Proton-Volkswagen Partnership: no go!

[ UPDATE: The talks have finally ended in a no go. Click here for latest update. ]

The verdict is out. After a long series of meetings and what not since September 2004 since Proton and Volkswagen first announced a strategic partnership, everything has fallen to ruins and things are now over between the two car manufacturers.

Volkswagen Group Chief Executive Bernd Pischetsrieder told analysts at the North American Auto Show that Volkswagen’s plans on how to move forward with the Proton partnership conflicted with what the Malaysian Government and Proton had in mind.

Apparently Volkswagen’s plans were pretty rigid, thus when ideas conflicted, the decision was to just drop the whole idea altogether.

Right now they are still in talks on cooperation but it would only be in a few isolated projects to support Proton, and not have any joint programs or joint ventures. According to reporters, Pischetsrieder put strong emphasis on the word support.

Update: Proton shares fell as much as 20% to RM5.10 before exchanging at RM5.60 at 10.46am today. HLG Securities downgraded Proton shares status to ‘sell’. Proton officials said they were suprised by the announcement as they have yet to receive an official reply from Volkswagen.

Source: Reuters

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:58 am

There goes my baby , with someone else,

she sure looks happy , I sure look blue.

Sigh…sigh…my dream of owning a semi-continental car was – !

• purity (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:08 am

well… on the bright side i guess SRM should be out soon…

• Oops! (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:52 am

look like we might be stucked with proton and our beloved NAP for the next 20 years again……. *sigh*

Proton, pls buck up as I have no choice as malaysian citizen to support you….

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:56 am

Kind of agree with Oops! there…really hope the new MD would instill some stability and improvements in Proton. Still, my concern is the high under utilisation of the Tanjung Malim plant. If the VW-Proton jv went ahead, atleast there would be more income to Proton (which should equate to better products for Malaysian).

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 7:00 am

after this anouncement, VW shares rise but proton's shares bomb down to its lowest (that's wat i heard). wat a contrary!!!! someone should write to the papers to ask the G n Proton wat is the conflicting point. VW agree to not to control proton, so wat's the issue? I am very blur n disappointed!!!!!!!!

• revver (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 7:38 am

as what was said before – too much birocracy problem.going to be gloomy years to come for proton.or are we witnessing the end of it?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:28 am

SRM ……. i'd rather we have a Proton Passat. I do really hope Proton can launch a new car based on VAG's B5.5 platform, or B5 platform. Thus all VAG drivers would be bless upon cheaper local OEM parts.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:41 am

hmm… hmm… hmmm… now what Proton?

thanks to those "penyokong maruah bangsa dan negara" and "anti-penjajah", they're the very one who cause the downfall of Proton…

well… they get what they want, 100% sendiri punya, no need fear colonisation… go ahead and syok sendiri la… see how long u can play…

fellow malaysians, be prepared for harder times ahead… the current outlook is not quite good despite all these good news being fed to us malaysians… believe me, something is gonna happen estimated roughly 2 or more months from now which would not only affect just malaysia but some other part of the world economy as well… the indications is not strong but it is there… insider news… not fully confirmed but will reveal more as i managed to get clarifications from my source.

• infinity (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:50 am

i wonder wat kind of support VW will give PROTON..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 10:56 am

National Car Policy killed National Auto Policy

congrats to Malaysia! the first country to close down a bakery for a loaf of bread.

• happy Co (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 11:07 am

Hai~~~~ just wonder how Potong going to improved with this kind of atttitude…..waste time oni…

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:04 pm

As expected by Me before, POTONG will never agreed to be controlled by German….the VW.

I guess this VW just wanna to build their CAR and closed the RND center. This is totally against with DM and POTONG management needs.

Just wondering IF NOT VW, NOT MITSU, NOT Renault,……WHO???

Maybe HINDUSTANNNNNN from India or GEELYYYYY from China or HYUNDAAAIIIIII from Korea??

Really doubt about POTONG'S future now…..and WE Bolehland ppl will continue seeing the WIRA and ISWARA new edition….. for the another 20 year LOH!!! :(

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• shaif (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:14 pm

Give the Auto Industry to some bunch of Govt Bueracratics Official, this what happen. Are they realise that Proton need a partner to survive.

Vw has done their part by not taking majority control in Proton, but yet Proton so demanding. Want this and that but reluctant to give any.

What is this. The AFTA just round the corner. Even P2 realise this and partner with the Japanese. Its do or die business in automotive business.

Proton should inform Malaysian on whats going on in the meeting. Sometime I got fed up to read some Proton Officer will said that its for the national interest, we do not want our employees and locals vendor to be sideline if the P1-VW tied up. It just for their own interest in that vendors, the tops management and politics people sure afraid that their 'Ali-Baba' autopart factories get killed if P1-VW materialised.

Hell to them as they manage to drive all the Conti-Merz, BMW, Lexus and laughing all the way to the banks while the rest of Malaysian, enough with Perdana V6-cukuplah…

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:15 pm

I wonder what Proton's terms were? VW is such a huge company, Proton is nothing more than an ant in the auto world.

I mean, who does Proton think they are? They should have thought about their future and the business first. So what if VW wants a controlling stake? It won't be forever. One day, when they've had enough and we've had our Passats and Golfs, they'll probably sell their shares back to us anyway.

So sad….

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:19 pm

i think we're all getting ahead of ourselves here. we have no idea what the whole deal was about, and what exactly VW wanted. It could be anything.

As usual, the easy way out is to shoot proton first ask questions later.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:25 pm

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahha…….u should be thankfull the ecm libra scandal came out….see…they all very afraid to raise fuel,electricity etc2 for now…now to sell proton pun takut…but that is for now.maybe when all quiet down,all up for sell again.hooray for the real malaysian tigers behind the scenes…malaysians are thankfull,even some dont have a clue…

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:27 pm

You know, I thought VW would have done the deal but I guess they have more backbone then I thought. Its clear that almost all car companies think that either majority or they go to Thailand to set up shop. You may be able to partner up with say Chinese or Indian car companies for minority stake but not the top ones. Even Hyundai will not do it. Again, it goes to the heart of the failure of protectionism. It just does not work

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:37 pm

#

marmitecrab said,

January 13, 2006 @ 8:15 am

I wonder what Proton’s terms were? VW is such a huge company, Proton is nothing more than an ant in the auto world.

I mean, who does Proton think they are? They should have thought about their future and the business first. So what if VW wants a controlling stake? It won’t be forever. One day, when they’ve had enough and we’ve had our Passats and Golfs, they’ll probably sell their shares back to us anyway.

So sad….

———————————————————————————

vw to sell back?in ur dreams…u think temasek wanna sell back proton shares to us?

u think parkway(singapore)will sell back pantai shares to us

u think tm shares will be sold back to us…

dream on…we are being sold by pimps like hookers here..commission maa….

no deal for proton is good deal…let's see what tun has to say when he returns on the 19th

• catborg (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Proton!.. Keep on dont care what people said. From now on i do believe proton is trying hard to stand by it self. No need any 'tongkat' or JV anymore.

Joint with VW is just for market exchange is okay. But joint in sharing tech is suck.. anyone believe that vw gonna share us their tech? remember what mitsu already did to us? .. So maybe proton try to be it self.

I wonder, proton already in their way, from now so on. With a name of Lotus = They already can do many thing. Just the not use it wisely.

What abaout = Lotus design the car and engine, Proton MASS PRODUCE it? .. every little unit with the name of lotus can be sold.. Better more if the price is hell cheap!.

Do! Do it proton, like toyota design and daihatsu product.

Maybe they think like that now.. No need another bulshit jv in the proton!.

Gud luck proton.. wish to see SRM cepat2 lah!.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:12 pm

that's right…vw wont be sharing tech..in fact rumours tells that proton rnd in shah alam will be shut down or cut their budget cos vw only has plans for production here…we malaysians watch only…our rakyat just be pekerja kilang for them la…hahahahhahaah..meanwhile they will continue their rnd themselves in their homeland…without us…

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:14 pm

proton price rm5.50 drop 0.85 at BURSA……

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Really frustrated to hear this, it's suck that VW side announced the news, means of firm thumbprint not going further any parnership talk. It's even worst that P1 yet again silence on it. We shall see how P1's share perform today in respond to this news. We'd like the see P1 in the world auto arena rather than keep protocted in the "greenhouse", it's against the nature of growth of a company.

We doubt that how P1 to go further, so many giant car makers aiming the SEA countries as their new battlefield with so many potential here. See how Thailand's economic have benefitted being a car hub in this region. The only drawback is damn jamming road. We do face it what…

Agreement with Jpn car makers gonna take effect soon, AFTA another few years… sigh sigh…

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:29 pm

mayB proton is looking with another Partners……… wait N C laaaa

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:31 pm

proton silence?what do u expect from mr no comment?…at least i see that when proton did not want to answer bout sale of mv,a lot of hooray from malaysians…now why so glum when there's silence?…u asked for it what?hahahahahahhaha

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:32 pm

#

cosmo said,

January 13, 2006 @ 9:29 am

mayB proton is looking with another Partners……… wait N C laaaa

—————————————-

last time i hear..hyundai….more worst…hahahahahahh

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:39 pm

maybe proton wants to devalue themselves so that they can be sold to temasek again….(big fat commission here they come)

• karheng (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Honestly, I doubt anyone else is interested in Proton. They're too profit driven and are taking advantage of the poor consumer's union here. VW's plans probably include higher quality products which will heighten the cost altogether and probably this is not within Proton's desire.

On the other hand, VW probably wants to dump their old cars here with the Proton brand name, which is highly likely considering how Malaysians are so easily content on low quality products. VWs would probably carry a higher quality setup however might not want to introduce new technology here too soon, which is probably why talks probably fell..

Just some thought over it.

• Sharfox (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 5:53 pm

There must be some reasons for Proton not to pursue with the JV or vice versa. Forget about the 'Maruah Bangsa n Negara' thing. This is business where everything counts. What do we know about running a billion dollar business anyway???. Can't say bye2 to Proton anyway. It's not wise coz we dun know what will happen. Wanna do comparison with Skoda? Do anybody care about that brand anymore?…. For all we know, it's a VW using different emblem. Many of us will say ' Baik beli VW, buat apa beli Skoda?'. Same goes to Proton.

I'd rather wait an see. Just hope for the best.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:00 pm

common guys..dont be sad la…do u honestly think proton new management can go for a year without selling something for commission…before the end of the year maybe zongtwi workplace will be sold…hahahahahhah…so cheer up.

• ec (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Shock for me when I saw the lowest 5.10 on Proton!!

Sorry to innocent investor..

No way for proton to simply agree on anything now due to the past Augusta issue. Not hoping for another 20 yrs in jsut modifying Iswara and Wira as someone said.

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:17 pm

karheng…… agree with u la….. just like mitsubishi last time…. they giv old technology to proton eg JUARA…… 4 sure VW will dump it outdated product here…… nasib baik tak jadi…….

where is the new MD….. still sleeping….. wake up man……

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:20 pm

—–Shock for me when I saw the lowest 5.10 on Proton!!

biasa laa 2…. malaysian market beb……. mayB temasek will withdraw their interest……..

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:21 pm

#

cosmo said,

January 13, 2006 @ 10:17 am

where is the new MD….. still sleeping….. wake up man……

———————————————————————————–

new MD is just a puppet i think…all dealings done by azlan and someone in the political arena…young man…sooo young to be powerfull…pity proton

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:22 pm

#

cosmo said,

January 13, 2006 @ 10:20 am

—–Shock for me when I saw the lowest 5.10 on Proton!!

biasa laa 2…. malaysian market beb……. mayB temasek will withdraw their interest……..

————————————

dont think so..they will buy it cheaply now….

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:33 pm

To be fair, we were not there when the discussion took place. How can we pass judgment so quickly.

It's bad enough that Proton's in some unwanted limelight with the launch of Waja Campro (via Screenshots), and Chancellor. Don't rub it in further without thorough knowledge on what's going on.

Maybe they have valid reasons to call the partnership off. Despite this failed negotiations, Proton's plans for improvement should not stop. VW cannot, try look elsewhere lah. Although it's a tall order.. but surely, it has to buck up – with or without foreign assistance.

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:36 pm

paramsingwalia said,

—-dont think so..they will buy it cheaply now….

temasek will wait N C 1st….. mayB nextweek the proton price will drop again N again until limit down…….

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 6:39 pm

paramsingwalia ….

ask dr ellie inject his money in proton la……

• zie (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 7:26 pm

what is worse than useless? Useless and oblivious of it. That characterised Protons mgmt. Somebody need to tell them that they are useless and they don't even realise it.

God help Malaysia!!!!!!.

• mangkuk (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 7:55 pm

VW's ending of the strategic tie-up with Proton, which had been signed in 2004, is a big blow to the unprofitable Malaysian carmaker. Faced with crushing competition both from foreign automakers as well as local manufacturers, Proton is sorely in need of a foreign partner that can offer greater economies of scale and advanced technology.

The tie-up with VW had also been expected to lead to the German automaker making cars in Malaysia using Proton's facilities.

Friday, Proton shares plunged 20% to MYR5.10 at the market's opening before recovering slightly. At 0125 GMT, they were trading 17% lower at MYR5.30 on VW's pullout from the alliance.

By Carolyn Lim – Dow Jones International News

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:17 pm

update price…….

stock code 5304-proton

current price at 1213 rm5.70(-0.60), volume done 36198

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 8:50 pm

paramsingwalia,

Last I remember, Mitsubishi sold back their shares once they were done. What makes you think others won't. As far as I see most of your comments, it's sprinkled with a lot of "I think's), "rumours" and "I don't think so's", but you sound like you know so much. Can you tell the future? I'm not convinced.

• drmuzi (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 1:35 am

I think even though they just too eager to sack Tengku Mahaleel, at least they need to let him go thru with the negotiation.

Mahaleel can tie the German into a negotiation for the past 1 1/2 years , but pity once Azlan took over he just ruin everthing.

Good for him that now, he has to handle the worst rundown of Proton shares in Proton history of establishment.

drmuzi

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 2:09 am

agree with drmuzi….

as for marmitecrab…mitsu is in the red when they sold back the shares..and it took just how long???….not that easy la friend

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 2:13 am

better get TM and TUN back for nego with foreigners…

as what did tun say about the free trade aggrement with japan recently..

quote—maybe malaysian are not good and smart enough in negotiations,

and—we have a govt/mngnt which plays golf…and after 2 years..still nothing is done.

• catborg (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 2:25 am

new md in silenT?

like no comment sir said "Biarlah, bagi masa mereka buat kerja dulu, kalau bising2 nanti siapa pun susah nak buat kerja".

By the mean time, almost done.. no matter what.. and i also wish that will be done in proton also.

I still thinking this is a very good move.

Lotus is already a very big name. No need other JV.

Please Proton, "Gunakan Lotus Sepenuhnya!"

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 2:33 am

new MD no power to talk…if he talk then politicians with big fat commisions ask mr no comment to remove immediately…now decisions will be made by mr no comment,adviced by son in law and aunty AP..and executed by chairman(penguin)to do…the scapegoat is the new MD la…when proton dies with our epf money etc2..proton bashers will go for MD'S head..those bastard all get away scott free…hehehehhe

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 3:28 am

What if Proton came out with a 150hp Juara II SE with a marketing campaign going "Your first Lotus van~~ "

It's best Proton now come out with a Proton Passat 1.8T; selling at RM79,999 (To kill off City and Vios) ….. then Proton will thrive!

Then perhaps later Proton Phaeton, selling at RM130,000 (Bye bye cancel-lor~ ) then Proton would have a good fight at last.

• eCUN (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 4:08 am

In this case, I think P1 wont sell the Lotus… they claimed that VW has it's own R&D capability… after JV no longer need Lotus… sell Lotus at least get back the money… to cover MVA loses? not not even close… now no JV… means no reason to sell Lotus maaa… if still sell means will kena tiow the both TM laa… I don't think they dare to sell without any concrete reason…

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 4:35 am

This is my opinion. Tha main stumbling block in the negotiation is what will happen to those hopelessly useless parts vendors that Tun M had said is the weakest link in Proton. Proton has no say when come to chopping of most of these hopeless vendors due to some sort of protections in the name of Malaysia G care & support for SMI ???

Does anyone think that apart from our G , foreign company or for that matter any reasonable profit minded company will be willing to continue to feed these blood sucking , useless , unrepentant vendors. Even united nation cannot tahan these type of useless blood suckers.

Poor quality parts is one the greatest contributor to Proton dire state now. The question is after so many years & countless repeating quality issues , Proton could not source better parts ?? The likely answer is " not allowed ".

Why must this vendors be protected to such an extent. It just baffles me.

Proton's constraint need to be removed fast. These vendors are like cancer, it will only get worse. Shit .. blood sucking idiots.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 4:40 am

#

ingolstadt said,

January 13, 2006 @ 7:28 pm

What if Proton came out with a 150hp Juara II SE with a marketing campaign going “Your first Lotus van~~ ”

It’s best Proton now come out with a Proton Passat 1.8T; selling at RM79,999 (To kill off City and Vios) ….. then Proton will thrive!

Then perhaps later Proton Phaeton, selling at RM130,000 (Bye bye cancel-lor~ ) then Proton would have a good fight at last.

—————————————-

ahhhh..but least not forget…VW wants 51% shares and control stake…so if VW says no more rebadging?…i want to sell under my own brand..i'll just want use proton facility only…then what?

after the free trade with japan in a few years time..maybe P2 will be in more trouble than P1..remember daihatsu control 51%…then daihatsu and toyota will come in with no tax…same car,but cheaper with higher specs…all p2 workers will have to balik kampung be farmers to sell to japan la ikut mr no comment ideas…hahahahaha

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 4:43 am

agree with steverac…vendors are a problem with proton…they refuse to go ahead and develope themselve…when tm appoits tuv…a lot of noise from them…then tm wants to annouce that proton will cut those underperforming vendors…

sadly boardroom tussle began..everything postponed…

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 4:55 am

paramsingwalia said,

January 13, 2006 @ 6:24 pm

marmitecrab wants me to tell the future…ehehheehhe….

go ask nujum pak belalang la….stupid crab

Paul,

I thought no more name calling?? This fella just called me stupid. Who the hell he thinks he is? Hogging the forum like he runs Proton.

So sad, here we are trying to promote constructive comments and intelligent discussions, some people just can't break their bad habits.

Param, FYI, you have not said anything or contributed anything that has not been said before by others. Nor have you added anything of value except criticise other peoples comments. I know there are a few out there who have not said anything as yet who can put someone like you in your place as easily as selling P2 cars.

Looks like there is no more need for anyone to say anything anymore as our resident "expert" here knows everything.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 6:05 am

I think you're the one who's stupid. I asked you if you could tell the future. I never said you CAN tell the future because if you could, then you'd know I'd be calling you stupid right now.

So not only can you not tell the future, you're illiterate as well.

Sorry, Paul. Do whatever you want but I'm outta here.

• gegaoff Max (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 9:03 am

so long VW. sigh…

i wonder is there any partner in future?

hyundai may be?

chamm….

cheers… for VW, coz the share go up. :D

• Paul Tan on Jan 14, 2006 at 12:19 pm

this is getting too hot for my tastes. i'm trying my best to keep this place nice for everyone but i don't seem to be getting cooperation.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 12:42 pm

asking if i can tell the future pulak…sigh…dont ask that kind of questions la freind…heehhehehehe…sorry paul…but that question is out of topic..

• neversoft (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Expected… And VW is like making fool of P1… P1 share prices down like the ape falling down from building

• Jake (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 5:46 pm

now is the time for the two TMs to start buying proton's shares….hehehehe…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 5:51 pm

hahahahahahaha!…….yyyeeeeeeeehhhoooo!

this is a very good news…what a relief.this is a very good sign…now that ecm libra case coming out from harakah,all the broker who want to sell our countrys pride are afraid to do so…for now at least.

i think vw is not confident with the new management of proton..or,i think that proton has come out with the term that vw disagree because the deal that was made by tm is vw get to use our high tech tanjung malim plant and they will share some of their technology with us… not like the new deal that vw requested to have 51% control stake and then maybe they will sell our tanjung malim plant,rebadge our car and hire all the mat sallih instead of our ppl in proton…."i think we should do that with mv agusta before selling it for no reason,that penguin has no fighting spirit"…eh!..i think like this la…maybe the new management want to sell proton for 50cent and vw pitty all the malaysian ppl and dont want to buy it because if they do so,malaysian ppl look very st(tut)id..

or…..i think the person who control mr no comment donno how to talk with vw and ask mr penguin(also donno anythin)to make a deal and the result is "NO GOOOOO"..

i thank VWag for not buying proton and i thank tm for fighting for our future…

i choose malaysia boleh! rather than cemerlang,gemilang,terbilang….

• Jake (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 5:52 pm

in a way this is a good thing to proton; malaysian in general not in favour of conti car, myvi vs savvy for example….now it's the time to court NISSAN/renault partnership…or for the G to buy mitsu for proton…hehehehe…

• Bigjoe (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 5:56 pm

Anybody know what Proton operatintg cashflow is like right now. They lost money in the last two quarters I know but they say its due to Augusta write-down. Dr. M says its because of discounting. What is the latest sales figure and profit on each car? Anyone knows? I suspect that VW may have seen the figures and know that Proton is going downhill fast. If they are discounting and profit per car is falling, and if monthlly unit sales is falling, then it means that this is a company going down very very fast. With a huge Tanjung Malim plant and new cars in the pipeline that may not sell too, it just means Proton is a dying company.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 6:05 pm

neversoft said,

January 14, 2006 @ 9:33 am

Expected… And VW is like making fool of P1… P1 share prices down like the ape falling down from building

———————————————————–

dont worry my fren!…we can ask all investment banker in malaysia to help boost up proton share prices….."mostly they will say,lets sell it,sure the price will go up….s(tut)id..of cos it will go up bcos everybody berebut want to buy it,then it will drop back for sure"………

dont blame vw la my fren,thank them in return for not buying our countrys pride…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 6:17 pm

Bigjoe said,

January 14, 2006 @ 9:56 am

—————————————————————-

proton is still leading as the most car registered in nov if im not mistaken…

ur right,i think proton will die if that penguin azlan is still there..now i've heard that penguin azlan and maruan dah tak se'feather'….like a few weeks ago,penguin say the promo still on,maruan don want to be scapegoat anymore by saying "NO MORE DISCOUNT" in the news…hehehehehe……..

now that the deal is off,i do hope that proton will survive in many years to come…

• neversoft (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 6:31 pm

Shaymen, dun stir another chaos in de stock market. SC will go after them. Investors also find hard to earn their money, dun do things like kids do.. like got angry thn revenge…

I dun blame VW as in de 1st place I dun expect de deal to work out. C'mon be logical… every international biz entities knows how to play or doing biz internationally. Those r developed countries companies wldnt be able to cope with developing countries need. Unless u learn wht China do days before. They let u setup wht u want, they provide manpower, tax free.. bla bla.. so what if u being treated like King?? Thn after they learned wht they wan, they open or setup factory next to u being ur neighbour, eating ur pie.

I thank VW instead as I will be getting my Golf GTI soon.. I dun wan de brand image jeopardize like example of Kia Caren becoming Nz Citra.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 7:16 pm

neversoft said,

January 14, 2006 @ 10:31 am

————————————————————-

ha ha ha…..why all of u are angry with me..its just my opinion.

im not making chaos,u act like a kid instead…if u think im wrong,dont listen to what ive said la fren…

we cannot copy what chinese are doing la eversoft…their ppl are very hardworking.if not how could they build the great wall?how can japon rise up after they fall?and chinese and japanese ppl are very patriotic i tell u fren…malaysian ppl are very lazy instead…semua nak cepat kaya.semua main skim cepat kaya.

if our G do the same thing,sure dead frog la our country..everybody selling all of what they have and lastly maybe they will sell their kid as prostitute like in the thailand laa…motoring hub konon!hehehehe..their ppl tak maju2 pun..u dont believe me ahh?try go to thailand and see for urself la,u can get a 12years old prostitute there u know….all the carmaker didnt help civilised their ppl mind….

good for u now u will have ur golfset gti…can go and showoff at sri hartamas laa…all the girl will come after u la i think my fren…:)

• neversoft (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 7:26 pm

dun be mistaken, no mad issues, nothing.. like u said, "good for u now u will have ur golfset gti…can go and showoff at sri hartamas laa…all the girl will come after u la i think my fren…:)" Thank you:)

And u r correct, u must be hardworking, here I refer to achieve things u wan in life. No point of dreaming for cepat kaya… which u r correct.

And motoring hub… it takes years for conti companies achieve wht they hv today, may P1 be able to resist challenges coming as water r soaking them down in the sea. Gd Luck

• Jake (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 9:18 pm

shaymen, you're good err….excellent! ;-)

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 11:00 pm

shaymen…did u heard the news last night?so funny that news network under media prima especially never reported about ecm libra scandal…maklumlah…mr no comment families…and they keep comdemming and pushing proton to find partner…what the hell….proton dont need a partner…just sack all the low quality vendors la…most consumer complaints are about material used by vendors…let the tuv do their job..no need partner la if have to sell till 51%..and still no guarantee that they will share their technology man…this media keep asking all this so call pakar economy for advise…hahahaahhah….i wonder why dont they demand what the public really wants?

to proton to be transparent…ask azlan to explain everything,mv vw..etc2…

dont let the first family control proton anymore is what i say…proton belongs to malaysians…not just one young person,if u know what i mean..

• rudeboy (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 1:19 am

Proton must bow down to the truth. In the grand scheme of things it is weak and can't compete with the current policy in place. And how many times have we heard that lame talk, "We have plenty of money, we're fine and don't need any help"?

Protecting vendors should'nt be the only consideration now. Proton should buck up and realise that they can't quietly exist with a market that's already fed-up with being played.

I think losing VW is only the beginning of it's problems.

• shaif (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 11:06 pm

After several days that VW dump Proton, the new management still keep quite. This affecting the image of Proton and shown by their low market shares. Before this, if anything about news onProton or national car industry, our ex-PM will stand strong and give out his opinion even if some party don't like it. The ex-CEO will come ot with press statement.

People are left in the dark with all the rumours being spread out. Every investor not confidence with Proton's future. Or is it because some people more willingly to sell off Proton to other party at the lowest share price. Anything could happen.

But now, proton shares weakening, NAP still being uncertain, Japan talks cock about entering our market, China come with its Geli car, and our No1 still keep silent.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 12:27 am

paramsingwalia said,

January 14, 2006 @ 3:00 pm

————————————————————–ive seen the news mr param..but theres nothing we can do la mr param…all glc company control by the first family and the gang…of cos la they want to find partners,they will get commision for it what..the ecm libra case?u can read it in harakah la man…the moon gang oready write about it what..u cannot trust the media anymore la mr param…they are all under media prima and it is own by mr kj,the most powerfull singaporean in malaysia…and its all happenin bcos of a few ignorant pig here who dont wanna know what is happenin with their country..

what the two TM are doing is to try to change malaysian citizen mindset la i think..

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 12:46 am

i think its not wise to say vw dump proton..because before vw came,proton was doing just fine…proton can stand on its own already…the original idea of the ties between them is TO SHARE THE IDEA TO BE THE NUMBER ONE…vw want to learn how to sell car in asia..proton want to know the hitlers secret of making car…

when the new chairman come under kj,they try to sell proton to vw to get the commission,that why is was no go…not that vw dump proton like a few pig say in here..proton didnt loose anything,we just lose mv agusta for 1euro and 30million commission in somebody swiss account.thats all…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 12:52 am

hahahahahahha…well said shaymen…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 2:13 am

hmmm…i just read in screenshot that israeli intel officer is on MAS payroll…

must be that kj and the gang la….so sad!

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 2:18 am

so sad la….those idiots are selling all of mas property..just like proton…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 5:55 pm

ye laa mr param….. but these all malaysian ppl are still sleeping.how can we wake them up?they donno whats happenin to their country….

• rudeboy (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 4:12 am

You guys are great! I've never seen a bunch of enthusiastic commentators anywhere else in the world!

You guys are right- Proton is kidding themselves if they think they can go about it alone. Lets face it – they will be running out of money soon when car sales and share price are dropping (like an ape down a building).

What's Syed Zainal going to do about it? I'm sure he is waiting for instructions from Azlan on what to say and do for the next few months. Other than that, I don't think he's of any use to the general population in and outside Proton.

Tun and TM should also stop putting the company in a bad light in the press – it's making things worse and shed a bad light on all of us actually. Bickering in public won't solve anything.

Proton should stop acting like its all that (if you know what I mean) they ain't got nothin' to show for (don't say Lotus coz the British firm is always ready to put on sale again) and fess up. It's time for some humility and honesty…

• homer (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 7:59 am

maybe syed zainal is installed by azlan to be the scapegoat….seems odd that azlan is out of the public eye and camera shy when big decisions are made now..especially after he appoints syed zainal…