2006 Nissan Bluebird Sylphy

UPDATE: The Nissan Sylphy has been launched in Malaysia! Two model variants are available, both with 2.0L engines. Click to read more and find out details and pricing.

Nissan has launched it’s Nissan Bluebird Sylphy mid-sized luxury sedan in Japan, targetted at today’s executive woman, focusing on hospitality and care in mind.

The new Nissan Bluebird Sylphy is full of conveniences aimed at a lady driver. What Nissan observed is the trend is for lady drivers to generally buy mini MPV or K-car type of vehicles. With the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy, Nissan hopes to attract executive ladies to sedans instead.

According to Nissan, interior and exterior styling has been suited to a lady’s tastes. The interior has a ‘super console’ with 9.7 litres of storage space – large enough to store a large handbag, drink bottles, cellphones and a few CDs.

The car comes with two engine options, both jointly developed with Renault. The low-end option is the HR15DE 1.5 litre, which makes around 109ps at 6000rpm and 15.1kg/m torque at 4400rpm. The higher spec car has the MR20DE 2.0 litre, which makes 129ps at 5200rpm and 19.1 kg/m torque at 4000rpm. What’s nice about the MR20DE is that 90% of it’s maximum torque is available from a low cruising speed of 2000rpm. The MR20DE is also mated to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT transmission.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Paul… will Tan Chong bring in this model…. they stop bluebird models in Malaysia and concentrate on Cefiro. We have to wait to see Tan Chong is keen on this car, well of course the malaysia demand and $$.

• Sharfox on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:21 pm

This will also suit male drivers as well.

• revver on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:24 pm

butt is okay, interior is a mix-match of audi and lexus but just nice.

the front? #!**s&!!%f!?…..**!xxx!!!!

• endlessrain on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:36 pm

front taken a bit form skyline v6 i presume

• Restoll on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:45 pm

I remember the earlier slyphy is actually nissan sentra which is available here, just some cosmetic changes done. This model however looks a bit different.

• pendek on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:48 pm

bluebird for woman? heheh kewl!

is this blue birds RWD ?

then we can get ladies drifting champoinship in sepang!

• Dominic on Dec 22, 2005 at 8:55 pm

i agree wif revver, overall of this car is ok juz the front. maybe the real car would be nicer. hope tan chong motor would bring in this car.

• the headlights looks CLS-ish

bluebird… in hokkien .. it just sounds funny :P

• Is this really a woman's car? I think they underestimate the emotional motivations of a lady – win their hearts, and their minds will follow. Sell them something as impactful and sexyas a Mini, and they ll go figure where to put their "large handbags" themselves.

My feel of it is that they got confused halfway; they probably had this kinda conversation somewhere during development.."Lets build a real lady's choice, something they would want and want bad! Ya ya.. but er, hey what if the female market doesnt have enough numbers? i think we gotta make it serious enough for executive males. And oh oh.. big market for young families – maybe that too… And hey dont forget the…."

That kinda thing. And this is the result. A (yet another) sedate sedan. It is neither sexy nor handsome nor exciting.

And is it just me or am i the only one that finds the name 'Bluebird' a tad… stupid. I mean how bout a Browndog, or a Blackcow or a Redfish….

Nissan got this one wrong.

• Michael Chua on Dec 22, 2005 at 10:12 pm

Nissan already had the Bluebird many years ago. The last Bluebird model which Singapore saw was the SSS. Somehow its butt reminds me of the Toyota Corolla Altis and the Honda Accord i-VTEC.

• epalhead on Dec 22, 2005 at 10:15 pm

i like this car.

• waimak on Dec 22, 2005 at 10:20 pm

I think with the general Malaysians going after sporty-looking exterior, the rather radical front light might be not put the sale (if ever this car come here) on the right chart.

• narrowband on Dec 22, 2005 at 10:31 pm

Why so sexist ah. It (target consumers) shouldn't be biased towards women only what.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 22, 2005 at 10:35 pm

This car will looked good whether driven by male or female.

What lar Nissan.!!

• front seats looks to be damn comfortable to be in!!

• Bluebird,

I trusted the old model of bluebird..still running strong..SSS or U12..those people with SR20 engines must have great experience.

good time Nissan introduce new model..doesnt really bother for man or woman..bottom line is $$$

• chicago_boys on Dec 22, 2005 at 11:09 pm

narrowband: mate… it is market segmentation and has nothing to do with sexism. pls refer to philip kotler's marketing 100 for more info on segmentation.

aik: nissan does not work on emotions or PMS. they conduct market research in many levels of the consumers and examine the consumer's behaviour before they begin. mate, i found your comment rather amusing as how you regard women as retards. today's women have bigger likes for bigger and sytlish cars. i've seen many female execs driving holden monaro. so how bout tat, mate? 1 more thing, there is nothing wrong with the name bluebird aka aoi tori as the japs liken it in their culture. so as malays likes the whole genre of deer, mousedeer and antelope. maybe you do get it yourself wrong.

go get yourself a beer and hot dogs… cheers

• cyrixMX on Dec 22, 2005 at 11:11 pm

Looks like a hybrid of Altis, Mazda6, current Nissan sentra and interior of a Benz W124

• targetted to women? bah.

in the beginning, the BMW 6 Series also targetted to women la..

but still, this is a different class and status buy altogether. hehe

• E-Nabill on Dec 23, 2005 at 12:35 am

i tink thy already sell this in singapore , bt a 2 litre producing 129ps is abit down on power i tink , same like sentra to me…abit boring…thy r too scared to adventure with the styling…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Dec 23, 2005 at 2:19 am

Is it? I think the front is rather nice.

I'd consider it if and ONLY if. – Someone gave me this car. =)

• front end looks like lamciao (blubird in hokkien). hate the beige interior. this one is strictly for MILF buyers. i still lup my previous N16.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 23, 2005 at 2:34 am

This car looked way better than Honda City…

I wouldn't mind buying…

• keniji on Dec 23, 2005 at 2:35 am

price is RM 60k in japan!

• nohiddenagenda on Dec 23, 2005 at 2:39 am

when will tiana start selling in Malaysia?

saw singaporean version few times already

malaysia always late getting the new car models unlike our neighbouring countries except only from two car manufacturer, p1 n p2.

• Girls wont like it. 100%. They rather go Vios.

• stevarac on Dec 23, 2005 at 3:17 am

I find the front grilled is nicely match with the car. The beige colour interior has the spacious & serene look.

Good family sedan , I believe.

• overall quite a nice car and i dun think it is mainly for ladies, i guess even male drive this is not a problem rite? but the front of this car is totally $&*%*^%*$&$ wat's with the designer? LOL

the front looks so stupid!

• driver on Dec 23, 2005 at 4:22 am

I don't mind driving this lady's car as well, just make sure the price is right.

• 1.5 ? Seems to be quite underpowered. And nissan is so stupid to call it a ladies car. I don't think ladies will like it much and all the men who are interested in it won't buy it because they will be embarrest to drive a "laddies car". Nissan should have just lauched it is an affordable family sedan.

• Bluebird wont hav any appeal in Msia …especially to hokkiens , Blue bird in hokkien is ' lan ciau ' . Men would not want to buy a lanciau car while women would be too embarresed to be seen in one .

the 1st thing nissan has to do is to change the name . Nissan Silverbird ..perhaps

• it nice by look at it whit a class!. strong n gentle whit confident look!

• @ bong on Dec 23, 2005 at 8:50 am

bluebird for women, fairlady for men. Nissan is quite artistic in giving name

• its me on Dec 23, 2005 at 9:19 am

its nice.I always love nissan.I used to drive the N13 for 15 years.the new sentra with nismo kit is a good car.this car is moderate.I would buy this if they sell the 1.5 for 70-75K.Who's with me?I want the blue color one.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:10 am

I think pink and the front is nice , really!

I'd have this over the VIOS, anytime. Providing it's in the same price range.. And the air-cond vents sucks.. Can't they just align it horizontally?

• albagmane on Dec 23, 2005 at 5:58 pm

gosh.. this car is great.. the specs is great too.. i wonder how it looks if it equips with nismo car kits.. delicious!

• batman on Dec 23, 2005 at 6:02 pm

front looks like MERCEDES BENZ

unregistered toyota camry get burn
    http://autoworld.com.my
    ….cammry pun terbakar…beb…!! lebih 100K tu..punya keato…..lebih 20thn operasi…..aaamacam..??

• Michael Chua on Dec 23, 2005 at 6:29 pm

The old Bluebird which we had in Singapore was replaced with the short-lived Primera.

• batman: what has the bluebird to do with burned camrys? stop trying to steer the conversation off course.

• wow..wat a nice car!nice interior! The girl come with car right?

• chicago_boys,

rather amusing how you keep referring to me as a 'mate', when your nick makes reference to an american city:)

i digress.

nissan does not work on emotions or pms. i beg to differ. As much homework they do, and as much as our learnings on motivations and behaviour tells us, they are interpreted and more importantly decisions based on them, are made by people (most of the time, 1 big datuk-person). And people are fallible. As i am too. Besides, its not the first time that end products have deviated from its original intention and development brief. now this may not translate to failure necessarily (the 1st SLK was never designed with women in mind primarily, but it translated to much success amongst them) but thats beside the point. The bluebird, if it did have women in mind during conception, has lost the plot. My opinion stands on that, but i also think it will be successful purely because it seems like a pretty handsome 4 box sedan and space is a practical benefit that appeals to many in that segment. It will sell to middle class, 2.5 kid families.

It wasnt my intention to imply women as retards. As a matter a fact, i am more retarded than women (caveat: only when i'm on the road. i d like to think i m not handicapped the rest of my days). Yes women have interests in compacts, coupes, drop-tops, monsta mpvs, soccer mom wagons, etc etc etc. I m not denying that. It doesnt change the fact that i think women are about aesthetics and style, and are willing to compromise on practicality (except said soccer moms). At least they DESIRE that, i d feel. Matter a fact, I desire that. Dont you? Now the only difference, is our interpretation of auto aesthetics – as much as you and i may appreciate the skyline's butch styling, the majority of women may not. I wont pretend to have done my homework with women's preference on auto styling/ motivations/ behaviour, but they probably express in quite differently that what is provided by our Nissan Bluebird. In sum, women are more emotional-biased than men are (in general – stereotypes work) and to really design a car for women, you d have to at least concede that to be true.. Dont take me literally, but do take a moment to reflect on the success of designed goods and maybe my point would see some light.

I have a personal dislike for un-romanticized animal names. It is characterless and an easy way out. Build a tough car – rhino. Build a pretty, ditzy, cutey car – bumblebee. Build a all-weather 4WD – Croc (*snicker)… ya ya.. i mean Diablo and Gallardos have origins of animals, but hey it's a name of an animal that had famous battles in the arena. Now that has got some character.

Look, the Bluebird i believe is a decent alt to your Vios/ City, or the Altis/ Civic (depending on price cat). I m not knocking the bluebird as a car. All i m saying is:

a) It is not a THE choice for women per se. Neither should it be positioned as such.

b) The name sucks. It is unimaginative, but if its about historical equity, then perhaps i do not understand the history of the bluebird. My bad

c) Unless you re australian, refrain from using 'mate'.

:)

• Bedus_tz on Dec 24, 2005 at 5:27 pm

tumbs up 4 Nissan….

really can't wait to launched in Malaysia…

Look's likes skyline(front)…..ok what, for those can't afford to buy the ori skyline.

overall i will said, Nissan plz launched this model but try to keep the price below 75K for 1.5cc.

• crazylogy on Dec 24, 2005 at 7:01 pm

Looking back at our local car industry… made it clear that I am not kicking M'sia products here. Just that Civic has made several exterior major changes, Sentral was challenged but has fought back with its new look, Corolla did some minor changes but yet Waja is still the same. It just can be challenge with the '99~'01 Civic, Corolla and Sentral…. but well its just me.

• This thing is a mixed bag. A small, compact saloon, with large executive saloon styling. WTF is that? small, compact saloons should have energetic styling, styling with momentums. This is like a mini cefiro.

• revver on Dec 25, 2005 at 10:37 pm

thumbs up to nissan,nice here,nice there bla,bla,bla… by the time it comes to the number sale suddenly it became so lame. Nissan got to get a new designer.Pity the marvellous engine.

• Defenitely the new sentra (looks similar in size and porpotions). Now i know why the previous sylphy in Japan didnt have the facelift like malaysian sentra. They skip it and built an all new model!!!

And these japanese marketing dept, are they high on crack to call a car sylphy? Luckily they didnt sell the car with the same name because I bet if they use that name worldwide, the 1st thought that comes to ppl mind is syphilis. Hahahaha….

• Don't like the front headlamp.

• Xoomie on Dec 28, 2005 at 12:03 am

I love looking it from every angle..

Proportionately nice! Especially the head lamp..

If TCM sells 1500cc at around RM60k plus, I'll book one.!

• bleagh on Dec 28, 2005 at 1:58 am

I think it looks like a shrunken cefiro, and that's a compliment

• BOYRACER on Dec 29, 2005 at 12:25 am

Nice car inside out.But what i dont understand is,it said "targetted for today's executive woman,focusing on hospitality and care in mind.Just what's that suppose to mean?Does the car makes the lady driver more hospitable and caring when they drive or is it the car itself is hospitable and caring towards its drivers?If its the latter then it should be targetted to all malaysian drivers.If its the former,then hope more ladies will buy it.

Why cant they just simply put it this way,targetted for today's demanding family

man,focusing on safety and value for money.

just my 2 cents worth.

cheerios

• BOYRACER on Dec 30, 2005 at 2:52 am

Nice car inside out.But i dont understand what it means by "targetted at today's executive woman,focusing on hospitality and care in mind".

Does it makes the woman who drives it more hospitable and caring once they drives it?Or the car itself is hospitable and caring towards its drivers?

I dont seem to be able to figure it out.

Can anyone help out here?

Just my 2 cents worth.

cheerios

• i l0VeD c@r on Dec 30, 2005 at 3:18 am

its look like nissan cefiro.the interior looks very 'CLASS' but the tail light looks like hyundai sonata

tail light.

• Badrul on Jan 06, 2006 at 12:22 am

Is it the brand new Sentra model ? Yes its grill looks the same as the Sentra N16 Facelift 2 that is roaming our road now . Quite executive look . When it is coming to Malaysia then?

• I have a fan of every small to mid size Nissan reincarnation since the 1969 SSS and I'll have to say that I am dissapointed with the new Bluebird. It just seems a little too refined for me.The same goes for the Cefiro and Latio. I mean what I what is a car and not a really luxurious "living room on wheels". Weird I may be, but I would prefer something with a tinge of masculinity.

• modevi (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 12:03 am

2 thumbs up for design!

But would only seriously consider buying if it’s about S$60K for the 1.5 litre model though…anything else, and I'll consider other brands/make.

2.0 litre? When I make it to Managing Director perhaps…lol…then again, Audi would be MY dream car by then!

Btw, this is your target audience for Sylphy speaking…… ;)

• lawson88 (Member) on Mar 05, 2006 at 10:25 pm

hello guys, i just happen to browse into yr comments regarding the Sylphy,to settle your curiousity of this car which come with 1.5 & 2.0 model in Singapore.I was looking for a good car to buy as u know car is expensive here, i have test drive almost all of the popular japanses brand and I find that Sylphy is a good buy.the 2cars were at tan chong/sin since feb06 and i was called to take a peep by my friend working there.however the impression of the brochure (1 page) does not provide a fair view as compared 3D view of the car. it is planned to be launch end Mar06 / early Apr06.The first shpt wil arrive end of mar06.before the pre launch.I was rather lucky,i was impress by the first real look of the car in and out, given good quality finish,tougher than the previous model of sunny.i did not make my booking for the first visit bcos there is no test drive yet,however i was lucky the second time when my friend brought me there again and at that moment tan chong's trainer were training their sales staff on both of the car and i talked to the trainer whether we can come along to feel the car on the road.i was happy he agreed to take us along and 5 people were in the car for a drive orientation.

the engine is quiet, seats are comfortable,the good thing abt this car is the new engine as compared to the old which consume less fuel,sound of the exhaust like european made, best of it ,there is no lack of power carrying full load.the engine is 30% less in weight as compared to the old engine therefore its already a plus point.the torque graph which i studied in the internet is much better than the old engine.1.5 is mounted with 4AT & 2.0 is extronic CVT.(as u know CVT???no feel and spongy)It also has a better shock absorbing handling as compare to their competitor(not to mention brand).basically the car need not slow down much when approaching humps on the road,there is "no rock and roll" just smooth ride.

The engine moving parts are polished to mirror finish to reduce friction as much so the engine will have less stress when aircon is on.mirror finished parts in engine are mostly found in sports car.keyless entry is also a plus point only found in luxury model and equipment like GPS.(2.0) ABS/etc

i have booked the 1.5 instead as it suits my needs and also it comes with a 4AT(u control the car) less expensive,lower tax /insurance.

thats is all I know abt this car.

• minami83 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 11:58 pm

hi,heard that sylphy will be launched on the 26th june in malaysia,can any one comfirm this? plus i heard that tc euro cars at berkeley, klang is offering 1.88% interest rate…is this true?

• Wisley on Apr 24, 2009 at 7:33 am

Change the logo nissan and put it Mercedess logo….it ill luks more nyc