2005 A1 Grand Prix Sepang Feature Race Results

The A1 Grand Prix of Nations Feature Race results are out – with Team Malaysia driver Alex Yoong managing to get 5th place position after an exciting race.

A1 Team Driver Time
1 France Alexandre Premat 1.00.06.495
2 Switzerland Neel Jani 1.00.11.051
3 Czech Republic Tomas Enge 1.00.22.184
4 Italy Enrico Toccacelo 1.00.30.233
5 Malaysia Alex Yoong 1.00.38.136
6 New Zealand Matt Haliday 1.00.39.192
7 USA Bryan Herta 1.00.39.832
8 Germany Timo Scheider 1.00.41.876
9 Ireland Ralph Firman 1.00.42.240
10 Brazil Nelson Piquet Jr 1.00.45.883
11 Australia Will Davison 1.00.56.978
12 South Africa Stephen Simpson 1.00.59.334
13 Japan Hayanari Shimoda 1.01.04.243
14 Indonesia Ananda Mikola 1.01.11.734
15 Mexico Luis Diaz 1.01.28.935
16 Netherlands Jos Verstappen 1.01.53.803
17 Lebanon Khalil Beschir 29 laps
18 Portugal Alvaro Parente 29 laps
19 Canada Sean McIntosh 21 laps
20 Great Britain Robbie Kerr 20 laps
21 Austria Mathias Lauda 17 laps
22 India Armaan Ebrahim 11 laps
23 Pakistan Adam Khan 4 laps
24 China Tengyi Jiang 1 lap

Team France won again as expected, with driver Alexandre Premat only using 1 of his 8 PowerBoosts throughout the entire race. Man, this guy is really good. He says he used the PowerBoost button once to pass Neel Jani of Team Switzerland, and after that the race was ‘very quiet’ for him.

This is Team Malaysia’s best finish so far. Let’s see if Alex and Fairuz will be able to get into the top three in subsequent races. The next leg of the A1 Grand Prix of Nations will be held at the Dubai Autodrome in UAE.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs on Nov 21, 2005 at 2:29 am

Watched it on TV. Very unfortunate he spun off a few laps before the end of the race. He might have a chance to be on the podium as GB didn't finish their race. Aiyyoh….so rugi one.

Anyway, come on Yoong. I know you can do better than that!

• narrowband on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:10 am

Teng Yijiang's crash was pretty spectacular.

• oklah………boleh tahan

• rikeys on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:57 am

Alex spun off due to slight rain. A few other also but I think he would have came in at least 4th if they had a faster pit stop. I think the team needs to practice more on that. Team France pit stop was flawless but look what happended to Team Britain lost out due to pit stop!

But this race was neck to neck in overtakings … GREAT!

• fariq on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:03 am

I have to say alex did a great job at the race today.. i was at the race ..he was brilliant in avoiding piquet jr. at the start.. and through out the race.. his pace was quite fast.. he ran circles around new zealand .. eventhough he made a couple of mistakes.. if the pitstop was faster.. i believe a podium was in sight..

congrats alex, fairuz and team malaysia.. u did us proud

• Prometheus on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:04 am

wah.. not bad la… Malaysia oso top 5.. didn't see the race, my astro got no sports.. Alex spun out ah.. wasted… practice more, get better!!

• JAY555 on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:39 am

It was a superb race and the malaysian team did quite well….

GO MALAYSIA GO!!!!

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 3:51 pm

After someone called him as ALEX MOLAN Yoong (or telurless) on this BLOG, now ALEX wanna to prove that he still got JJ and balls, ……… therefore he has tried very hard at that race, if he can win the race…..soon ALEX's name with word of MOLAN will be removed!!! and become—> ALEX YAULAN Yoong …….

YAHOoo……Alex ADD OIL!!! KAR YAU arr!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! :)

• muteki on Nov 21, 2005 at 4:56 pm

alex! don't be afraid of going slowly,be afraid of standing still.( better improve gradually than nothing).

• nuggyn on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:39 pm

Thumbs up to alex yoong…

what's wrong with the tools that are used to change the tyres?? i noticed a lot of teams had difficulty with the wheel nut, seems to get jammed easily.

The part whereby India rammed into Pakistan sent me laughing….hahah!

• alex no 5, ok la what..

• Form 5 Student on Nov 21, 2005 at 11:26 pm

A1 Grand Prix Of Nation provided we malaysian at least something to cheer for……

so…Go Malaysia!!!!The only Asian country in the top 10

better than the Japs……

• albagmane on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:00 am

im proud of alex yoong for this race..

• Disgraced f1 racer on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:51 am

>Teng Yijiang’s crash was pretty spectacular.

did Alex slow down to look ??

• gegaoff on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:48 am

SEE FU, god the damm u speak a very funny joke here. hahaha…

well, i have to say Alex 'no ball' yoong soon will take out that no ball become got ball soon. hopefully he is not a kampung juara lah. keep the good job.

cheers…

• Wira Wan on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:09 am

Great job Team Malaysia, they said they will finish in top 5 before the race. They delivered. Good luck to Alex & team for future races.