Perodua Myvi Rear Axle Snapped

These photos were taken during the Proton Street Shoot Out at Bukit Jalil recently. The Perodua Myvi was fitted with semi-slick tyres, and was doing a round-a-bout maneuver when suddenly the rear axle just snapped. Cause is unknown.

Photos from hasadi78. Note that the car is modified, so the cause of the snap might be due to improper modification.

myvi_torsion_beam_1.jpg

myvi_torsion_beam_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neurra (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 2:25 am

aiks why resize it smaller.. before u edit it was bigger eh? p1 crash put big big this one put big big le

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 2:58 am

So much for the touted higher quality from Perodua. Now who is having the last laugh? I wonder what the reaction would be if this was a Proton car.

This vehicle should be recalled, yes.., the who fleet must be recalled. Now I think I should close my mouth otherwise I might be hauled to court.

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 3:04 am

Hm, is the rear axle really that weak? Or did they left something out when modifications were done to the car? I seriously don't think the Myvi is that "fragile".

• nitrog (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 3:36 am

Who knows, could be a Proton sponsored Myvi driven by a Proton sponsored driver. It's a Proton sponsored event after all.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 3:39 am

The photo above will be perfect if savvy is shown just next to it.

To me , MYVI is more of a lady car & you know ladies are more…..fragile ?

It has to be this reason. ha ha ha !

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 6:54 am

yeah, perodua recall n give away ipod as apology, hehehehe…….in ur dream la!!!!! but i think the driver drive this like driving the savvy, so cozing this BIG trouble, hehehe.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 1:02 pm

At least its a small problem that can be fixed. Better than all of the Proton cars I've actually owned that have problems in every single one of them that. Proton still has not been able to mend them considering they have been making cars for 20 years.

• Tourist (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 4:07 pm

Hi cbljkkj. We don't know what had the driver of that Myvi modified but if, and only if, the axle is still standard from factory, having it broke like that is a HUGE problem.

Based on that clarification, Myvi has a HUGE BIG problem and Proton has MANY many smaller problems.

• Wai (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 4:33 pm

notice the rear coilovers instead of the original torsion beam setup of seperate spring and damper

maybe because of focusing the suspension load point into 1 spot for each behind, you get extra stress and the torsion beam snaps

• gerald (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 7:19 pm

I'd think the car is most definately been modified with stiffer suspension, better gripping tires and suchs to increase the over all performance. But it should not have such a disasterous outcome. I think we should not bash perodua or proton. I mean after all MyVi is a collaboration with Daihatsu & Toyota. Should not be too shabby. No car manufacturer can create the perfect car, there will always be problems or better ways to design a car.

One thing is for sure… for now, all myvi owners should NOT wack the corners, straight line still Okay :)

There are more photos at other local automotive forums.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 8:37 pm

I do not mean to bash but instead try to instill some insight on how cars are still far from being perfect.

I apologise for the outburst but the problems that were plaguing me were really getting to me. All anyone can do now is capitalize on is figuring out how to bounce back from mistakes.

Then again, these kind of cars are not really meant for this kind of gymkhana torture modified or not.

• gerald (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 9:19 pm

cbljkkj.

The thing is, gymkhana's are designed for the common cars. Of course with slight modifications to the suspensions and body rigidity it would be advantageous. In gymkhaha's there is no need for 1,000 bhp beasts because you cant put down all that power. Or 500bhp drift machines. One of the champions of gymkhana's all over the world is the mini cooper(the old school one). Short wheelbase, tight connering, low center of gravity. Gymkhana's are used in many places to test the performance of a car.

I'm sure ALL car manufacturers want to create a car that is fun to drive. They cannot assume that everyone drives the car only to and from work and never take it out on a sunday drive. They cannot assume that people would not modify their products. Because it is a culture now to customize everything. From handphones, desktops, cars, nails, shirts, computers… everything.

This particular vehicle has been modified. Even autographed by Keranjit Singh. It has roll cage installed, rear seats stripped. Speculation is a weld or a bolt may have failed. For all we know, it may be a result of a bolt that came loose or was not tighten properly when they upgraded the suspension.

What I would like to know now, is what really happened. What were the circumstances that created the situation. And if we will ever find out the truth. Most likely time will pass and we will forget about this. As there do not seem to be an official source.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 9:54 pm

so much for the paint work! this pic should be posted on front page of malay mail ! sudenly my power windows problem seems soooo small ! i tink the rear axle has more stress wen carrying ful load n driving over bumps than jus making donuts n xtreme manevours with only one passenger inside,this is the worying part…on a longer term wil be worse….ofcourse it could jus be a lousy modifying job bt lets assume the worst!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 12:32 am

Gerald:

I know what gymkhana is about because I have participated in a couple myself overseas. I believe I am perfectly aware that I do not need a rocket ship to do gymkhana. I certainly learnt alot about my vehicles through gymkhana recreation.

What I meant by "these kind of cars are not really meant for this kind of gymkhana torture modified or not" is that they were not developed for real rough housing in the first place like using a people carrier to go offroading.

I am all for improving car parts and accesories because I do that myself. Now the aformentioned rear axle is said to be weak which I assume most likely is the original part that came with the car. That being said, the original part that is installed is not meant to take that kind of punishment.

The same reason why you should not drift your car recklessly without tuning the suspension so that your car has a lower centre of gravity, using the correct amount of grip for the tyres, enough torque to control the drift and proper safety equiptment.

• artraider (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 1:40 am

I.M.H.O.. a car shouldn' t be this fragile.

the incident happend in front of. further more the car is light. with less interiors.

maybe it could be a improper modification done. maybe not.

well, i just hope it's not. coz. i believe on road going MyVI will handle more strees as with a higher load. and sum of em do take corners quite fast.

as for savvy. the only thing i didn't like was the my feet position.. i felt like hanging in the car. but it has great handling. toughnes?? it think it's proven in previous SSO5.5.

anyway.. it's just my oppinions

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 5:41 am

let's see if there would be any official or formal investigation and the reports of it. we may speculate now, but until everything is confirmed, nobody from both sides has the absolute "right".

oh by the way, small problems that never gets rectified after so many years IS HUGE problems!

• vale46 (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 4:18 pm

Looks like this Myvi is already modified. U can see the rear brake is using disc brake and the rear suspension is different. I don't think the axle can withstand the pressure. They miss out to strengthing the rear axle after modifiying the rear brake and suspension system. I think, if the rear axle is also modified to increase the strength, I don't think this problem will happen. Modified alang-alang one… :)

• Ricc (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Quoted HatukNgkau; oh by the way, small problems that never gets rectified after so many years IS HUGE problems!

Then Protan have MANY BIG problems la.. :-)

• Moanster (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 4:54 pm

from the photo i have no idea that this is the original MYVI's rear axle(cant be aligned) or the modded(taken from other car) rear axle as u can view from the photo this is the 4 disc MYVI, if u take parts from other car and put into MYVI and later u claim this is MYVI's weakness, can u claim this is fair?

• vale46 (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 5:10 pm

This Myvi is alang-alang modified one. Why do I say so? Look at the rear brake and the suspension system. It's using different suspension system and the rear brake is using disc brake already. Since the suspension system and the disc brake is modified, of cause the strength of the whole rear suspension system need to be raise also. For sure, after the car have been modified, the Myvi capability is higher but the strength of the rear axle is still at stock level. The modifier forgot to strengthen the rear axle. That's why it's broken. It can't co-op the braking strength and the new coil over system.

• lance (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 5:11 pm

I'm not sure how this can be associated with Perodua. This car has been heavily modded – how/where is modded is anybody's guess.

I find this post "informative" for reference purposes.

Thanx.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 5:18 pm

i do agree on the further investigations in this matter, up until now, we can only guest or speculate things only..

but the one thing I dont agree is, why is it always when other manufacturer problem arises, proton will be whacked also.. i mean that not that i pura2 dont know any of proton quality problems, but i do really think that it is much2 better to talk it in a proton topic itself. If not, other topic will be turn into another proton bashing topic.. again and again la..

• superman (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 6:23 pm

nitrog said,

February 18, 2006 @ 7:36 pm

Who knows, could be a Proton sponsored Myvi driven by a Proton sponsored driver. It’s a Proton sponsored event after all

It's a PERODUA MyVi Entered by Perodua's own R&D team. They were the ones that performed the modifications to enter the car in the Autocross event.

Silverstone FTZ semislicks and stiffer spring rates were fitted to the car.

bljkkj said,

February 19, 2006 @ 5:02 am

At least its a small problem that can be fixed. Better than all of the Proton cars I’ve actually owned that have problems in every single one of them that. Proton still has not been able to mend them considering they have been making cars for 20 years

Um?? I don't think a ripped off rear axle is a small problem, as compared to a broken power window.

Having the rear axle come out and calling it a small problem is like saying having a broken leg and calling it a tiny itch.

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 10:04 pm

well I am not suprised with this problem, I knew sooner or later this kind of stories about myvi problem would arise, because I am fully aware the quality of its product that produa offer to its customer. No doubt that produa use the technology and concept of daihatsu toyota but the level of quality is still produa standard. From my experience of using produa product for 5 years, what I can say is, "suma setakat boleh pakai saja", the rear absorber only can last around 20k km, by some short period of time the plastic componen can shrink and hard, and will make strange sound, like klik and klak here and there. even the screws are the lowest quality, look like metal, but soft like plastic, even my motorbike's screws are better. What worse, produa's spare parts are not cheap. 1 set of complete drive shaft for kancil, can cost you more than RM1000.00. Its a daylight robbery.Produa sells cheap cars, but damn expensive spare parts!

As for myvi, the front hud is lighter than kancil's. The body plates are so thin. In term of solidness, produa cant compare with proton, But so sad, proton is lack of experience and make a lot of mistakes in design and mechanical function, see what happen to waja, I would like to wait until proton improve in this matter, and would switch to proton products in the future..

• flizzardo (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 10:10 pm

well said superman !

anyway myvi just isnt suit for perfomance i guess!

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Paul seems to be getting nervous about this.., why take down the posting? takut kena saman ke? hehehe..

Perodua cannot handle criticism as well as other manufacturers.. anybody who dare to critise them will be dragged to court.. hahaha..

Don't worry la Paul.. what can they saman anyway? You are just posting the news, you didnt fitnah them what…

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 10:20 pm

My last comment in this thread…, all Myvi owners out there.. dont drive your car laju-laju… better safe than sorry..

• mrromeo (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 1:38 am

I feel my proton iswara is much better than MYVi… well AM i regret to book one?

• mrromeo (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 1:42 am

anyone has saved the pics? please send it to me to [email protected]

• jet (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 2:00 am

you all too apologetic lah to perodua

check what's happening in autoworld when someone post this in perodua forum; some perodua supporter like crying, some going mad, some etc etc….

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?su…

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 4:25 am

romeo.. the photos still available here http://hasadi78.blogspot.com/2006/01/myvi-crash-d…

• nitrog (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 5:03 am

superman said,

February 20, 2006 @ 10:23 am

It’s a PERODUA MyVi Entered by Perodua’s own R&D team. They were the ones that performed the modifications to enter the car in the Autocross event.

———————————————————————————————-

If that is really the case then I take back what I said.

• gerald (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 4:37 pm

cbljkkj

Sounds good. I hope I have not offended you or anything. I guess we just see things from a different point of view.

But it should have been. If a car can pass a gymkhana successfully basically you have a solid car. If its 'developed' for with light housing that can only stay on road. Then a lot of malaysians have been cheated. Honestly speaking. You have joined gymkhana's the stress level for the vehicle is not as tremendous depending on the trails. Unlike straight line and sideways where the stress levels are exceptionally high. IMHO gymkhana's are one of the midest event a stock car can participate in. It used to be a benchmark to measure the road worthyness of the vehicle.

But all that asside. This could just be a case of bad judgement and just being plain unlucky. Maybe the vehicle had lil cracks at the torsion beams. And as we know, semi-slicks are very very grippy tires. Doing a u-turn… ouch… really sayang the semi-slicks la…

• beavis (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:15 pm

heyy…..i was there when it happen…before this i though proton salesman was just spreading rumours bout myvi rear axle…but after ive seen this car with my very own eye…hmmmmm…it sadden me.myvi sucks!

• superman (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 10:45 pm

lance said,

February 20, 2006 @ 9:11 am

I’m not sure how this can be associated with Perodua. This car has been heavily modded – how/where is modded is anybody’s guess.

I find this post “informative” for reference purposes.

Thanx.

Modified by their own (Perodua's) R&D team… that's how they can be associated. But hey they're learning.

Better them breaking the car and learning while improving on it than some Joe on the street doing modification and not knowing which-what-way.

• koolspyda (Member) on Feb 24, 2006 at 12:36 am

>I am no automotive expert if I'm going to use semi slicks & a modified struts/coilcovers for my car ;

>I WILL look into adding ADDITIONAL lower member braces to strengthen the load & stress the car will be put into. thats me. semi slick can put in even higher loads into even the car's structural chassis over stock tyres (higher G's).

I think i have a fair idea which part buckled out but i reserve my final judgment what part failedt / or whose fault is it ultimately .

it could have happened to ANY car

my thoughts on car's engineered to its "userbility" & its "potential"

sports cars = engineered to withstand typical sports car usage.

a mazda miata is a lightweight sportcar which is gem on the road (driven) & a great autocrosser. To sustain it to a usage in running off road rallies/ 4X4 terrains will definately see it sustained a lot of damage on joints & create high stress on areas that werent designed for it.

coming back to a small ecobox car designed for daily road use ~ it will do 99.9% of the time.

to track it autocrossing well….

but ecobox car isnt miata nor miata isnt a subaru STi.

i dont remember seeing the rear axel snapped , rear member cross beam was twisted severely~acknowledged

the snapped parts (see hosted picture) were;

>aftermarket the struts *boyaa*,

>cross beam mounting joint *boyaa*,

>drivers pride *boyaa

• firdio (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:04 pm

from my experience n what i have see. the owner has been modified the beam. change drum brake to disc brake..

• rocco on Dec 22, 2010 at 3:20 pm

that could be one of the reason. besides than poor wielding, such small car as myvi shouldnt have disc brake at the back.

• black cobra on Feb 05, 2010 at 12:56 am

u all want to know something,myvi is in first number of the world recode car were sell in 2009,mybe untill 2011..

produa is the best..world recode plak tu..

• rocco on Dec 22, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Trust me.. Proton are the worst car manufacturer ever!! They can call themself “senior” compare to Perodua… but i prefer Perodua because its made from high quality steel for their main body part. And that is important. Try hammer a Proton Pesona and Perodua Myvi.. U can see the different. That is because Proton using recycle steel and downgrade it to make it much cheaper and affordable.

• JeremyNg on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Bro , its 21st century d la ……. the harder the steel doesnt mean better !!! Nowadays we have something call G-force technology (forgotten de whole name), some part of the car body is soft to absorb impact some part is hard to protect drivers and passengers . Jz imagine if the whole car is made from very hard steel , will the driver survive if it crash ??!! No bcs no impact was absorb ………. Btw try Satria Neo, that car has the stiffest chasis in Proton Range

• v1ctorong on Apr 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Guy,

from the photo you can see the MyVI is using rear disc Brake……..

Also, the original MyVI using torsion beam for rear suspension…….

• Danix on Jun 02, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Huh? my friend follow drag use kancil oso can pass boss..2bar only bah!
    i guess this guy change the rollbar back bar 2 taiwan made pnya..thats why boss!!

• sincy on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:16 pm

i think,, tht related with tht myvi whole rear suspension system design. might be the absorber joint area chassic weak?

try go hav a look :TOYOTA PASSO/ DAIHATSU SIRION.

or even toyota vios rear suspension part. whole set of body chassic ..

• nurh.el on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:21 am

in my point of view, no spring attached..even they used combined absorber a.k.a damper with those spring (adjustable)..the body mount at rear of the body can’t support horizontal force due torque from moving part and agile from those absorber..

• Daniel on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

Hmm…interesting. But I think it has something to do with the slick tyres and extreme turning angle & speed. Too much lateral force for that torsion beam mounting to support. Slick tyres & donut are meant for drift cars…they have very different suspension setup…especially if they’re RWD, they would have live axle or independent rear suspension or the much stronger double wishbone. Myvi is a town car, not a drift car. P1 like Savvy & Saga also use torsion beam, even VW Golf GTi uses torsion beams…but they’re not meant for drifting. This is like using Kembara for rock-climbing off road, sure break lah.

• Azmeer on Jan 26, 2017 at 11:55 am

Indeed. In my opinion, few car has different torsion beam type. Some with H type n lower H like U shape type. Other spec is few with rigid or soft twist bar. So in this case, Myvi using the H type with soft twist bar. If all torsion beam suspension equipped with watts link like Opel/Vauxhall Astra J, it can preventing axle beam from snapped and gained much better handling and safety. Apologies me for my English. I’m not good with it.