Happy New Year 2006

I’d like to wish all my readers a happy new year. 2005 has been an interesting year for the automotive industry. Pretty exciting. We had new launches from both our largest national car manufacturers, the Perodua Myvi and the Proton Savvy. We had the controversial AP Saga involving Rafidah Aziz, Tun Dr. M and the AP Kings. A new National Automotive Policy. We saw Proton undergo a major management change, and the possibility of a take-over by Volkswagen AG.

Let’s hope 2006 will bring us more exciting developments. I’m sure everyone is eagerly awaiting the new Proton Satria Replacement Model. Sightings of a K-car being test driven which might be a Perodua have also been spotted, though these are all just speculations.

Petrol prices have gone up multiple times this year and currently stands at 1.62 a litre for RON97. There are speculations of another hike REAL soon, so be sure to adjust your finances in preparation for it.

As for imported makes, I think a replacement for the current Honda Civic is also due very soon since if I recall correctly, they’ve stopped production of the older 1.7 VTEC and 2.0 i-VTEC models to clear out the stock. No immediate indications of an update for the Altis or Camry yet. The Accord has been facelifted in Japan and the US but not in Malaysia, fine by me as I don’t like the new facelift anyway. The Sentra has been facelifted again. Nissan has to do alot better than this for their sedans. They seem to be focusing on the X-Trail and the Frontier for the moment. They still don’t have a proper competitor for the City and the Vios. Both the City and Vios have been facelifted in 2005.

Happy trails and enjoy 2005’s last night, wherever you may be spending it. I’m likely going to spend it at home. Already partied enough last night at the Malaysian Press Club’s pre-New Year party. Remember, don’t drink and drive. I’ve had my fair share of that experience.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G93-SC on Jan 01, 2006 at 4:48 am

HaPpY neW yeaR Paul!!!

I hope year 2006, u can provide us more info on the upcoming models…….

Thnks…… May the force be with you……Rise!!!! Hehehehehe

• cyrixMX on Jan 01, 2006 at 4:56 am

HAPPY NEW YEAR and GONG XI FA CAI!

• stevarac on Jan 01, 2006 at 5:13 am

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE !!

Have a nice & productive year ahead.

• Chorwin on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:03 am

Happy New Year, PaulTan. Thank for your great blog!!!!!

Keep on with your great work and will keep supporting you, Guru of Malaysia Blog.

• keniji on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:36 am

thanks for info.

keep up the good JOBS!!!!!!!!

• lanaibeach on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:36 am

cheers for the last day

tomorrow something new

tonight looking at the stars

see any magic coming

in the sky

Happy New Year to you!

lanai 31/12/05 10.36pm

• terenceloh on Jan 01, 2006 at 7:13 am

Happy New Year! Great stuffs, keep it up.

• blackhead on Jan 01, 2006 at 8:40 am

happy new year guys ^^

• narrowband on Jan 01, 2006 at 9:19 am

Happy new year to everyone.

Such a great blog this is. I visit here more often than i visit my own blog.

• happy new year

keep up the good work and hopefully more goodies are in store for us this year

• neurra on Jan 01, 2006 at 11:02 am

happy new year my great source of automotive news updates..! keep up the good work~

• jakesky on Jan 01, 2006 at 11:40 am

happy happy new year.

thanks paul for havin this great blog up.

god bless

• jo jo pot on Jan 01, 2006 at 5:58 pm

Happy New Year …to all haters and lovers

• diabloCruiser on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:26 pm

Happy New Year 2006 !!! to all the car savvies here……..and also to paultan for letting us all here understand cars more ! Cheers…….Wishing you all a great year ahead !

• Handsfree on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:42 pm

Happi 2006 to all freinds out there…..

hope this 2006 will bring all of us a better n safe year in study,,, working or business,,,,

good luck

• WISHING YOU A VERY HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR.

Is there any kembara replacement model year 2006 or year 2007? Please keep the reader updated. Thanks. God bless you.

• damion on Jan 01, 2006 at 9:24 pm

Happy New Year to Paul and all of the readers here.. ;)

btw, uncorfirmed sources revealed that the SRM might be launched this month..

although, there hasn't been news of any schedule yet…

• biggie on Jan 01, 2006 at 9:42 pm

i actually a little sad that Proton changing its direction when it matters. as Proton do have a line up of ‘own’ cars now rather then rebadged car. In fact I look fwd then to 2006 where Proton concentrate on niche market (young sporty) and leave the rest to P2/Naza. Drop the rebadge model … or ask someone to mfr for them e.g. Indon or DRB. and concentrate on improving own model Waja/Gen2/Savvy

Whatever spare capacity it has then should be use by VW and Mitsu. Thus volume is not a factor anymore.

Else we have many bland looking cars on the road.. one that rightly blown up by Jeremy.

Btw MV Augusta purchase do not give any significant returns as P1 or TM busy with boardroom tussle and do not have the time to look into how relationhip betwen P1 and MV Augusta should be conducted.

Happy New Year.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:55 am

Happy New Year to all…

Hope 2006's rot wont be as quick as 2005's…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:58 am

wow, biggie, do u really need to copy and paste ur words accross the whole blog?

• revver on Jan 02, 2006 at 3:13 am

happy,happy,happy new year paul.

thank you and keep the good job providing the lattest. God bless you.

• savoc on Jan 02, 2006 at 3:17 am

happy new year from Savvy Owners Club

www.savoc.net

AGAINST ALL ODDS

• iQBaL on Jan 02, 2006 at 3:26 am

Happy New Year….all three of 'em!!

• Levin on Jan 02, 2006 at 5:59 am

Happy New Year to Paul and all readers.

By the way, Paul, you forgot to mention the new facelifted Vios as well. The '06 facelift is already on the roads.

• pendek on Jan 02, 2006 at 6:18 pm

i 0wNz J00

Happy New Year!

• Xoomie on Jan 02, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Happy New Year to u Paul & the rest…..

Good Luck

• Long Dong Silver on Jan 02, 2006 at 9:29 pm

Happy New Year…yeah right…………..2006 will be the year of price increases so I don't see any reasons to be feeling "happy"

• Quit Smoking on Jan 03, 2006 at 1:16 am

Happy New Year!

• trav da man on Jan 03, 2006 at 3:50 am

hope this is not too late to wish all of u a happy new year 2006

hope for the best for 2006!

may 2006 be a great year for automotive as well!

• Jelly on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:39 am

Happy New Year All!!!

• adamckc on Jan 03, 2006 at 6:23 am

i love your blog paul. may i salute and express my appreciation of what u have done for all of us the car lovers…

i love u paul.. may i start to cry now.. have a great year ahead..

• albagmane on Jan 03, 2006 at 7:12 am

gosh… happy new year 2006.. hope this year wont be full of disasters..

• biggie on Jan 03, 2006 at 4:38 pm

hatuk,

i just felt its more appropriate here.

Anyway congratulations Paul for the great blog

• Errr..hapy belated new year….i spend the new year eve..lepak rumah ler….HAPPY YEAR 2006! to all!

• zerocool on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:46 pm

HAPPY (belated) NEW YEAR to all!!!!

• muthu on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:47 pm

happy new year……

• pycazu on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:48 pm

Happy New Year… But pity me to wait for Myvi across year, it's still long in the list though…:(

Hopefully year 06 come the Toyota long-awaited n mystery new car – Vitz or Yaris maybe, in reasonable price! Surely i'll drop the *&^*@ Myvi booking, haha…

Thanks to Paul for having this ground for us to know more the progress of bolehland automotive and yet those under cover. It's much more entertaining n updated compared to any other media – newspaper, TV etc…

Regarding petrol price up issue, we at least save for 3 days now, cheers to poor Malaysians…

• Michael Chua on Jan 03, 2006 at 6:13 pm

R u a fan of Hellsing? U used Alucard's picture as your avatar :)

• repsol on Jan 03, 2006 at 8:12 pm

happy new year to all forumers,..

wishing u all da best

• SEE FU on Jan 03, 2006 at 8:39 pm

Happy DOG year!!

2006, soon will be….GONG XI FA CHAI!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Why so fast one!

• hail to CRP, paul! :P

• suanie on Jan 04, 2006 at 2:25 am

z0mg i need car news updates PLEASEEEEEEEEEEE update!! kthxbai

• gegaoff on Jan 05, 2006 at 4:48 am

hei everybody!! just back from johor bahru… no chance to touch computer. miss u guys!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!

cheerss…

• Happy New Year, hope Proton will do well this year … can't wait to see the SRM.. cherio

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 7:01 pm

happy and sad new year to all malaysian who believe in p lah….