SUV versus Cars crash tests

With the abundance of SUVs and trucks on the road these days, the issue of what would happen when a higher SUV bumper collides with a car. Most of the times, the car would slide under the SUV, increasing the chances of fatality in the accident.

Nine major automakers agreed last Tuesday to begin installing beams that meet a new strength test by September 2009. Currently blocker beams are already in place after a new ruling was made in 2003, but the effectiveness of these beams are debatable.

Strangely, the decision to redesign and retest safety beams for such collisions was opposed by Ford and DaimlerChrysler. However reasons are unknown as meetings between officials are private.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• big fscking lorry is a bit different from SUV though.

• E-nabill on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:53 pm

i always tot that lorries and bikes should have their own lanes…

• Hehehe. No appropriate picture of SUV vs car, so I used a lorry instead!

• SEE FU on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:18 pm

I have some report or information about this issue from THATCHAM please click here:
    http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/bumpers-don…

Recently, the insurance companies are not happy with the Existing crash test results. Because the real crash conditions are completely different from Bench test results.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! cheers!

• kancil driver on Nov 17, 2005 at 9:43 pm

haiya, just banned all SUV [x-trail, trooper, crv and anything that suppose to be offroad but used to ferry kids to kindergarten] from the road. Half of them driven by lady driver somemore! Pretty scary when those not so competent driver drives SUV like nobody's business…..

• MyBoy on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:06 am

This is what they call a compatibility issue. Companies like Volvo (with their SUV) has already solve some of it.

• eMalaysian on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:17 am

why not ban kancil, kelisa, savvvy, and all small cars?

• armandd on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:23 am

eMalaysian: state a country in the world that ban small cars off the road, could u?

• damion on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:31 am

and also state a country that bans SUVs.. :P

IMHO, its not the car issue..

its the drivers…

speed doesn't kill…. stupid drivers do…

cheers!

• MyBoy on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:54 am

damion: Yes, to some extend it is an issue with the driver. However, from automotive technical point of view, this is what experts call "compatibility issue" where the higher vehicle (e.g. SUV) tend to override the lower vehicle (e.g. Car) when they collide. Some manufacturer has already solved part of the problem. One ot them is Volvo.

• Aesthari on Nov 19, 2005 at 10:07 am

I agree, speed doesn't kill; it's the lousy drivers.

• clark_kent on Nov 20, 2005 at 8:32 pm

nicely said damion

quote: "and also state a country that bans SUVs.. "

LOL, i was about to say the same thing after i read the previous post…

• benunited on Nov 21, 2005 at 10:21 pm

“and also state a country that bans SUVs.. ”

ouch…nice one damion hehe…anyway i agree with u, its the driver's ATTITUDE!! cant even folo simple law like 'stop when u see a red light??' stupidos…

• kelisaa on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:47 am

heavy vehicle drivers requires GDL license..i guess SUV drivers should somehow be imposed a special driving license by the DMV?

• Sometimes accidents are unavoidable when both parties aren't aware. Hence if such problems occur, sadly we have to say, the poorer ones sure would die first. A 2 ton SUV going onto a 670kg Kancil is no joke. Heavy cars benefits in collisions. I read of an article by a regretful Rolls Royce (2000kg) driver in UK, he whammed into a Ford Tiera (around size of Satria) and the driver was dead. Its a rear collison, and the RR is travelling at 40KmH. Can you imagine?

• That actualy,clearly,excatly no problem with small car.Each driver are responsiblities on car accident…that my comen…

• Tuddi on Apr 24, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Stupid accidents can be avoided. I started driving when I was 13 years old, before I got my first car (at 13 too… given to me by my parents). Until today… 30 years later, I have not once been in an accident, while I have had to avoid accidents several hundreds of times. Becoming a good driver, does NOT involve the use of mobile telephones, painting one's nails or lips or thinking about some business meeting. It DOES involve COMPLETE attention to what is going on with the car, with the surroundings and with one self.

By the way… my first car was a big 4×4 SUV Jeep Wagoneer, 8 cyl engine, automatic… all my future cars (except for the last 2) were SUV's as well… and that fact alone didn't hurt anyone.

If people were only taught how to drive properly, and if they DID listen and learn… there would be no serious problems in the traffic.

Now I live in a 3rd world country (Peru), and people here drive worse than one could expect a trained monkey to do.

Learning AND experience is the key to safety.

NOT SUV vs. cars, or bicycles vs. cars. It's learning and experience… with a LARGE portion of RESPECT for others.