Toyota Vios Turbo

Reader Kenneth Irwin sent in these nice photos of his Toyota Vios Turbo in Thailand. It’s a 1.5 turbocharged manual version. Even the fact that it’s manual is something we don’t see here in Malaysia. Let’s have a look at the car.

According to the owner, the Toyota Vios Turbo is a limited edition run with only about 600 produced. The car comes with a few enhancements stock from the factory. The suspension is a performance setup and the car is lowered by roughly 30mm. This car uses 16 inch multi spoke rims, wrapped in 7.0J 205/45/R16 tyres.

Brakes are also upgraded to disc brakes on all four wheels, naturally to keep up with the increased power of the car.

This is the interior of a manual transmission Toyota Vios. No, the soft toys do not come with the car! :P

Now we come to the juicy bits. The 1.5 16 valve DOHC VVT-i 1NZ-FE engine has been turbocharged with light boost pressure as the compression ratio of the engine is still quite high for a turbo-ed engine at 10.5:1. Normal for a bolt-on setup. The ECU has been upgraded to detect boost and adjust air-fuel appropriately.

This results in 143 horsepower at 6400rpm and 196Nm of torque at 4400rpm. The gearbox is a 5-speed close ratio gearbox for maximum acceleration. This takes the car from 0-100km/h in 8.1 seconds. The car does the 400meter sprint at 15.9 seconds.

I suppose if you can lower the compression to something like 9:1 you could boost it up higher and get even better performance out of it.

I wish the Toyota Vios Turbo was available here heh! The car is only available in black, red or silver.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• "143 horsepower at 6400rpm and 196Nm of torque at 4400rpm."

on crank or on wheel?

• AWeSome

• foxtrotecho on Nov 27, 2005 at 4:59 am

The top mounted IC looks so small.

Where's the TRD front grill ? LOL

• toolan on Nov 27, 2005 at 5:18 am

OMG. we seriously need something like that here in malaysia. entry level performance cars. less than rm100k or a little more. i just cant understand why there is none in malaysia.

• E-nabill on Nov 27, 2005 at 5:21 am

is this an oficial toyota product or after matket tuning package??

• pycazu on Nov 27, 2005 at 5:55 am

cool….. 143 horsepower at 6400rpm for a 1.5 16 valve DOHC VVT-i 1NZ-FE engine really powerful. I like this baby!!! Especially those hanging toys. Think can get my self this christmas gift liao. :)

BTW, how much the price? I knew that Vios 1.5G selling at around RM65K at Thailand if I not forgotten.

• yhtan on Nov 27, 2005 at 6:06 am

Wow….awesome car,

btw paul,is it modify by toyota or others ppl?

• r3_maniac on Nov 27, 2005 at 6:33 am

intercooler very mira look-a-like.

• It is an official car from Toyota from what i know. Maybe Paul knew better and our facts contradicts. :) Anyway, i seriously hope something like this being avaialable in Malaysia. Why Potong never thought of coming out with Satri GTi Turbo? Or Putra VR-4 … or maybe Perdana 3.0 V6 Twin Turbo ……. then we will shut up about comfort, ergonomics and stuff. One thing about cars is that if there's speed, performance and handling; every other thing can be compromised. :)

• the turbo looks like it was taken from a rx-7 FC

• Chapree Da Grande on Nov 27, 2005 at 7:02 am

Damn…awesome car!

Now i can't hardly wait for Proton SRM with Klemaan supercharger!

• r3_maniac on Nov 27, 2005 at 7:08 am

keh, kereta proton mahal2 orang mau angkat ka? nnt lain menda orang kasi komplen.

And there is a turbo car coming from proton dude. paul did blog about it. about kleeman, i think still nobody can confirm about it.

fly by mode…

• blackhead on Nov 27, 2005 at 8:11 am

r3_maniac,

i guess that's about kleemann's supercharger, not turbo.

• cbljkkj on Nov 27, 2005 at 10:27 am

Correct me if I am wrong, I think they use these Vios turbos for taxis in Thailand. I heard that they use Imprezas as taxis in Taiwan too.

• MutantTomato on Nov 27, 2005 at 12:02 pm

cbljkkj: Bro, if that were true, I'd be scared man! Already the tuk tuk drivers can cause an upward shift of your balls, from your groin to your throat. Imagine if the VIOS turbo was a taxi! FUUUUU WAAAARRR!!!! :D

Then again, Mercs are used as taxis in Germany… So yah, why not a VIOS turbo as a taxi in Thailand? :D

By the by, there is a guy here in Malaysia who has turbocharged his VIOS. Anyone else here besides me who is a TVCM member? You'll know what I mean la…

• cbljkkj on Nov 27, 2005 at 2:02 pm

Mutant Tomato:

I think I've seen that Toyota Vios before..Is it like bronze in colour with a GT Wing. If it is then it raced one of the B8210s in Puchong a few weeks back. Can't really say its fast though IMHO.

• SEE FU on Nov 27, 2005 at 4:04 pm

Wah new TOpic man!! Good Paul!

The engine layout looks great, I think it will perform well on street.

But……but…but …The exterior and Interior design is SUCK!! Although it had been tuning adding skirts or lower by 3cm, change the hood with the NOSE on top, it rather looks like a family car and old fashion!

Somemore……somemore….somemore….With the TOYS hanging around, more…like my mom's style.

Somemore the color is really Suck and unmatch with this model, they should consider Dark blue and change to bigger spoiler.

Sorry lah, it is Only my feeling not a complaint to your friend Kenneth Irwin! Different ppl different taste rights!?

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! cheers :P

• vios8820 on Nov 27, 2005 at 4:30 pm

hey… itz depend on diff ppl diff taste ^^

but tat babe really Powerful.. consider itz was jus a 1.5cc car 0-100kmh can till 8.1sec ~

i hope tat engine can swap in to my babe vios………. :p

• Prometheus on Nov 27, 2005 at 5:00 pm

wah … stock turbo, come with factory warranty, good man.. All problems ironed out in factory already.. It would do well here if it were introduced. But the specs are so so only lah.. about the same performance as a N/A 4G93.

• Poor driver on Nov 27, 2005 at 6:34 pm

Looks like poor man's Supra hehehehehe!!!

• MutantTomato on Nov 27, 2005 at 7:26 pm

cbljkkj: Bro, of course the car is not that "keng" la! :D the standard VIOS engine is rated at 109hp. With a custom turbine and other heavy mods, the max theoretically possible is around 150 to 160 hp. Well, that was what was discussed by the VIOS sifus la…

To most of the other modded cars, 150hp is "junior level." Heck, the VIOS is most definitely a city driving car. There is almost nothing that is even remotely performance geared in the stock. So I guess there's a limit to which you can mod a city car la…

Changing the engine is a whole other issue though. But that kinda takes away the essence of such projects. We like playing with the standard engine… More fun and truer to the "bikin kereta" lore! :D :D :D

• @ bong on Nov 27, 2005 at 8:26 pm

Even though got turbo.. still a vios. One of toyota cheapest sedan car. Some more the car body is quite soft, like our proton. i still prefer an original sport car(no doubt). Anyway… vios is much better than my 23years old nissan sunny. cheerss….

• Can't expect much from stock internals. More power can be achieved easily, but gotta lower the compression ratio and increase boost…

• MutantTomato on Nov 27, 2005 at 8:32 pm

There ya go! Paul-san just summarised the whole issue in 2 sentences :D… But even though the compression ratio was lowered and boost increased, how much could stock standard internal engine components take? You'd have to do some heavy mods… So, although there is a high theoretical limit to the amount of hp's you can get out of this engine, its may not be practically possible…

• It's a 1.5 only mah.

• albagmane on Nov 27, 2005 at 8:52 pm

gosh… if toyota has the turbo vios.. when will honda have its turbo city??? hmmm…

• Lance on May 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm

honda city already have turbokit …worth RM 8,000 for the totally cost…

• Bet JJK would prefer to be in that body.

• proton once did came out with a turbo kit, that was around in 96-97. But it was an optional kit that you must buy it seperately. seriously they did, but it was no so popular at that time i guess.

this model was develop by TRD thailand, and come as a package with turbo. i read it some where, in autoworld review if not mistaken. 10.5:1 compression with turbo boosting up to 143hp with the low boost, i think its quite okay. From the look of it, the car surely got ample power on low and mid rev and better feul efficent i'm sure. Although i'm no turbo freak, but for 1.5 to lower its compression and give a bigger turbin for a higher boost, i think it will suffer from turbo lag.

and my view for the car – the rear spoiler and rims are not so kick la..

• Quest on Nov 27, 2005 at 10:19 pm

Logged into Toyota Thailand website (http://www.toyota.co.th/red/th/model/vios). Seek and found Vios link, says the website price starts from Baht449,000. Loosely multiplied at today's exchange rate based on XE.com is around RM41,200-00. Or the Soluna Vios Sporty at 699,000Baht or RM64K, all models come with 80BHP or 96ps, wit compression ratio 10.5:1. I guess the Vios turbo might nt be standard Toyota.

Which brings us back to the question, what can we buy at RM41,200-00? Well well well. A basic 1.3 model Iswara, a 1.2 Savvy, if you add a few thousand extra. A further check showed Altis most pricey model at 999,000Baht or RM91k+ M'sian Altis is around RM120K. Sigh.

• cbljkkj on Nov 28, 2005 at 3:09 am

I think Toyota installed their turbos with the assurance of safety and reliability of the turbine kits. Although it may not perform to everyone's expectations, it is certainly built to last. Therefore the boost is low and compression ratio will remain high, until it comes into the hands of the crazed turbo "kaki".

• weili on Nov 28, 2005 at 3:59 am

It is a very very powerful car…NA version oledi powerful.Although G2 was tune by L also eat dustttttttt.

• Flamesz on Nov 28, 2005 at 6:48 am

In relation to proton and turbos:

Proton still does offer turbo units for its current line-up of cars( gen 2 and satria are some of the ones i've heard of). But of course, it is not reported in any news media. One has to go over to Proton to enquire and obtain(buy) the turbos.These units focuses in improvement of engine power and efficiency but not to the extent of increasing fuel consumption so dont expect a large intercooler or complicated turbo tech.

These turbos are quite compact units but does a very good job.For more info, check out the websites of the gen2 club or autoworld msia.

As for the Vios Turbo, it is clarified to be NOT an add on but rather a proper limited edition. Nevertheless, TRD in its association to Toyota, does offer the products as add on. N nope, not gonna come over here. Read somewhere that Toyota doesnt see it fit with all the mess in Msia automotive policy( if its even a policy in the first place,but thats another matter to discuss).

flamesz.

• hehehaha on Nov 28, 2005 at 8:56 am

with or without turbo… happy and SAFE driving to all…

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 28, 2005 at 3:50 pm

PAUL, CAN SHOW US ALTIS MODIFIED VERSION?

• repsol on Nov 28, 2005 at 4:20 pm

awesome !!! I wish i can have one,..

• muthu on Nov 28, 2005 at 5:51 pm

aiyoyo…… kalu ini macam byk lagi mati woo…..

• Miss your personal blog…sigh… :p

• MutantTomato on Nov 28, 2005 at 6:20 pm

flamesz: If I am not mistaken, the only way you'd be able to get your hands on a TRD turbo is if you order it from Japan. The cost would be about RM10k…. Or was it more?… can't remember la, but I know it is a fantastically expensive price!

Aiiiiiihhhhh… Sad la… :(

• 4g lovers on Nov 28, 2005 at 8:36 pm

i'm waiting for the new vios facelift! biler nak launch nie..!

• Quit Smoking on Nov 28, 2005 at 9:29 pm

Very nice looking car, hopefully something like this will come out elsewhere soon!

• benunited on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:27 am

SEE FU said,

"The engine layout looks great, I think it will perform well on street.

But……but…but …The exterior and Interior design is SUCK!! Although it had been tuning adding skirts or lower by 3cm, change the hood with the NOSE on top, it rather looks like a family car and old fashion!"

i agree with see fu's comment. Despite the power engine, the car's exterior design is still look old fashion…but, the VIOS itself is a great & affordable car…hope to get one someday…

• honda_driver on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:15 am

i've driven the car in thailand last year. it doesnt feel like its turbocharged at all. no lag, no noise, can hardly hear the turbo spool. feels like driving a 1.8 litre actually. the suspension is slightly stiffer than the standard vios.

ive forgotten the price, but according to the thais, its pretty expensive by thai standards for a 1.5.

• 1.5 with turbo feels like driving a 1.8… I'm agreed with that statement… my old Toyota 1.6 with supercharger tapau the Perdana V6… 1.6 with supercharger feels like driving a 2.0… can ar?

• rikeys on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:43 am

finally a car worth reading about not like the cancerllor hehehe

• hi i'm from Brunei.Now i use bolt on turbo to my vios.HKS product.Not much different.Feeling drive my vios not same like original turbocharged car.

• ?nDc?s?ve on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:50 pm

wheneva u compare an NA and a supercharged/turbocharged engine… multiply it by 1.6… tat is wat usually competition/races do.. a 1.8 NA wont line up wif a 1.8 sc/tc car… they fall in diff categories.. so yeah ur toyota 1.6 supercharged (MR2 ah?) can match up or even beat a 2.0 NA but all this are jz theories or paperfacts… in reality it depends on alot more than just these figures…

and yeah, drive smart :)

• My younger brother just got himself a 2004 June Vios at RM55,000. Thats almost all you get in Malaysia. Honestly, in such a market like Malaysia's; i'd go 2nd hand.

• SEE FU on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:23 am

Bob arr!!

I do agreed with you if you really lucky and patiently…..enough to find the used cars. Sometimes We can get a good USED car and rather than paying so much for Brand new……more than half of the car price goes into TAXES.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Bolehland memang Boleh…..apa pun Boleh cuma wang tak ada….mana boleh!! cheer :)

• darkForce on Dec 07, 2005 at 1:17 am

anotha STupid car from japs! hate Japs cars. don't understand why you people love it so much?!?!?!?!?!

Proton is the future!!!

• Saya dengar Toyota Vios dan Honda City buat di Thailand… betulkah… kalau macam itu elok beli PROTON sahajalah.

• Habib on Dec 17, 2005 at 1:19 pm

Tak ada duit beli Proton, ada duit siapa beli proton?

• perodua_freak on Dec 22, 2005 at 4:09 am

nice nice …… i hope malaysia got sell :(

• Durga on Dec 30, 2005 at 2:55 am

darkForce said,

December 6, 2005 @ 5:17 pm

anotha STupid car from japs! hate Japs cars. don’t understand why you people love it so much?!?!?!?!?!

Proton is the future!!!

———————————

you make me laugh. wtf. Proton is better than those Silvia, FD, R34, Evo 8? heh.

• hello dude i want to ask some queation????? how about the perfor vtech turbo if will setup with rotary engine, if you can show the result of dyno test vtech turbo and rotary engine.

cau cin cau

• vitz trd (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:48 pm

Hi I drive a Vitz Rs Trd Turbo with an identical engine the 1nzfe factory Turbocharged. Actually we run here in Mauritius with 95ron octane grade and I'm getting pinking probs. Could you help me find parts and mods please

• orange_ow (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 2:14 am

MutantTomato said,
    November 27, 2005

By the by, there is a guy here in Malaysia who has turbocharged his VIOS. Anyone else here besides me who is a TVCM member? You’ll know what I mean la…

GUYS, just wanna ask if what kind of turbocharger was put in this vios… and if this is really true..

im just curious because i drive a vios here in philippines, which i also change my engine, i put a 4AGZ-E engine (supercharger) from MR-2.. i converted it.. if somebody is interested about this u can reach me thru my email its [email protected]

• Razis Radzuan on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:40 pm

when this turbo engine can sale in MALAYSIA? either halfcut shop or the new one come to malaysia, i'm the first person want to buy it……..hhuhuhu wacth out you proton perdana V6

• Chang Chew Soon on Apr 05, 2009 at 2:26 am

I think if the Vios is turbocharged, it can be a really fun car to drive.

I too recently charged by Vios, and I'm loving it every second of the day.

http://viosturbo.blogspot.com

• kenny on Apr 17, 2009 at 6:09 am

some one can tell me the vios turbo and none turbo wiring and ecu same ah……?

• Eeshan on Jun 03, 2009 at 12:22 am

does it have 4 brake discs?

• Ignite550 on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:47 am

i wish there are available upgrades here in the philippines

• hi anyone can tell mi where to get vios 5 speed close ratio gearbox with 4.9FD n TRD 1.5way LSD ??? email mi @ [email protected]… thanks alot

• Virus on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:31 am

Is 1.3E toyota vios 2006 model can adopt a turbo like 1.5G model?

• Derek on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Dear all,

Kindly would like to know how can i order orginal vios 06 turbo kits setup.

Kindly advice and email me. Thanks ([email protected])

• i want to live in thailand

• I was on on my way back from Malacca, doing 210-220km/h, suddenly this VIOS with Singapore number plate was also doing 210-220km/h,crazy mod

• shahzarith salleh on Jul 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm

omg ..awsome.. i need this car.
    My interest in this car air
    where can I get it this model and spec
    very very excited.
    if you want to sell this car
    please advise.