Citroen C6 dashboard meter

c6dash.jpg

The car dashboard. You will spend most of your time as a car owner facing it. Many car companies have been trying to revolutionize the way dashboard information is presented to you. Honda has it’s split deck design with 2 levels of meters. Some companies position the dashboard meter cluster in the middle like the Toyota VIOS, Nissan X-Trail and even our Perodua Kancil.

I kind of like Citroen’s approach with the Citroen C6’s dashboard. Nice and compact display shows indicators, RPM, speed, gear shift position and fuel level in digital form, and speed is projected on the windscreen via a heads-up display.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:56 pm

Kewl. But I think the best Heads-Up-Display (HUD) still belongs to the Chevrolet Corvette. It's even got a gauge (projected to the windscreen) showing G-forces when you corner. Not sure whether it shows G forces for acceleration or braking though. Pretty kewl, and could cause you to get in an accident should you be watching the HUD more than paying attention to the road, hahah!!

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:59 pm

awesomely cool… seen this in a couple of car concepts, but have yet to see one on the road in real life…

• karheng (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:52 pm

The bottom console reminds me a bit of the OLD Honda Prelude of the 80s where the speed in KMH was in Huge Red numbers and the RPM was arcade like. Problem with these things are that if they K/O, your whole car has to go to the centre as well.

• chuamike (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Cool. Nothing can ever beat HUD when a car manufacturer wants to help a driver keep his eyes on the road, instead of having to look down at the speedometer from time to time :)

• kody (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 12:49 am

Wahlaueh…

it is a good revolutionary design, keep it up… If this HUD install together with night enhance system (from BMW) in a car then it will be more safe to drive. Wonder when P1 can gives us some revolutionary design…???

• rexis (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 1:02 am

P1? Haha, you wait lar, hope you live long enuf to see.

Looks like a video game.

• zaen (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 3:17 am

whats wrong with you? back to the topic.. please this is not a forum of bashing up P1

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 5:28 am

i guess it'd be hard to see under our sun…

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 6:40 am

It's more of a distraction I think , especially to a new owner.

Cool to show off to babes though !

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 7:45 am

I still prefer looking at needles for the speedometer and tachometer, the others are fine though.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 7:54 pm

I also prefer needles, look at needles is easier then reading numbers.

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 24, 2006 at 12:07 am

Really futuristic… seem like terminator wearing glasses showing you the data of near-by objects. Cool…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:25 pm

nice car