A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race Qualifiers

The qualifying session of the A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race was completed without a hitch today. All 12 cars have qualified, and times were consistently faster compared to the practice session yesterday.

In case many of you wonder which R3 cars were used to race as all 150 limited edition Satria R3s have been sold out, Race Rally Research had actually specially prepared 12 Proton Satria R3 1.6 for this race. Yup, 1.6 instead of 1.8.

Tengku Djan, which scored the fastest qualifying time said, “Tomorrow’s race is going to be a lot of fun. The drivers are definitely much faster as they’ve become comfortable with the cars and the track. Since all the cars are virtually equal in terms of horsepower and handling it’s going to be close all the way to the end.”

Malaysian actor and celebrity, Norman Hakim said, “My crew have been fantastic and the car is great, I’m really excited about tomorrow. This will be the first time we’re all lined up together on a starting grid and it would be very interesting to see what will happen. Sure its all fun and games in the pits but on the track tomorrow I’m positive everyone will try very hard to finish first.”

Results:

A1GP PROTON Pro Celebrity Race Starting Grid:

Pos 1 Car 12 Tengku Djan Ley MAS
Pos 2 Car 7 Tuka Rocha BRA
Pos 3 Car 11 Jan Lammers HOL
Pos 4 Car 4 Akhbar Ebrahim IND
Pos 5 Car 5 Aaron Lim MAS
Pos 6 Car 6 Christian Jones AUS
Pos 7 Car 2 Karamjit Singh MAS
Pos 8 Car 1 Ila Ridak MAS
Pos 9 Car 10 Steven Watson KSA
Pos 10 Car 9 Mazlan (Lan Pet Pet) MAS
Pos 11 Car 3 Norman Hakim MAS
Pos 12 Car 8 Sheikh Maktoum UAE

Photos thanks to R3 Media General Release.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• when are you racing with your 1.8 SOHC Satria in there too paul? hee-hee

• cbljkkj on Nov 20, 2005 at 3:33 am

Not bad. All 12 cars qualified. Tengku Djan surely is a capable driver. Best of luck to the team.

• aksMs on Nov 20, 2005 at 4:09 am

Anyway, where's Emerson Fitipaldi and Pippa Yoong? They're not racing ka?

• gegaoff on Nov 20, 2005 at 4:31 am

pippa yoong already 'no ball', so he tak join the race.

emerson? whose the guy? aiya, i tak tau A1, i only know F1.

yeah yeah…

cheers…

• narrowband on Nov 20, 2005 at 4:35 am

aksMs: Good question! I second that.

Btw, "Lan Pet Pet" is a very interesting nickname…

And a sheikh is in there too! They're very rich in the UAE… one recent ZTH thread showed a night drag race scene in Dubai… The sheikhs came with Enzo, Carrera GT, M5, Atom, Ford GT, Merc SLR… Gaya man.

Proton purposely built 12 Satria R3s for this, I hope they made some profit out of this whole thing.

• SEE FU on Nov 20, 2005 at 4:38 am

Alex Molan Yoong and Puppy Yoong lei???

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Still late on show…..??

• Lan Pet Pet is his screen name. He's an actor, acts in shows like Scenario.

• Emerson couldn't participate in the race due to insurance issues and Filippa has other urgent obligations.

• FYI: Sheikh Maktoum is the Founder of A1 Grand Prix of Nations. He made it all happen.

• aksMs on Nov 20, 2005 at 5:10 am

Amin, I think the Yoongs might have read the previous post lah. With all the bashing on his brother. Heh heh.

Anyway, would've been interesting if there's a few lady driver. I wonder who gonna get their balls kicked!

No suprise Tg. Djan get the pole there. SIC is 'HIS' playground. Don't y'all agree?

So, Alex Yoong gonna start on the 7th on the grid? Let's see if he could step on the podium this round after that strong finish 5th in the previous round. Bring it on!

• karamjit looks so innocent in the picture

• narrowband on Nov 20, 2005 at 6:08 am

Sorry for my lack of knowledge (both the actor and the Sheikh) :).

aksMs: And the R3 is his toy! He led the team that developed the car whut!

• lol lan pet pet

• trav da man on Nov 20, 2005 at 9:14 am

btw where emerson fitipati (sorry, i cant spell his name :P) , that ex brazilian F1 champion which reported to come and race one?????

• FiveElements on Nov 20, 2005 at 11:55 am

That Alex MOLAN YOONG said a podium finish is posibble as other racers are not familiar with the curcuit (from a newspaper forgot which).

Let see if he is talking cock………If he can manage to finish top three…i will walk to SEPANG from my house….

SAI HEI LAR…..

• R3support race on Nov 20, 2005 at 12:05 pm

gegaoff said,

November 19, 2005 @ 8:31 pm

pippa yoong already ‘no ball’, so he tak join the race.

yeah yeah…

cheers…

since when pippa got ball?

• albagmane on Nov 20, 2005 at 6:31 pm

hahaha… r u sure for that? u seem to be very confident oh 5 element..

• trav da man on Nov 20, 2005 at 7:22 pm

well alex yoong qualitified for no 7, team malaysia's best soo far. Let us hope he can finish top 5, or better a podium finish. I Just hope he dotn screw up by crashing out!

• gegaoff on Nov 20, 2005 at 7:28 pm

R3support race,

oppss… is 'she' not 'he' ah? hehehe… now i recall back. i though is Alex no ball yoong…

sorry ah.

cheers…

• neurra on Nov 20, 2005 at 8:25 pm

woah.. t. djan is that good ah.. better than former wrc champion.. swtz

• well a rally driver and a track-race driver is not really the same.. for rally they are more on taming the rough courses to have best time attack but for race-track driver they are more fond in attacking point to pass other drivers and this is usally rally driver lack off..

• Hey please stop bashing. Team Malaysia is now at 6th position on the ranking and they are consistently scoring points. Alex has shown us what he is capable of. They are only 6 points behind GBR to gain the 5th place.

• FiveElements on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:52 am

Kaze,

Did we bash him at all? Are we the one who said that a podium finish is possible in malaysia?

Are we the one who say he is very familiar with the track in Malaysia and he has advantage over the other racers?

No we didnt and YES ALEX did!!!

I mean we dont want to bash him, everyone has their weakness and you just have to admit it.

Everyone knows his driving skill sucks. WHy can't he just admit it and say he will need more time to polish his skill?

Yet he still talk about a podium finish.

• FiveElements,

So you are trying to tell him not to aim for high position at all because his driving skill sucks? So what would you call other racers who are ranked below him? Sucked like hell?

So it's like your child is doing quite badly at studying, but he/she tells you that he/she wants to aim for high score for exam. But you keep telling him/her don't be so optimistic, just aim for 60 points is enough because he/she sucks at studying. Is that what you want?

So I guess you probably want him to say like this:

"I know that my driving skill sucks, that's why I don't think I have any chance of standing at the podium. Sorry, I'm definitely don't have any chance."

• Icarus on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:04 pm

this is one funny race… lots of crap!

why were other track drivers not invited to drive?… like Tommy Lee, Ron Lim, Jimmy Low, Velumani, S. Ramesh!

Perhaps, Tengku Djan was smart enough to exclude them out as it would have been shameful to lose to them! Getting Karamjit Singh was a good idea. He's a house-hold name and beating his ass on the track was surely looks good on other "people's"resume!

• superman on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:46 pm

gegaoff said,

November 19, 2005 @ 8:31 pm

pippa yoong already ‘no ball’, so he tak join the race.

yeah yeah…

cheers…

Hehe… You say you know F1 but you don't know Emmerson Fittipaldi.. He was 1972 1974 F1 World Champion in driving for Team Lotus.( Yes Lotus the sports car manufacturer used to be in Formula One).

Jim Clark, Graham Hill, "Emmo", Mario Andretti all won titles for them. And Greats like Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen, at one point or another drove for them too.

In fact Senna first race win ( Portugal GP – Estoril 1985 ) and Renault engines with pneumatic valves first win was with Lotus.

• superman on Nov 21, 2005 at 11:27 pm

Icarus said,

November 21, 2005 @ 9:04 am

this is one funny race… lots of crap!

why were other track drivers not invited to drive?… like Tommy Lee, Ron Lim, Jimmy Low, Velumani, S. Ramesh!

Perhaps, Tengku Djan was smart enough to exclude them out as it would have been shameful to lose to them! Getting Karamjit Singh was a good idea. He’s a house-hold name and beating his ass on the track was surely looks good on other “people’s”resume!

Tommy Lee, Ron Lim And Uncle Jimmy no where near T Djan Ley in terms of driving ability la

• Form 5 Student on Nov 21, 2005 at 11:32 pm

Karamjit Singh only know how to drive on a rally car la…..

how can he drive in a circuit??????

haha…just kidding

Great driver…but why nobody sponsor him?pity…..

• Icarus…

The race was not about who won or lost…its about having fun, we wanted to deviate away from your run of the mill support race you normally see before huge events like this one. All the drivers had a blast especially Shiekh Maktoum who participated during practice and qualifying, every time he got out of the car you can see him smilling ear to ear. Team A1 Brazil and Holland showed great support in the pits and everybody wanted to put a good show for the crowd.

In fact Djan didn't think he'd win…Tuka Rocha, Jan Lammers and Aaron were all equally fast :)

• aksMs on Nov 22, 2005 at 1:10 am

Errr…isn't Jan Lammers an ex-F1 driver? Not so sure about Tuka Rocha. So that means Djan could beat Alex Yoong too, right?

• FiveElements on Nov 22, 2005 at 1:57 am

KAZE,

Wah, sounds like you are Alex M Yoong relative is it??? mmm…. maybe you are infact Alex in disguise.

Dont worry Alex, even though you sucked in drving but your wife is really beautiful…..

Ok…KAZE (or Alex …or whateva)….yeah you should be aiming high…but not talking cock all the time. Claim this and that before the race. When failed blame the car blame the track or even blaming the world.

Understand now??? i'm sure if your child talks cock all the time, you would be piss right??? Even if you are his rich father…

Hope you get my point here. If you dont, dont worry about….you have a nice day…:)

• superman on Nov 22, 2005 at 2:14 am

aksMs said,

November 21, 2005 @ 5:10 pm

Errr…isn’t Jan Lammers an ex-F1 driver? Not so sure about Tuka Rocha. So that means Djan could beat Alex Yoong too, right?

Yaeh Jan Lammer once drove in F1 and also Sportscar racing.

Tuka Rocha is the other driver in A1 representing Brazil. The other driver is Nelson Piquet jr

• FiveElements,

Haha, now you assume that I'm Alex. After you have nothing to say, just accusing me that I'm him. Is that always your style? Be more mature, man…

And you didn't see Team Brazil said that they will stop France from keeping on winning even before the feature race? Were they talking cock also because they only managed to score 1 point for feature race eventually?

So I think your theory is:

Team Malaysia says that they will win = talk cock

Other team says that they will win = good spirit

• Homer Simpson on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:25 pm

Sorry Superman, I don't know which planet you live on but I have to agree with Icarus! You mean to say that Tengku Djan is the best driver around. Hmmm….

The drivers Icarus mentioned are all credible and and have shown results. Even Hafizi is faster compared to Tengku Djan (the tarmac rally proved it). Hafizi hardly had any backing while Djan came in the ever-famous R3 outfit. So tarmac rallying, Djan is not the best!

Remember when Djan was rallying? Even youngesters like Adrian Lam in his 2 wheel drive Wira clocked equally matched times with Djan. Mind you, Djan was then driving a Waja 4WD (implanted with an Evo 6 engine). So even rallying he was not doing well.

Drifting….. remember Ah Fai? Ah Fai used to make rings around Djan in drifting and has a bigger fan base when compared to Djan!

Merdeka race….. three drivers….. Djan had 2 other drivers. Times proves that he was the slowest driver among the three. So what if they won! But it wasn't because of Djan he won! It was the other 2 drivers.

Djan is a friend to me and he too would agree with the stuff I'd just mentioned. No offence, Superman! Just thought you needed to know.

• superman on Nov 24, 2005 at 12:24 am

Homer Simpson said,

November 22, 2005 @ 2:25 pm

Sorry Superman, I don’t know which planet you live on but I have to agree with Icarus! You mean to say that Tengku Djan is the best driver around. Hmmm….

___________________________________________________________________________Hmmm, never once did I implied he was the best driver around but the drivers that Icarus mentioned are nowhere near.ie Tommy , Ron, And Uncle Jimmy.

Hafizi's car beat him by virtue Djan's Tarmac rally car ran an ultra close ratio gearbox on a stage that had kilometre long straights.

But yeah Rallying isn't his forte.

As for drifting, even Ser Meng Hui (ah Fai) has a tough time beating Djan. To Date in the tsuiso battles they have had Ah Fai has only won once,SSO 1dot5 Danga Bay , while Djan has beaten him in Shah Alam Defying Grip Challenge round one and SSO2dot 5 . So in head to head battles it's Djan 2 Ah FAi 1.

And judging by last SSO 4.5, Djan has a prety loud fan base.

And R3 AMprex won because of all 3 drivers, not just Djan, not just Tony and not just Tony.

• honda_driver on Nov 24, 2005 at 2:12 am

"Merdeka race….. three drivers….. Djan had 2 other drivers. Times proves that he was the slowest driver among the three. So what if they won! But it wasn’t because of Djan he won! It was the other 2 drivers. "

homer simpson,

where did you actually see that djan had the slowest times among the 3?

an endurance race is won by all 3 drivers. to say that only 2 of them won, and djan did nothing to contribute is ridiculous.

as for the trengganu tarmac rally, djan finished 2nd, using a very short geared dogbox in anticipation for tight chicanes placed throughout the stages. unfortunately, at the last moment, this didnt happen, as the organiser could not source any tyres or barriers to build the chicanes. The gearbox limited the top speed of his car to only 170+km/h, whereas fizy could hit over 200+km/h in his satria. Sure, fizy won in the end and kudos to him, but djan didnt get 2nd for lack of driver ability. If you know him so well, i'm surprised you didnt know all this already.

• Strait Torque on Dec 09, 2005 at 7:09 pm

To 5 Elements I say:

Alex Yoong came in 5th for Malaysia, ahead of NZ, USA, Germany, Ireland, Braz, Australia, SA, Japan, Indonesia, Mex, Neth, Potugal, GB, and China and you criticize.

Man you gotta problem!

Strait Torque

• tiresmokescreen on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:18 pm

wow thanks for the info Homer simpson. I had always suspected it was all hype surrounding Djan and now this confirms it. LOL

I think he is better than Ah Fai in drifting but other than that I have to agree with you on everything else