Lotus APX Aluminium Performance Crossover

Lotus APX

The Lotus APX Concept was unveiled at the Geneva Motor Show 2006 recently. The Lotus APX, which means Aluminium Performance Crossover was designed by Lotus using it’s Versatile Vehicle Architecture (VVA) and has an all-aluminium monocoque structure, which follows true to “Performance through Light Weight” core brand value.

Lotus APX

The Lotus APX Concept is a demonstration of Lotus Engineering’s ability to rapidly develop different vehicles from a common Versatile Vehicle Architecture. The following shows the families that could be achieved using VVA.

Family A
Front engine 4WD crossover
Mid engine RWD supercar
Front engine RWD coupe
Front engine RWD saloon

Family B
Front engine FWD coupe
Front engine 4WD SUV

Family C
Mid engine RWD coupe
Front engine FWD saloon
Front engine 4WD crossover (example: the Lotus APX)

The car was conceived to target a specific customer, defined as a sports car enthusiasts who has a typical family of two young children, but also sometimes wants to carry a few adults in addition to the kids. The car is a 5+2 seater, with the third row of two seats suitable for children. The 5 other seats are full sized.

The Lotus APX goes from 0 to 100km/h in 5.4 seconds, and it has a top speed of 245km/h, thanks to it’s 191hp per tonne power to weight ratio. It’s powered by an engine developed by Lotus, part of it’s Project NEF. The engine is a 3.0 litre V6 supercharged DOHC engine that makes 300hp at 6250rpm and 360Nm of torque at 4500rpm. The engine is close to being production-ready.

More details on the engine in a separate post.

So, what do you think? Will Proton adopt this platform for an MPV? Proton could also use the Project NEF engine family could also be used as a large capacity engine for it’s SUVs, MPVs and executive luxury sedans. Director of Lotus Engineering Simon Wood mentioned there is already a great deal of interest in the Versatile Vehicle Architecture by it’s client base.

lotus_apx_3.jpg

lotus_apx_5.jpg

lotus_apx_4.jpg

lotus_apx_6.jpg

Lotus APX to be unveiled at Geneva 2006

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 4:50 pm

proton will use the VVA style. one common base for all, seems to be low in cost to me.

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 5:49 pm

The "V" shape both in front and at the back is quite fresh and looks quite dynamic hehe. I think the front of the car looks quite similar to that of the Gen-2 and SRM.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Back passenger head clearance no better than Gen2.

• Si|v3rB|ooD (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 7:30 pm

Hey guys, do u think maybe the proton satria replacment are based on this model? ehehehehehe

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Apasal it looks like amalgam between Savvy n Gen2? or isit maybe just my eyes?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 8:34 pm

I have to say the power to weight ratio is really good considering the 191hp per tonne comparo. 5.4 seconds for a 5+2 seater is amazing. Interior looks fab.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 10:20 pm

it seriously hav a proton dna , see the center dashboard looks exavclty like the savvy,and the front look more like a stratched gen2 front,the rear is stunning !

• infinity (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 10:37 pm

this car really reminds me of gen2/srm exterior and savvy interior…of course it's much better…but u can see the dna in it..it would be great if proton will rebadge it and sell it here…what is the price range??

• ... (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 11:09 pm

Hmmm…

Combination of GEN-2 and Savvy dash,

and Proton Waja side mirrors!!

overall very2 nice car.

• jules (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 1:58 am

When will Waja use that side mirror.. got the indicators, where it's the in thing now?

• nostra (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 2:02 am

nice car.look tough also.but..why the front bumper look so familiar with Gen-2?? lotus already CIPLAK malaysia car design ma….haiya…so..shame…

• jules (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 2:02 am

Just wondering,The Lotus APX Concept unveiled at the Geneva Motor Show 2006 as the Proton APX, what will those VW guys say?

• theking (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 4:23 am

This model planned to be Proton SUV or MSX with new engine family or NEF with NA and Supercharged. Anyway for few of the new engines NEF 2.2litre has been installed into WAJA with all round torque. But since VW jv activity the project has been cancelled for Proton but not Lotus. Initially, for asean market it will be sold as Proton but the rest of the world as Lotus.

• i'm run (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 5:29 am

Remember.. Gen. 2 is 100 % design by Lotus and savvy interior also design by Lotus… but not sure about SRM. No wonder it have some of proton looks…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 6:17 am

Remember few years ago, proton said that they will launch a ~ RM 200 000 sports car targetted for malaysians Called the P01. Not sure what that happend anyway. And really not sure what will happen to this also. Basicly Lotus had released few concept models in the past that never took ground

• gye325 (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 8:04 am

looks v proton-ish

or maybe proton looks lotus-ish

haha

• jonjwlee (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 8:31 am

LOL. The bonnet looks SO Myvi.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 9:49 am

HatukNgkau said,

February 25, 2006 @ 12:17 pm

Apasal it looks like amalgam between Savvy n Gen2? or isit maybe just my eyes?

———————————————————-

Nope , your eyes is alright. This is the newborn we get from Gen2 and savvy as parent. This newborn is pretty though !!

jonjwlee ,

Can't say the same for you !! Get your eyes check fast. You got a serious vision problem !! and I am not joking . MYVI >> wtf….

• bummerboy (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 7:09 pm

I'll really like to see this as a Proton Model. I suspect it actually is meant as a Proton, but badged Lotus for more credibility. Ooo this is becoming very interesting.

• little_momo (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 12:38 am

wahh!!! GEN-3!!!!

• rosdi (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 4:09 am

Proton please lah… sell this car here.. it is damn cun woo!!.. but make sure the quality is good lah… dont use cheap stuff.

• dd (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 6:36 am

the first thing i saw… the dam grill… reminded me of Gen-2… SUV/MPV version of it? could be…

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 6:01 pm

It sure looks more Proton than Lotus… i believe it's just like the Lotus Europa S, which means it's a Lotus-badged Proton. I mean, look at the details, those are Proton styling cues…

• KaIZoku (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 6:10 am

Pretty damn good!!! hope the car is very high quality!!!!! CHayo Proton!!! Aimed to be the next great icon in automobile manufacturer in Asia

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 10:47 pm

we want it! we want it! puhleez! p1!

• scania_420 (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 2:33 pm

THis concept was design by PROTON man..said my fren there..

Here the intelectual prop. registered under LOTUS brand

http://tinyurl.com/3axvl5

Name(s) and Address(es) of Proprietor(s):
    ADP NUMBER: 00065132001

Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn. Bhd.
    Hicom Industrial Estate
    40000 Shah Alam
    Selangor Darul Ehsan
    MALAYSIA

Address for Service
    ADP NUMBER: 00000015002

W P Thompson & Co

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 5:55 pm

dude..thats unexpected O__O”

• nazahri on Apr 17, 2009 at 4:18 am

jenis manual tiadakah?kalau ada rapa harganya?

• congratulation 4 ur new lotus car.. its very sporty n simple..

• wish malaysia on Jun 07, 2009 at 3:02 am

QUALITY didahulukan dan HARGA jualan rendah diutamakan…. heeeeeeeeee….bunyi macam rakyat diutamakan dan pencapaian diutamakan……sama tak?…sama tak?…..

• khairul on Jan 16, 2010 at 11:11 am

coming soon? it's..?

• sikhusungu on Mar 31, 2010 at 2:17 am

Its look perfact