3rd 2006 Honda Civic in Malaysia Spyshot

Civic1.jpg

A reader sent this in to me, another frontal spyshot of the 2006 Honda Civic taken in Malacca over the weekend. Did not manage to get any shots of the interior, but it’s safe to say that we are getting the high-tech flashy 2-tiered dashboard with the digital speedometer on the top tier and nice blue RPM meter on the bottom tier because the photographer managed to see it in action inside the car.

I was pretty worried that Honda would deem us not good enough for a nice interior. Kind of how Perodua downgraded the Toyota Passo’s interior with the Perodua Myvi.

More spyshots of the 2006 Honda Civic: Front spyshot, rear spyshot.

More on the 2006 Honda Civic.

Test Drive:
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Paul Tan on Feb 16, 2006 at 4:48 pm

1.8 SOHC i-VTEC and 2.0 DOHC i-VTEC. I did a brief post on the new 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC engine here:

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/07/26/2006-honda-civic/

• mzw (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 10:37 pm

Can't wait to see this baby. Anyone knows when exactly it will be launched in Malaysia?

• alamak (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 11:01 pm

enough testing already! launch it! launch it! we all wanna see it on the road..!

• alamak (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 11:02 pm

it's going to be launch early march..

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 11:57 pm

Any idea how much it'll cost?

I actually like the Citroen C4. Very high tech interior and a very nicely designed exterior. Also has 6 airbags. Priced around RM125k.

If new Civic price is higher, then better go for the Citroen. Although Citroen has lousy second-hand value, it's still a nice car to drive.

Can't wait to see the new Civic.

• Oops! (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 12:02 am

Anyone know why HONDA still cover the car with tape ar? i thought the new CIVIC looks is not so call "new" anymore right? just curious :)

• Paul Tan on Feb 17, 2006 at 12:09 am

The C4 is only a 1.6 liter. It's a bit too eggy for me.

• mzw (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 12:40 am

Paul

Is it true that the civic will come in 2 variants, 1.8 and 2.0?

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 1:45 am

Forgot about the engine capacity. I actually tried the C4 and the response felt more than a 1.6l engine. Also has tiptronic and intelligent gearbox so I guess it helps.

Of course, Honda engines are legendary and well known for power and economy. But nowadays, with safety being a rising criteria among car buyers, it seems the European manufacturers are placing more emphasis than their Japanese counterparts.

Mybe SIRIM should have a safety rating of their own? Then Proton and Perodua would have to improve their standards.

By the way, did you see the newspapers today featuring the smashed Unser? It doesn't even look like a car/suv anymore.

Sorry to digress.

• usmat (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 4:11 am

did u see at trailer that involve?It doesn’t even look like a trailer anymore :)

• usmat (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 4:16 am

look like nowday, many car company try to make some ads for their car with something i call "zorro masking tape" to gain more interest from people :)

• dictionary80 (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 8:20 am

launching on 8 march

• alamak (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 12:12 am

Usmat – you are very funny! hahaha… anyways i don't mind, it shows that they actually care and do take the extra effort to feed us with things we want to know..

come to think of it, which do you prefer? tiba tiba launch new car, or we enthusiast have access to all these "exclusive" materials before the car launch… ?

but of course credit to Paul Tan for this site!

marmitecrab – pricing range from 120-135k for the 2 variants..

• damion (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 8:29 am

pricings for the 1.8 would be below the RM120K mark…

and below RM135K for the 2.0…

a direct contender at the altis if you ask me…

• teeming (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 11:44 am

I've already seen the new civic ON THE ROAD in Singapore. It's definite a gem. When I saw it the other morning when I was walking along the road to work, it just zoom pass me. Didn't have time to take a photo.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 10:43 pm

I'm beginning to wonder whether these photos were really spyshots? I mean, we're receiving them bit by bit, and they all seem to be the exact same car (the 1.8 litre model). Could it be an elaborate plan by Honda Malaysia to market the Civic by releasing these shots to the public and calling them spyshots in order to stir up market interest? If it us true, then admitedly, it worked, hahah!!! Anyway, would've seriously considered the Civic anyway, even without all the spyshots. It is a nicely made car. Perhaps you guys wanna see the crash test videos for the Civic here (but Malaysia won't get the rear curtain bags here): http://www.autobytel.com/content/research/channel…

• alamak (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 8:30 am

CIVIC IS HERE!! – http://www.honda.net.my/risingspirit

paul, go and get all the shots there!!

hehe…

heybadigol – like i said in one of the post here, if what you said is true, it's nice to know they make the effort, and probably using this to find out what we think too…

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2006 at 11:01 am

heybadigol – not sure, the reader who sent in might be honda staff. either way i'm happy, more content for my site!