2006 Mitsubishi Colt CZC coupe cabriolet

At first glance, the new Mitsubishi Colt CZC coupe-cabriolet reminded me alot of the Peugeot 206CC. Coupe and cabriolet all in one car. The Colt CZC coupe-cabriolet was jointly engineered by Mitsubishi Motors Corporation, Mitsubishi Design Europe and Pininfarina S.p.A.

The 2+2 seater Mitsubishi Colt CZC is built off the normal Colt hatchback platform. The bodyshell is reinforced over the normal Colt hatch and coupe because of the abscence of a structural roof.

2 differnet engine options are proposed to be offered. One is a 1.5 MIVEC turbocharged engine that delivers 150ps, allowing the car to go from 0-100km/h in 8.4 seconds and hit a top speed of 202km/h. The other is a normally aspirated 109ps 1.5 litre engine.

The Mitsubishi Colt CZC will be produced at NedCar’s plant in The Netherlands. NedCar used to be the plant that produced Mitsubishi-Volvo joint venture platform vehicles, a partnership that has since failed. NedCar also makes the smart forfour.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 5:17 pm

yummy, hope they will bring it to Malaysia. 1.5 pumping out 150hp, wow!!!!!

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 6:26 pm

Not a good choice for us, quite enough of bird s*** around, haha…

The convertable roof built from same material of the car chassis, amazing!

But feel weird of its too short rear part. The rear wheel almost touching to its buttock liao…

• El Goodoo (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 6:30 pm

looks like a FAT n BOLD version of Pg 206cc.

i don't like it!

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 6:45 pm

Lovely :)

• waimak (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 7:27 pm

Unique design and excellent 'coupe-cabriolet' combination, but I think I just stick to normal Mistubishi Colt now available in the local market. Cabriolet models have failed to chart good sales in Malaysia probably because of geographical factor plus 'monotonous' taste and preference of the people here. Like the rims..

• catborg (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 7:35 pm

Fugly!..

im goin to hate mitsubishi now.

because they seem have no ida on what a good car is. :D

do anyone notice it's similiar to the peugot 206 cabriolete? .

Nampak pelik bahagian depan , macam van estima pula.

JV with volvo also failed?

so that's mean not jv with proton = proton caused it failed.. But they pissoff… ???

no wonder they near bancrupt..

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Alamak, the bonnet too short!!!!!!

Even the Peugeot 206 cabrio looks better.

But these tiny cabrios (good thing everyone's adapting metal-folding top rather than canvas) are alittle too impractical. And uhm, for men? No thanks..

• shooter (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 9:13 pm

looks kinda kontot to me,

• lance (Member) on Jan 21, 2006 at 8:20 am

I like the performance part of the car … hmm… 1.5l turbo-charged for 150horses… nice – as long as the handling can keep up that is…

• Ajis (Member) on Jan 22, 2006 at 3:27 pm

Hmmm… Looks Weird… :D well for me… maybe not for others… I mean… It's funny until they can put this car in a circus… But the engines… Nicely done…

• Mario A. Munoz on Jul 01, 2009 at 12:47 pm

I wish they would sell this car in the USA. I think it would sell well. People are tired of gas prices and want a good mileage vehicle.