2006 Acura RDX Prototype i-VTEC Turbo SUV

Acura (Honda’s premium marque) showcased this Acura RDX prototype at the North American International Auto Show. A 5-seater SUV with four wheel drive and a new powerful turbocharged engine. Is this Honda’s competitor to the Mitsubishi Airtrek Turbo and the Subaru Forester?

The Acura RDX Prototype is positioned as an entry-level premium SUV that’s fun to drive as well as practical for those weekend golf trips. It comes with a 5-speed SportShift automatic transmission sending power to all 4 wheels via the exclusive SH-AWD (Super Handling All Wheel Drive) drive technology. But that’s not the most interesting thing about this car.

Notice anything strange in the engine bay? Yup, this is Honda/Acura’s first stock from factory engine equipped with a turbocharger since the old Honda City Turbo! This 2.3 litre i-VTEC Turbo 4-cylinder all-aluminium engine is turbocharged with a variable flow turbocharger which gives it some impressive performance stats of 240 horsepower and 260 lb-ft of torque.

The 5-speed SportShift transmission allows you to shift between the 5 gears from paddle shifters on the steering wheel, thus completing the sporty drive experience of the RDX Concept.

This prototype is a near-production vehicle that gives a preview of the new Acura RDX set for release at the end of summer this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 10:15 am

Honda coming out with turbo model…

I wonder will they also turbo-ed their Type R models.

• purity (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 10:17 am

har! first to comment…

the front view looks weird… still prefer the mitsu airtrek

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 4:08 pm

i still like the murano in terms of looks…honda turbo…hmmmm…sounds like the honda legend.anyway…concepts is concepts…no test drive figures,no nothing…no comment for now

• bing_civic (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 4:38 pm

finally…stock v-tec turbo…its awsome…

• cosmo (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 4:45 pm

no money to buy…. enough to say walla

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 5:12 pm

That's right. Until someone has actually driven it, don't think we can comment much though I hope that it would have pretty good performance. Design wise, it looks a bit better than its bigger brother, the MDX. But, I think it's main rival, BMW X3, still looks better.

Don't expect much on the handling department, even though it has SH-AWD. SH-AWD didn't help the Acura RL by much either. But then again, the RDX is only an SUV. Perhaps SH-AWD will find better use in the replacement for the NSX, though I think purists will prefer it switched-off.

Wonder if we can have that same engine in the next generation Accord (due in 2008)? Wouldn't that be awesome? Honda needs to buck up if it wants to keep up with the new Camry (which was also previewed at the same auto show as the RDX).

• SEE FU (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Honda Honda (or called ACURA)…….this time you are OUT!

Ulgy extrior look!!! Interior IP is too complex many button here and there. I'm still prefer Mitsu new OUTLANDER…

Check this out:
    http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/spy-mmc-out…

http://www.hobidas.com/auto/kaitai/article/mitsub…

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 6:22 pm

Nothing beats the Airtrek… except probably Forrester STi. These are the lengends. I think they call it "crossovers", please correct me if i'm wrong. "Crossovers" are neither SUVs nor stationwagons, they look like a 'car-version' of SUV (minus the huge off-road wheels).

The Acura RDX (although concept) looks more like an upmarket luxury SUV (golf trips? Ahbengs in Airtrek don't play golf:p). Acura RDX's probable competitors: Freelander, RAV4, or even Merc ML-Class. But that turbo engine rocks!

• catborg (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 8:52 pm

i prefer Nissan Murano. Better 100times than this outOFdate style of SUV kinda class.

i dont know why in my eye this ACura / Honda look soo boring ..

• KuSesat (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 9:14 pm

I think this American Acura isn't bad at all. It look cool. A 17-inch wheell and its sharp-angled design of the exterior will the SUV market all over the world. RDX can easilly overtake Nissan Murano. I hope to see this car in Malaysian roads in 3 years time.

• Paul Tan on Jan 16, 2006 at 9:15 pm

This is for the US market so maybe American tastes are to this kind of design.

• KuSesat (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 9:15 pm

240 bkp man!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• shooter (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 10:59 pm

the yanks can keep their SUVs, what with aerodynamics of a barn door and porky kerb weight =horrendous power/ torque to weight ratio and terrible mpg ( no wonder its gonna need 240bhp/ 260lbs just to crawl) and its probably not even, a half decent off-roader; even the manufacturers throw in the kitchen sink in the option list, I'm not buyin' ….SUVs suck big time.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:18 am

u know what…my fren try to beat wira 1.8 with his airtrek bfor..tak boleh potong la fren.this kinda vehicle sucks.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 1:33 am

#

shaymen said,

January 16, 2006 @ 5:18 pm

u know what…my fren try to beat wira 1.8 with his airtrek bfor..tak boleh potong la fren.this kinda vehicle sucks.

————————————-

for stu**d rich kids that thought my suv got turbo..sure can beat those cars punye..got evo7 engine what..now honda engine with turbo.they never stop and think bout power to weight and 4 wheel drive is not meant for speed…pick up only…in suv's case..1'st gear only la…hahahahahah

• Isamu (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 6:17 am

The fabulous Murano is a big SUV designed with the Bling Bling consumers in mind..

This Acura is a small SUV, therefore, you can't put in the bling factor into anything small as it clashes with the bling philosophy..

In my opinion, the Lincoln Navigator is the nicest american-styled SUV..

Back to the Acura, I wonder if the turbocharged engine or even the car will be made available to the Malaysian market as a Honda.. or even as half-cut in kedai potong.. then we'll see more people put the engine in their civic, accord and even jazz..

Honda through Senna, was the undisputed king of turbo in the 80s.. Is this a hint of turbo revival from Honda? An attempt to further improve their already efficient engines?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 17, 2006 at 7:04 pm

I don't think this signals a turbo revolution from Honda. More of an evolution, IMHO. As far as I know, Honda (and BMW) both prefer normal aspiration for extra power as opposed to taking the easy way out and going turbo. Reason being, turbo engines are quite problematic. I;m sure whatever reliability issues and turbo-lag would've been ironed out from experience in making the Honda turbo-diesel engine for Europe (the only other mass-produced turbo engine from Honda). So, the RDX engine should have the quality stamp of Honda/Acura.

Also, I read that this is no ordinary turbo like the competition. Its some sort of variable flow turbo, which is supposed to reduce lag and improve fuel eficiency. Don;t have much information on that right now. Have to wait for actual driving tests to find out more.

Yeah, design wise it does look very American. Don;t think it's meant for Asian markets (except Japan, who love SUVs). Personally I don;t really like the design, but it'll grow one me. It's not exactly ugly, just not pretty. But it would be nice to have the turbo engine in an Accord or Civic.

A few things to correct here. The rims are actually 19 inches, not 17. It's actual competition will be the American medium sized SUVs, & the BMX X3, and not large SUVs like the Murano, X5, etc.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 1:57 am

hmmm….this kind of vehicle coudnt get pass a wira 1.8….i really dont know why it is built?looks like a jeep to go deep it the forest but with its expensive pricing,nobody gonna go into the forest with this kind of vehicle…the crv,airtrek,bla,bla,bla….

who would dip their new range rover into the mud?it a silly thing la…

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 2:22 am

just wanna impress girls la shaymen…see my suv big..maybe if he's driving a big suv…he thinks those girls will think his *tut* is big also.LOL

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 5:23 pm

huhuhuhu…i think so la mr param.just wanna show off..

• rexis (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:07 pm

http://www.greencarcongress.com/2006/01/acura_goe…

someone post about the variable geometry turbo

• rexis (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:11 pm

paramsingwalia,

you mean SUV not meant for speed, not 4 wheel drive rite? Becoz sport carz like skyline also 4 wheel drive.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 6:18 pm

rexis said,

January 18, 2006 @ 10:11 am

paramsingwalia,

you mean SUV not meant for speed, not 4 wheel drive rite? Becoz sport carz like skyline also 4 wheel drive.

—————————————————————-

skyline is different rexis…skyline is not full time 4wd…..

vehicle like this is made to showoff that ur wealthy ppl….it is built for ur wife to take ur kid back from school…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Honda's SH-AWD is still a new technology & the RDX will only become the second Honda/Acura to use it. Though it did work OK on the bigger Acura RL (the first application of SH-AWD), it still wasn't perfect yet. Give them more time, and they'll make it better. But that variable turbo geometry is pretty kewl. If it can completely get rid of lag & make the engine more efficient, then I don;t see any reason why it should not be made available on the other Honda models. It's about time that Honda start using their F1 expertise to good use (though the turbo era in F1 and Indy ended ages ago). Read: more powarrhhh please!!

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 7:40 pm

#

rexis said,

January 18, 2006 @ 10:11 am

paramsingwalia,

—————————-

rexis…skyline is not permanent 4 wheel drive…it distribute drive to the front wheel when wheelspin is detected…normally it is rear wheel drive…subaru and evo's are 4 wheel drive…but if ur driven one…it will not accelerate quickly after 3rd gear…thus why i said it's not meant for speed.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 9:03 pm

huhuhu this is somthing you couldnt see every day, honda with turbo, freshly baked and coming out from the factory. last i remember it was honda city turbo – in the 80’s. In that time honda city are more like kancil than a sedan like now if i’m not mistaken.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 2:56 am

Yeah. I remember that car. Honda's techno looking pocket-rocket. Looks a bit dated now though, hehe.. Oh well, so much for 1980's design.

• jdm_inspire (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 7:39 pm

I'm a bit disappointed at how BORING the Acura display was at the Detroit Autoshow. Just 1 of each car in their line-up … the NSX was missing (since it is discontinued) and the RDX production vehicle was roped off, so no one could sit inside it.

The concept car looked MUCH BETTER. Hope the car handles well.

• tariq (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:55 am

The style and performance of this RD-X are Acura's response to the superb Subaru Tribeca SUV. quite stunning.

• Its sad how you people are sooo retarded with all these stupid comments on airtrek is better murano is the best and all that shit. When you people have never travel across or out of Malaysia at all. Yeah it has SH-AWD and its good but not fantastic. The turbo and power is amazing. Stop with your shitty ass protons. Its plastic and will always be plastic. Shessshh, get out of the country and travel more. Theres more to the world than just the four walls of your kampung houses.