Round 2: The TM duo question MV Agusta sale

mvagustasaga.jpg

As most of you know, Proton had disposed of MV Agusta last December for 1 Euro in an exercise to divest its non-core assets. Proton had originally acquire MV Agusta for 70 million Euros, on top of taking on its debts. It finally sold it to Gevi SpA for 1 Euro, together with its debts and working capital requirements of 139.44 million Euros.

Tun Dr. Mahathir and Tengku Mahaleel issued a public release questioning Protons sale of MV Agusta, calling for Protons board to answer some questions like who else bidded for MV Agusta, why it was sold for only 1 Euro, who made the decision to sell, was there any attempt to get a higher price, and many more which can be found in this previous post.

Originally Protons management had drafted a response to the TM duos queries, but in the end Protons board only issued a brief statement to Bursa Malaysia and decided not to do any additional explanation on the matter. To Protons board, the Bursa Malaysia statement had already addressed the necessary details which need to be made known. The TM duos queries were left unanswered.

The decision to buy MV Agusta took 14 months to make, while the decision to sell it off took 2 months. This insinuated that Tengku Mahaleel and Tun Dr. Mahathir had made a very bad business decision in purchasing it.

Basically the above two issues are the cause of dissatisfaction – the way the sale was made, and treating MV Agusta as a non-core asset. With no answer from Proton.

Surely you do not expect Tun Dr. Mahathir and Tengku Mahaleel to keep quiet about this? The recent Tengku Mahaleel case against Proton with the Jabatan Perhubungan Perusahaan is a totally different matter altogether. That is regarding his allegedly shady termination, not MV Agusta.

The latest salvo was fired on Monday by Tengku Mahaleel and Tun. Dr Mahathir. Tengku Mahaleel commented on the lack of transparency which is against the governments wishes for transparency.

For one, he disagrees that MV Agusta is considered a non-core business. According to Tengku Mahaleel, the automotive industry consists of assembling and logistics, casting and machining engines and related parts, mould and dies making, styling clay and design engineering, stimulation and prototype building, vehicle testing, distribution and dealership.

Why keep MV Agusta? According to the TM duo, MV Agusta had a concept plan to build a car which cost only RM10,000 using frame and unique manufacturing methods which could have been the base for a budget peoples car like an Iswara replacement model. MV Agusta also could build a small high-tech 850cc-1000cc engine for small Proton cars like the Proton Savvy. The engine could potentially cost RM2500 less than the 1.2 litre Renault unit. This could save Proton RM625 million for 250,000 Savvys sold over 5 years, making up for the 70 million Euro it costed to purchase MV Agusta. MV Agusta also has an unique patented airflow system which could be integrated with the Campro engine.

Tun Dr. Mahathir expressed his disappointment with the Securities Commission for keeping mum over the issue of a listed companys controversial sale of an entity for such a small amount. “In the world of motorcycles, this is the Rolls-Royce, and you give it away for one Euro. And what are you going to do with that one Euro?” Well Tun Mahathir, perhaps Proton can go buy another company on the verge of bankruptcy ;)

Tengku Mahaleel had a medium to long term financial plan for Proton of which MV Agusta had a part to play in it. According to projections and if the plan went well, MV Agusta should be on its way to turning a profit by the year 2010 and will provide RM200 million a year revenue for Proton which can be used to fund development efforts. Development costs are about RM500 million a year.

Tengku Mahaleel also pointed out that Protons financial loss posting in Q1 2005 was not entirely due to MV Agusta. Protons share of liabilities for MV Agusta was only RM64 million, which was 57.5% of the total RM 111 million reflecting the 57.5% ownership that Proton had in MV Agusta. MV Agustas losses for the quarter was RM48.3 million. So 57.5% of that is RM28 million. Protons losses for the quarter was RM166 million. Basic mathematics would tell you RM28 million is only a fraction of RM166 million.

Provision for MV Agustas debts was only 45 million, while total provisions were 137 million. Rumours are that the extra 92 million ringgit are from extra stock pushed onto Proton dealers that are unsold though this rumours are not confirmed. However, apparently the high inventory is normal and not a cause for concern, Proton Edar CEO Datuk Maruan Said commented on reports that there were 24000 unsold Proton cars in inventory left over from 2005, worth about RM 900 million.

A complete Q&A session with Tengku Mahaleel on the issue is available here.

I apologize for the delay in posting on this latest updates on Proton as I have been busy moving my blog to a new web hosting provider today. The move is now complete and I trust that all of you have no problems visiting my blog now. If you have problems with any of the functions like commenting or browsing, please contact me as soon as possible and Ill try to identify the problem and rectify it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 5:21 pm

I think those two TMs surf this n AW website, they know ppl r blaming them 4 making the purchase of MA. Now they wanna defend their decision, try to drag the ppl to their side. Sigh…….those two complaining is making themselves looking like the fugitives rather than the victim image they try to project.

• Xoomie (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 6:40 pm

TM & TDM got a point there.

And now.. why are P1 & G keeping quite?

Where's the tranparencies? Did they made a bad decisions by selling Agusta?

The saga continues….!

• kody (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Wahlaueh…

For a short term of period, yes MV is making losses, i'm not sure how long it has making lost until now. But the plan to build proton at MV's plant & incorporate MV technologies to proton cars are a very good & long term ideals to me. Business wise, you need to plan for long term…

Just like Tun want to build national car in early 80's, everyone rejected… but it did help to boost our economy & maintain national cash flow by reducing import cars.

• kody (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Wahlaueh…

hot topics… i just want to add more…

Now TM & TDM like kind of opposite party to our G.

From initial news, i thought the losses >100mil will mostly from MV. but now very clear only a portion from a big losses.

So, i will want to ask in other way to TM, what have you done to cause P1 to make such big portion of losses… you r not doing ur job??!!. that's why no contract renewer…

I wonder why TM already become director for P1 for years but still did not know the major contributors to sales drop & losses… Did P1 well prepare themself for the AFTA ???!!

• simplemind (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 8:03 pm

the problem is TM bougth August for Proton mid-term planning..then he was terminated.. how can he executed his strategy then ?? no continuation of corporate planning is the problem… maybe they dont study Business Administration degree in details…

Proton is the brainchild of TDM… he would choose any strategic option to salvage Proton which support the buying of Augusta which can generate projected profit in year 2010 to support Proton development cost…probably buying Augusta maybe has its own pro and cons…but sufferes would still be the public consumers..paying high bill to get a Proton car..instead, can buy cheaper foreign car without protection taxes…they need to wait until 2010 to get a better developed car ?? somehow i felt that the affluent BOD of Proton NEVER understand the consequences of their action to the poor public of this country…somehow this is the national car project and should give benfits to the public more…furthermore, car is the largest SECOND investment after real estate…

buying price =70 millions euro with debts

selling price = 1 euros with debts

Question..

a) Is the Augusta debts increased ?

b) If yes, why is that so ? Augusta loses its marekt share or competency ? Dont the public has the rights to know ?

the next thing concern is about the Malaysian culture blame..blame..blame..then..justify..justify justify..so being childish…

eg: TM justified his reason behind buying Augusta after Proton share drop from Rm9 to Rm 5… He didnt do that when Proton share increase from RM7 to RM9… Reason: Public perception that his termination is correct pushing Proton share upward intially..Well, it's a correct thing to save his ego. Maybe everyone include me will do the same. The CORE problem is that, is such culture correct ?? Focus should be on upgrading Proton technology and not on finger-pointing..

I fully support TDM initial good motive in creating Proton..it brings in technology trasnfer (although failed), creates job employments and booming secondary industry such as spare parts and services. It also help in marketing Malaysia to the world although not much an impact. Its better none than never..However, in doing so, please spare some mental thinking towards the public at large especially the 40% Proton car owners if they are really buying car for value… With all the current mess around, lets ponder some questions around the reality of Proton towards the public:

a) the value of 40% Proton car owners vs the numbers of job employments including secondary industry ? Is it worth it in the past, now and the future ??

b) will Proton has the competitiveness now or in the future to boost market share to its original record high 60% ??

c) would it be better to closed down rendering many people jobless ?? How many would lose their income ?? On the contrast, this would lower protection tax of foregin cars. Means, more people buy import cars at cheaper price. Public especially car owners would be more happy. Foreign car manufacturer would set up local production plant which means new jobs and new foreign investment eg Thailand

d) Proton future to compete with increasing automobile companies in emerging countries such as China ?? Forming foreign alliances is active eg General Motors with Shaghai Automobile.. Can Proton compete in cheap labour cost and quality without compromising value to the local publics ??

e) Rumours that Proton would form alliances.. Will it really bring technology transfer when it failed before with Mitsubishi ? How can Perodua could increae its market share vs declining Proton ?

In short, the majority would really wish Proton to survive without compromisng the value of shareholders, potential and current car owners. Instead, readers should bring in constructive comments WITH opinions to improve instead of constant 'nagging and criticsm'. Even in child psychology, schizorphenic (mentally unsound) persons usually originate from family with high criticism !!

• outspoken (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 9:22 pm

i have been very cautios when proton sold mv. now, unfortunately, i feel that TDM and TM have a point. it was a rushed decision and i think was not a correct one. But, lets not cry over a spilled milk. Ask the fat cats to lick them!! :)

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 1:06 am

Again, a miss conception, the sale was not plain 1 euro guys, it was 1 euro + 300 Mil (debt). But the 300 mil didnt goes to proton but it was vapourised as paying debts. I believe you guys can find it either in archieve news paper reports or even you guys can dig up this blog for older dicussion on this.

Personally for me, rather the thinking of buying a sick bike company in the first place, what they should do back then was, carefully plan 10-15 years on better plastic interior a.k.a quality. From 95 up to 05 – the built quality was getting… i leave it to you guys.. you can compare a 95 wira model built quality with the later..

If those guys really fixed that thing, than i really can give them a tabik spring to them la.. :)

• cyjoey (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 9:22 am

outspoken..u r rite.Proton Edar should be the one worrying bout the figures.in fact, the ex-CEO for Edar,did highlighted the unsold stock issue in the last quarter-drawing up plans to a mass clearance by the end of 05. After all, TM as CEO for Proton, a key player in long-term strategic management has played a role in forseeing the future in R&D advancement.let's also consider the fact that TECH-Acquisition for platform enhancement + also the enhancement to the young campro is one of the few major concerns to Proton long-run development as well.

on d issue, of interior fittings.. i think it sucks too to a certain extent.but come to think bout it.. Proton has a responsibility that P2 doesn't need to carry out.. "protecting the vendors employment market" by having NO luxury or previliges to choose upper class vendors.after all, P2 is no longer a national car assembler + not even car-maker + No National Agenda!! Perodua has been completely compromised in terms of national identitiy.

It;s SO SO funny reading some comments..saying P2 shud buy over ailing P1!!!

TM was a car passionate CEO..someone with a Heart!

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 10:15 am

National Identity??? An exact copy of a Toyota which owns Daihatsu and then owns Perodua a thrd owner part national cars well Malaysia betui bolehlah… How about the US owns Japan then owns Malaysia is that a country by itself well u still can call it national or national cars is just not own by themselves hahaha big laughing stock of the world. Dignity / Pride arrghh just forget it just plain old mentality of greediness just sell lah everything…

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 10:29 am

just have to say simplemind does really have very simple mind. u think they are constructive in the current situation well let's just pray i'm wrong…u can suggest till the cow comes home do u think it will listen to ideas which is constructive…maybe u can try imagine new management newly appointed not even have the real experience or really running the operations fully they just started selling things well what did it indicate to you. If loose money just sell ok no headache very simple plan even simpleminded can do it… lol, one more thing dear simplemind TM bought the losing co. to turn it around as he indicated in the press well as we all see it all political reasons set him back and hey he is not terminated he just says i will not continue with such crap contract given to him. U think u can buy a company with good prices if that company is doing good well child be less simple in things then u might have a glimpse of the truth….i did have this experience before with my boss who is a CEO for a huge multinational well he set up the operations fully in malaysia well 10 years down the road he was offered a VSS well TQ for your services but still they have their ppl in line for your job. Corporate sucks huh.