Mugen Honda Civic Dominator Concept

I’m officially in love… with this hot new concept from Mugen Power. This is their Mugen Honda Civic Dominator concept, to be shown at the Tokyo Auto Salon 2006. I wish I could be there, anyone want to buy me a ticket to Tokyo?

The Mugen Honda Civic Dominator is based on the JDM Honda Civic 4-door sedan. Dimensions are 4570mm long, 1795mm wide and 1400mm high. The bodykit is different from the Honda Civic Modulo which I previously blogged about, though the Modulo looks pretty hot too.

Coming from Mugen who brought us the hot Fit Dynamite which the Fit’s original 1.5 VTEC was replaced with a 2.0 litre i-VTEC engine, we can’t expect them to leave the performance of the Civic alone right? Mugen has equipped the K20A 2.0 litre i-VTEC of the JDM Civic with a supercharger, bringing up total power up to 295 horsepower (300ps). The engine hooks up to a front-wheel drive 6-speed manual transmission. The car has a “Super Charger” text emblem above the front wheel arch.

Centre-mounted dual tip sports exhaust system to accomodate all the extra horses the engine is putting out, integrated into the rear bumper.

Looks menacing doesn’t it?

The over the top large wing at the back’s tilt angle is adjustable to your liking. Also notice that the rear doors do not have the door handles in the normal position, but rather like the Alfa 147’s door handles. Gives a nicer side profile look.

Those wheels are 225/40/R18 by the way.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• how do they sell the integra type-R then if they put this in the market.

i'm also interested in the torque number

• kuntakinte on Dec 14, 2005 at 12:56 am

walau, 295 horses???

The Civic looks damn chun by itself. the Mugen or Modulo kit makes it look too ah-beng.

I have booked the new Civic in November and cannot wait for it's launch in Msia (in fact, just dreamt abt it last nite – yeah, i m that desperate)

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 14, 2005 at 12:56 am

wahh.. nice man..

looked like "Honda Evo"

• 4g lovers on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:00 am

BMW M3…

• narrowband on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:06 am

Sexy! *Drools*

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:07 am

cun….thumbs up………

• Dominic on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:12 am

thumbs up for Mugen Honda….everything was nice for me except the exhaust pipe…well i dun say it not nice, juz i dun like the design in tat way…

• karheng on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:58 am

No fan of bulky Hondas but this Civic is an exception…

• cHiTcHaT on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:01 am

sorry for being noob btw how does the alfa/civic dominator rear handle works ? cant see handle on the outside from the pic :)

• weili on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:05 am

Honda always produced hot n powerful car. Y not our national car learn from them about the secret of success???

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:24 am

cHiTcHaT said,

December 13, 2005 @ 6:01 pm

sorry for being noob btw how does the alfa/civic dominator rear handle works ? cant see handle on the outside from the pic

————————————————————–

The rear handle is located at the 'quarter light'ish area towards the end of the rear window. Look closely at the 6th pic, you'll notice the rear handle there.

I'm not too fond of the side skirts, and the rear diffuser though. But overal, wicked!

• kancil_driver on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:36 am

gen2 face?

• paradoxx on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:54 am

holy camoly!… one sizzling hot civic..

• pendek on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:58 am

hoah!

remove the honda's logo and nobody know this is honda! might as well put some waja's logo up there…

heheh

• Isamu on Dec 14, 2005 at 3:24 am

Honda Integra = Softcore Widowmaker..

Mugen Civic Dominator = Hardcore Widowmaker..

If this machines goes on sale, it will almost definitely be Limited Edition because it bears a Mugen badge instead of Honda. Those who can't afford a Mugen will buy the Honda.

Funny scenario here, "I can't afford/get the Civic, that's why I bought the Integra".. hahaha..

• Stevarac on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:11 am

It seemed that Savvy is setting the trend of center exhaust to the world.

I predict the next trend will be Waja's rear lamp and G-2 inner door handle and sport rims.

• Stevarac on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:15 am

Oh ! I forgot :- WAY TO GO PROTON DESIGN ENGINE-NEAR!!!

THE EUROPEAN LOVES YOU.

THE AMERICAN ADORES YOU.

THE JAPS IDOLISED YOU.

MALAYSIA SCRAPYARD NEEDS YOU…..AHAK AHAK AHAK …..

• damion on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:40 am

OK, some insider news…

as this is a concept model for MUGEN to display in next year's TAS (Tokyo Auto Salon), most people might be saying that most concept models never make it to reality…

for example: Legend Max, Fit Dynamite…

but there's a few things that has been confirmed thou,

the SC kit will be on sale next year… expect prices to be super killers.. think thousands..

and those rear wings might be on sale also.. TBC…

and as most of you might already know, the base model for this Dominator will be the same model civic going on sale next year in M`sia…

available would be the 1.8 iVtec engine…

but, the goodies will be a few months later…

where they'll be launching the 2.0 iVtec series…

the 2.0 will have uprated rims + tyres… not forgetting HID…

suspension tuning will be expected to be tweaked to handle the extra weight of the engine and give a slightly biased performance against ride comfort..

but, i don't think people who's eyeing the 2.0 would mind.. ;)

on a side note, this civic model also represents the OFFICIAL END of the Type R models…

it seems that Honda is having a problem superceeding their latest base model..

• that a car industry, bring up the good thing!.

we like it!. more…. more n more…!

• peter on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:27 am

Looks nice. I like the door handles at the back, like the hatch. Personally I didn't like the sedan civic at the start, but now that I've seen a few on the road here in Thailand it's actually a very slick machine. Looking forward to seeing a few tuned versions soon. I think it's clean lines will lend well to modifications. :-) Good to see that Civics are cool again.

• gegaoff on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:38 am

paul, got interior pic?

• Jerry on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:04 am

excellent!

• E-nabill on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:23 am

295bhp on front wheel drive is not a perfect handling car…i dont tink front wheels can cope with that much of power….bt i jus luv red and black color…very yummy!

• E-nabill: if this ever goes into production let's hope it has SH-AWD. Anyway I think it's fine, VTEC engines don't have much torque anyway.

• damion on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:49 am

Paul, test drove the 2.4 stock variant of accord before? *grins*

• not bad……………

• lalanuni on Dec 14, 2005 at 8:06 am

Paul, thks for providing these magnificent pics! u r the GREAT!..lolz

• cbljkkj on Dec 14, 2005 at 8:44 am

The rear lights look too crazy to me. The rest of the car makes up for it. So far the third best looking Honda I have ever seen. First is the NSX and second is the S2000. Looks better than the "fat" rear SRM. At least this car looks good enough to drive.

• wafiess on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:20 am

wahlao .. so nice .. better than Evo X

• mynus on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:22 am

Stevarac said,

December 13, 2005 @ 8:11 pm

It seemed that Savvy is setting the trend of center exhaust to the world.

I predict the next trend will be Waja’s rear lamp and G-2 inner door handle and sport rims.

—————————————-

hmmm… Porsche Boxster????

• Justin_vspec on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:51 am

yummy!! I want one!! Looks much more nicer than the standard new Civic..Also a first for honda using superchargers on their engines??

• endlessrain on Dec 14, 2005 at 11:27 am

herm… remind me of Opel Astra V8 that race along merc n audi in DTM

• DeCosby on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:26 pm

Impressive

• supercharged honda's? hehehe maybe they have seen Best motoring(american touge) back several month ago when that time they tested american tuning on japanese cars. On that series they showed a supercharged NSX and S2000. But the odd thing is, the charger in US now days look(shaped) like turbos turbin and they dont make sound like the old charger.(zeet zeet sound when you press the excelarator).

but anyway its damn cun la….

• evo…..maaa

• Michael Chua on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:05 pm

Lovely :) 6-speed supercharged manual transmission? Lagi lovely :)

• Traliccio on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Looks very2 'garang' and the rear look like "surpising"

• Another powerful FWD Honda?? 295hp thru the front wheels? **Yawn** great for poseurs tho. Why doesn't anyone make em like S15s anymore??

• Nameless on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:09 pm

I wana own this car,When,When,…………..When i can own this???

• gooseman on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:31 pm

Daaaaammmnnnnnnnnnnnnnn sweeettt baby…. I' in loveee……

• Yeah look a bit like Astra.

• ApplebinOrange on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:37 pm

superb man.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 14, 2005 at 10:38 pm

takda ke yang nak KUTUK EKZOS KAT TENGAH TUH!??? (asking loudly!!!)

eeerr.. spoiler look similiar to evo.

Good design overall ..

paul? No interior view kah?

• This is a good one. No doubt on it. But we need to wait and see on the reliability. If it can surpass the standars of the current Civic….i don't see why this would not be the world best car in the 1800 cc category except for Lotus Exige RR.

Well Done Civic…Proton oh Proton time is running…technology is changing and the people are giving up…….So pls do something about it. Most Malaysians are already going for Vios, Avanza, Hyundai, Kia, City and soon to be the Civic.

I'll be interested in this Civic as well. Waiting for the first badge to arrive…

Well done Honda !

• Kampung2005 on Dec 15, 2005 at 12:25 am

300 PS on FF car????

that's torque steer!

• holankan on Dec 15, 2005 at 2:12 am

when release in Malaysia???

• now days japanese go more on to supercharge then turbo.

supercharge r more lasting then turbo n not much maintaining thing comparing to turbo. is a good news n good thing to go on.

• wow!!!!!dam nice lah man,the new civic!well done honda!

• good design. waht is the price?

• Pro-Tun on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:24 am

Holy mother of god!!! Paul, you actually make me drool, man.

Eh Paul, if I get "durian runtuh" I belanja you, air tickets lah! Ok?

• Sexythang on Dec 15, 2005 at 11:32 am

nice pics there. i agree it looks like evo from certain angles.

i agree…..300bhp could really smoke the wheels…..im thinking some traction control and slick suspension is in place.

hope they dont kill the integra r. thats a type r brand defining model for honda.

looks like turbo and superchargers are on the rise now.

• Must have been design by Europeans.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:33 pm

The rear door like Alfa 156.

• fuk the rear door watsoever

• Mugen are back in business? If I'm not mistaken they went bust when honda grandson (is it?) cheated on taxes and went to jail.

This car is nothing but parts that create huge amout of drag.. only make the car go slower. Gimme a stock one please.

• damion on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:51 am

guys.. kindly read properly..

its a concept car leh… :P

• gazard on Dec 16, 2005 at 6:09 pm

I'm in love wif this red devil too. ^_^

• benunited on Dec 16, 2005 at 11:31 pm

simply outstanding………8.5/10

• nikalas on Dec 17, 2005 at 12:11 am

wallla …evo + honda

• Holy crap. This beauty is soo pretty. Hopes she will hit our shore if they gonna distribute her.

• albagmane on Dec 18, 2005 at 8:05 pm

goshhhh!!!! my favourite honda has finally become a superking!!! this car will certainly melt other japanese sedan cars..

• batman on Dec 19, 2005 at 9:41 pm

macam waja je…geli aku

• batman on Dec 19, 2005 at 9:44 pm

macam GEN2 pun ada ….

• adenan on Dec 21, 2005 at 1:04 am

i have to replace my civic…when will lunch here..

• geez weez…

this is a first for honda using a supercharger. knew it that they would eventually reach this stage where NA engines reach their power limit. so slap on a supercharger and voila…

the car is lovely and it makes me drool too. but unfortunately, it still remains a concept. the chances are pretty slim for it to go into production. if it comes out, it will be very close to the NSX, and might even threaten type-r. so honda will have to study the market and its conditions properly and do their homework if they seriously want to produce this babe.

all in all, kudos to honda. i hope that more performance cars from honda will use the supercharger in the near future to catch up with turboed and more powerful rivals. way to go.

• i l0VeD c@r on Dec 30, 2005 at 3:28 am

its look sportier than the old model..

• Tyler on Jan 03, 2006 at 12:05 pm

In other pictures i've seen the inner part of the spoiler looks to be Carbon Fiber. And as for the inside of the car it was racing seats in the front and rear. But people are saying that the price of this bad boy would be the same as an evo/sti. So probly about $30,000.

• I highly doubt it, but it would be awesome if they planned a North American release for the Civic Dominator. That would be something too cool for school. Why does Honda insist on ignoring US and CAN of their sports models?

• hehehe_555 (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 3:33 pm

will it come in canada ????

plz send the car 2 North America plzz!!!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 7:15 pm

LOVELY!

• Nice it shocking a civic can 300hp out of small 2.0L engine.I hope they bring the type r civic to the us in nov, but this one alote nicer.