A timeless beauty.

It’s 5:25am, and because of a teh tarik session that went on till the wee hours of the morning, combined with the effects of caffeine, I am unable to sleep.

I think I’ll just put up a picture of this timeless beauty and see if I will doze off…

Like the Toyota Supra and the Mazda RX7, some things will always remain beautiful no matter what age you’re in. It’s hard to find such timeless designs these days. I must say the Bayerische Motoren Werke’s designers have this talent.

The E30, E34 and E39 will forever remain some of the most beautiful cars I have ever laid my eyes upon, and I hope one day I will be able to lay my hands upon too, especially the E39.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:55 pm

LOL. Reading your post in the same state as you is rather amusing. This car certainly brings back memories. My dad used to own one. Walloped petrol down like nothing but it was a great car nevertheless.

• same. unable to due to stress and anxiety. i have had 3 hours of sleep in the past 2 days, tearing my hair out. nice car. anyone got cure for my case of insomnia/sleep disorder?

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:27 pm

Golf GTI Mk2 8V. Now that is a beaut!!!!

FOOOOWOOOOTTTT!!!!

• buy one already u noob.

• muthu on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:43 pm

classic beuT……..

• SEE FU on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:45 pm

I agreed this babe looks cool and size just nice.

My father's own one about 12 years ago. Performance wise not bad, the kind of Cili padi, small big don't play-play oh. The only thing I hate of this car is the electronic control system. I think the system really matched with the name so-called BMW means BANYAK MASUK WORKSHOP. My father has been going on and off to BMW workshop every one or two months. The trouble is the engine sensor KABUT oftenly and the repairing cost can allow you to go to GENTING one day trip with free RM100 gambling tokens.

Finally, My father sold it just after 1 year old. Surprise that we felt much happy to sell it off. Kawak..kaw…wak…wak…wak….Which means My father had made the right decision, rights?

Someone said, All Beauty needs cost to maintain. I totally agreed on it!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Paul, think twice if you planning to buy one. But if just looking at the photos or buy a model car at home you are welcome!! GOOD LUCK to all owners of this babe!! Maybe I am not that lucky!! :P

• karheng on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:00 pm

SEE FU: I think your father got a faulty one. Mine is 14 years old and it's still running smoothly.

Paul: I must say one thing. This black one looks fierce. It looks equipped with a HID kit and has the standard fog lamps. Too bad this ain't the wide body E30 M3. Then again, it doesn't have to be to look good.

Just wondering if i should customize my bodykit or go for the standard version. Any suggestions?

• rahussin on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:20 pm

I've a friend once at Tmn Universiti Skudai who sell Burger and can afford this babe, I dont know how he done it (Maybe smuggle something from Thai or something) but yes the petrol consumption is triple than my satria. We drove up to KL but the I think the fuel consumption is really worth it as the cars really give u a very smooth ride and executive kind of feeling (feel like rich people even if u were actually just a burger stall keeper)…

paul, the way u wrote this post seems like u r in 'high' state, maybe to much caffeine…:D

• I get high looking at cars… :P

• SEE FU on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Paul, Then what about CHICKS don't you get HIGHER feeling than Cars?

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! Tell me more, I think I can help you…..on………you know lah!! hei..he..he… :)

• karheng on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:31 pm

rahussin: It does triple your satria fuel consumption? Are you kidding me?

It does not take a lot of money to maintain this car. I spend less than 2000 per year for services and spare parts as it is old and has wear and tear problems. Of course, it depends on what parts. This year alone, I've spent about 1000 ringgit only in the workshop. Furthermore, the car itself only costs less than 30k.

My fuel consumption does 40 KM to 10 ringgit of v-power/Green Unleaded for Shell. yes..it's the same distance for the same style of driving…somehow it just worked out that way…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:47 pm

RX7, F50, Shelby Cobra, Evo 6.5………umphhhh, crunchy…..

Paul, why no cover for F1 Hilme from New Zealand..???….awesome car…..

• Charger on Nov 29, 2005 at 10:11 pm

Dude, if you ever buy the E39 M3, come give me a ride. :P~~~

The last good looking BMW M series is the current M5, tata to timeless beauty. Hehe.

• Charger: The E39 is a 5-series, so it cannot possibly be an M3! :P

• SEE FU u started to get horny again ar??? look high at the car suddenly become on look 'h*i' on gals arrr ~~~ how could you see fu!!! got "rotan" tigers for sale???

YAO MOU GAO…………….CHOR!!!! (TM) SEE FU!! :P

• karheng on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:25 pm

ahhaah…he must be thinking about the E36 M3. The E39 M5 is irreplacable. Especially when you have those Halos looking straight at you with that clean and very aggresive front skirting.

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:39 pm

KY,

I've got one.

monkey

• the E39 has a timeless design.cant believe it is almost 10 years now.In M5 guise the ultimate looking car.Simply perfect.wish to own one someday.

• SEE FU on Nov 30, 2005 at 1:12 am

Honestly, who get high as Paul did when you look as this model, Rise up your Hands or Legs or Dick!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! XX Tiger? Bullshit lah…..abu don't trust it, that is only old man said lah, New trend now is ….using ….. SEE FU oil.

Paul, sorry lah……make some jokes can arr??!! Smile!! :P

• Prometheus on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:55 am

Can buy this and keep as a 2nd car or something la.. since it is rather affordable.. I always wanted to get the 1st generation celica actually… Must read more about it.. they say it got twin carbs pretty muscle jap car for its day..

• karheng on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:35 am

Prometheus: If you want to buy one now, you'd have to be prepared to spend around 40k rather than the 20 plus k i suggested. That's simply because good condition models are not for sale most of the time, and the ones which are for sale are normally in shite condition. That's when u have to fork out thousands to repair the car.

+)

• michelle on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:31 am

my cousin has one.. never appreciated the "beauty" of it though

• Tan Yee Wei on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:48 am

drool… The E30 is my favourite line of BMWs. Seeing the comments on the electronic control system's problems, i might want to scrap my dreams of owning one of these babies in the near future. Sigh… Reality sucks.

BTW, in defence of Charger, his E39 M3 was a typo, intended to be E30. Zero being next to Nine and all…

• Charger on Nov 30, 2005 at 7:01 am

Sorry, should be E46 M3. ~_~""

I don't remember numbers quite well.

• its funny why the europeans tend to like using electronics and computers whereby the japs can use simple solution methods, and getting better results. anyway, i dun really like BMs, i like the E30 3-Series because it still has that ego, the latter two versions E36 and E46 however losts them (at least over here in Malaysia.) Why? every richman's concubine wants one, every women lawyer dreams of one, every auntie with own business (bakery, saloon) wants one. I got sick and tired of looking at VCD ah bengs, aunties driving them. poor E36 & E46. However the 330CI is a different question.

The only BMWs i liked was the E30 3-series, E39 5-series and E38 7-series. of course, the new M5 is also stunning. (But i liked AUDI more)

• abdul hadi on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:03 pm

swee: nak try satu produk utk legakan sakit kepala dan boleh memberikan tidur yang lena untuk anda? saya ada cadangan untuk anda.nak cuba?

• karheng on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:27 pm

Tan Yee Wei: No there are not much mechanical problems on the e30. I own one and it has been electronically hassle free all this while.

• my dad own E32 730i and E38 728i. both of them are cool. but E32 got so much probs.

• tentu nk cuba.. :D

• i think E36 design is timeless too!

• hey paul,

still can't choose between the E30, Golf MK2 Gti or a cossie 190E.

looks like you've made yur pick!