2006 Honda Civic Spyshots in Malaysia

Looks like the new 2006 Honda Civic is set to be on Malaysian roads pretty soon. These spy shots were sent in by a reader, and apparently they were shot being test driven in Shah Alam.

Minimal camouflage with only some black strips on the sides of the cars and the rear light cluster covered up. There are also no badges on the car, but the shape is just too recognisable! From the looks of it so far, we’re definitely getting the JDM model as opposed to the USDM model.

Twin tailpipe, nice! The potential for this new car’s aesthetics are amazing, as shown by Mugen with their Dominator Concept.

No news on the launch date yet, but if you have anything interesting like spyshots to contribute, shoot me an email using the contact form.

Related 2006 Honda Civic posts:

2006 Honda Civic in Malaysia – Front Spyshot
2006 Honda Civic spyshot in Malaysia – rear profile
Honda Civic Hybrid Modulo Concept
Mugen Honda Civic Dominator Concept
2006 Honda Civic Modulo
2006 Honda Civic JDM
2006 Honda Civic USDM

Test Drive:
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• WL (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 4:13 am

This is definately what we gonna get cos' I recognised the rims. This one is Honda Civic 1.8. The 2.0 one comes with 10 spokes.

• alamak (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:10 am

Nice! The back looks like BMW! haha.. anyone knows when this will be launch in KL?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:11 am

wonder how much is the otr price will be… since our new NAP is still not showing its nose stick (batang hidung)

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:57 am

nice one but as i always expected……..it will be super expensive.

• shooter (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:34 am

it looks pretty much o.k., but i think the coupe has a more balanced look, i hpoe to God someone brings it(coupe) in.

• BoOtY_MaN (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 8:21 am

yucckkksssss!!! hahaha.. doesn't look appealing at all. was expecting more..

• purity (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 8:55 am

i like!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 9:08 am

by the way, no interior pics u can trawl from the net paul? would it be same as the USDM one?

• MyBoy (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 11:39 am

The car look good except for its UGLY side-mirror, like the one on the new Lexus IS.

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 3:06 pm

The rear Lamps were cover by Silver Tape if I'm not mistaken. Not the final LOOK.

I predict the exterior looks will not much different from US version. (Based on Honda Accord exterior selection trend)

Just wondering Whether the latest 1.3L hybrid Engine Honda CIVIC will be launched in Malaysia or not? I hope the 1.3L Hybrid CBU unit will be available in Malaysia too.

Again ULGY REAR BUMPER look!!! :(

Also, Guess HOW MUCH, Paul any idea?

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!!

• homer (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 3:17 pm

fugly….what a waste….idiotic design for 40 – 50 age group…

• alamak (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 4:39 pm

That right homer, u should drive something younger, befitting your age… like a SAVVY! muahaha!

• yhtan (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:21 pm

The rear lamp looks like not completed,looks weird about this rear lamp.

paul,do u have the shot of the front side?

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:22 pm

I noticed there's no bee-sting antenna nor the motor ones.

I just hope its not the pull-out antenna type like the Wira !

If only I can aford it….

• revver (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:30 pm

i was hopping that we r getting the euro version. anyway paul, my awek from alor gajah honda plant said until now there was no move at all preparing to launch the new civic. usually- (she said) among the first thing to be done is stocking up their spare parts of the respective car and she got no news about it.

• johan artistry (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:37 pm

i likeeeeeeeee!!! honda is now riding ahead for the mid size sedan.. still hearing no news for new corolla. toyota did not make a move yet. maybe the sales figures of the altis did nt so encouraging but still to show the have something against the rival honda. but i d really like to buy toyota anyhow

• assimo (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:17 pm

MyBoy said,

January 11, 2006 @ 3:39 am

The car look good except for its UGLY side-mirror, like the one on the new Lexus IS.

—————————————————————

Hmmm…i thought it will using a camera like mugen concept one…huhu…BTW, cannot judge the test model looks,because not finalized yet.The rear lamp..hmm…i hope they will keep the original design..big and more safety…..

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:19 pm

OK, finally I logged on to post my comment here, must put my "thumbprint" anyway. Again, I'm quite fond on the Civic design, it've been long ago. Especially giving ride by a nice gal before. It's just remind me of really easy and nice moments ready sit on Civic. Haha… quite out of topic, but i'd like this Civic after all.

Seeing the twin pipes, I can imagine it gonna burn one's pocket a big hole…

• Oops! (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:59 pm

I like this 8th generation Civic design but some how the more I look at it, the more i feel that the rear design doesn't match the front design.

• Oops! (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:02 pm

is like the front design is telling people this message :-

" get out of my way or I rammed you over!!!"

but the back design is telling people contrary message like:-

" I'm sad today and no mood"

hehehe…just my imagination….maybe I want this babe too much!!!!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Honestly, the sedan version of the new Civic…….. nothing special. The coupe or hatchback however, excites more. Nevertheless, i noticed something recently with Jap cars.

—THEY RAN OUT OF IDEAS —

Try to put the 2006 Civic next to the 2004 2.0 Civic. One cannot help but notice, these were actually not very far apart from a few tecchy stuffs. The designs, the dimentions, the ergonomics. They aren't improving, but just added a few quirks, and then highly marketing those added stuffs.

Second, put the new IS350 against the IS200 (Altezzas); the newer Altezza doesn't look and feel as if its the replacement of the older one, with its compactness and design elements. Rather it had grown out of shape, given a modest center console, modest speedometer design and better leg rooms which compromises the promise fun in a small package theme. Its as if Toyota/Lexus puts in a 5-Series for the replacement of a 3-Series. This is highly un-inspirational and un-challenging. Of course you can make something 'better' by putting in a larger engine, larger hp output, and larger dimentions all-round the car, better boot capacity and longer leg room and more cupholders. But is that improving? especially for well-known marques such as Civics, Accords, Camry and so on? Well i guess i'm right, the Japs finally; —RAN OUT OF IDEAS—

• waimak (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:23 pm

I love driving a honda, so I dont have much to say about the performance. I'm eagar to know about the color scheme, bcos whether JDM or USMD model, the car looks very diffent to me once camouflaged with the right paint.. huhuhu :( how much doest it cost Paul?

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:31 pm

Those rear lights sure look puny ;p

• alamak (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 11:42 pm

look carefully and u can see the "car" isn't the real final car, but "masked" with tapes to make it harder for people to identify the civic..

If they have a production/protoype/test car running around shah alam… it must be getting ready for malaysia launch soon…

i'm guessing the pricing, don't think it will be very far off from their competitor's pricing… otherwise won't be competitive…

as for whether the changes is significant or not.. we will not know until it is launch…

• assimo (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 12:51 am

so many testing car on road…maybe somebody will said.."hei…thats WRM,when it will launch?…..hehe……

• catborg (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 3:35 am

honda is going backward.

no more good design except dominator :D

where's front view paul?

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 5:05 am

Stupendous work! Even the camouflage itsf cheats ppl into thinkin tatz how itz goin to look on da road. HAH!

I've booked one mysf. And I totally agree with Waimak tat different paint color wil have major impact how itz gonna look. Even d sales supervisor has no clue wat colors available, wat price range, wat interior color scheme it comes with, … ah!!!

Do hope to see & share more here! Coz bloggers here are really really "stimulating" (HAH!) & brilliant!

Btw, Hi Paul. Do u think itz okay to advertise here tat i've got a 2003 Honda City iDSI to sell very soon? ThX!

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 8:10 am

We are all going ga-ga for the Civic.

If only Mazda 3 were here, then it's a different story.

Prices could shot up above 120k, better go for 1.8Focus Ghia.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 11:07 am

yupe, Focus Ghia is really a good buy considering all the tids and tads. BUT, Ford must really try hard to win the iconic Civics and Corrolla, and its hard even with a RM10,000 advantage.

p.s. Ford Ghia's interior is even more boring than that of a Nissan Vanette's~~

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 4:34 pm

from the way the rear lights are blanked out, seems like they're the JDM spec lights.

• Oops! (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 8:00 pm

I read some other blog and they said that this beauty will be launch in the middle of March and the price range is from RM105K to RM115K. I guess the pricing is lower than Altis.

• alamak (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 8:20 pm

Maybe silver can be a bit boring as a colour option… I wonder what colours they have for Honda Civic. Anyone any idea? Maybe based on past colour option…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 8:53 pm

are you sure the price range will be around 105-115k? thats even cheaper than the current model civic. That would be very nice, but i dont think it will be that cheap. New models in malaysia always launch higher-priced than the previous model at launch.

unfortunately, according to the facts, silver is the number 1 selling colour for cars in the world. even my parents like buying cars in silver.

• Oops! (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 10:05 pm

maybe the lower price is for the manual version. i'm not too sure…well….if it true…it's good for us right…

• No.1 Honda Fan (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 10:14 pm

I heard from a friend who knows the insider from Honda that they're going to launch this beauty on Feb. Apparently there are few colours as options (definitely they will not leave out black and silver) – that benefits us as a consumer. i can't wait for the car longer – I've booked 1 and friends of mine have also told me they are gonna buy it too.

These photos may not look like Civic as it was taped but if you really look carefully by zooming in to the butt you could see that it is a Honda H sign, that's why I call myself No. 1 Honda Fan!!

WL, i agree with you! This is the Malaysia road – of coz it's what we're gonna get. I presume the SP for the car will go above RM 120K eventhough Honda would love to sell it lower – NAP!!!

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 11:44 pm

"from the way the rear lights are blanked out, seems like they’re the JDM spec lights. " – honda_driver

"These photos may not look like Civic as it was taped but if you really look carefully by zooming in to the butt you could see that it is a Honda H sign, that’s why I call myself No. 1 Honda Fan!! " – No.1 Honda Fan

—————

it only took me 0.001 second to know that this is the latest JDM Civic.

*yawn*

• wilson (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 11:53 pm

ohhh wasted that cannot get the head shot lor

i like this car

try to get the head shot

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 12:01 am

Latest insight:

22nd Feb, the Honda sales team will start attending Civic2006 sales training!

And the launching date shall not be later than 10th Mar. Well of coz an earlier date is possible.

Estimated price for 1.8 is RM120K; for 2.0 is RM135K.

Cheers!

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 12:57 am

very interesting comment xoomie.

"it only took me 0.001 second to know that this is the latest JDM Civic.

*yawn*"

so what exactly can you point out to us on the car that tells you it is the latest JDM civic?

the difference from the US spec car to the JDM spec car from the outside is very very subtle, especially from the rear end.

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 1:28 am

Xoomie is right. The shape of the rear lights is juz too obvious from a JDM, not USDM.

• No.1 Honda Fan (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 3:40 am

MarkyMark said,

Latest insight:

22nd Feb, the Honda sales team will start attending Civic2006 sales training!

And the launching date shall not be later than 10th Mar. Well of coz an earlier date is possible.

~ Do you think it's possible to do the training so late and start the launch? for my FMCG company – it takes us months to conduct trainings for the new product. And for car manufacturer – it's definitely more! I guessed they have already started their training!

—————————————————————-

Xoomie said,

it only took me 0.001 second to know that this is the latest JDM Civic.

*yawn*

– 0.001 sec is while you blink your eye and in the midst of opening it – are you blind?

—————————————————————-

'sometimes in life good things are shared but unfortunately this beauty isn't to be shared – can see cannot touch'

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:10 am

But for normal domestic cars sales I doubt their training to b long at all.

Well, No.1… could b rite. D earlier d better of coz :D

I m juz waiting when i can choose d colors.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:47 am

Noticed that the rims are meant for the 1.8 liter model. But the twin tailpipes suggest the 2.0 liter version?

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 9:28 am

Yeah tat gets us excited also! But from the beginning, all the visuals we've seen r suggesting 1.8 will hv twin tailpipes :)

• happy Co (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 11:10 am

this is call "car"……look really nice,,,,but Prices=???

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:15 pm

marky mark,

i know the lights are JDM spec. Its just that xoomie says it only takes him "0.001 second" to know the car is the jdm spec version. but he didnt say which part of the car or what distinctive detail of the car told him that its JDM spec.

i'm just curious to know if he can see something else thats different from the JDM to the US spec car other than the rear lights.

i know i'm being anal here, but he should at least explain himself rather than put a comment thats not really relevant.

• No.1 Honda Fan (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:07 pm

And yes, I know it's 1.8 but dual tailpipes. Bear in mind that what we will be getting for this 8th gen will show off both 1.8 and 2.0 with dual tailpipes. Isn't that cool??

• alamak (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Went to honda showroom, and they say can book now, but don't know final price yet! Apparently it will be launch sometime in FEB!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 6:50 pm

Wait a minute, if the 2.0 and 1.8 liter models both have almost same specs (down to the dual tailpipes), then what useful advantage will the 2.0 have over the 1.8? I can only see 2.0 advantages as having paddle shifters, side airbags, HID lights, and vehicle stability control (something like traction control), and slightly extra power/torque (but compunded by a heavier car). The 1.8 has similar performance capabilities (except for less useable torque) albeit with better fuel economy and costs at least RM10k less. Honda should've put in a more powerful engine in the 2.0.

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 10:10 am

Yo heybadigol, u r darn rite! Actually ~85% of our Singaporean neighbours who hv booked Civic2006 chose 1.8 as well. Road tax for a 1.8 car is not much more than a 1.6; & a 2.0 car will be a totally different story.

Actually SG has more choices:

1) 1.8 VTi (which is basic);

2) 1.8 VTi-S (I believe is the best to choose from, & keeping my fingers crossed that our version will be it too! :D);

3) and 2.0 SI (plus a few more luxury add-ons).

I believe they even get to choose manual or auto… Theirs r coming str8 from Japan. Ours from Melaka. An advantage to note: Faster delivery! :D

I m told by my SA tat our market will only hv 2 models: 1.8-litre & 2.0-litre. If we were to get a 1.8-litre compatible with the SG's 1.8 VTi-S, HOLY COW man!!! It will in fact come with HID headlamps!

Then a 2.0's most valued advantages over a 1.8's will be:

1) DOHC (1.8 = Single)

2) 155 hp (1.8 = 140 hp)

3) 15" ventilated discs front brakes (1.8 = 14")

4) Cruise control

5) Variable speed wipers

6) Side airbags

7) VSA

8) Tiptronic??? (Guyz/Galz, I m not sure bout tis, read it somewhere, & Pls Dun Curse :P —*** SG's 1.8 VTi-S has it also! Tiptronic paddle shift control buttons at steering! ***— )

9) Exclusive front seat design???

And Dear ALL whom hv booked urs, & always hv tis ITCH wots d colors gonna be like? Take a peek at these pix from SG. Some dude went to tis KAH Motor warehouse to snap them.

I believe d colors won't run to much here, probably d same.

Let's then share our perference of color! :D

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/plben/detail?.dir=/…

Cheers!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 2:46 am

I always thought that the new Civic looked great in white. It looks so pristine & elegant, plus it is almost the same colour as the Honda F1 car, which should be white (we wont know until Jan 25, when the new F1 car is launched). Hope that white is also a colour option for Malaysia!

Yeah, I saw the Singapore brochure for the new Civic, looks like they have better choices there. Just ironic that the Singapore Civic, which is made in Japan, includes a 2 liter model, but the Japanese themselves will never get the 2.0.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 1:30 am

a honda civic with a skyline tail lamp?

honda must have hired the korean designer for their car….huhuhuhu!

it looks ugly.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:36 pm

it's tape shaymen…to cover the design…but i doubt if the tape goes off also it will look good….only the ek series that i think is good..

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 9:52 pm

Actually, the rear lamps look a bit like the old Toyota Altezza. What an awesome car that was, handsome and just the right size. Sadly, Toyota went and made it fatter for the replacement model =(

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 10:13 pm

Let's hope tat White wil be a color option in Malaysia. I agree with u, the White one is a Beauty!

And I also think the taillamps are awesome, especially after I've seen the pix from SG. The more I look at them, my mind drifts away and they start to look like a pair of falcon wings… :)

• alamak (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 3:05 am

I prefer the JDM tail lamps compared to USDM version. The local ones are more aggresive!

I wonder how it looks like "turn-on" at night..

Paul, got night shot of this babe ah?

• Ajis (Member) on Jan 22, 2006 at 3:44 pm

Well… You guys have to remember that the car was on a test drive for Malaysian Road…. So it will be a bit different for the exact car to be sold… :D

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 23, 2006 at 9:59 pm

That could be right. Let's talk more about what differences we are expecting?

I read a few auto mag from HK & TW. These editors were invited to JP sometime in Sep/Oct 05 for the car's test-drive & new tech intro. Don't really see much difference in comparison with the SG version. Only a few accessories that HK/TW have but SG doesn't, & vice versa.

I do hope we can get the SG 1.8VTi-S as our 1.8-litre model.

• sky! (Member) on Jan 24, 2006 at 2:23 am

It will be launched on 9th March.

• alamak (Member) on Jan 24, 2006 at 2:49 am

i think the "tiptronic" is only available for 2.0 lar… 1.8 will be standard… have to make it affordable..

Heard from friend that this 8th generation civic comes with HID xenon lights as standard!! Not sure true or not… would be nice to get HID for 1.8 too. hehe

• damion (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 9:56 pm

are you sure the price range will be around 105-115k? thats even cheaper than the current model civic. That would be very nice, but i dont think it will be that cheap. New models in malaysia always launch higher-priced than the previous model at launch.

———-

correction, the current honda accord is priced lower than the previous generation.. ;)

for the price of the 2.4 you get now which is about RM168XXX, you'll only get the 2.0 then for the previous generation..

cheers!

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 01, 2006 at 8:35 am

Sky!, are you sure about the launch date of 9th March? Must call the dealer next week (after the CNY holidays) & check with them, hehe… Can't wait for the arrival of the new Civic, wohooo…