2006 Toyota VIOS Facelift in Malaysia

If you surf to UMW Toyota’s Toyota Vios website, you will see that the new facelifted Toyota Vios is now available for sale. The updated prices are RM88,880.00 for the 1.5G high spec model, and RM81,033.00 for the 1.5E base model. A very minimal increase. If I’m not mistaken, the previous prices were RM87,491.74 for the 1.5G and RM79,800.00 for the 1.5E.

For more details on the new facelifted Toyota Vios, check out my previous coverage of the new facelifted Toyota Vios launch in Taiwan. I will post updates on differences between the new and old model once I obtain this information.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:46 am

quite pricey lah

better wait 4 Belta…….when its open for booking aaaa?

All proton are junk. My junk.2 is junk too

• pricey? A Proton Satria R3 costs RM 77,000 right? lol ~ :D (pls don't brand me a PBâ„¢ ……. lol

• flubet on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:52 am

is it better compare to the old VIOS ???

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:58 am

tats why larr they just sell it in limited unit…….77K hmmm….i prefer swift

All proton are junk. My junk.2 is junk too

• @ bong on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:22 am

not much of changes. i still prefer the 2006 lancer. looks more sporty, but of course different class. check it out at www.mitsubishimotors.com/lancer/index.html. it has the rallyart and O-Z raly version.

• sketbo on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:35 am

bong don't bluff la!

hahahahaha!

• trav da man on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:38 am

back in 2003, the vios g is only cost 81K.
    Now become 88k liao, sigh!

Still i felt its a good buy, for both the vios or the new city, although the price has slighty increased.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:39 am

still a wimpy look with meter console in middle… gimme a Honda City VTEC anytime and i'll beat this wimp to a pulp!

• rm 81000 to 88000 for a 1.5 cc vios ?

Oh I will think again and again and again before i buy it ……

And then I decide not to buy it!

I think I am one of the lucky ones because my january 2005 waja (A) has no problem so far. So I am in no rush to sell for at least……another 4 years.

Many people told me don't buy waja. It is problematic, lousy, low quality and bla bla bla. And and top of that I hear you all bashing and bashing and bashing proton BUT hey my waja is fine! I am starting to think all of you bashing proton are just blind bashers. So please don't criticise unless you are sure of what you are talking.

• yhtan on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:18 am

OMG….price went up again.

The new tax structure didn't reduce any car price…..

• cbljkkj on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:44 pm

jx,

Most ppl bash out of experience. Although you are skeptical of the remarks made by people about the Waja, they are right most of the time. I also have a Proton Waja about 4 years old. I hate to say this but most of the problems listed by the bashers are common in my car.

Heres the best to you and your still new car.

Regarding the price of the new Vios. Although there is a minor increase in price, it is evident that Toyota is doing the right thing by balancing the price rather than charge an absorbitant amount just because it is brand new. The refined ergonomics and features of the car is a plus justifying the new price tag.

P:S Have you seen the new "executive Waja" advertised in our papers??? Its about Rm 70k ++ and the only difference apart from the normal one is leather seats!!!

• DeCosby on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:43 pm

This new vios comes HID light. This is not those after market stuff. U can be assure no JPJ kacau.

• karheng on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:16 pm

Proton's quality has been rather infamous. Yes there are good ones out there…and most of the time, it's only about 40% of purchasers who are lucky. There are also those which are of export (higher) quality, which rarely has many or any problems the local ones face.

Some problems which consumers face with Protons are having to make good friends with the mechanics who service their car..and making loads of friends as visits become very often.

If I am not wrong, Proton probably employs a method of segregating the local stock and the export stock, eg. Grade A and Grade B cars.

So maybe you have Grade A cars which are sent for export and Grade B cars for the local market. What happens are, they throw a few Grade B cars in the Grade A group and vice versa. This is to ensure after sales service depts in other countries have sufficient work to do. Heheh…

If you try to sell a car which is problematic in a country with high quality of living, eg. Australia, Proton may just lose their customers to other brands easily, thus they must sell Grade A cars. Grade B cars will be rejected by customers and will demand a change in the whole car, which salespeople normally oblige!

Contrasting in Malaysia, selling a Grade B car won't see the same circumstances. Malaysian people are passive and don't have a strong voice of concern when it comes to this. Therefore, they take advantage of this and that's why we normally have problematic cars.

Just my take of it.

• k20aek on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:45 pm

Paul, maybe if you can research on Mitsubishi Lancer, that is selling in Malaysia, i don't see any official malaysian based site for Mitsubishi, i heard from friend that they offer 5 years warranty. for 11x,xxx. Lancer. Quite ok, i also heard about the Ralliart version but dunno if if it is available in Malaysia.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:25 pm

Attention pls!!

I found some F**KER copy my Nickname and give f**king comment on others.

So if you do found such kind of comment, JUST ignore it. THis He/she must be a PSYcho. What the f**k to use other person name to Said bad words to others. I wish this f**KER will be FOUND soon!!

YAU MOU GAU………CHOR!!

Paul can you find this f**ker for me?

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:57 pm

K20eak arr!!

Here is the Website but it's originally for Singapore.
    http://www.mitsubishicars.com.sg/home/index.asp

Lancer at Singapore:
    http://www.mitsubishicars.com.sg/cars/main_LCR.as…

Pricing: Singapore dallors
    http://www.mitsubishicars.com.sg/cars/price_tpl.a…

I thought EON was the official dealer for Mitsu, but I cannot find information of Mitsubishi models on this F**King EON website. Check this…

EON website to:
    http://www.eon.com.my/

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! How the hell EON promote Mitsubishi models??? Idoits!

• E-nabill on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:14 pm

i tink its very expensive for a 1.5 , dat price u can get a 2nd hand mint condition camry!

• nice.. this actually need by most of the automotive manufacturer.. facelift after few year.. and bannish the car after few (not more than 3 time facelift).. so the life cycle of the product won't strectch more than 6-7 years..

has to wait another few year b4 change my car.. frust

• pycazu on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:03 pm

Quite nice for the front lamp and the fog lamp, it add up more elegant looking. Also, i like the side-skirt design, make it more sporty. But, unfortunely no change on the tail lamp, rectangular plain looking lamp, what's a weak point to me…

• damon on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:43 pm

i agreed with cbljkkj on jx remark. i thinked jx is just a few lucky one that his waja had no problem. many of my frens are driving waja and they regretted of buying it…sign!

i prefer the city vtec over this vios in terms of design especially the back view of the car. and the city vtec interior is much better. however, we couldn't denied that vios is worth buying in terms of quality compared with proton…

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:45 pm

In general it's nicer than before ONLY the F**king Price UP is not GOOD!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! Why add cost on facelift!!?? Make more MONEY!!

• The turbo Vios cost me 850,000 baht 1.5yrs ago so it was quite a bit more expensive than equivalant cars but it was worth all of it…..The photo's don't really do it justice ….When it is standing in a car park with Honda's,Mitsu's,

Nissans and other Toyoto's with bolt on body kits and stickers claiming all and everything my turbo Vios still turns the heads of anyone that knows anything about cars…….And on the road I give most of these cars a shock at just how fast it is without any noise or fuss…..My girlfriends soft toys do not turn this car into an old ladies car ..More like a wolf in sheeps clothing….

Its just very smooth power and the close ratio manual allows me to pull in all gears.Its handling is extreamly good for a small saloon and although only 1500cc and 143horses it is more like a 2000cc 160horsepower car..1800cc

cars that are not tuned up have no chance whatsoever.Hope I am not getting up anybodies noses but I just speak it as I drive it.I enjoy playing with cars that have a higher top end than mine as up to 200 when my limiter kicks in I am really hard to beat unless you are an Integra, WRX,Evo or the like .You know what I mean lah.

Catch my dust……Ken

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:56 pm

ermm… is that the REAL SEE FU talking or the Fake one?

Will the real SEE FU, pls stand up? (sing it to Eminem's real slim shady tunes!)

• benunited on Dec 02, 2005 at 12:32 am

hey, how's the fake see fu make his nick name in yellow?? i thought people with yellow names are limited & registered bloggers? hmm….

• Prometheus on Dec 02, 2005 at 2:58 am

Wah nice color lah the blue Vios.. But still a bit expensive la.. that turbo vios would be nice as a limited edition here.. Don't like a facelift without the engine also being done up a bit.. Want to do do whole thing better la..

• gegaoff on Dec 02, 2005 at 3:18 am

just 2 or 3k different compare to old VIOS. i don't think is unacceptable… in fact, if the car can make u easy for 5 to 7yrs, or even 10yrs, is the price worth enough??

cheers…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:02 am

benunited said,

December 1, 2005 @ 4:32 pm

hey, how’s the fake see fu make his nick name in yellow?? i thought people with yellow names are limited & registered bloggers? hmm….

=============================================

can one… i can also copy ur name and post it up and make it yellow also…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:04 am

see? it's easy… and the next thing i know, some one will impersonate my nick pulak….

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:06 am

oops… hilang oredi? paul… u deleted it away izit..?

• [PBâ„&ce on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:05 am

To the guy that commented about export models from Proton. Well, I have a different story with my Euro spec 1.6 Satria. It was about 8 years old when I sold it off and the same old story. Auto gearbox, power windows, boot leaking, weird electrical problems, radiator leaking, alternator failure and so on. *sigh*. Well, i did buy the car 2nd hand but problems started when I first laid hands on it.

• Wallauweh… export model also got that kind of problem meh??? No wonder internationally Proton been bashed…

• eMalaysian on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:21 am

I've heard people complain that vios got water leaking, light not working, car shake, etc. Same like proton also what. Only difference is that toyota respond with good customer service.

So is the new vios worth buy? Or is it better to buy 2nd hand vios?

• F**king irritating foreign car dealers in malaysia, l thought you were given the 5 % tax reduction, despite this , you decided to use the golden chance to earn more of our money but not only not reducing but claimed whatever higher cost excuse to even increase so much.

tell u what toyota malaysia, l bought a MYVI and l like it and the price is much cheaper

Typical malaysian businessman, when price go up, old stock price also go up, when price go down, claim old stock bought in expensive, really irritating

do u know the national car is much cheaper, you will lose out to hyundai and myvi

• oh yah, can also go for the honda city

• sinleong on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:16 am

The real SEE FU always say Yao Mou Kau Chor… :D

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:45 am

i also can say that…. in fact, anybody can say that!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!!

• A man on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:10 am

new model to suck malaysian blood.

then sultan can sit maybach

• DeCosby on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:13 pm

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:45 pm

i also can say that…. in fact, anybody can say that!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!!

> Oh yess u CAN.. he doesnt pay for tt word.. nor de word doesnt invented by him.. what can he do abt it… Like we in US have what its called freedom of Speech.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:30 pm

but then again, that doesnt give us the right to impersonate his online identity and start swearing, cursing and flaming other ppl ma… only cowards with no balls would use this idea, baling batu sembunyi tangan…

• SEE FU on Dec 05, 2005 at 1:16 am

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

December 3, 2005 @ 9:30 am

but then again, that doesnt give us the right to impersonate his online identity and start swearing, cursing and flaming other ppl ma… only cowards with no balls would use this idea, baling batu sembunyi tangan…

############

Yes!! Hatuk! you are absolutely correct!

That's the reason why I'm complaining about!

If that F**ker use my nickname for making JOKES or just for FUN without causing other angry to me, I'm OKAY!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! I'm sure That guy must be no balls one!! Must use other ppl balls to F**K! :p

• revver on Dec 05, 2005 at 8:34 pm

somebody cursing on toyota and at the same time bought a Myvi. hmmm… funny isn't it. let someone give a tutorial on this guy who the hell Daihatsu is now.

go back and read.

• Traliccio on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:02 pm

Cool colour!

• unbiased on Dec 07, 2005 at 7:43 pm

when will u ppl learn?

a friend in sarawak bought toyota innova and have to send the car back for 2 weeks to toyota because of alarm problems

another case in kl with toyota vios, faulty steering rack installation cause serious misalignment which brought the case to tribunal court against UMW toyota.

another case in kuantan a E240 Merc immobilizer system faulty left the driver stranded. the car has to be lifted on a truck and ferried to kl to fix the alarm system.

you dont always get good quality with branded products. and why we always thought toyota, honda, bmw, merc etc are quality cars? the owners are too embarass to share it with their friends. if you want a non-biased review go find JD powers automotive review. even rolls royce get trashed by them.

• dictionary on Dec 08, 2005 at 7:40 am

nice???

• Is it assembled in Thailand?

• jacky on Dec 09, 2005 at 10:40 am

now malaysia aslo have but i see the old model is pretty then new model

• jacky on Dec 09, 2005 at 6:40 pm

now malaysia aslo have but i see the old model is pretty then new model

• nice

• Adi lotry on Dec 13, 2005 at 12:58 am

The vios….kembar siam sama corolla altis sama belta(rekabentuk body je la) maybee for the vios i will prefer to buy PROTON WAJA…..even..waja is cheaper and wider than vios

Proton is not a junk…mcm mana proton nk maju kalau orang malaysia sendiri yg menindas nya??? even in australia,england,turki,etc.they will prefer to buy proton….they like proton..they love proton..so for all malaysian fikir2 kn lah kata2 saya ni…

• ah cat on Dec 16, 2005 at 1:00 am

Betul Adi lotry said, mcm mana proton nk maju kalau orang malaysia sendiri yg menindas nya??? …. tapi kalau potong keluar reka/engin/semua sndiri i agree cakap Adi, but now difference semua copy saja… tukar sini sikit , tukar situ sikit , lastly this is make from bolehland … apa itu…RnD buat apa????

• ah cat on Dec 16, 2005 at 1:04 am

New VIOS nice look… but the price a bit expensive

• Kan proton reka sendiri Waja, Gen 2, Savvy dan campro. Proud of our fellow Malaysians. Keep your heads high.

• Xscape on Dec 17, 2005 at 1:12 pm

I' ve only driven german cars like Porsche, BMW and Audi. Not planning on driving a proton in the near future or ever. It seems in Malaysia if you've got no chunk change in your pocket you always endup with a proton.

• Adi lotry said,

December 12, 2005 @ 4:58 pm

The vios….kembar siam sama corolla altis sama belta(rekabentuk body je la) maybee for the vios i will prefer to buy PROTON WAJA…..even..waja is cheaper and wider than vios

Proton is not a junk…mcm mana proton nk maju kalau orang malaysia sendiri yg menindas nya??? even in australia,england,turki,etc.they will prefer to buy proton….they like proton..they love proton..so for all malaysian fikir2 kn lah kata2 saya ni…

Yes, we have to support, if they themselves will improve like what they claim :" Dare to change." And yet still selling 13 year old Wira.

Waja is better than Vios? Yes, bigger more spacious and bla bla bla. Then what you get after paying RM75k+ for a Waja? You end up with a car which fails Euro NCAP 2002 Crash Test, a car which costs RM350-RM400 for a power window failure (yeah, they warranty 3 years for that funky part) and a car which is already 5 years old, without changes! Vios is newer than Waja by 5 years. Which one you'd get?

• Neighbour on Dec 29, 2005 at 7:35 am

I prefer ma' favorite BENTLY!

It definitely always come number1 among others.

Also, I drive VIOS-Turbo.

It's a fast one though.

At least I'm certain it can overtake others at all time!

And we have some Protons in ma country too.

But I dunno why people don't drive it???

I've heard it's damn cheap and ppl don't like its appearance.

VIOS IS THE KING !!!

• adrian on Jan 04, 2006 at 1:22 am

yup…. wat i think is vios is d best. mahal pun x pu la… janji lawa kan. im taking vios turbo after c new year… VIOS IS THE KING!!!!!!

• adrian on Jan 04, 2006 at 1:35 am

now im using toyota se sepercharge…. its fun. i love TOYOTA. those who critic toyota is damn ***$$@!##^%%

• chang on Jan 06, 2006 at 7:51 am

i think vios is better that waja.

i m vios user 6 months oledi, n my adik waja user 1 1/2 month.

this 2 cars diffrents r:

vios full tank 45L get 620km-700km,quite inside car when driving(compare with waja), no much big problem,no very stable when driver fast 150km/h+.

waja full tank 60L get around 550km-+,quite noise inside car when driving(better that gen2 more n more),more stable when driving fast,more space,got a lot problem…absober(like gen2?),need tuning(only 1 1/2 month),engine got other strange sound…service poor.

waja special edition for 20 years potong

mayb i lucky get a good car that others…

• Roti Canai on Jan 07, 2006 at 8:23 pm

Then try Waja Chancellor ……sucks!!!! RM138K???? I wonder who's goin' to buy the car .

• veloCity (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 10:42 pm

I have driven a manual Vios for the past 2 years. I must say the pickup is sprightly and handling is good. That is a rental car. So when I finally decide to get my own car, Vios is a natural choice for its value for money and positive experience.

Back in October, I was looking at the pre-facelifted version of Vios. I liked the bumper with its meshed ventilation gaps, the chrome front panel (optional), and partially chrome steering wheel (optional). The colour black completed the sporty look of the Vios.

I intended to get an auto car, but when I test drove the auto car, the driving experience was less desirable. Anyway, I decided to go ahead with booking for its value for money. However, I was informed that the new facelift was coming, so I decided to wait. Meanwhile, I detoured to the Honda showroom and I was facinated by the new facelifted Honda City. The sleek body, clustered tail lamps, and roomy back seats were what attracted me initially. The car was still not available for test drive at that point. The downside was that City costed a few thousands more than Vios.

When the new facelift Vios arrives, I don’t find it more attractive than the old one. In fact, I feel it has lost a bit of its original sportiness, but then I didn’t put the 2 cars side-by-side for comparison, so that’s just my impression. I decide to take a last look at City before finally committing to the Vios. This time, the car is available for test drive. Although the specs of the City are lower than Vios, the power in the City seems to arrive faster when the accelerator is pressed. I am also thrilled with the Steermatic manual gear control in which you could increase or decrease within the 7 speeds, with the press of 2 buttons on the steering wheel.

In conclusion, both cars have their strengths and it’s hard to choose. I eventually settle for City because of the roominess and freshness of driving experience.

• autotruth (Member) on Oct 31, 2006 at 12:46 am

Anybody know bout Special Service Campaign for Vios?

• autotruth (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:21 am

Owners saying Vios Special Service Campaign is to call back cars to fix some quality issue. Any idea what is it?

• oyl78 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 3:30 am

New VIOS launched in Thailand on 9 March 2007…

http://www.toyota.co.th/red/th/model/vios/vios_ho…

• brad (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:09 pm

dont worry guys…vios will be cheaper n more cheaper than proton car..(waja n gen2)..just wait until this end of the year…haha…dont be suprise.. more sporty n pehhh….very smart….

• brad (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:16 pm

tnggu bulan sploh ni….vios versi baru…murah beb…

• sharon (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:47 am

Is honda city better or Vios better ? I heard that a new model of Vios going to launch…

• THIAN on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Hi anyone can tell me Where can buy the auto side mirror with LED light?

• THIAN on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Hi anyone can tell me Where can buy the auto side mirror with LED light? ( For 2006 Toyota Vios Facelift)