2006 Proton Waja Campro

[UPDATE : Proton has launched the 2007 Proton Waja facelift. Click here to view!]

Proton’s new Proton Waja powered by it’s S4PH Campro engine was launched yesterday. Among the enhancements over the Mitsubishi-powered Waja besides the engine are all-round leather seats, a new meter cluster, redesigned air-cond vents and a new double-DIN CD player with MP3 support.

The manual Waja Campro retails for RM59,888.20 while the automatic Waja Campro retails for RM63,888.76. The Mitsubishi-powered Waja automatic retails for RM63,588.

Both the Mitsubishi-powered Waja and the new Waja Campro will be offered for the moment but Proton hopes to gradually phase out the 4G18 Waja with the new Campro Waja.

There are a few differences with the engine behaviour of Mitsubishi’s 4G18 and Proton’s S4PH Campro, of which I’ve blogged in my previous post Waja 4G18 vs Waja Campro.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chedi (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 8:06 pm

Paul,

Any pic of the cabin?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 8:10 pm

using own engine, but no savings passed to the consumer… add on unimportant accessories, and justify its pricing, and still no abs and airbags offered as standard…

i'm not gonna fall for proton's scam anymore…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 8:11 pm

oh yeah, not to forget, stil no variable valve timing with this campro…

• shooter (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 8:27 pm

i hope there will be an increase in the quality of the components supplied by the vendors as well as the general fit and finish.

• burn (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 8:57 pm

how do consumers gain by doing this?

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 10:50 pm

test drive first,talk later…..

• wilson (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 11:07 pm

as i know campro that use by gen2 use to be waja engine.

as waja come out the engine is still not proven , so waja use 4G18 at 1st. then when then engine is tested.the new gen2 is hearted the campro. now is just move the campro back to waja .

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 12:26 am

Paul : more photo of the interior & engine bay will be most welcome.

I don't doubt the campro is a newer tech engine compare to the old but trusted Mitsu 4G18. The torque curve should be configured to the lower range. But the one thing that campro engine has to prove again & again is reliability. No doubt they can offer 100 to 200K km warranty but Quality means consumer hope they don't ever have to make use of such warranty. Free parts & labour ….. but who is going to pay for the consumers' time and how is Proton able to compensate for the feeling of being let down again by our own national car.

Engine alone does not make an acceptable car to the ordinary consumer. Overall Quality is compulsory. Here is where Proton need to look into. Interior , plastic fittings , alarm or even the knob to adjust the seat … those tiny things that caused consumer to waste their time going to SC like housewife go to the wet market every morning.

QUALITY IS FREE IF YOU DO IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME – PROTON !!!

You have been screwed by VW. Now you know how Proton car owner feel all this time. Wake up.

I wish all the best for this new WAJA especially the lower FC.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 5:18 am

Few things I hope they do fix is the fuse burnout and electric window problem. The light bulbs or fuses keep blowing out for no good reason. I think better grounding kits should be installed to stabilize the current. The worst has to be the power windows.

It's become so bad that once the driver window control lowers any given window including the driver's own, they never seem to come up ever again. The plastics are also pretty bad too in some areas.

One last thing I would like to add to the concoction is the fact that after 20,000 kms (not sure if it affects other cars), the air intake system produces a bassy noise so unbearable heard by the rear passengers some of them even purge their stomach contents during long journeys.

If Proton can improve these things, then can it be deemed "upgraded"

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 6:50 am

cbljkkj, wat is bassy noise?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 8:17 am

Bass is what you hear on subwoofers or quite simply the type of sound that come out of a modified exhaust muffler. That fat loud sound.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 4:00 pm

Sure no TUV liau.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 7:44 pm

Hmm… got MP3 support…. Nice. :) New meter cluster and redesigned air-con vents: (can't wait to see how it looks like).

Really can't wait to test drive. For those who already test drive the car and seen the interior, hope can give your feedback…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 9:43 pm

hey…the aircond vent really works laa..ive test drive it la!…good pickup,low vibration engine,nice leather seat…

i give it four star rating for this car…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 10:08 pm

Are you some sort of Proton salesperson??? Might check out the showrooms for a looksie. If it's all looks and no go then Proton truly hasn't changed. The real test for a Proton car is the test of "time"

Here's to a fresh start for Proton.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 2:16 am

How bout the new meter cluster? what color are they when lighted up? still red color?

• Jake (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 2:20 am

hello all, this waja made in shah alam or tanjung malim?

i read in CBT today, quotes "though the Waja basically shares the floor pan of the mitsubishi carisma or the volvo s40, the Waja gets the stiffest version", "Waja chassis stiffer than the two cars"

wow proton BAGUS!

• theking (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 3:15 am

nizam80,

the waja campro meter comes with white illumination.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 3:19 am

yup…proton chasis is the stiffes compared to carisma..that i can confirm..volvo i'm not sure…one time the japs got angry b'cos we develope the waja chasis that is more rigid than their carisma/lancer..that time it's the first try at designing car from scratch…now we've surpassed the japs(mitsu)in terms of chasis development with the help of lotus of course…now malaysia boleh…

now…hmmmm…how can we get mv back to learn to build better bikes that the japs or italian..

• Selipar (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 6:16 am

Have anyone so far with the Campro driven engine having a problem? Is there any performance issue with it? I would really like to know..

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 10:33 am

I test drove the car on Sunday at PE Glenmarie. It feels the same as compared to my sis's 2001 Waja. Same feeling all around..except fot hte new smell… ;)

I loved the new round a/c vent. It works marvellously, not like the old Waja where the air will still hit the driver even after adjusting.

I would like to note that the quality is still not…… While trying to open the Glove Box, it got "stuck" at both side, simply becoz it was not aligned properly. When closing it made a very loud click sound.

The leather seat is squeaky and too soft to my liking. The salesgirl also told me that this car is quiter, with its upgraded NVH package. But i guess she was bullshitting. Proton didnt say anything on NVH.

Meter cluster is very nice. Black color background with chrome lining. Hmm.. what else arr…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 4:04 pm

the campro on waja-less engine vibration..thus quiter.. radio is mp3 and bluetooth compatible..

• gen2lover (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Saya ni pemilik gen2 1.6 auto. setahu saya gen2 menggunakan technology drive-by-wire.Tapi kenapa pick-up lambat.Gen2 auto kalau menurun bukit ia macam meraung ingin lah.macam bunyi nak pecah,takut dengarlah!.Semua injin campro macam tu kah?Waja campro mcm tu juga kah?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 7:56 pm

sorry, out of topic again,

yep zarul i do have email, but to reveal it here means to get spammed from some monkeys here… i'm sure u too wont want to take that risk, do ya?

• biggie (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 8:04 pm

gen2lover,

this is something called inclinator sensor, that sense you are going downhill and do an automatic engine breaking. Don't worry your engine tak pecah, use brake sparringly to control the speed. Proton have yet to learn to program ECU properly yet, thats why your pick up still slow. From the feedback receive, newer version have better response, but still limited by the engine itself.

Hatuk…

No point of destroying the 2nd market segment by lowering the price of a new waja. Anyway, Proton without volume need to sell more cars before can recoup their investment for the CAMPRO.

• gen2lover (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 9:07 pm

adakah menggunakan injin campro pada kereta waja sementara saja atau semua kereta proton akan d pasang injin tersebut.kalau ya jawapannya mac amana dengan injin mitsu.

• mycaelis (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 11:07 pm

with the Waja 4G18 version, current users are complaining on the fuel consumption. having the Campro engine fitted in the Gen2 in the first place, Gen2 drivers are saying that the consumption is likely to be heavier than the original Waja. Proton now fitted the Campro engine in the heavier Waja (compared to Gen2), logically, this would definitely increased the fuel consumption. Proton claimed that the fuel consumption of the Waja Campro will be better than the 4G18 version. Logically, would that be possible ? Therefore, is the additional few hundreds ringgit for the leather seats, air-cond vent and etc worth against the possible heavier fuel consumption in the long run ? just my thoughts. Could someone please enlighten me ?

• neversoft (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Definitely I think Waja a good buy compare to Korea… since meter has been redefine, air cond vent adjusted, campro engine (shd be no prob as long as it wont happen to most Kia cars tt "makan minyak hitam" in 3 yrs time.) I've came accross my frens wira (a mitsu engine) which has clocked 300,000km++, only thn it start "makan minyak hitam".

Verdict > Still good if campro can supersede Kia in 3yrs for "makan minyak hitam" issue.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 11:25 pm

gen2lover said,

January 16, 2006 @ 1:07 pm

—————————————————–

kita dah tak nak guna enjin mitsu…kita dah guna dulu,dah belajar buat enjin sendiri,buat apa guna enjin org lain lagi…semua kereta proton mungkin akan menggunakan enjin campro.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 12:46 am

pay 300 ringgit u get twincam engine,cd/mp3 with bluetooth player..new redesign aircond vent and meter cluster…leather seats all round including door trimmings…good move la i think.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:09 am

weiiii mr param….have u test it?good car ahh?the aircond vent really works laa..the seat olso good…nice job proton.

• desparil (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:10 am

this campro.. really pro?

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:16 am

desparil said,

January 16, 2006 @ 5:10 pm

this campro.. really pro?

———————————————————–

yes bro,it really pro…

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:44 am

the makan minyak issue depend on how u take care of the car…what kind of oil ur using..if u service the car regularly,take care of it like its ur girlfren..sure no makan minyak one…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 2:33 am

by the way i have already seen that car… the dashboard design and air-con vent is still slanted towards the driver, the only change on that is, instead of the rectanglish aircond vent, it's rounded just like "The New Saga"… nothing much special, just minor interior cosmetics change. from the outside, it's stil the same old waja, no facelift too… and yesterday and today, the PE outlet i went are very quiet… no one else when i was ther, but i dono about other times la… the engine? i dont know… i dont care… i'm not gonna buy it anyway…

• gegaoff Max (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 3:27 am

i hope the price can be slightly adjust lower…

so can benefit more local consumer…

but compare to myVI 1.3 with almost 51k auto… it seems fair enough…

i hear that the performance only increase 10%, is that true? wonder its a fair improvement?

cheers…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 4:39 am

10% of torque and hp is a huge gain if that is true…u can definitely feel it…my guess is people dont realise that proton prices are good compared to p2…i say..com on la…39k for kelisa…51 for myvi..better get savvy or gen2 la…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 6:45 am

Yes. Better get Savvy or GEN.2. Savvy is actually one of the best Proton cars ever made in terms of quality. But, spare parts quite pricey, that's y not lot of people buy :)

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 11:57 am

Nizam, perhaps it may be a tad too early to say that, u see…

all cars fail or at least have some form of problems within 3-5 years of ownership… notice i say ALL CARS, Mercs, BMWs, Toyotas, Fords, all are included. the only difference are, to how much extent the problems are…

Savvy is still new, we wait and see how it goes… if it's good, ppl would buy, nothing to worry, but if it's bad, well, dah nasib dia jadi mcm Tiara…

• rexis (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 5:16 pm

Savvy and Gen2 is almost a joke for a 190cm person like myself, even the new saga is also a joke, its suffer sitting inside these car, almost stuck when getting in/out. Wira(my car) makes some sense becoz the interior is bigger, perdana still ok la although interior smaller then wira. The only car i feel no trouble getting in and out is a kenari, when 1st time i drove a kenari…. touched and shiocked!

oh lets back to the topic, can i ask why why why is waja campro auto is more expensive then waja mitsu auto? Although it is indeed very impressive and interesting we got to use a waja with real malaysian heart, but obviously this heart needs improvement. Anyway, good job, we can't expect a perfect job with the first try.

• biggie (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 5:17 pm

hatuk,

cars having problem after 3-5 yrs is normal, whatever makes they are. Because at this period much depends on the way the owner take care of the car.

The problem with Proton that irks most customers is it fails few weeks, few days, few hours after delivery. You start got rattling sound after one week of driving the car… it really irritate the customer.

From my observation and some data provided, the rate that this problem happen with Savvy is much lower then Gen2, Waja and Wira. Wether this car will sell or not depends on the customer perception of the car.

As for long term ownership e.g. spareparts availability, maintainability etc. is a different issue altogether. Its no more about quality.. its customer service.

• gen2lover (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 7:11 pm

d mana kah letak nya inclinator sensor tu.boleh senang kah tukar? tak mudah rosak kah.Kalau kita buka ia boleh funtion macam biasa kah.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 7:13 pm

rexis said,

January 17, 2006 @ 9:16 am

Savvy and Gen2 is almost a joke for a 190cm person like myself, even the new saga is also a joke, its suffer sitting inside these car, almost stuck when getting in/out. Wira(my car) makes some sense becoz the interior is bigger, perdana still ok la although interior smaller then wira. The only car i feel no trouble getting in and out is a kenari, when 1st time i drove a kenari…. touched and shiocked!

oh lets back to the topic, can i ask why why why is waja campro auto is more expensive then waja mitsu auto? Although it is indeed very impressive and interesting we got to use a waja with real malaysian heart, but obviously this heart needs improvement. Anyway, good job, we can’t expect a perfect job with the first try.

—————————————————————-

oiii rexis….im also 190cm tall.dont try to fool all these ppl here la…wira interior is bigger than perdana?

waja is expensive by rm500 because it have leather seat,cd player with mp3 and bluetooth compatible….both mt and at are more expensive rm500.

• biggie (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 11:20 pm

gen2lover,

like all other cars inclinator sensor is integrated to engine as long as the engine functioning the it also will. susah nak tukar but it not a part that can fail easily. Gen2 is an advanced car (this depend on your interpretation of advance) so as u drive gen2 it will learn your behavior. So kalu tgh mengaum and u tekan minyak the next time dia tak akan mengaum at that speed while going downhill at that angle. over time it will adjust to your driving style.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:23 am

I agree with what biggie said, Savvy rate of rattling sounds after a few weeks of drive is much lower than that of first generation GEN.2's, and WAJAs. Proton are right back on track with the Savvy, but i think most Malaysian don't want to ever believe in Proton again even after people who already bought Savvy said how excellent the car is, due to the quality problems they face in owning a WAJA and GEN.2. Am i right? Correct me if i'm wrong here. I hope the new SRM will be another quality product from Proton. Janji Proton jgn gulung tikar sudah.. thats what i hope for.

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:55 am

Paul ,

Maybe you can post something about the reliability of Proton savvy ( especially on the AMT ) since QUALITY & RELIABILITY is being discuss here.

It will be interesting to see how it fares so far in term of sales vs MYVI and actual owners comment.

What do you think ?

• aksMs (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 2:14 pm

Paul, I agree with stevarac. I would appreciate it very much if you could post that. I'm kinda interested with Savvy AMT. It might help me to make a decision. Thanks in advance.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 4:18 pm

managed to have a look at the specs of the old 4g18 car and the new campro waja.

surprisingly, the new campro is lighter than the older car. 1190kg for the campro vs 1220 for the 4g18. Both are manuals, and i quoted kerb weight.

I suppose the campro engine must be lighter as well.

as for reliability, i think in general, protons are pretty reliable. usually, everything that goes wrong is not related to the cars mobility..power windows, stuff falling off or apart..etc. My company has several gen2s. high mileage, and thrashed by everyone, "company car mah, nevermind". The interior is gone la. paint on the gear knobs gone, had problems with the windows, the interior cloth gets dirty and is hard to clean, some minor rattling here and there, but so far, no problems with the gearbox, or engine or anything like that, the car still starts, and keeps on going.. Sure, we hear of protons that catch fire, electrical issues..etc. but i think all cars on the road today have faced those problems at one time or another.

Anyone saw the pics of the new camry on trade plates burning?

• rexis (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 5:24 pm

shaymen, it is true that I found that wira has more more distance from roof to my head then perdana(the new perdana), actually maybe just because the wira seats are lower. Harder to squezz in to driver seat compare to wira, less leg space due to the seat cant be adjusted as far as wira. Maybe perdana total interior is bigger then wira but I am talking about driver seat. Anyhow, more fun to drive perdana then wira, obviously the best car proton can offered (although the back view mirror falled off, changed the whole wind screen under warrenty – the mirror is sticked on the wind screen)

Ahhh, another 190cm person? Just curious, do you need to write a letter to apply for road test using an Iswara rather then using the standard road test kancil? I do, and therefore Im using an Iswara with power steering to road test :p

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 5:44 pm

rexis said,

January 18, 2006 @ 9:24 am

———————————————————-

i own a perdana v6 year 2000.there should be no problem gettin in and out….i think maybe u didnt adjust the perdana seat to lower positiion bcos it has an adjustable high low seat..

no,i didnt write any letter to go for the road test.i use satria for the road test that time..donno bout the mousedeer lah my fren.maybe i didnt fit in too….huhuhuhuhuhuhu!

• rexis (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:23 pm

shaymen said,

January 18, 2006 @ 9:44 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ahh, no problem getting in-n-out la, just feel that i hit more thing when getting in :p mabbe due to the high low seat i just feel the extra adjust handle on my seat very alien so i didnt play with it, scare i will got ejected out.

Anyhow, i enjoy playing with the overdrive button on the auto gear handle… and what is the "coast" handle on the steering wheel for?

A bit off topic liao!

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:29 pm

honda_driver said,

January 18, 2006 @ 8:18 am

———————————————————-

i got that burning camry picture in my fon….i also have myvi pic with the rear arm problem,the vios window drop down and etc…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:35 pm

all cars have problems..i too got the camry pics on fire…it's just the way they bash senseleslly about proton that's make me mad…

• biggie (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 8:20 pm

As u all aware Proton Vendors are classified into Q category based on warranty claim recieved. It seem that only the only the top categories are allowed to be Savvy supplier but the lower category still can supply to other non TUV cars.

Sad to say that Proton is still trying to improve the bottom grade supplier (like what Japanese is doing) asking them to conform to various quality and reliability standard. TS1649, ISO9000 etc…etc… will they improve?

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 8:23 pm

hope so…but i dont see the new management come up with anything…tm did employ tuv and wanted to get rid or improve those vendors..sadly he not there anymore…any hope now?

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 11:06 pm

i dont see any hope for proton to survive with this new management..like u said param,they didnt do anything to improve….not like in mahaleels time.

when mahaleel want to kick off the useless vendor to improve proton,he instead being kick out of the ring….so sad!

thats why we didnt see the campro with cps yet i think…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 11:22 pm

yup..a lot of people are scared and angry when mahaleel employs TUV….

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 1:37 am

i think its too soon to make judgement about the new management of proton just yet. its only been less than a month since the new MD came above officially. its fair to at least give him a chance. as they say, rome wasnt built in a day. But if time is given, and they mess up again, then lets sharpen our knives and let the bashing begin…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 6:56 am

For Stevarac and aKsMs: Based on what i've read in the newspaper last week, the Proton Savvy sales, since it's launch in June 2005 is about 7100 units sold (combined sales of both MT and AMT). I'm one of them who bought the MT version. (Got a small TUV seal of approval at the Windscreen some more…)

I read in a local magazine that the AMT uses a gearbox from the Renault Clio III 2006 model. Cool.

• stevarac (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 7:40 am

nizam80 said,

January 18, 2006 @ 10:56 pm

————————————————

Share with us what is your honest opinion on your savvy beside no rattling .

Handling , FC , Noise insulation ..etc… ??

Don't feel embarassed to tell us if some of the parts starts to lose out to gravity.

Just joking !! But seriously , share with us your impression so far on the overall Quality level.

• rexis (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 6:04 pm

Mmmm, my impression is Savvy is very expensive! Becoz i see BMW more then I see Savvy! So Savvy must be very premium! Just joking, I never been on a Savvy before, at the beggining I feel that Savvy design and look feel very wierd and odd, sort of unable to accept the toilet bowl hood and the mid-afterburner at the back. But day after day, time pass away, slowly i seen this little car more, I sort of accept the reality that P1 has this car and start accepting it. But anyway, I wont buy it! :p For the same class car I have kelisa/kenari as option, a few thousand difference really mean nothing.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 7:51 pm

rexis,

somebody will point out to u that savvy has lotus handling la, top speed 170km/h la, strong body la… all those… wat're u gonna say to that?

• catborg (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 8:15 pm

rexis .. it's because u not try to drive it and love it.

i did.. and all the way ot's better times than Kelisa

go figure! .. look at http://www.savoc.net (savvy owner club) .

savvy no more UGLY as u think! . After little mod. u can see the Garang and great look.

But that's IF YOURE KIND AND HONEST look into it. but if you still hardcore of p2.. i would say.. you'll never accept it :D

for those still think savvy is small.. let u judge while it park nearby Iswara / wira .. or Getz .. u will impress that savvy are IN size and more higher than wira/iswara!. Spacious inside.. no problem with me those 170 height.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 9:24 am

Yes.. Savvy's NVH is excellent. 170 km/h u say? I haven't tried that yet on my Savvy. Only tried till 140 km/h, but i ran out of clear road. Still stable, and no vibration on the steering wheel, and absolutely no wind noise. :) So far, my car got no rattling yet. Only time, 'lenjan', and 'belasah' type of driving will tell. hehe… The car is not that small actually. In theory, it's a few milimeters wider than the iswara. (refer to Proton Edar website), but of course the length is shorter.

Rexis, for a few thousands more, u get a built-in Clarion CD Player, reliable engine, Drive By Wire technology, stronger chassis, 15 inch rims, and of course, better handling than the Kenari. But, still no Hi-Line version. I think maybe coming soon. hmm… actually which is expensive: Kenari or Savvy??

• cavino (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 10:59 pm

Just checking, is Campro ULEV compliant

• epalhead (Member) on Jan 21, 2006 at 8:07 pm

allo shaymen and every one….

have u all test drive one…???

its bullshit man….the acceleration, one must rev high to enable the car to move (sighs)…interior…wow. i like it. like u said. full of leather. well made. but performance wise…naaaaa…contradict my expectation. one must rev. up as high as 4000rpm in order to clock 30km/h before shifthing to 2nd gear and i'm talking bout the campro 1.6 auto here.

with the 110hp @ 6000rpm, my MYvi can simply chicken this campro eventhough the myvi clock 88bhp @ 6600rpm. hahahaha…wakakakaka..but ..huk huk….the interior of myvi, the sit fabric, door trim…dashboard even the carpet…if RUBBISH…looks CHEAP. huk huk

eventually i've book one merely coz of sedan looks of the waja, luxurious looks on the inside but i still a bit scared bout the campro engine.

anyone who have the experience of the gen2…anyone??

CHOU MI AE JEK!!!!

• Ajis (Member) on Jan 22, 2006 at 3:39 pm

I've overheard that Campro offers a bit savings in your petrol than the old 4g18.. But your car is gonna be a bit slower? Well, just some chats with a friend in Proton… Well, Love the new interior… Worth buying it than korean and taiwan made cars…. I'm planning on getting one of it…. substitute it with my Kembara…

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 23, 2006 at 6:12 am

i'm sticking with my 4g18 waja… thank u… mostly city bumper to bumper drive, i dont think Campro engine will save fuel any better…

• go_go (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 2:14 am

some people said the new waja campro carried a lots of problems… radiator bocor…ape tah lagi… betul ka?

• ben6608 (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 10:00 am

WHY THE HELL THE NEW WAJA CAPRO IS NOT FITTED IS WITH AIRBAGS????!!! I TOT IT SUPPOSED TO BE BETTER THAN THE OLD 1 but waja campro got ABS rite?

• addin_709 (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 10:40 pm

hello all, im new here.

i think bcos campro have a new interior look,leather seat etc so it have to cover the price.not like mine

4G18 enhanced vrsn.hi hi.its all about the money man.abs don have but in emergency brake situation its like abs type.ive a situation when i speed in100km/hrs theres a bloody driver who cross the red light trafic n i push the brake n its stop in less 10m.(kecut buah jugak wei).

• nizirith (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:57 pm

Hi..i'm new here.

i bought my waja campro (A) 7 mnths ago and seems no prob wit me.Fuel consumption is better than my bro's 4G18 waja.Just a little noise that came out lately fr my rear absorber.Some sound like a shaking spring or sometin.I thought it was my rear seat belt clip.My fren told me that it was a normal prob wit waja.Will send it for warranty n they will replace my absorber.I guess i have to support proton.I love my country man..i dont want to send my $$ outside the country to outsiders.U think?

• javgen2 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to purchase a facia panel for installing an aftermarket 1 din stereo to a 2005 Proton Gen 2?

• Is it campro engine is safe? From newspaper report that it burn into fire when involve in accident. That scary

• Dear all,

I jz bought a 2nd hand waja campro last month, im facing one problem hope all of u can help,
    the problem is when im on 110km/h on highway, when im slow down the speed around 80km/h, the car suddenly will turn to 3rd gear from 4th gear, really appreciate anyone can help me with this problem. Thx alot!!

• colin on Feb 06, 2011 at 4:01 pm

i bought new waja 1.6 (M) in july 1996, its going into my fifth year, i had no major problem except only my power window.

• Colin on Jan 18, 2013 at 9:47 pm

My waja now 6 years and 7 months. The suspensions seems got problem. Does anyone know which is the good suspension.

• Colin on Jun 20, 2015 at 7:51 am

Im now in 9th year of using my waja still love it