RM391 million for Sepang

Due to a restructuring exercise, Malaysia Airport Holdings, the current owner of the Sepang F1 circuit is trying to sell off the circuit. The Ministry of Finance agreed in 2003 to buy the circuit for USD 103.6 million (RM 391 million) but apparently the sale is being held up by Bernie Ecclestone’s Formula One Management.

Apparently there are some legalities with a country owning a circuit being used in the Formula One series, as Malaysia as a sovereign country cannot be taken to court in case anything happens. A solution is still being worked out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyBoy on Nov 19, 2005 at 8:30 pm

So we might have to wait and see.

• @ bong on Nov 19, 2005 at 9:26 pm

i wonder our government ever calculate the payback period.. it is earning morning or just for show….

• they could donate it to me

• stupid rafidah on Nov 19, 2005 at 11:20 pm

wow are the politicians gonna manipulate f1 too now?

• useless on Nov 19, 2005 at 11:44 pm

It's rather sad eh? You'd think they could work something out

• cipanyellow on Nov 19, 2005 at 11:45 pm

u guy don't worry la, i'm sure badwi relatives will buy it.

• SEE FU on Nov 20, 2005 at 1:48 am

If no the G then Who else can EAT IT?? RM391 million!! How they value it? based on what Scale? …Usually if you wanna to Make easy money….just sell it to the G!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• aksMs on Nov 20, 2005 at 4:07 am

Selling the SIC? The G buying over? I hope SIC won't turn out to be like some of the government-run places….like a PUBLIC TOILET!

• Ferox on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:03 am

I want to buy the track. Who do I contact ar? Anybody else wants a share? ;)

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 3:59 pm

Ferox ar!!

Please contact this company call payRASHUAHoneMillionTOcronyFIRST SDN BHD. Do make sure you pay under table not "on the table" and must be light off, Okay? contact Number is 04-8811-967….bring enough cash OKAY!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!! :P

• ah LIM on Nov 21, 2005 at 4:24 pm

ello see fuu u olang penang ke….? wai mai dari penang….

• rasco on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:14 am

Ferox,

u serious?

• eekek… nearly 400 million…

agree with u… ask G to buy it… then i think why not we built something ..let say the biggest stadium in the world at a cost of 250 million then make country proud.. then sell back to G with 500 million…

opppsss.. sorryy.. i don't have any link at "upper" people

• LordAlfa on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:33 am

Temasek Holdings buy. Since Sillypore gahment wants to emulate the F1 success. Then Sillporean WRX and EVO can go to SIC to chiong every weekend. Donate rubber to the track.