh.. 50kmh pun bleh kuar la itu bag.. aiya.. > Aiya wht when u r not de victim? Think if u hv no airbag, u will hit de steering or being slunt down. At 50km/h is a standard deployment, wht do u know abt tt? 150km/h u dun need airbag, but u NEED WINGS, to fly u diff world.

Dont be stupid to tell anybody that the front miror / glass is BULLET PROOF aaaa P2 fanatic fan!.. HAHAHAHA

> I guessed onli u hv such stupid thinking. Kind of sad tt u r wasting ur parent $. Even ur parent know, bullet proof glass on a myvi? Imagine just HOW STUPID U R!!!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 19, 2005 at 5:14 pm

Look carefully and you will see it IS a VERY SLOW accident. The post haven't even reach half of the car's crumble zone IIRC. Just wondering, is the stock Myvi so un-stable it can crash into a post just like tat? Or maybe driver problem?

And P1 = Tin Milo , P2 = Safety Features?

Someone care to explain the above statement?

• calvint78 on Nov 20, 2005 at 12:31 am

hahaha…..i think the driver already buy passo half-cut and planning to fix to his/her new myvi.

so, to make it more easy, he/she bang the car and claim insurance. so the passo half-cut can be fix to his existing myvi..( tembak cat sekali sudah PAU dalam insurance ma. )this is all about insurance claim.

this wat in my mind, if i'm not wrong to guess the drive what he/she think in that time…

ciao!

• neurra on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:36 am

those are the words that any P2 fan could come out with..

btw Silver Waja: "Use ur stupid brain. Airbag r there to serve its purpose." u don't use seat belt u're still injured

• terenceloh on Nov 20, 2005 at 2:53 am

Driver not paying attention. Notice there are no skid marks. Paul, you want to do more research on 'crumple zones'? Email me. I have tons of photographs to share. Loss adjuster by profession.

• toritori on Nov 20, 2005 at 3:06 am

To John Doe & Neurra (-ONLY-)

Interesting, your post caught my attention lah :]

My personal point of view after reading all the post, I workout the equation for it (I presume only, don't know correct or not lah)

To 'presume' a car whether it is safe for the driver or passenger

——————————————————

Step 1: Check whether the Car Brand / Model

Step 2: Look at it what Object the car crash on it

Step 3: Equation (workout as shoen below)

Therefore,

P2 CrashOn Lamp Post = Kemek PEDESTRIAN SAFE

P2 CrashOn Lamp Post = Very Kemek GOOD CRUMPLE ZONE VERY SAFE

P2 CrashOn Lamp Post = Slightly Kemek Strong Body ALSO VERY SAFE

P1 CrashOn Lamp Post = Kemek not NOT SAFE (Easily Crumple)

P1 CrashOn Lamp Post = Very Kemek NOT SAFE (Milo Tin)

P1 CrashOn Lamp Post = Slightly Kemek Strong Body NOT SAFE (Die)

Can ah this equation?

Is the equation clear your doubts and answered your questions?

Have a nice day

:p

• [AiYo] on Nov 20, 2005 at 3:13 am

the driver wana change toyota passo angine izit? LOL~~!!

• narrowband on Nov 20, 2005 at 5:11 am

You don't need to be travelling more than 100km/h to have the airbag deployed. This clip shows the airbag comes on even when the car is stationary.

It's a pity that this driver (from one of the comments earlier, apparently the driver was a young female) crashed her Myvi. It's just another ordinary crash. If she was driving an Iswara or Wira, maybe it won't receive so much 'coverage' compared to crashing a Myvi. These pictures (of crashed her Myvi) suddenly appearing everywhere in the Internet. Haha, kesian… Luckily the number plate couldn't be seen… Otherwise, it will be known as a celebrity car.

By the way, nobody knows if she had applied brakes or not. So dont assume. Some people, during a panic, step on the accelerator thinking that it's the brake pedal. It's true.

• humanpart7 on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:13 pm

but she on right lane.. i think she not below 50-60kmh, i think

• KISIO on Nov 21, 2005 at 4:02 pm

ada bawa 50kmh pon dkt right lane, mcm jln2 tepi pantai… sakit ati betul la..

• Silver Waja on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:52 pm

neurra said,

November 19, 2005 @ 5:36 pm

u don’t use seat belt u’re still injured > Injured is true but how serious? If no seat belt use airbag will NOT deploy so chances of injury quite severe. So imagine u car wit no airbag nor u didnt use seat belt how serious u gonna b?

• Michael Chua on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:28 pm

Looks like soft metal.

• hahaha … looks like tin Milo,no point p2 put an airbag if they use tin milo…

• ape nii…dari luar nampak mcm tough …bila accident mcm body kancil…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 21, 2005 at 10:54 pm

silverwaja = brainless.. didnot understand the post.. just another P2 basher hidden behind the Waja (P1) name.. haha

= new tactic p2 fanatic ..

that tiang is not a hard tiang lah.. because dalam dia kosong.. tapi itu pun tak tumbang / patah?.. and that's why i tot the car running slow..

i think this car driver just terkejut kene potong bysawi sebelah kiri.. but masih salahkan sawi sebab potong sebelah kiri sedangkan dia bawak lorong laju pada 48KMH.. kuang kuang..

laminated windscreen is not crashproff la (some said above) ..

it's to make the glass not spread in bla bla.. but the myvi glass dont ever RETAK.. so how can you claim the car speeding soo fast? ..

God damn agreeeeeed with toritori POST

Therefore,

+ Savvy langgar tiang = haiyaa.. buta laa tiang pun tak nampak ka.. lampu tak idup ka?

+ P2 langgar tiang = Just another Crash Test, Very Safe! (even the driver in ICU)

• Silver Waja on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:42 am

mitsu_galant_2000 said,

November 21, 2005 @ 2:54 pm

mitsu_galant = STUPID IDOT.. drive old engine still talk cock, just another P1 born loser supporter behind.. wht a jerk

that tiang is not a hard tiang lah.. because dalam dia kosong.. tapi itu pun tak tumbang / patah?.. and that’s why i tot the car running slow.. > If u can tot then can u predict tt whn is ur day to come for tt? Stupid fella make own tot y not u test it out?

i think this car driver just terkejut kene potong bysawi sebelah kiri.. but masih salahkan sawi sebab potong sebelah kiri sedangkan dia bawak lorong laju pada 48KMH.. kuang kuang.. > Lagi STUPID!! Were u there in de 1st place? Yalar u TOT again. Why not u say he's too happy after kalahkan sawi in de race & gettin excited loose control rammed tiang larr. He shd thn blame his car has no traction ctrl?! So imagination y not u direct film?

God damn agreeeeeed with toritori POST

> U think so huh? Let me tell u tt u & this toritori just another asshole.

—

Therefore,

+ Savvy langgar tiang = haiyaa.. buta laa tiang pun tak nampak ka.. lampu tak idup ka? >

+ P2 langgar tiang = Just another Crash Test, Very Safe! (even the driver in ICU)

>> Manusia oh bukan, binatang yang tidak berotak. Membebel tak tentu arah seperti lembu yang baru disembelih di masjid. I had enuf of ur crap.. wasting time typing. Help me pls, main jauh-jauh in tanjung rambutan.

• toritori on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:59 am

Silver Waja,

Read carefully my post and my comment attention to

"John Doe & Neurra (-ONLY-)" and my post extracted

from comments posted by others.

Read your post again, shooting everyone like loose cannon.

Mind your language, if you can't behave what makes you

better than others?

With bad temper and foul language will only reflect

what you are…

• aksMs on Nov 22, 2005 at 2:26 am

I wonder why no one here commented on "bmanja" comment.

"bmanja said: If I not mistaken…this young Malaccan lady driver overtook me in my Innova from left lane in a crazy speedy gonzales tried to catch up with the traffic light with digital timer. Realizing a bus infront of her, she suddenly change to the right lane again…too late the clock was at zero and motorbikes infront of me already made a stopped. There she goes… kissin the lamp post….."

I doubt that the Myvi is too slow to hit the lamp post. Let's not compare this accident with the Savvy. Let's just talk about this lady who drove recklessly and end up trying to embrace the lamp post.

By the way, bmanja bro, that lady might have drove recklessly and causes you to swore foul words. But I don't think she deserve to get the "pegi mampus" kind of attitude.

Just my opinion.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:45 pm

Silver Waja = The Only Genius in this board.. coz everyone is stupid in his eyes.. FINE !!! Haha..

More again you fire people.. more stupid you r..

AksMs :

I wont believe in bmanja ..

i dont see too much Myvier driving fast.. but i saw most savvyier driving fast.. Perhaps.. maybe savvyier want to prove their car so fast.. Bmanja seems a gurl.. not a man.. (Maybe.. sorry if i were wrong) ..

She said, If I not Mistaken (but maybe it's mistake!)

If someone tried to pass by the timer traffic lght.. it's never a good try if there's a bus, a bla bla in front of her.. it's a stupid choice to exahilarate to pass over the cars, etc infront.. miss calculation ? poor drive.. if sooooo fast.. should be jump over to the next side!.. no one like to choose to crash into the tiang lah..

anyway.. u can overtake so fast from left to right if your car fast.. it's take quit long distance .. at least 50 metres.

ah.. you can imagine by logic and math laah.. do some calculation .. dont be GENIUS like hell silverwaja.. (HUH!) ..

— still stand this is NOT a FAST speed..

• Zack_Styler on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:30 pm

Me University Malaysia Sabah(UMS)student at KK,Sabah.The people here drive like mad!When they want to turn they use no signal!!There are no speed limit here,talk about 110 km/h at Semenanjung??Haha,sap-sap sui for East Malaysia pl,me myself have gone in excess of 130+km/h in a Kelisa,thnx God i am still alive!!While my fren 150km/h in a auto version.Last time I almost got knocked down by a stupid young driver near the roundabut,he was approaching th corner but can't stop,stupid driver,duno how to hold the steering!!!I hate it!!Scare me out of my @$$..

• honda_driver on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:09 am

i know its not funny to be involved in any accident, but this picture really looks kinda comical. ;) the crash with the lamp post is really spot on in the middle. notice the "P" plate. if this was australia, the drivers license would probably be suspended by now if he/she was found to be at fault.

• ANGRY_MAN on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:09 am

mitsu_galant_2000. STOP KUTUK. Certainly calling people stupid is not a wise thing you're trying to do, you know that!? Silver_Waja, i have no idea what to say about your comment, but still, you must read this, including mitsu_galant_2000 AKA pakar kutuk orang…

NEGATIVE THINKING WILL GET YOU TO NOTHING!

God NEVER make its living creatures, including humans stupid. If that person is stupid, it means that he's the one who's making himself stupid. I still don't understand with you guys…. quarreling in a blog site, calling each other stupid, man, this is HORRIBLE!

I still remeber in one blog site in this paultan.org where Tuning_Professional MENGAMUK and SADAM say rudely because of something related to negative things some bloggers gave..

I only know that SADAM apologised immediately. Tuning_Professional, however, did the same, but I'm not sure whether things will change or not after that.

And to Marmitecrab, if you're watching this, please go back to the blog site where those two names I mentioned above were there and say 'I forgive you and your rude words.' But still, very important, DO IT NICELY. If you want to solve a quarrel, do it nicely, then nothing bad will happen.

• Argone on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:42 pm

This is a kind of vandalisme, is it?

• SEE FUUUUUUUUUUU ~~~ sorry to have missed so many blogs and pity to see u kena bashed but not helping ~~~~ I think u shd use ur TAICHI to drive all this away which u did afterall ~~~

I am not here to bash u larr but to share with u hor…keropok like dat liao still can open the door and crawl out to call ambulance…not really bad leh. rather than sitting inside which door kemek and singing amithaba when the lampost will runtuh ~~

Atlease airbag can take away some damages ooo…sawi tarak airbag ooo…tats why kereta memang mou keras sikit looo….bang on the wall itu kereta sikit kemek tapi worang sudah mati dalam oooooo.

And the other thing see fu….perhaps a lot of ppl reading thies blog is MyVi owner leh!!!! no harsh no harsh.

YAU MOU GAO L*N CHOR AR…….SEE FU ~~~~~~~~~ :P

• Reuben on Nov 24, 2005 at 6:33 pm

Hey Everybody…..

Just go to P2 showroom and open the hood of the popular Myvi. Noticed that the front top beam finishing??? The finishing was just like a job done from an ordinary welder, comparing to Proton, Proton is better. That show why the Myvi hit the lamp post and the result everybody know. This was happened at speed below 60Km/H, imagine at high speed collison, any others cars will crack badly no matter how good it was. Why?? bear in mind that the lamp post is built from a solid metal, it's tall and placed quite firmly on the floor.

About the airbag. It's still a doubt about Proton airbag functionality, nobody had withness Proton car's airbag been deployed when there was an front collison happen. But one thing i very sure is that, Proton is using Siemens VDO components electronic gadget in their control system. SIEMENS is world brand in electronics components, if any defects do happen in Proton's airbag system, you should know where the finger should be pointed to.

Thank You Readers………………

• Lo (bridgy) on Nov 26, 2005 at 7:50 am

i am sorry if i hurt many of u .

i dont mean all .

but sppose that the front is a crumple zone . there is no fragile in the current world . it is crumple zone .

i remember last time got gen2 crash on a kancil and front dented , ppl say fragile .

please read up more about crumple zone .

by the way , the airbag for proton and perodua are mostly the same . and those who said that proton airbag doesn't deploy , well , it depends on situation . BMW recalled X5 for the sudden deploy of the airbag for no reason at all , and honda city , there is one driver in malaysia had an acciednt and the airbag failed to deploy .

the problem is , there is some significant discrimination on proton . i am nto tyring to help proton here , but that is the fact . there are some fellow that don't have anything to deal with proton ownership and always help their friends and whoever say that his or her frineds proton bla bla bla .

just to be fair , this is an accident . and it doesn't quite enough to prove that this car is better than proton . same goes to they savvy that crushed . only way to determine is from NCAP result .

• Zephyr on Nov 26, 2005 at 10:02 am

Ohh, so this was the accident scene. I actually saw this particular wrecked car at Melaka's Perodua showroom in Jalan Panjang, while booking a Myvi. The dent was quite bad, can actually see a kind of 'acuan', of the lamp post. There was also another wrecked Red Myvi at the back portion of the showroom, waiting to be sent for repairs. The red one was not too bad, just that the front bumper dropped, and deep dents by the side of the body. Berhati-hati di jalan raya wooh!!!

• jebat78 on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:56 pm

kesian..kereta baru seyyyy….so pitty…..uwaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!….orang lain sume dah dapat myvi diorang….siap dah xcident lagi…aku punye belum gak sampai2….kesian kat aku lahhhhh…uwaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!

• anonymous 17 on Dec 02, 2005 at 1:57 am

i want to see any pics of other perodua models after they involved in an accident . i wonder the condition of the cars would be like bmw involved in a frontal collision with a lori tanah ? Hahahaa…!

• teruk juga tiang lampu tu… dah rugi kerajaan nk repair.. saya cadangkan pasang tiang lampu yg kuat skit supaya jika berlaku kemalangan2 kecil taklah rosak sgt.. buat tembok penghadang ke ape ke yg sesuai.. belanja duit lebih skit tape daripada kerapkali kena repair…

• lol, dats the problem with malaysians. Air bag deployed, also can go "hooray~!! it did deployed!!"

k, joking. The first cars from Malaysia having air bags, are a very limited batch of 1.8 Wira Aerobacks launch in around 1996-7. These had twin pipes, ABS, single air bags, nice stereos, 15" sports rims and so on so forth. Top specced ones that is. These costs RM80k plus. (Trust me, my friend's bro had one back then) ***Lol i was drooling for one then***

Anyway, kudos to Perodua and Proton for including air bags in their cars, even if the bunch of stupid monkey asses did not enforce air bags as MUST-HAVES.

IMO, i do really think that "P" licensed teenagers should not be allowed to travel more than 80km/h for the first year. And also for "P" drivers, after the first 3 months, they have to travel at only speeds of no more than 75km/h. WHY?

This is a psycological mindset factor. 3 months, is roughly the time where these young baboons got confident, and started to drive like nincompoops. REMEMBER GUYS? everyone had gone through a stage where we get to hear alot of our friends involving in accidents while in secondary? that is when most obtained driver's license, and at first being quite obedient and wary; however once they build up their confidence, things change. Ask AC Nielson to conduct a survey and see whether my claim is correct. I DO THINK IT IS, and if results from AC Nielson differs, they got it wrong. :D

• savvy merah on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:43 pm

this shows the intelligence of myvi drivers…hahahah…

• Fatts Faith on Dec 12, 2005 at 5:40 am

burn

• Intelligence does not constitute the overall rating of drivers.Just so happen this was a MyVi.It could had happen to a BMW driver also…i was in Jalan Duta a few months back and i saw an e60 bmw 5 series at the opposite direction of my side of road with the windscreen cracked and both bumpers on the road ..wonder how the driver could have performed this on a bimmer..

• KAKAI on Jan 05, 2006 at 11:23 pm

sAVVY LG POWER LAH MCM NIH!!!SIAP TERGOLEK2 LG,STILL ADA RUPA…MYVI LANGGAR TIANG PUN ……

• illegaldriver (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 11:06 am

ahah..

cool..

dats need a lot of money to make sure all things

back on track..hahhaha..pity de driver la..

sure lose sum of his/her money.

btw,myVi performance is not bad at all..

jst think wanna buy one of it.

n sure..after spm's result cme out..

ill ask my mom to buy one.

• illegaldriver (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 4:07 am

lol..

hahhaha..

for those who not study physics

better dun talk about car la..

aiyo..

dat myvi is moving in a speed la.

while dat lamp-post stand there like a zombie oni..

so dats mean..

de "ketaksamaan momentum" make de myvi crash like a hell.

dat lamp-post is buried deep into de ground.

so dats mean it stand there strongly..

futhermore,it made from solid metal + A++Metal n bla bla bla..

dats mean.even u naik mercedes,bmw or wat..

de result will be de same oso..

if u dun wan ur car to kemik or wat..

then u naik lori or army tank la..

it sure cool n strong enough 4 u.

proton n perodua is not bad at all..

all de new car's model dat produced by both of p1 and p2

now is better then de older..all very canggih one.

even more.it strong enough n keep u drive safely

• Zx (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 11:02 am

That "Tiang Lampu" is stronger than Myvi.. stil standing…

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:24 pm

chehh! just front oart that hits.not much is being ruined…..

• kopial (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:12 pm

If u study physics only…then its not enough to understand this in detail…physics are just fundamentals. Yes, lamp posts have piling deep enough to support its weight…and slight lateral loading. However, if you check the connection between the post and the piling, they're just bolts…probably 6 bolts and no bigger than M20 size bolts. And in this kind of loading, the moment could easily ripped off the most front bolts. Once that's gone…the structure become unstable and easily come off the ground. They're designed to come off the ground easily to reduce damage and injury to the vehicle occupants.

Anyways…this myvi, its quite impressive in terms of structural strength. Just look at the A pillar, it doesn't seem to have any deformation, the doors just swing out easily…didn't see any jammed door there. The furthest it went was up to the front of the engine…i'm sure the radiator is gone, but that's one thing we cannot avoid…cars are not designed to hit hard objects. Oh…the air bag is deflated!! That's even better!!

The bumper system looks forgiving for a pedestrian. Seems to bend easily and absorb impact energy. So as the engine hood. But not very sure about the cowl and fender…seems tough to break the unlucky pedestrian's skull hahaha!! Probably not…haven't seen one case yet.

Overall…this car is quite impressive…Congratulation Perodua & Proton.

• lamcy88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 11:41 am

I would say the car has done a good job.

Most of lamp posts in our country are made of galvanised steel which is really comparable to the rigidity of pewter & it is also ‘planted’ strongly into the ground.(Are we preparing for a hurricane?)

And the impact point is smack right in the middle where modern cars are designed for front-end impacts throughout the front bumper where the energy can be distributed along the car.

Also we cant deny the fact that the Perodua Myvi is actually a Daihatsu Sirion which must pass Toyota’s crash safety standards.

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm

kaze said,
    November 17, 2005 @ 11:27 pm

The driver was testing about airbags?

Haha seriously how u know kaze

• Jackass on Jul 05, 2009 at 9:12 am

Serve u right..muahahaha