2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse Ralliart

Mitsubishi showcased the 2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse Ralliart at the 2005 SEMA Show this year. The Eclipse is kitted up with a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine, aftermarket enhancements, bodykit and a Ralliart theme paintwork.

The Eclipse Ralliarts receives the 4G63 turbocharged 2.0 litre putting from the Lancer Evolution. A custom air intake and HKS performance parts boosts power up to 400 horsepower. Those horses are transferred to the wheels via an all-wheel drive system also from the Lancer Evolution through a 6-speed manual transmission. Wheels are 20″ carbon fibre rims wrapped with Yokohama AVS Sport tyres.

The entire body has alot of carbon fibre used in it, like the roof, hood and fenders. The Ralliart Eclipse comes in Hot Red Mica, specially formulated for this Ralliart edition.

I was wondering why the gauges looked so familiar then noticed all the gauges on this car are from Auto Meter, taken from the Carbon Fibre sports series. I prefer the Cobalt series though. But these ones are nice as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zerocool on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:09 am

My dream car …… :P

• zerocool on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:13 am

btw….dunno wat it means by "specially-formulated" Hot Red Mica…..nothing special bout this colour (appearance wise), guess its just a simple paint formulation…..i've matched auto metallic colours more complex than this….. :P

• @ bong on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:28 am

it is indeed a very gorgeous car. Paul, anyway we can get it in M'sia? a recond one maybe? hehe. what's the price range? Good job… mitsu.

• armandd on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:42 am

a turbocharged 2.0 litre with up to 400 hp?? how long the engine will last??

• Holy shite… that's one sweet looking ride. Really glad they decided to junk the damn ugly corporate nose first seen on the Evo8.

• SEE FU on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:45 am

GOod design! Very nice, awesome handles!

Click here more photos – > http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/spy-mitsubi…

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! CHeer! :P

• so… that is what U been doing, nothing new for the pass week. where have you been.

Just consider this car coming to M'sia , just wait for proton to re-marry his girlfriend back…. if the GF want to come back

:D

• hmmm.. googled a bit about carbon-fibre wheels. The "wow" factor is definitely there! Although the expected weight savings are not really there.

@ bong: I think all Eclipses are left hand drive. The closest 2-door coupe/fastback equivalent would be the FTO.

• kancil_driver on Dec 06, 2005 at 1:14 am

not nice. looks like a high heel shoes from side view. daisy is way much better.

paul! do you have daisy pics?

• 4g lovers on Dec 06, 2005 at 1:26 am

mak oii…jahatnyer!!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 06, 2005 at 1:26 am

Meter cluster copy cat from Gen2, gear knob from Satria Gti, Steering from Gen2, interior tiru R3 maaaa…………

Come on let Mitsu, get your own ler, be creative ler……..

( hehehe, me sure kena bash from other forumers punya…..)

( bye-bye, gone for a week……. )

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 06, 2005 at 2:19 am

agreed with u bit.. about meter and gear knob..

mitsu dah nak bengkrap laa.. :(

• Chapree Da Grande on Dec 06, 2005 at 2:20 am

Bootylicious…tak tahaannnn!!!

I hope they would bring this baby to KL Motorshow 2006. :)

• Carbon Fiber rims? Got to be kidding me.

• Charger on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:00 am

Looks like FTO and TT crossbreed. X-P

• Mark Vincent on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:04 am

Sweet Jesus!!! its F$#king AWESOME!!!!

• its god damn delicious i sayyy..

saw it online like a month or 2 ago.. and it totally blew me away.. haha..

always been a fan of cars which have 2 doors. hehehe..

the cf rims are UNBELIEVABLE! i didn't think it was even possible to make rims out of CF!! hahaha..

well, can't use it on malaysian roads tho.. hehehe.. won't last 50 kms. too many potholes.. hehehe..

this version looks a lot better than the stock eclipse.. although it's too round for my liking.. the subtle enhancements mitsu has put upon it makes it look ermm.. sorta fiercer don't you think? beautiful.. would still pick the Evo over this tho. hehe

• keniji on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:29 am

very cheap in US,

but not in boleh kampong!"

• one more question.. although it's engine is taken frmo the mitsu evo.. is the technologies implemented into the Evo also implemented into this car? like the ACD and the SAYC?

cuz i don't see the familiar 3 settings on the meters like the Evo. (eg: tarmac, gravel and snow.)

btw, the shift knobs are the standard versions on the Evo as well. handbrake looks a bit "chaplang" don't you think. reminds me of the wira's one. hehe. the middle console also looks like it houses the boost meters and sort? kinda like the STi's version.. wahahahaha.. :D

the rims in the pics here are not CF btw also.. i have the pic of the CF rims and the CF ones are CF all throughout the outer rim.. and the spokes are still some metal material i would say, based on the white paint. (more of the same design too) practically thinking, i think it would be the only way to make the rims able to support the cars weight.

what do you guys think?

• albagmane on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:45 am

gosh.. loves the specs! carbon fibre here, carbon fibre there.. yum yum!

but among all japanese sports cars, i would prefer the skyline.. skyline is the BEST!

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:14 am

Beauty!!!

• Why the hell Mitsu don't take 51% of POTONGs share back in 1985…. then we can have a replacement Putra now…. WOW~

• exactly what the eclipse should have been not that ridiculus front wheel drive v6 with a useless 260hp v6 3.7L …. shesh just cos americans like displacement doesnt mean its better :P

• she damn sweet…wahlauweh..

• toolan on Dec 06, 2005 at 6:17 am

hah? 20" carbon fibre rims? never heard it b4. what brand? maybe a lil lite weight n fragile..

• WOW! methinks its 100% likely that is more expensive than the lan evo MR. never see these around, not even the streets

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:24 am

somehow i feel that this car's steering has some resemblance to Savvy's steering… now who copied who, i wonder?

• Initial D on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:27 am

looks soft from the outside, but big in the inside…………………

• Justin_vspec on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:16 am

Hehe Eclipse Ralliart but can't really see that many Ralliart parts really..Rims look like Volk Racing's CE28..Then meters from Auto Meter..Intresting..Hehe but nice car nonetheless!!

• kakiberat on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:16 am

Only one matter is this is a beast! everythings perfect.

Gear knob really a Rallyart lookalike not a GTi ??????

Improved design from evo 7 Steering…cool seats from recaro's.

Lighter body for good handling and power to weight ratio.

Power, Quality and design are good overall.

• Prometheus on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:16 am

Wah.. this is the car I want to buy in the future.. really one.. This is the totally current version of the old ass Putra i'm driving now.. ha ha

• Jason on Dec 06, 2005 at 9:50 am

For American market rite?

• Carlos Gong on Dec 06, 2005 at 10:42 am

350Z wannabe. interior plastiks are horrendous

i'd wait for Evo X

• if i am not mistaken this baby was out wayyyyy before gen2/savvy did

• how much 'design' can one put into steering wheels ? similar? neh~ Savvy a car? or beca? LOl~

• SEE FU on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:13 pm

Hei I saw some guys compare the style between JIN2 or Satria GTI and Mitsu Eclipse on the Steering wheel, gear knob,……rims, meter?

Come on lah!!…I guess this Eclipse is using standard MOMO steer wheel which is common design, standard momo gear knob,……tyre, anybody can install it on their car rights? Same goes to RECARO seat design and rims, need not to compare who copy who, rights?

If you eat KFC dinner set at KFC and I am eating the same set, can you say I am copying yours? It is the standard set, anybody can order it!! Not COPYing.

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! :P

• muthu on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:03 pm

my brother bought this car at seven eleven………

• honda_driver on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:18 pm

looks extremely futuristic, like something out of a ultraman movie or something..

• MahathirSpeakz on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:52 pm

this model is uglier than BMW Z4

• Another Honda Driver on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:03 pm

Agree with u-lah, See Fu, i'm really sick with this people, always say people copy here, copy there, if u think u good, design your own car-lah, i want to see how good are you…..make sure that u don't copy other people design…….

• benunited on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:18 pm

emm…8.5/10…if u look at it for some time, u'll find it quite ugly u know…well, dont see the rear side yet, can't entirely judge by the current pics provided…anyway, better looks than the latest evo…

• nuggyn on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:50 pm

the rear lights looks like Porche…right?

• those rims are indeed the volk racing ce28.. the cf ones are different..

see-fu & Another Honda Driver, right comments man. kinda bored of hearing ppl compare the makes of foreign cars to our cars.. and also determinig who copy who.. omfg.. doesn't that seem a bit too ermm. childish?

and for the record, yes, that is a STANDARD MOMO STEERING WHEEL USED BY MITSUBISHI.. EVEN ON THE EVO MODELS.

• my_YARIS on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:02 pm

nothing new mitsu liao… mayb designer out of ideas

• camry on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:30 pm

the whole butt looks like a porsche

• Traliccio on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:43 pm

Nice….the steering look like Gen.2 design.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 06, 2005 at 9:05 pm

aiya.. kalau proton = itu copy.. ini copy lah..

kalau lain = aiya.. itu standard momo lah .. bla bla..

what about the Meter shape?

aiyaa.. itu meter standard jugak lah..

at least you must respect people view.

seefuu = yeah.. keep on advertise your web / blog here.. paul will like it.. ;)

ME : NO!. i never can afford this car. so just use my old car.. be realistic!

• Michael Chua on Dec 06, 2005 at 9:56 pm

The butt looks a tad like the Nissan Fairlady 350Z.

• muthu on Dec 06, 2005 at 10:22 pm

—————mitsu_galant_2000 said,

December 6, 2005 @ 1:05 pm

at least you must respect people view.

seefuu = yeah.. keep on advertise your web / blog here.. paul will like it..

ahak ahak ahak ahak ahak ahak…..

• lawa jugak..laju ke?…..brake disc depan belakang ke?…. berapa ringgit harganye?

sportrim dia kalau tukar sport rim waja lagi gerek sehh…. body kit tukat gsr.. enjin tukar mivec punye.. gerenti bedesup poieee eee.. pastu gantung hello kitty.. kuikui.. bilolah den nk kayo boleh beli pesawat airbus..ke concord ke.. takpon dpt foker kira ok

• kuikui

• iQbaL on Dec 07, 2005 at 1:31 am

cool!! i want one!

• adamckc on Dec 07, 2005 at 2:17 am

sexy car. mitsu is good man.. just like my lmst ha .. kidding..

this car can replace all the skinniest sexiest underage saliva-drooling chick in the bukit bintang anytime man…

• SkyHigh on Dec 07, 2005 at 2:55 am

It has the FTO genes on this car, in front looks a bit like the FTO, at the back looks a bit like the Eclipse

• i think there is no such thing as 100% original design anymore. everything is a combination of certain elements, used at different times according to trends..etc.

regardless of what everyone says, i wouldnt mind driving this thru downtown KL. better than driving all the "usual" cars we already have on the road today.

• gegaoff on Dec 07, 2005 at 3:31 am

nice car indeed… yummy!! :D

ah… i though mitsu is no longer in bankrupt risk anymore?

cheers…

• big and fat, nice.

• so it looks like audi's trend of having the mid section of the front bumper black is infectious. We've seen that is also used by vw gti but i don't think that's a coincidence since audi belongs to vw. But to see that on the mitsu..

• izudeen on Dec 07, 2005 at 7:46 am

ada air bag ke?

with that kind of horsepower, your head can cut into two when collide in accident..

• wafiess on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:43 am

wah ….. so nice …

• SEE FU on Dec 07, 2005 at 3:11 pm

izudeen said,

December 6, 2005 @ 11:46 pm

ada air bag ke?

If you ZOOM in the Steer wheel photo I am sure the SRS mark is shown on it.

Of course ADA lah! Plastics bags pun ada Oh….if you want!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! cheers :P

• I think its the most original and best design for a car that Mitsu have come up with yet. I used to love the old eclipse (you know the one from Fast and the Furious) it was even better when they named it Eagle Talon cut the boot down a bit and stuck AWD and VR4 under the hood. Subsequently they came out with the V6 range of ugliness which was called the Eclipse. I am sure if you had seen the concepts of the future of the Eclipse from "yesteryear" you would agree this is following in a design footstep of what Mitsu had intended to do.

This is exactly what Mitsu needs to revive their marketshare. Evo's are great but a two door looker like the Eclipse and AWD would have everyone screaming for more from Mitsu. Especially if it came out styled the way it is now. Maybe just tone down a bit on the lowering aspect lah.

Oh yeah and for those who think its a copy of the 350Z i think you all need to have your eyes checked a little bit. Even if you think it is a copy how would you design a car which aerodynamically effecient and then slap some tailights on it smarty pants' >:P

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 07, 2005 at 10:08 pm

THe meter design looked like from Gentu

• Probably only for two people, not much space in the back seats.

• looked very good, thou a tad too americanish. :)

• SEE FU on Dec 08, 2005 at 3:36 pm

Bob arr!!

Eclipse is for AMERICAN only lah BTW! Therefore looks American Taste so much, just like Mcdonald's Hamburger!! So strong of AMERICAN TASTE. BIG!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Give me Five!! Yeah! :P

• clark_kent on Dec 08, 2005 at 5:42 pm

Sweeeeeeeeeet~~~~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• SEE FU on Dec 08, 2005 at 9:18 pm

Mitsu x2, I love U…..DO you LOVE Me…..if yes……give me ONE BOLEH??

sad……..I want to WORK harder BOSS anymore OVERTIME JOBS?

• rasco on Dec 09, 2005 at 4:11 am

i want one!! so.. what's the price tag gonna be? anyone?

don't really like the dashboard tho. em.. agree.. a bit like Gen2.

anyway. any specs?

• clark_kent on Dec 09, 2005 at 5:46 am

rasco, how could you eer compare this beauty with a Gen2? that's total verbal harrasment… LoL..

• SEE FU on Dec 09, 2005 at 5:40 pm

rasco said,

December 8, 2005 @ 8:11 pm

i want one!! so.. what’s the price tag gonna be? anyone?

Rasco arr!!

I Guess this MODEL is the ONLY one on Earth now. Priceless!! All HAND made interior body bars, engine cover……..FC rims,and exterior body parts all FC!! it is just for SHOW!

Therefore I ask Mitsu to "GIVE" me one not selling to me.

But IF you want the MAss pro one, it is cost only RM80k to RM90k in USA. Cheaper than Honda JAzz. Believe it or NOT??

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!!

• Hei… the steering wheel looks like my wife's gen 2 1.3.

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:35 pm

strong designed weak on quality. by owe means it sucks 1000000000000000000% why bother building a car that only last for few thousand miles.

• yup..looks a bit like 350z from the back….

• ayenman on Dec 10, 2005 at 2:53 am

even better than evo 10

• Ujang on Dec 12, 2005 at 7:27 am

Banyak persamaan dongan gen duo.

• enthusiast on Dec 13, 2005 at 3:03 am

why isnt CF wheels possible? Its stronger than steel and much much ligther. i think what would be more impossible is a CF engine because of the heat.

• enthusiast on Dec 13, 2005 at 3:05 am

also, from a mitsubishit owner myself. they are never reliable. not like the toyotas or hondas.

• Elo.

Sidewise, it looks so Porsche-ish… And the large rear wheel arch may explain why. And the blunt rear too.

• weili on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:09 am

The p car must be copying the design of the meter cluster, gear knob and also steering from mitsu! huh! any 1 agree with me??

• Gen 2 dash board cluster, steering wheel etc from project Lotus 250 that was shelf.

• evia_natasha on Dec 15, 2005 at 12:40 am

hidup wira…..

• LocTech on Dec 15, 2005 at 2:29 am

my 2 rupiah,

a cross between old 6A12 FTO and 350Z… nothing new. 400bhp? Lotsa been making more than that…. using the old 4G63s motor summore… way long long time ago before MIVEC even spelled….

• HIDUP GEN 2

• Have you seen the new Lexus 200, looks like Gen 2?

• i wonder how much it would cost with all the ralliart parts and body?

and where the hell do you get carbon fiber rims like that? damn!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:03 pm

*DROOL*

• inspired by a rat. nice car though.