2006 Chevrolet Captiva

[ UPDATE: Hicom-Chevrolet has launched the Chevrolet Captiva in Malaysia. ]

Chevrolet and Daewoo showed a concept SUV called the S3X back in 2004 at the Paris auto show. The SUV had been further developed and Chevrolet is set to launch it as the Chevrolet Captiva, targetted at the European market.

The SUV will be powered by either a 2.4 litre petrol or a 3.2 litre V6, or a 2.0 litre turbodiesel. The turbodiesel engine, developed by GM Daewoo in cooperation with GM Powertrain and VM Motori S.p.A., will be built in Korea and will be GM Daewoo’s first diesel engine.

I like the design alot. I must say Daewoo’s doing much better in the design department than other Korean manufacturers like Hyundai and Kia. Must be the GM DNA.

I wonder if HICOMOBIL will be bringing it in to Malaysia, as Chevy in Malaysia lacks an SUV to compete with the likes of the Sorento, Rexton and the Fortuner. The Chevrolet Captiva is scheduled to debut at the Geneva motor show in March

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Well the exterior design is OK. Not so much to my taste however. But the interior is very nice. Classy and comfortable. But the driver head rest is HORRIBLE!

• lifewalker on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:08 pm

Great looking SUV! Much better than many others! Reminds me of the Volvo X90…kind of similar look! If it ever reach here…it will definitely cost around RM200K…

• Xoomie on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:08 pm

VERY NICE..

• belacans on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:12 pm

twin exhaust summore! spokes macam X5, nice.

• LangkawiCar on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:17 pm

SUV and MPV prices are most probably be a bit higher due to the increase in taxes for such vehicle. Very sad since the NAP was introduced during the demand for SUV & MPV is still high in Malaysia.

I'm a big fan of SUV cars and Captiva is so eye-catching, much like Sorento. The body looks tough and the rims are bigger and low profile than Sorento. It give a more sporty look.

Could you provide with a more detail spec? I think if it reaches Malaysia, it would really be 50-75% cheaper in Langkawi. hehehe.. Hope NAZA could bring the model soon.

• muthu on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:21 pm

nothing special with this SUV…… just like volvo X 90……..

• E-nabill on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:24 pm

i tink it has a XC90 genes definatly,the side profile and the 'shoulder'…i tink the SUV matket is so saturated now..n no product really that stands out from the othr….none of thm have the wow factor…

• Michael Chua on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:25 pm

Good looking SUV :)

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:32 pm

This SUV has BMW X5 image especially the side view and front view.

For me, this looks is Okay!! Not bad!! Good jod to US Automaker!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! cheers! :)

• j o e l on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:42 pm

to me it looks like what would happen if the xc90 had a child with the rexton. which isnt' a bad thing at all =) nice

• stewpid on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:49 pm

for me its look alike X5 + rexton.

cheers…!

• its me on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:56 pm

front like the XC90,back like X5(exhaust pipe)+posh cayenne.interior look like a rexton.hmmm.if they change to a better interior and sell it 130K.I'm sure its a hit!

• MyBoy on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:10 pm

j o e l,

I agree with u. XC90 ~ Chevy Captiva

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:12 pm

Wanna to see Hyundai's concept car, new SUV called HCD9?

click this -> http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/spy-hyundai…

I think Hyundai concept car is looks good too! Hyundai really learned now! Stying is IMPORTANT!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! cheer :)

• KY drives on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:21 pm

the SUV fits your size, no wonder you like it alot. :P

• 130K would kill CRV straight away!!

come one Honda

• bmanja on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:06 pm

Fuyooooooooooooooooo………..

• benunited on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:09 pm

NICE…but still can't match my baby MURANO…oh my sweet MURANO…

• albagmane on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:10 pm

gosh.. american touch!

• peter on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:42 pm

Just what the world needs, another SUV!

SUVs are muck. They provide about the same room as a MPV, but without the comfort levels, and economy. They offer the height of a off-roader, but don't actually work well off-road. They offer power and performance of a executive car (and price of one) but without the handling and refinement. They are less safe for the rest of the road users, harder to park, use more fuel that they need to, take longer to stop and are basically ugly and block the view for those in normal cars.

The real worry is that they seem to be getting more popular despite rising oil prices, and less space on the roads. Proof (as if any was needed) that people don't make car purchase decisions by applying logic!

• Seems like the American Chevy Equinoks

• Marmitecrab on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:28 pm

See Fu,

Much nicer than your Outlander!!! :-)

Also the Hyundai you spotted is the Santa Fe replacement and not a new model. You can check out the Santa Fe from a Hyundai dealer or if they don't have the actual unit, they would most likely have the posters. The design getting a bit old already but it was a big hit when it was launched in the US a few years back.

• SEE FU on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:49 pm

carb arr!!

The looks is subjective lah! I don't like US car engine and handling lah.

This SX3 doesn't come with AWD and power is lower than Outlander. For me, I'm still prefer OUTLANDER. Check the specifications first I think you will agreed with me.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! :P

• MyBoy on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:43 am

benunited,

I like the design of the new murano, however the way nissan engineer put muranos exhaust pipe can be improved. Its make murano look ugly from side because of the exhaust.

• Ihateproton on Nov 26, 2005 at 2:30 am

Seems like a great first attempt. I wonder if it is because of their experience of once owning SsangYong or is it because of the GM connection. I also wonder where they had the money to come up with this project. Not to mention building a new diesel engine (the V6 is almost sure to be from Holden, dunno about the 2.4L)… This from a company with plans to lay off 30000 staff… Maybe GM is actually intending of shifting their entire european and asia-pacific R&D to south korea…

oh well, cant wait to actually see it though…

till then…. final judgement reserved.

• Marmitecrab on Nov 26, 2005 at 4:35 am

Actually,

See Fu, what I'm trying to say is….anything is nicer than the Outlander….Hahaha!

Spec wise, Porsche Cayenne Turbo would be the best, methinks. After all, it did achieve a faster lap time around a race track than it's smaller brother, the 911.

• gegaoff on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:36 am

c no reason this car can help to improve GM's finiancal report…

no much special… unless is another hybrid enginee, then this attractive.

cheers…

• Charger on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:43 am

S3X? Sounds like the car is roomy enough for some extensive activity at the back seats!

• alexng on Nov 26, 2005 at 9:21 am

great looking in and out. the rear diffuser is way cool. somehow wondering if the front looks like it has some volvo s40 in it. the cars bangle in angles and curves. a very good looker

• benunited on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:00 pm

MyBoy said,

"I like the design of the new murano, however the way nissan engineer put muranos exhaust pipe can be improved. Its make murano look ugly from side because of the exhaust."

i agree with u man…but the excellent curve & its elegant looks makes my face melt…erghhh

• Aris Tee on Nov 27, 2005 at 12:02 am

very nice… good to see quality-looking suvs like this… I agree with you Paul, nowadays Daewoo designs are much improved and are among the best of the Korean makes… hope to see this on our roads :D

• MyBoy on Nov 27, 2005 at 1:48 am

benunited,

Me too like the looks of the Murano. No doubt it is a very good looking SUV (in my opinion), but the ugly exhaust pipe keep me shy away.

• I hate Volvo no matt on Nov 27, 2005 at 6:58 am

Definately closest rival to new Ssangyong KYRON.

• December on Nov 28, 2005 at 6:05 pm

And again, another Korean car, feck.

• kancil_driver on Nov 28, 2005 at 7:26 pm

why always go against korean car? they are almost at par compared to japanese car. some model are way much better. dunno why m'sian mentality is like this. always try to generalize things up. when i watch foreign series/movies, i can see numerous korean models out there. i saw a lot also in s'pore. also i saw like 100 of hyundai yesterday [konvoi – s'porean plates] on their way down from cameron highland yesterday. they are all 'blind' or tasteless compared to m'sians? also the sales figure for korean cars is skyrocketing around the world. numbers dont lie, son……

this car? well designed! especially the interior. i'm not buying anyway, dont like suv.

• Mauricio Alvarad on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:59 pm

Very Nive SUV!!! I´ve never seen any SUV like this from Chevrolet. I hope it comes to Mexico Soon.

=)

• Tun Dr.Joshua Lim Ch on Dec 02, 2005 at 11:27 pm

if this nice suv arrive in malaysia, i sure will kick off my ford escape and get 1 of these chevy

• Denisss on Dec 08, 2005 at 10:16 am

At least ! Americans begin making cars we can like a little, late's better than never. But I think we'll still prefer Japanese SUVs…

• These vehicles gulp a lot of our subsidised petrol, that includes 4 x 4s, those twin cabs etc, Indirectly Malaysians are subsidising these people using these vehicles.

• how much is it? 150k? hahahah

• action man on Dec 20, 2005 at 4:53 am

nice looking suv with the backside just like the porsche cayenne. i wonder what the difference in price will be between the Chevrolet and the new Opel Frontera. Anyway… the chevy will have more buyers than the Opel.

• a good improvement by chevy indeed… but i think the front looks like the new audi q7…. hmmm…

• english man on Dec 28, 2005 at 12:55 am

this car is so BEST becoz it has a big seat and it has fog light.my previous car (datsun) does not have a fog light.