All’s well at Perodua

While the folks at our first national car manufacturer are busy restructuring Team Proton, Perodua is grinning ear to ear at the runaway success of their latest model the Perodua Myvi. The Perodua Myvi has received 80,000 bookings so far, but only 35,000 are on the road due to inability for production to keep up with sales. Average bookings per month have stabilized at a certain figure, but still pretty much piling up at a rate of 4000-4500 new bookings a month. Earlier months sometimes had over 10,000 bookings in a single month. Perodua is working on expanding their production capacity and hopes to reduce the waiting period to 4 months from the current 7-9 months by mid-2006.

As for a new model, Perodua has one up it’s sleeves (I think it’s this model), but it will only launch it in early 2007 in order not to cannibalize it’s Perodua Myvi’s sales. The new model would also have engine capacities of 1.0 litre and below in order not to cut into the Perodua Myvi’s segment. Definitely sounds like either a Kelisa or a Kancil replacement model. I wonder if Perodua will combine the two product lines.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• epalhead (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 8:21 pm

imagine this…

your whole family in on the road to penang from selangor. full passenger plus the boot is also full.Half way one of the tyre flat out..what do u do??….you change ur tyre right? Take out ur spare tyre from the boot, replace the flat tyre. Done. Sure? Not really.

There's one queston here? Where do u want to put the 14" flat tyre??? the compartment that accomodate the 12" spare tyre does not fit the 14" tyre. Even without ur luggage, the tyre dont fit with the boot. But the condition here is that your luggage is full. You are in the middle of your journey. Say it happens in Ipoh. your car is full. what do u want to do??

a. Put on the roof

b. put on top of the bonet

c. Put it on Perodua CEO head

YOU MOU KAR CHOU!!!!!!!

• epalhead (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 8:23 pm

I'M TALKING BOUT myVI UP THERE!!

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 9:19 pm

Good for Perodua. I always believed they were doing a good job and giving people what they wanted. Safety and certain plastics quality issues aside, they are doing an overall fantastic job.

I just serviced my Kembara the other day and the brake master pump and rear wheel cylinder pumps had to be changed at a cost of RM1500+ just for parts alone. Needless to say, that was very way out of my budget. So I wanted to source elsewhere for the job when the service technician told me I can buy the parts outside and they can do the service job. So I got the parts for RM225 from a parts shop and they only charged me a minimal for service. So good of them to help me save money.

And I think this is where they are being effective, serving the needs of the market they are targetting, the lower middle income group. Think Proton will be so flexible?

Happy motoring

• Bigjoe (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 10:44 pm

Very respectable performace. How many people want to bet that sooner or later they will ask Perodua to take over Proton?

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Bigjoe said,

Very respectable performace. How many people want to bet that sooner or later they will ask Perodua to take over Proton?

————————————————————–

Sadly that will nvr happen, Perodua as u know is 51% owned by Daihatsu (read: Toyota) . So letting P2 take over P1 is like lettin foreigners take over anyways.

If the gahmen was ok wit that the VW deal waould have gone through.

• Dinozilla (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 12:27 am

where you service your car, marmitecrab?

by the way…..I am going to service mine soon…

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 12:54 am

wau lau! cut short to 4 months also a torture to us.

Sorry, I'm a typical frustrated dude booked Myvi… waited too long liao…

Interestingly, ysday received an apology letter from P2 regarding the delay, I dun know whether to be happy or not. :p

How wish that they could giva away iPod Nano or even shuffle will do, then nvrmind to wait for another 1month, haha…

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 5:48 am

hmm… bout the new Perodua model in 2007, i think its goin to be BOTH the Kancil and Kelisa replacement. I've had sleepless nights thinking bout this. I predict the model's gonna have 3 engine choices!!!! Yes.. 3!!!! 660cc, 850cc, and 1000cc: That's gonna replace the whole Kancil and Kelisa line-up. Anyway, both the Kancil and Kelisa look almost the same… thats y Perodua goin to replace both of them. It all makes sense now… Am i right guys??

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 8:30 am

Dinozilla,

The service centre is in PJ, off the Rothmans roundabout heading towards the Citroen and Mitsubishi showrooms. You can go to Sea Park from there as well.

Another landmark would be Next Car, which is just in front of the Perodua Showroom and Service Centre. If you need to change parts and want to get the cheaper option, take a short drive to Sea Park. There are many spare parts shops there.

Good luck.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 8:33 am

And by the way, some of the spare parts shops there have a very good relationship with the Perodua service guys.

The shop I bought parts from also delivers parts there for free. And what a convenient service it was because one of the parts I bought turned out to be the wrong one. I just gave a call to the shop and they sent the right one there immediately.

Fantastic service.

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 6:07 pm

dear YOU MOU KAR CHOU!!!!!!!

nice talk on spare tyre…I drive a MYVI too.

BUT I still keep my Wira, now 8 years old, and inside the boot fit a 13" spare tyre. Guess what, this spare is the same "NEW" tyre when I collected the car from the showroom, and it had only been use on 2 occassion.

So if it happen on the example U written, just say it is pure unlucky, but just drive into Ipoh to have that flat fix before continue your journey, because the spare is meant for rear only at speed 80km/p, so it make no sense to drive the spare tyre from ipoh to penang at 110km/p with the tyre on the front wheel.

happy motoring

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Dear friends.

I receive my MYVI in mid-July 05.

I will get shoot at for writing that. BUT I book for the car in April 05, without looking at the car, no picture, no colour, no idea.

The car…. it is great car to own and drive….. worth the wait.

Rumour say, the premium edition is slow delivery due to supplier cannot keep up to P2 demand.

happy motoring

• Driven2020 (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 6:45 pm

epalhead said,

February 15, 2006 @ 12:21 pm

imagine this…

your whole family in on the road to penang from selangor. full passenger plus the boot is also full.Half way one of the tyre flat out..what do u do??….you change ur tyre right? Take out ur spare tyre from the boot, replace the flat tyre. Done. Sure? Not really.

There’s one queston here? Where do u want to put the 14″ flat tyre??? the compartment that accomodate the 12″ spare tyre does not fit the 14″ tyre. Even without ur luggage, the tyre dont fit with the boot. But the condition here is that your luggage is full. You are in the middle of your journey. Say it happens in Ipoh. your car is full. what do u want to do??

a. Put on the roof

b. put on top of the bonet

c. Put it on Perodua CEO head

YOU MOU KAR CHOU!!!!!!!

if the stock tyres are ok probably not be able to fit into the spare tyre compartment.

But u said tyre is deflated shouldn't it be able to fit? i reckon the size smaller after deflate.

Any ideas anyone?

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 9:50 pm

always amazed on how theor biz is depended so much on only one new model?this cant be good…wat if the demand dies down eventually?myvi is a phenomena obviously n its nt gonna be repeated again,i tink thy definatly must have new models soon , i dont think thy wil be able to survive if only selling kancil,kenari,kelisa and rusa…..jus wat i tink

• epalhead (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 1:42 am

Edwin2,

yeah..sure. we can fix the tyre in ipoh, then continue our journey to penang…but where to put that flat tyre before we reach a workshop??

Hey paul!! Where should we put the flat tyre??? Jeremy Clarkson would love this one…..

YOU MOU KAU CHOR!!!!

• jet (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 2:02 am

about myvi, this is interesting.. .http://hasadi78.blogspot.com/2006/01/myvi-crash-during-sso-bkt-jalil.html

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 2:06 am

dear YOU MOU KAU CHOR!!!!

must be very unlucky to kena this kind of things loh… :(

not MyVi the only one, cars like honda Accord, Civic etc etc are now all giving this small tyre as spare….. probable in MyVi case, the boot is smaller then other cars, …. but situation can be the same when the large boot are all max fill too…. anyway, the chinese say "when boat reach jetty, it will be straight". he he ha ha

happy motoring.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 5:00 pm

jet said,

February 16, 2006 @ 6:02 pm

about myvi, this is interestingâ€&brvbar ;http://hasadi78.blogspot.com/2006/01/myvi-crash-during-sso-bkt-jalil.html

Myvi tuner heads~~ dun zhng ur Myvi too kau kau unless you do some serious chassis stiffenning lol~

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:53 am

Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon are nice looking little car. But the Myvi got a facelift which make it very ugly. sad nya! and how come so many people book it until production cannot keep up with sales. This will only make Perodua not introducing new models faster…sad nya! wait..again!!!