Eliica, the 600kW electric sports car

A team of engineers at Keio University led by Professor Hiroshi Shimizu has developed this 8-wheeled electric car called the Eliica. Eliica stands for ‘Electric Lithium-Ion battery Car’ and it has some pretty impressive performance statistics.

With 600kW of power on tap, 0-100km/h only takes 4 seconds and 0-160km/h takes 7 seconds – this means it’s acceleration times are faster than a Porsche 911 Turbo. During a test on the Nardo high-speed test track in Italy, the Eliica managed to record a top speed of 370km/h, though theoretically it could touch 400km/h on smoother roads. What makes this car excellent on windy tracks is it runs on a single gear, so acceleration is very linear.

The Eliica is more than 5 meters long, shaped like a bullet and stores it’s batteries and motors low in the chassis, creating a low centre of gravity. It is also low for maximum aerodynamic efficiency, which means headroom is limited. No one taller than 178cm can fit in the car which rules me out since I’m about 181cm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T on Dec 20, 2005 at 10:20 pm

heh. Looks like a Citroen DS….accept with more wheels.

The DS is waaaay ahead of its time..haha..even in the looks department.

• Marmitecrab on Dec 20, 2005 at 10:47 pm

The shape of things to come.

Hopefully, we'll get nuclear powered cars next time. Imagine, no need to refuel for 30 years. Just make sure it's safe enough for road use. Don't want mini nuclear explosions going off everywhere.

Hehehe!

• rikeys on Dec 20, 2005 at 11:00 pm

days of those Tamiya RC cars are near! we can shoot off from the green lights like cartoon cars then! hehehe lets start putting our investment money on battery makers!

• blackhead on Dec 21, 2005 at 12:11 am

eh… look like my daughter's toy lol

• @ bong on Dec 21, 2005 at 1:17 am

hehe, i'm also 181cm…. so give me the car also can't drive. Merry Christmas!!

• epalhead on Dec 21, 2005 at 1:28 am

merry chrisrmas

• Nice performance figures. Shame it looks (and probably handles) like a big silver turd though.

• Marmitecrab on Dec 21, 2005 at 4:32 am

Actually, it looks a bit like the old puppet TV show, Thunderbirds. Anyone old enough to remember it?

Check out this picture, it may jog your memories: http://www.starstore.com/acatalog/fab_1_L.gif

• E-nabill on Dec 21, 2005 at 4:51 am

wats with those high power electrical cars…pointless…wats the rational behind using so many sheels anyway??mor friction,more grip??

• E-nabill on Dec 21, 2005 at 4:51 am

oopps i meant wheels…

• Spyder on Dec 21, 2005 at 8:17 am

I think the more wheels the more outlet for the car's power to be transfered to the road..

• Errr…same with that thunderbird car lar…except if it in gold colour…sure sama!..can the motors fit to my scooter tak?…0-160km/h in 7 seconds…no need to buy a superbike lar….

• i actually saw this car on NHK quite some time ago in the morning. didnt understand a word so i did not know what it was called (nor did i know it was an electric car). they should side by side comparisons of a porche, and the ellica kicked its ass…

it was morning so i was feeling pretty groggy too. NHK is on astro :P

• erm "showed" instead of should

• Michael Chua on Dec 21, 2005 at 9:51 pm

Isn't it wonderful to be able to drive so fast without using a single drop of petrol?

• Of course its wonderful to drive without using single drop of petrol, but the 'broom..broom' factor missing ler…the smoke etc…cars wouldn be the same…it gonna sound like a whirring sewing machine. bro!..imagine a ferrari with that….well, if fuel gonna be $$$…this is the only solution…i think…we just have to follow the change…

• revver on Dec 22, 2005 at 6:02 pm

would ah beng and chicks get in to this car?

• kenit on Dec 22, 2005 at 6:19 pm

Cute….Seem like cockroach.

• Wow… 800bhp and 370km/h pretty impressive for an electric car. But it begs the question, how long will the battery last before next recharge? I bet the car only hit 370km/h because after that the battery went dead.

• who_cares on Dec 27, 2005 at 9:34 am

Battery last only for a few seconds…right after acceleration. Best thing to do…bring your own jumper cable and pull over the next car coming on your way to get recharge lol.

PS it does look like an insect

• rexis on Dec 30, 2005 at 11:37 pm

Lolz, first time i heard people comparing this kereta to a ka-zat(cockroach), and in fact, it is looks like one, and its a cute one. This is only a concept car actually, since the biggest puzzle for an electric car: battery, is yet to be solved. We only need a battery power source that is cheap, mobile, hi-capacity and light.

• shaymen on Jan 04, 2006 at 7:20 pm

good to see japanese r moving ahead…proton will now only do rebadge like p2 and naza n the whole shit from korea cos proton chairman wants to be like ikea..essembly in malaysia…go proton holdings