Tengku Mahaleel seeks damages

Tengku Tan Sri Mahaleel Tengku Ariff has brought the case of his controversial termination as the CEO of Proton to the Jabatan Perhubungan Perusahaan (IRD) of the Ministry of Human Resources. Tengku Mahaleel is seeking damages, and bonus for his termination but there was no indication as to how much he was seeking.

Sources are of the opinion that Proton will choose to settle out of court to reduce negative publicity surrounding this ‘high profile case’.

Source: Utusan Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• catborg (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 10:43 pm

it's PAYBACK TIME mahalel!..

saman jugak bad Mouth malaysian.. hahaha!

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 12:26 am

not saman but $$$$

"Tengku Mahaleel is seeking damages, and bonus for his termination"

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 12:28 am

bagi kat dia RM xxx juta.. sure OK!!

• auyongtc (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 1:48 am

Proton should've hold up on selling MV Augusta, and just offload it to TM here… lol

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 2:20 am

mayb this fight will result in both parties reveal the dark secrets of the other parties. Then, we will know the 'kisah benar' behind proton's fall from the top.

• yhtan (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 2:28 am

what the hell,what he did to proton and yet he dare to bring this to court.

Damn…all he want is money money money!

• Isamu (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 3:50 am

I doubt he'll win the case. The actual word used by Proton then were "non-renewal of contract". He was technically still the CEO for a further few months' time except that he was given "gardening leave" just like what Manchester United's ex-CEO Peter Kenyon did when Chelsea tapped thim up.

I personally think he's not that silly to not know that. Could it be another individual who made him do that so as to open up a new avenue to continue attacking Proton? Afterall, Proton did not retaliate against another individual's previous scathing attack.

—–

yhtan,

In my opinion, he is the one who can be very much credited with continuously building up Proton's R&D capabilities. Without him, the Lotus influences would not be in Proton cars. When he was in power, Proton developed the Waja, Arena, Gen.2, Savvy and the yet to be launched New Satria and the now cancelled MSX (Lotus APX!). So many models in 6 years time is not a bad an effort.

I'm not siding with him but he also very nearly gave us Proton assembled Volkswagens. It was after he left that the full-scaled partnership was cancelled due to the Government's insistence that Proton should stay independent, equity-wise.

I think it is very clear that Tengku was doing what was required of him as a CEO to bring Proton forward. Think of it, he gave Proton an identity. Although still lagging behind, quality-wise, at least he injected soul into Proton cars, something to differentiate the Proton brand from other makes, by concentrating on ride and handling. Proton cars from Waja onwards are fun to drive even without electronic gizmos.

A captain can only steer the ship but ultimately, it's a team effort. It's the same as being a president or a PM of any country. no matter how involved you are with the activities, you can only rely on people from the bottom or even the outside of the organisational chart for information and also for the the enormous amount of work to be done.

Afterall, running a company this big, with this many activities, expectations and attention is not like running an SMI/SME with only a hundred employees.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 7:56 am

This is so obvious, indirectly trying to force Proton's board to come out in the open with the answers on the 8 question that the 2TMs posed to the board on the 1 euro case.

Way to go Mahaleel !!! Make transparency "visible " Don't settle for anything less than 2 euro for Lotus !! ha ha ha…..

• waimak (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 5:35 pm

I think this is quite normal. Industrial Relation Acts (Section 20 if not mistaken) provides any employee been terminated to so called 'be defended' based on just cause. Mahleel has all rights to do this. The only this that matters is what's the IR court ruling after Proton (management) presented their side of the 'story'. If I was him, I would seek 'everything' too! Hehehe..

• rexis (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 5:47 pm

trying to dig as much as possible with they still can, really doubt any planning to save proton at all, all they thinking is their pocket pocket and pocket. There goes malaysian pride, flushed down to the toilet like overnite delicioucy.

• Bigjoe (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 6:58 pm

I saw something interesting in the Indonesia Press. Do you know that Indonesia now export more Automotive sector than Malaysia now? 85% of it is Toyota of which Avanza and Innova is most of it.

Indonesia which does absolutely little for its automotive industry and Malaysia which does more than any other nation for its automotive industry can still do better because just one very good foreign car company tells you that there is little that government can really do for the long term competitiveness of the industry.

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 7:56 pm

I see no reason TM will win in this case, really annoying to see these over-paid moron "CEO" digging money from their former companies, so many such cases. They should remain the manner after step-down, after all, they had been paid on what they have done, whether good or bad.

• Jake (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 10:15 pm

i suppose we all just dont know the real inside-inside story meh….wait for the court day lah…. i respect TM, he's done tremendously for proton and national automotive…guy like him got value- he used to work for Shell wright? thanx a lot TM!

…but he's time at/with proton has ended let's move forward…

…but it's his right to sue, what, let him be… ;-)

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 11, 2006 at 10:14 am

Hmm… if he's still in Proton, who knows what he will be doing. I'm sure Proton will have more cars coming. Remember Proton Ultimate?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 6:38 pm

my car was stolen, they took it with a tow truck, on bright daylight….watch out guys… they are always people who likes to make easy money

• outspoken (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 1:24 am

suddenly, the term "FAT CATS" comes to to mind..