2006 Honda Civic in Malaysia – Front Spyshot

A reader sent this in. The 2006 Honda Civic, this time with a frontal spyshot. Looking good. The square Honda badge’s outline is kind of visible through all the masking. Headlamps disguised. And it kind of looks like the wing mirrors are wrapped with tape too, so maybe we have signal indicators on the signal lamp, otherwise there would be no reason to mask it out. I heard Honda showrooms are already taking bookings. Now if only I can strike that lottery…

Update: The new 2006 Honda Civic has already been launched, have a look at the 2006 Honda Civic in-depth post.

Test Drive:
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

2006 Honda Civic in Malaysia – Front Spyshot
2006 Honda Civic spyshot in Malaysia – rear profile
Honda Civic Hybrid Modulo Concept
Mugen Honda Civic Dominator Concept
2006 Honda Civic Modulo
2006 Honda Civic JDM
2006 Honda Civic USDM

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Is this the one with the multi-tiered instrument binnacle?

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Civic accept booking now, Toyata Yaris also can do it now, everything seem very fine, but WTF all well above RM100K. Yup, strike the lottery but at least must above 3rd prize!

• alamak (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:14 pm

pricing is just something we have to live with here. not just quality cars are expensive, even lousy budget cars cost a bomb. How can a college student afford 30-40k for a budget national car? Overseas in europe, it's only a few thousand, which can be funded within 1 year, doing odd jobs. Here, u need a 5 year loan, and a permanent job just to fund the loans… sad..

but back to more exciting news, what would be a good body kit (any official?) for this civic 06?

I gotta work harder, smarter to buy this!!

• wilson (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 9:57 pm

good shot man

thank to the guy who post this pic.

good looking car . ill buy one of this one day .

hehe kena lotery sure buy

adei today dont have kuda lah

• afhstingray (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 10:33 pm

the euro version which is recieving rave revies i think is much better imo
    http://www.honda.co.uk/civic/

kicks ass!

…..wonder why they are selling this version in malaysia!!!

there are rumors (from apparently reliable sources) that nissan, and toyota have scrapped plans to release their new cars when they saw the 06 civic euro model and gone back to the drawing board cos it made their products look 10 years older!! it really does look like a concept car lol

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 11:01 pm

Great one! Thanks dude!

I've booked one in Dec 05. hehehehee… Getting more and more EXeCiTED!

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 12:09 am

It's on Singapore's roads already. I must say its front looks quite a lot like the Honda Accord i-VTEC which is butt-ugly. The new Hyundai Sonata which copied the looks of this Accord actually looks better :)

No more 1.6L. Only 1.8L and 2.0L.

Civic is going upmarket, that's for sure :)

• alamak (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 1:45 am

Marky which one you booked? 1.8 or 2.0?

Any indication on pricing? How much deposit you have to put down?

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 2:06 am

the front of the new civic is their new look. if you havent realised arleady, the current oydessy has the same front end as the civic. it was the first honda to go down this new styling look.

unfortunately, all the new japanese mainstream saloons are above rm100k lah. started with the toyota altis like 3-4 years ago, 1.8 starting price then was already rm122,000.

• MarkyMark (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 3:10 am

I hv booked a 1.8.

Deposit is actually RM1K, but my SA collected RM500 first I believe when itz offically launched, and when we r able to choose color, …etc. he will ask for another RM500.

Price ranges from RM120K to RM135K for 1.8 & 2.0. Tat's d only indication I got from the showroom's self-made catalogue he showed me.

Yeah I asked my friend who bought the Altis 2 years+ ago, it was RM122K, so very likely tis Civic will be more than tat.

• No.1 Honda Fan (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 5:48 pm

I guess there are reasons of why Honda is bringing in the JDM but not USDM. Being the HQ at Japan which is a closer contingent to Japan than Euro, that explains why. You don’t see Singapore bringing in USDM as well! I guess this relates a lot to how honda manages it internationally.

Although Honda is not bringing in the USDM model but i’m sure a lot of people out there are very happy with JDM, including myself. A big thanks to honda malaysia.

Reading through a news column the other day and Honda Malaysia has been doing quite well last year. It was the highest achievement in Honda Malaysia history with the success story of City & Accord. Being a treatening factor for Toyota and Nissan, Honda Malaysia performs very well. The standard they maintain is even higher than Toyota, look at innova and avanza, they are selling it based on getting profit. honda’s branding in top in the industry for non luxury brand.

A big salute to you, honda!

• damion (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 9:42 pm

paul, there's side indicators on the front side panels…

so i don't think having indicators on the side mirrors are possible…

unless they decide to run panel indicators for 1.8 and side mirror indicators for the 2.0…

which could be highly possible.. ;)

afhstingray, think of it this way… altho the euro version MIGHT look better… the variety of models still varies very much on the market they're hoping to get a piece of cake from… they don't expect to bring in a model that looks super hot and end up selling only a few hundred cars… always remember which market segment are they dealing with, who holds the money to buy cars priced as such…

i know a lot of people who prefered this civic over the euro(american) model because it still looks REASONABLE and ACCEPTABLE… and they can pay for it…

in the marketing team's point of view, enthusiasts are a whole lot of difference from prospective buyers… if you're both.. you're just lucky.. if not.. tough luck.. :)

btw, if you're wondering why i say "might look good" is because personally i think this one looks a whole better than the euro one..

if i want a jetplane lookalike, pass me a lotus exige anytime..

chuamike, i think the sonata looks butt-ugly and the accord much better.. personal preferance.. no offense.. :)

• No.1 Honda Fan (Member) on Jan 28, 2006 at 1:48 am

I guess there are reasons of why Honda is bringing in the JDM but not USDM. Being the HQ at Japan which is a closer contingent to Japan than Euro, that explains why. You don't see Singapore bringing in USDM as well! I guess this relates a lot to how honda manages it internationally.

Although Honda is not bringing in the USDM model but i'm sure a lot of people out there are very happy with JDM, including myself. A big thanks to honda malaysia.

Reading through a news column the other day and Honda Malaysia has been doing quite well last year. It was the highest achievement in Honda Malaysia history with the success story of City & Accord. Being a treatening factor for Toyota and Nissan, Honda Malaysia performs very well. The standard they maintain is even higher than Toyota, look at innova and avanza, they are selling it based on getting profit. honda's branding in top in the industry for non luxury brand.

A big salute to you, honda!

• chris (Member) on Jan 28, 2006 at 8:06 am

quote : I heard Honda showrooms are already taking bookings. Now if only I can strike that lottery…

Good luck paul,go for 6/49 super today hehehe

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 29, 2006 at 12:36 am

Saw one on my row today. Looks like it was from Thailand or Singapore, didn't look at the number plate properly. Boy does it look good in the flesh. The front looks really nice but the back could use some revisions.

• afhstingray (Member) on Jan 30, 2006 at 12:09 am

damion:

i guess you are right, the euro version was designed to grab a piece of the cake from the golf GTI and the BMW one series

even though its reasonably priced here (same price as perdana i think) they probably needed to design a low cost version for our region becos of the taxes etc.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 01, 2006 at 8:32 am

I don't understand why Honda Malaysia needs to hide the car? I mean, everybody knows that it's gonna look like the Singapore & Thailand Civic, which is already on sale (and some are already on our roads). Anyway, judging by the rim design, the front spyshot is the 1.8, which does not have wing mirror located turn indicators. Only the 2.0 will receive that.

Come on Honda Malaysia (HM), bring the car fast. What are you waiting for? Could it be that HM is planning to launch the car during the Malaysian F1 GP in March & get Jenson and Rubens involved? Hmmm…..

• alamak (Member) on Feb 02, 2006 at 5:52 am

that's a very interesting observation of marketing strategies… heh to launch during F1, with jenson and rubens!

wonder if they will take it for a spin on sepang! hahahah

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 08, 2006 at 6:30 am

Spoke to a dealer. According to him, the launch date for the new Civic is mid-March. However, when I enquired about the price, he mentioned that he did not know. Alrightey then, just one more month to go. It does appear highly likely that the launch will coincide with the Malaysian F1 GP!!

• alamak (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 11:34 pm

Hmm if you book now, you can cut some booking queues when the car launches!

• nikoy (Member) on Feb 11, 2006 at 7:05 am

This car has lots of modding potentials…Put in bigger wheels, replace with 2007 Civis SiR stlyed front skirt…fuuuuh…