2007 Honda Civic Type R Concept

civic_type_r_1.jpg

As I previously blogged, Honda unveiled the Honda Civic Type R Concept at the Geneva Motor Show. This will give a glimpse of what the final Civic Type R will look like. This concept is powered by the same K20A i-VTEC engine used in the current Honda Civic Type R.

civic_type_r_2.jpg

The Honda Civic Type R will be a 3-door hatchback based on the celebrated 2006 Honda Civic Euro which is a 5-door hatch. It will be built at Honda’s Swindon plant in the UK, and will be on sale from early 2007 onwards. No SH-AWD for this little pocket rocket.

civic_type_r_3.jpg

civic_type_r_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 7:39 am

Hmm… ok-ok lah, but i dont like the butt's design… hey, just my personal opinion though… that's all.

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 7:55 am

Coolness, like the tail, too bad we won't have this running on Malaysian roads.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 8:23 am

looks ugly seriously , looks like some brother's body kit…dont like it at all…dont mind having one though!

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 8:36 am

vry ah beng style…….but i beliee it is vry powerful on the inside. cn they let me test drive it?

hehe

• sarur (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 10:15 am

damn~ lovee the very aerodynamic design.. kinda looks derived from an airplane wing.. huhu~

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 5:20 pm

it rythmns with "Masculine little mice"… dunno why…. just me thou.

• revver (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 5:34 pm

a head turner. ugly butt or not, i like it.

• Jay (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Frankly speaking…Honda is a very good model. The have achieved beyond their limits and yet they still strive harder. Thumbs up to them. Sometimes they lack interm of space & design. I mean their civic is fantastic but the interior space so little. Of cause the dashboard is marvelous. Not even Altis or Sentra could come close for the nest coming years.

I mean Honda must have some eye appealing design & space like the Accord (not bad), Oddysey (excellent), S200 (wow !)…the big brother NSX (the best looking anytime)…..

But I'm talking about their new Civic Type R…..little bit funny to accept the design of the future. I must admit that it is indeed a powerful car. Maybe they can adjust the rear a bit ? Hell they might not do it because it will be available in the coming months i guess.

So designers out there, you know what to do ! Thumbs up for Honda…..

Not even the Sentra & Altis (2 boring cars) can even come close to the civic…doesn't matter if it's the old or new civic.

But i still prefer the Gen 2 R3. I think it would be affordable for the money. I know it is not the best. But it has that eye catching looks, with new bodykits, rims, power, interior seats, handling, most important it's engineered for thrill.

• neurra (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 7:35 pm

prolly naza will import it.. well at least hopefully

• gepochai (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 11:15 pm

why the heck did honda malaysia brought in the other version of honda civic instead of this one? sigh.

• OvaBoost (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 11:50 pm

URRGGHHH…remind me of nd4spd…underground… where dis car belong…

• cyrixMX (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 2:30 am

if i can remember properly, there was an article saying the new Type-R will come in turbocharged form.

I think most probably will be 7-9psi boost on the stock internals. Unless Honda wanna go head on with WRX or EVO at 280bhp stock engines. :)

• DAN (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 2:34 am

the concept is like old CRX whit dabble layer at the back eye vision.

• honda_driver (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:30 am

looks like the car was designed in the spirit of comic book Japanese-ultraman style.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:27 am

anyone notice that the bonnet has the ridge that leads to the nose, mimicking an F1 car's nose? maybe getting some links to it's F1 herritage…

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:27 am

but i do agree the bodykit wasn't well-designed…

• the_hives (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:21 pm

wow! ugly nya!! another gaban car from honda.

• nikoy (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:55 am

Bad =Too tall, too fat. Rear very ugly.. Good = Lamp design, sport rim. Overall = Not nice.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:18 am

Hehe…cool design ! No comments and certainly just dream about it for we Malaysia Boleh!!

• vai (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 7:53 am

Beng ah…Beng….how many time i told you not to waste your money modifying your car….sigh sigh…double sigh…

• dd (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 11:02 pm

dam kau cun… one of a kind rear…

• tarmizi (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 10:35 am

Look quite shiok. I wonder if they bring to Spore

• AMG (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 5:59 pm

What the Honda think…. It is diffrence from the older R

• cuoreboy (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 11:52 pm

the rear is look abit like caldina