UMW Holdings profits up 67 percent

toyota_avanza_500.jpg

It’s been a good year indeed for UMW Holdings Bhd. Have you seen the Toyota Avanza advertisement with the little boy fully decked out in beach gear but standing sadly outside the house because the family car had no space for him and they left without him? Cars like the Toyota Avanza and the Perodua Myvi which manages to address market needs as well as they did are sure to sell like hot cakes.

Higher sales of Toyota and Perodua vehicles among other industries have helped boost UMW Holdings Bhd’s net profit for the year ended Dec 31 2005 up 67% to RM276 million. Toyota and Perodua vehicle sales went up 36.4% in 2005 to 236,341 units compared to the 173,286 units sold in 2004.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 1:31 pm

Why can't Proton do this? Why can't they just share the platform? Like Avanza and Innova. Looks like the same platform to me. They could just use Waja's platform for other types of model range, like MPV or SUV, small SUV. Hell, they even made a pickup with Wira's platform. Take a Wira. Cut it in half. Weld 2 long steel at the back. Walla! An Arena!

• Paul Tan on Feb 22, 2006 at 1:45 pm

Innova, Hilux and Fortuner is the same platform. Avanza is not.

• lance (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:10 pm

Yes, Innova, Hilux and Fortuner are siblings in Toyota's IMV program

Link: http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/special/imv/imv.html

Proton seems to be lost. My perception is, that they are running the company using too much "passion" and very little "basic business sense" (survival)

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:28 pm

lance, i think they are using a survival stategic… y? Where is SRM? well… my guess is to place on a shelve so they can sell more TRM aka Savvy. y? At this point now, Perodua can't hardly sell their Kelisa now due to Myvi. I think WRM is the only a project worth to invest now.

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:45 pm

Toyota, Perodua are company make by businessman and the mind of a businessman behind the company.

P1 on the other hand, is a company by politician, who would only think "protection" as a way to see the product. :(

• kutukutu (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 11:05 pm

I think they will bring another hot cake for 2006 to our bolehland. What I can imagine might be Toyota Rush!

http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2006/06011701/index…

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 4:42 am

bt UMw is a big company thy oso venture into oil n gas,how do we know that most od the profits do actually com from their auto arm and not frm othr business?? bt thats the good ting abt umw,wen perodua hav good saels numbers,its good news for UMW as wel

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 5:39 am

that's wat ppl say good business sense, diversification onto profitable ventures and dont put all ur eggs in the same basket…

is buying a loss making motorbike company and owning a no-business bicycle company contibute to ur balance sheet? are those wise diversification? u go ask the ex CEO

• vai (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 8:24 am

Big part of UMW profit does comes from the automotive segment…Oil and gas started for a year + now and is slowly contributing to the overall profit. But for now, Automotive still its main core…:))

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 5:36 pm

kutukutu, the vehicle u mention won't come in 2006…. it will come in around 2008 but its a good time for u to save some money for it. >:) But I agree with u that they should bring it in coz current model is like selling 100 cars plus per month.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 24, 2006 at 8:22 am

Proton is running the company with too much passion? too much nonsense to be precise.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:46 am

Toyota is so successful with the Avanza, but don't forget to bring in more new reasonable price models every year to let your loyal customers happy..