Petrol prices up – RM1.92 for RON97

Fuel-Wallet GaugeI got a news flash from The Star’s SMS alert regarding a petrol price hike effective from Tuesday onwards, which is tomorrow. The journey home was pretty jam packed, with queues at every petrol station over-pouring onto the main roads. The price increase is 30 cents per litre for both petrol and diesel as well as 30 cents per kilogram for LPG.

Petrol prices are now RM1.92 per litre for RON97 petrol and RM1.88 for RON92. Diesel is RM1.58 per litre now. The more premium RON97 petrol Shell V-Power is a ridiculous RM2.02 a litre now.

Fuel prices last went up on the 31st July 2005, where it was a slight increase of 10 cents for petrol and 20 cents for diesel. The prices right now are much closer to the unsubsidised price.

The 64 litre fuel tank in my car would cost me RM122.88 to fill up now. With about 6-8 fill-ups a month… I’ve pretty much dug my own grave, jumped in it, and sealed it all up with cement and built a crypt in the shape of a petrol station around it. Millions of years later I would have turned into oil and you can pump me into your vehicles. Kthxbai.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lance (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:10 am

Can we have fuel efficient vehicles now, please? Let me have my 1.4l turbo diesel cars that run at 56mpg NOW! No more stupid taxes and protection for the "national pride" – think about the "rakyat" for once!

• suanie (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:10 am

millions of years later, we'd have developed wings for traveling necessities because none of us would be able to afford petrol at all in 10 yrs time. evolution is a beautiful thing.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:26 am

i am gonna use cooking oil, oh yes, i would. if not, i will use bicycle to dfo my errants. petrol prices ALWAYS go up, but car prices and taxes NEVER drop down. NO balance, i am sick of petrol cars, somebody gotta import civic hybrid or the prius.

• gowin (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:30 am

20% increase. Last time Rm 50 petrol, now need RM 60.00. good luck to everybody !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:42 am

its inevitable actually , we can complain day n nite , bt its a worldwide move,everywer prices of petrol goes up , dats y k cars are very popular , and our dear freind paul went n bought a camel thirsty perdana v6! actually its really a good car to have,bt kinda digs in da pocket if ur nt prepared for it financially , good luck to everyone out thr , im i predicting 50% jump in savvy and myvi sales??

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:44 am

no e-nabili, it is the bicycle sales tat a going up…….abt 300% in sales.

• matikatak (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:03 am

It's again up. No thanks to Pak Lah and his economic advisors. So, far his performance as the Prime Minister and his goverment is worse then Dr Mahathir era. May, I request, that the ringgit be repegged to 2.5 per USD, starting tomorrow. Take back all privatised projects and make it profitable and efficient without paying to the cronies. Stop the funding of billions of ringgits to students who are studying overseas, in the name of NEP. Close down Proton and merge it with Perodua. Sell of MAS to SIA or Air Asia for RM 1. Take away the privatised toll contracts from the cronies. Enough is enough. Pak Lah, please resign. I think you have not understood macro economics neither welfare economics. We will no longer work with you, instead we might as well work against you.

God bless Malaysia.

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:04 am

e-nabill: used to it lah, my 1.8 was a petrol guzzler too.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:55 am

e-nabill, not only demand jump in small cars like kancil or myvi, we'll also get to see more 2nd hand Waja and ESPECIALLY, GEN2, typically the fuel guzzlers, up for sale, or heck even kena tarik by bank!

some ppl oredi had hard time scraping thru, barely enuf to survive, with petrol price increase and the oncoming everything else price increase… hmm be prepared for more backlash…

luckily i've started to ride a kapchai now… my waja is just a decoration item at my house porch… by the way, anybody wantd to buy my fuel drinker?

• preetz (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:25 am

Williams rulez!! but abit expensive.. but then the food is faboulous.. "indo-mee butter prawn".. "nasigoreng ayam blackpepper ham telur-dadar-sosej" (yes, thats one item)… damn im hungry now…. oh yea.. about the fuel price increase.. well.. i ride an ex-5… so no much worries la… hehehehe

• paradoxx (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:50 am

dang!… i can forget bout those dual webers for my car now :(

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:01 am

Rm 1.88?? Are they mad?? I'd rather make fuel from biowaste than pump petrol. It's like the government is toying with us. This is absurd.

• preetz (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:30 am

but then again.. fuel prices are going up everywhere around the world.. i dont have the stats though.. but i know its increased by leaps and bound..

having said that.. an increase of 30 cents IS very high!! i think this has got to do with the goverment passing the cost back to us consumer… reducing their subsidy…

why cant they just make money by taxing those guys driving gallardos, brabuses and ferraris??

wonder how those 5litres-V8/V10 drivers will feel bout this price hike.. ah well… they're rich enough eh?

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 2:47 pm

30 cents increase is good if we are earning us dollars. do you know how does the 9th plan work in order to be a developed country just raise prices to that of developed countries just simple. Pak Lah u memang pandailah. Dr. M also never tought of that hhmmm.. wonder y maybe he just outshine him with simple plans and a simple mind… nevermind orang Malaysia memang bisu kena lempang pun senyum sahaja… lets rot with the prices sad really sad dahlah business sudah merosot ekonomi merosot inilah cara untuk kroni dapat rezeki ke merompak rakyat pandainya simple plan ini… for those who critisize too much of dr.m should be proud and pump more petrol ok… lets get ourselves bicycles like olden days of china bicycles rulz maybe i should start selling some…

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 2:57 pm

to the economic planning units of malaysia thank you for your marvelous plan but please do undestand we are not like most of u studied in uk or us or work there before we just earned small RM here to survive a developed country price this is like killing your own countrymen pls greed is such a wonderful thing to some individuals but is definitely destroying our nation for those who have personal agenda of greed may you rot in hell definitely going to hell … dun think u may enjoy wealth u leeches will always be judge and suffer during the end of your days if not your childrens i curse you damm dogs to hell for i a believer in the eyes of god will definitely see you all condemms to hell … great leadership skills huh… the greatest downfall of our nation or should i say a fallen nation already but u know malaysians tidak apalah boleh makan cukuplah sampai makan sampah sarap baru segan tapi sudah lambat macam attitude malaysian selalu lambat…

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 3:02 pm

dear preetz those who is driving supercars are those behind all these bullshit price hike cause they need more money to feed their cars, sad but trueeee..

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 3:13 pm

Well, I wished the national elections would come like in a few months time. Then you'll see oil prices going down, corrupt politicians being caught, and suddenly Malaysia will become like heaven on earth. heh

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:02 pm

say so much oso no use, i oso dun wan to say liao

• auyongtc (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:09 pm

let's all convert the engine to use NPV gas – and then join in the queue with the taxi cabs waiting to pump them… save money, wasted time… same same

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:11 pm

auyongtc, use cooking oil la, i am trying to be brave enough to use it but still dun dare, sigh………………..

use bicycle la or buy those china electric bicycle.

• razib (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:41 pm

BOOM terus naik 30 sen…Itu menteri tak kisahlah..berapa banyak mahu naik pun takpa…sebab duit mereka banyak….semuanya percuma…semua caj pada kerajaan …….kereta kerajaan……minyak kerajaan…..last year baru naik 10%. ….what happen kepada orang biasa ni yang sejak 3 to 4 tahun gaji tak naik….

Bila minyak naik, mulalah suruh naik pengangkutan awam. Tak kah dia tahu macamana tak efficientnya pengangkutan awam di negara ini. Tak payah cerita pasal bas lah…komuter yang canggih tu pun tak pernah ikut jadual. Kalau tak caye apamacam semua menteri jangan naik kereta gomen tapi naik pengangkutan awam ke tempat kerja. Rakyat nak lihat samada mereka sanggup ke tidak…jangan cakap daripada pejabat aircond saja.

• razib (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Come on !!!!!!! mari semua menteri sama-sama naik bas dan komuter. Lihatlah sendiri bagaimana inefficientnya sistem pengangkutan di negara ini. Janganlah asyik beri komen daripada pejabat yang berhawa dingin saja.

• catborg (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 4:59 pm

afsal bila minyak naik orang salahkan Proton? Cukai tinggi? etc?

it's all about OIL war!..

Instead of car. I had Modenas Kristar for jalan2..

no problem la..

just now need RM10 to full fill the thank, instead of 7 b4. :D

Kreta pakai masa nak balik mapung dah laa.. :D

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:00 pm

It is good to let we Malaysian to face the reality faster, we are under the greenhouse of goverment subsidy and never face storm and thunder outside. Although now is really kinda big thunderclap to all of us(i think most people will be stunned 5 seconds after hearing the news from TV), but this is an important measure to bring us forward(or maybe backward), a measure that is vital to all Malaysian to be able to adapt after 8 years, when our country need to import petroleum.

With this kind of price, now its time to seriously think about some renewable alternative fuel.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:05 pm

rexis, the G is not even considering those cars. the outside world is buzzing with alternative fuel vehicles but here we r still looking at how to improve fuel combustion efficiency.

• Harry S (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:22 pm

I dont mind oil price increase if our government is good at managing OUR MONEY. What really pissed me off is that our government has wasted and continue to waste BILLIONS of RM for stupid projects that only benefitted CRONIES.

Example: Putrajaya, Bakun etc…

National service cost the nation what RM600million annually? for what? so that those teenagers can go summer camp…?

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:25 pm

I suspect now it is even cheaper to share taxi to work! One very irresponsible thing for goverment is that our public transport is as suck as before, maybe sucker. Public transport service is very important and must be perfected. 60 people sharing one bus that means 60 less car on the road.

On the other side, look at the highway, each car only carrying one people. Proton saga, carry one driver, Hilux, carry one driver with empty boot, Harrier, also one driver, Unser 7 seater? Also carrying only one people. Everyone is taking advantage of this subsidy. Fuel subsidyThis is almost just like burning our nation down. Obviously goverment will want to use this subsidy money in some more productive place.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Initial D, yeah, it is kinda sad that gov not yet have plans to get more efficient cars, not even any encouragement to import smaller diesel car! And our national pride, do they offer any fuel efficient car, or do they even have such plan? Anything from Wira and above is fuel guzzler! Pity those perdana owners!

But on the other way, we are now closer to the outside world now. It is not good to close door and manage ourself, someday our door must be opened.

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:38 pm

my regular nasi lemak stall just went up by RM0.10 today….. so who say only the pertol price went up.

soon there will be a chain-reaction to this petrol price hike, roti canai man will increase price, the pasar malam ppl increase price, TNB with a huge profit already still increase price, Telekom will increase the tarif, school bus operator will ask for another price increase, stage bus & express bus too will increase price, MAS ask for RM4bil, Proton ask for another 20 years protection and a hike in the Proton car price and all other car price increase simultanancely………… what else increase….!! :(

me, the wage earner,…… this year company say not making profit, no bonus no increament.

how to survive……. with 2 children to feed, 1 housewife, old parents, house installment, car installment,… then the car feeding (petrol)….KILLING ME SLOWLY.

• Jay (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:39 pm

Hey Guys…..I do see alot of frustration. Hence I aggree with all of you.

1. We pay tax, why does the goverment need to subsidise fuel ? I still don't understand when we have our our petrol…we still subsidise

2. If u monitor the US barrel oil price as of yesterday…it's about USD 62 / barrel….it has dipped from once it was USD 70 / barrel

3. Price hike of 30 cents will kill many businesses

4. Hike in transportation price…already we're paying our all kinds of taxes & instalments.

5. Something is not rite somewhere……something needs to br done asap !

6. I really can't afford to pour petrol now. I pour RM 60 for my Wira …. and now I will have to pour somewhere RM 72++

7. Bunch of liers to be blame…….fuel price goes up…everything else will soon hike……!

8. We are living in hell now…for sure !

9. I just don't know what to say !

10. It's the most stupid decision ever announce !

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:43 pm

hai Paul….

can U consider to put up car with low fuel consumption…. poor HONDA, I heard the CIVIC is coming soon, with the price hike in petrol… the civic is 1.8 and 2.0…. sale will suffer.

• Jay (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:45 pm

I common answer the Goverment gives………………….WE ARE STILL THE LOWEST COMPARE TO MANY OTHER NATIONS !

Refer to the price hikes in the past;

RM 1.10 – RM 1.20 – RM 1.32 – RM 1.37 – RM 1.42 – RM 1.52 – RM 1.62 -RM 1.92 (see this is hell jump)…..and i'm sure the goverment will increase the price in years to come or who knows in months to come. You'll never know !

• waimak (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:48 pm

I'm no economist but I think inflation might come early this time. 1998 to 2006, almost 8 years, just about time. Time to clean up my cute little scooter there at the garage.. it saved a lot of my ringgits doing the grocery then, RM7 a week!

• biggie (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:02 pm

i for once against this rise, although I'm all for public transport. The bus service under rapidkl has improve leaps and bound congrats to the new mgt. Putra and Star is very good under SPNB, but KTM has lots of problem. May be KTM like RapidKL need to hire a foreigner to oversee its komuter operation.

dunno is this is the 1st act of Afendi since taking over from tok pa.

• revver (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:03 pm

Paultan believe it or not! i ride my bicycle to work! Damn tiring!!

• emalaysian (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:07 pm

Jay, when the govt says "..WE ARE STILL THE LOWEST COMPARE TO MANY OTHER NATIONS..", they are correct. 100% correct. But they didn't say everyting such as the prices of cars is very high, tol, road tax, etc. I wonder why?

And if our tax money is used for more VALUE ADDED public service then I think the govt can still subsidize petrol. Enough said about how our tax money is ued in this blog.

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:14 pm

i think we would all not be pissed off if somehow we can see how the tax money is used, and reap benefits from it.

as with always, human remember the bad times but not the good. perhaps someone could remind us all of us here what good the current administration has done in terms of using developing the country, especially the public transport system.

i can't think of any at the moment.

• suanie (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:17 pm

hmm nope, can't think of any, not when the potholes along my house always resurface

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:17 pm

suanie: you could always engage the services of Panjang.

• suanie (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:22 pm

his panjang-ness needs to reach out to the deplorable states of kl and selangor

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:24 pm

I am seriously considering using bicycles to go to work! But then, our road is too dangerous to ride a bicycle, most car drivers will dodge you like dodging a dog, if they bother dodging at all.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:31 pm

Yeah. Its all market demand and supply. We should be thankful that the price is still being subsidized by the Government. Can't imagine having to fork out almost RM7 for a litre of petrol like some friends do in London. I can imagine that people will probably stop buying SUVs and go for low fuel consumption cars, like the City IDSL, Kancils, etc. What we should be more worried about is the effect on the economy, coz inflation is gonna increase. Public transport? Well you know what, they use petrol/diesel/LPG too meaning that the fares will also increase.

• whatsoever (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:41 pm

we should be thankful of the subsidised? bullshit, if those people know how how to use the money to the national, we should able to get more subsidy. not just invest on some stupid project because of 'national proud'.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:44 pm

Also, with the heavy rain & flooding, you might wanna consider a boat or sampan, hahah!!!

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 6:49 pm

"National Pride"? "National Burden"!

• TheMachine (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 7:29 pm

heybadigol: Your friend does not pay RM7 for petrol in London ! They are earning pound sterling not RM, you should not compare. Furthermore how much does their cars cost in UK compared to Malaysia. Bear in mind they earn in pound sterling and not RM so there is no need to convert as their earnings in pound sterling is equivalent if not higher than the salary over here, if you compare dollar to dollar.

Everything increase but salary of wage earner people like us stay the same.

Something is very wrong with the running of our country, i.e the revenue taxed and expenditure or maybe there's something wrong with us to complain. "after all Malaysia is such a nice place after all."

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 7:33 pm

ah, it all come down to oil oil and OIL. when the oil rpice zooms up, why nodody bother to import civic hybrid or prius to malaysia?????

why why tell me why?

we know this day will come. but the G, sigh………those cars r so near , yet so far………with those stupid taxes, if they arrive now, sure will be taxed 500% to stop public from buying it.

anyone know which shop sell electric bicycle? i want to buy a dozen of them.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 7:35 pm

No need hybrid, we only need small cc diesel cars with a reasonable price!

• catborg (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 7:55 pm

agreed with rexis..

i also see..

EVERY CAR = 1 person inside (driver).

FROM 10 car on th road = on 2 is more than 1 person!..

GO FIGURE BY YOUR SELF!.

I believe, malaysian dah terbiasa berlagak MEWAH dan kaya..

no wonder they cant use motorcycle, bike, even public transport (but public transport leceh sangat laa.. ).

Everybody blaming tax? WTH!.. do you think our tax is superhigh?

can a GOV survive without tax.. Poor tax = poor GOV.

Poor Gov = More and much crruption. (like 3rd world level) .

Etc.. much more to think.. isntead of marah coz 30cent added . Because we all still waste our OIL everyday = NAIK KERETA yang boleh bawak 4 orang tapi naik SORANG2 pegi jalan2!

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 7:55 pm

Yeah. It would be nice to have some hybrids around. Saw one Polis DiRaja Honda Civic Hybdrid 2 months ago, quite neat I must say. Whatever happened to Honda Malaysia's plan to bring in the Civic Hybrid (7th generation model) anyway? Guess they found out that there wasn't enough market to sell it to. But the new Civic Hybrid (8th generation) is too butt ugly to sell here. Toyota Prius looks a bit better.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:04 pm

damn!! i'm really pissed man.. now adays they dont even anounce it 2-3 days earlier like the old days and price up was a 30 cent smack!! they just put a small stupid anouncement just right under the tv screen like a stupid cheap ad and 2 hours before he price went up – what kind of a good governance is this? this is a freak'in nation issue for god sake man.. like want to hide it summore..

they are still claiming that oil prices has rise up bla bla bla USD70 bla bla bla, but when i go to bloomberg, the price is around USD60.. the RM1.62 price up was to catter the USD70 perbarrel price.. but now? when golbal price went up, they all bash the gong, trash the drum to all people, but when the price went down they even killed the bloddy cricket to make it quite and nobody hearing no nothing.

then again, our price is still the cheapest – but they forgot to mention someting else about the another country they keep comparing- 'pendapat perkapita' ring any bell? try singapore..

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:16 pm

Damn.. our leader must be out of his mind.. 30 cent sekali naik?.. come on la.. not enough ka with all nonsense taxes? want to implement GST somemore.. excise tax is very high oredi!.. if we want to use diesel car oso no point.. road tax very high.. Mana ada negara buat macam ni, enough la with stupid protection for our national cars, give people a chance to use fuel efficent cars… the gov want to cut our throat ka?.. lucky i have my kancil.. look like im gonnal keep my kancil forever till it rot to junk.. now full tank for kancil only more than RM55!

Why our PM thinks we r on his side now… i rather to have Tun Mahathir back as our PM.. or else i am against Pak lah.. i cant wait for next election!

• Zack Styler (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:43 pm

Paul,can plz tell me what is wrong with the new government??So many petrol increases in such a short period..The old government was not like that..Help me..Only the salary never increases..Next time I think I will use my urine to power the car,safe and efficent+environental friendly… :-

• Jay (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:52 pm

Yes Motor Head … I support you … even my Wira is killing me already RM 80+ full tank.excluding all my other instalments & taxes. We are living in USA or Europe ? The standard of living is surely higher now. When is the next election by the way ?

we hope the price doesn't increase anymore….US BARREL PRICE YESTERDAY USD 60 / BARREL …… FROM PREVIOUS USD 70 / BARREL.

So I don't understand still our price is rocketting……why ?

• Zack Styler (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:55 pm

Motorhead,I agree with u,even kancil have to fork out $55 for petrol..What the…How are those poor people going to survive??Public transport will surely increase their prices,it will surely become a burden to them,to fork out more $..Hmm,I predict the crime rate will increase,coz the poor the underprivillaged can't do anything,how to survive if u don't have the $..Aiyo what's G is dat???What 9th Malaysia Plan,what NEP???Just be like us poor chaps for a week and u will know how we suffer because of the G's good plan..

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:56 pm

The problem is we r so used to this petrol price control & forget about the fluctuating world market price. The gov should remove it in the 1st. once the rakyat get used to fluatuation. Problem solved.

Don't forget there are people in China & India also want to drive car everyday.

So guys get used to it! & ask for more increament.

• OvaBoost (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 8:59 pm

This petrol price increasing phenomenon will never stop…what we need is alternate source of fuel… cow dunk perhap? ….smell u later! ^_^

• Zack Styler (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:00 pm

Tun Mahathir….You are still the best…That's why Malaysia can prosper in such a short time compared to other developing countries…Pak Lah oooo,even though im from Penang,but I doubt the measures you have taken..If petrol price up,u reduce the subsidy..Then if the petrol prices up again,reduce subsidy again ka????Then it will be an unlimited increse in petrol prices lor…No other ways to overcome it meh???Even kids also know this simple maths…G punya pelan memang tak boleh bah…

• Zack Styler (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Paul,why the G's don't bring in more efficent diesel powered cars???hybrid cars???Hmmpphh….

• driver (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:37 pm

I was told engineers in Petronas has a basic salary of US$4000. That time I said, are you serious? Now I believe.

Only petronas employees can afford to drive car on the road without limits, I think that is a fact.

How I wish all the oil in the whole world suddenly disappears. Then, everyone can go take their bicycles to work.

• cavino (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:56 pm

Edwin2,

On Civic coming out, it will somewhat be a boon for 1.8cc Civic. Keep in mind that 8G 1.8cc civic "supposed" has near to 2.0cc power and close to 1.5cc fuel consumption. If that is true, the fc savings will be a true sell. But then if you can afford a new Civic, Accord, Altis or Camry, you definitely could afford the fuel price.

• emalaysian (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 9:59 pm

my 2 cents on "… EVERY CAR = 1 person inside (driver).

FROM 10 car on th road = on 2 is more than 1 person!..

GO FIGURE BY YOUR SELF!.

I believe, malaysian dah terbiasa berlagak MEWAH dan kaya..

no wonder they cant use motorcycle, bike, even public transport (but public transport leceh sangat laa.. ).

Everybody blaming tax? WTH!.. do you think our tax is superhigh?

can a GOV survive without tax.. Poor tax = poor GOV.

Poor Gov = More and much crruption. (like 3rd world level) …"

I stay in damansara, work in Shah Alam manufacturing area. Where is the public transport? None. Even my colleague who stay in Subang and work in Shah Alam got no proper transport to Shah Alam. What public transport?

I used to work in KL and I tell you its takes 1.5-2 hours to goto KL via “public transport” and not to mention hopping on the bus, get into lrt, find bus to office and assuming there is no rain lah. Car takes 1 hour and no problem with rain. Not to mention public transport problem like never line up, no place to sit, rain, no bus, pickpocket, etc. etc.

I’d say spend money and fix public transport.

The alternative is motorcycle. Did anyone read the statistic on road accidents? 8 out of 10 people I know who have bike got hurt before and its mostly not their fault and it’s the fault of bad road or bad car driver like us lah. Car is still safer if you value your life.

All government tax the country. No doubt. The issue is how the tax is structured and how is it used and for what intent. I do not know but common sense tells me that raising tax every time the oil goes up is bad financial management. Any bloke can tell you that we should be looking at how to cut cost, look at value added processes, look at waste, efficiency and effectiveness before tax up.

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:00 pm

joe oso right, need to see our income per capita oso.. bisnes so slow.. economy sluggish.. they never knew how it like in private sector… our salary never increased this few years, gov staff got la COLA and so on.. whats for us? Pak lah said the money for other development, but what development?.. all i can see abandon projects, money wastage, corruptions every levels, MRR2 cracks and bla bla… shame on the gov..

Now pipe meter oso been stolen, why they never learned anything.. now i have to watch out my pipe meter… soon my gate oso gone… i felt like been betrayed by Pak Lah… but still ok, since malaysia a tropical country, worse case scenario we can start eating snails!!!

• lance (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Paul,

Yes, I'd like to piggyback on that question as well…

Why aren't fuel efficient diesel cars brought into Malaysia?

For example, the 90bhp 1.3l Multijet Diesel for Fiat Punto Grande
    http://www.fiat.co.uk/grandepunto/

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:15 pm

Petrol price up again, who will be killed first, nevertheless, P1 of course!

Sucking fuel drunker Gen2, Waja must gonna suffer further…

The most dangerous effect of petrol price up not the petrol itself, everythings else eg: food, daily stuffs… the price must quickly pick up then, inflation is much crucial factor for a country economy development. What's the hell all those financial report always seem like optimistic about the inflation rate.

• alexiusp (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:18 pm

Brothers,

Please spare a thought for us brothers south of the borders.

Without loyalty discount cards and all the gimmicks, petrol costs S$1.50-1.80.

Trust us, we feel your pain too…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:22 pm

Another RM0.30 …..

Anyway, before complaining on other drivers who did not response to governments monkey farts asking us to car pool … May i ask, which is the best form of "car pool" ? where the maximum passengers can be fitted inside a vehicle that will ultimately consume less energy ? LRT, Public Busses! AND OUR STUPID GOVERNMENT IS DOING NOTHING.

Anyone agree Malaysia is going backwards more and more?

Oh, those who said Mahathir era better ones….. go read more books. It's his era who's bringing all these to us now.

Lastly, KANCIL IS NOT A FUEL EFFICIENT VEHICLE. DONT BUY ! At least get Myvi, Vios, City, Swift and so on … .these had very good FCs; oh, Fiat Punto 1.3 as well …. and er.. Renault Scenics…..

(My Kancil full tank RM53.60, RM1.92/Liter ; RM45.00, RM1.62/Liter) Can only go maximum 230km ….. sucks…

• Dinozilla (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:26 pm

none of the hybrid is in yet…..

wat they think of….keep remaining cars that drink our money….

ok

Brent Crude Oil Price as of 14:26 GMT+8

USD$ 58.99

• Ajis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:37 pm

I'm a dead meat…. i come to work from puchong to the heart of KL everyday… Looks like i got to expand my budget for fuel… aiyak… Thank You Government… for making life harder…

• Ajis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Ok… I'm fine with the increment of Fuel prices…. If… Our Salary is increase… The only thing i cared for is basically… The lower income people…. people with Rm 600 – 1200 earnings per month… How they can survive? Even if they ride a bike… It's gonna kill them… Government is stabbing them badly… I think that government always have other ways to support their subsidies… Before this, even though our fuel price is very2 cheap from what it suppose to be… We can still survive? why? because we have a great leader… Our economy still raise though our fuel prices is cheap…. hmmm…

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 10:57 pm

ingolstadt,

aikk.. wat kancil r u driving? 660? auto ka? engine fine or not?.. modified? RM50 =230km?.. something wrong with yr kancil la, rigth guys?.. i use to travel with my ex850 to mersing (wife hometown) around 350km with RM30 (old price).. now fifty la.. many many time did it.. vios, city,swift nice oso.. but u pay the excise duty oso, & pay petrol some more..

best option.. boycot national cars till it dead.. till it bungkus.. say no to cut throat tax! say no to petrol hike! no to BN oso…

• whatsoever (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:00 pm

the problem not just the petrol price up. try to zoom out at looking at a bigger picture. petrol price up will bring up other stuffs' price up also. the is a chain reaction. so even how good is a economy car, you still suffer from these.

• biggie (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:10 pm

petrol is a commodity that always increase in price. The latest attack in Saudi show that it really is vulnerable. So no hope of getting cheaper oil.

boycott national car – for wat? most of cars on their stable not the fuel guzzler type.

if DAP/PAS come to power will there be no oil increase? wake up ppl. There still be increase in price.

Nationalise all oil resources, very soon we got invaded by everyone.

Let Petronas pay subsidy? They only have 30% market share for consumer petrol, so they have to pay 70% of the subsidy to Shell/Caltex/Esso and BP.

• Ajis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:10 pm

Yeah… I agree with whatsoever….. First the cost will increase in transportation business… and this is the chance for them to increase the price of groceries and other things…. give me a few weeks and then maggie mee is going to look delicious for all. Hmmm… what to do? Makan Loti lo…

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Actually you have to note that gov is still paying fuel subsidy, not increasing fuel tax. Face the real world, the real world is cruel. Everytimes so many people say that gov overprotect proton, and want to open big door for outside car come in. Now is the process to slowly open door. Economi sure got fluctuate a bit lor.

• Cilipadi69 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:26 pm

we produce our own petroleum and yet we still depend the global crude prices. Its just like your mom open a nasik lemak stall, cooked it in your kitchen yet sell it all to the customer and when you ask her a plate coz you so hungry, she ask you to buy from the mamak stall cross the road. Then she will mumble non stop coz she have to fork out extra for your pocket money. She, in the first place should make sure her kids have enuff to eat before sell it all to others. Government – just like parenting. We become parents when we ready to be. Not becoz we enjoy the intercourse and forget that it comes with responsibility – the kids. We don’t have to impress other by having BMW’s and gold plated grill, but yet our children running naked in the house and starving..!!

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:34 pm

NOTE TO EVERYONE THE ONLY PETROL STATION CAN GIVE U A BETTER BARGAINS WILL BE BP WHERE ANY AMOUNT U PUT THEY ADD 0.01 CENTS FOR YOU WELL BETTER THAN NOTHING.

• Harry S (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:49 pm

The point is:

Fuel subsidy is the only way, WE as NON-CRONY got something from the government. Crony also dapat la.

But WITHOUT SUBSIDY, WE as NON-CRONY got nothing. Money save from the subsidy will be chanelled to Crony in all sorts of stupid projects. Crony dapat in both scenarios…. !!!

Conclusion, without subsidy, We NON-CRONY—- LOSER!!!

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 11:56 pm

The govt. always compare with other country well true they should do that with their management compared to other countries as well way off the target. Yes i totally agree in managing our funds of tax with great efficiency which is not happenning. Not only i have to pay more for my petrol but i need to fix my suspension from time to time damm that fella who talks shit. As quoted:

"IPOH: Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said some complaints lodged with the Public Works Department were only for the sake of complaining. The publicity of Panjang is great for the public bad publicity to the govt. imagine an old man with a bicycle and some tools going around the town getting road fix this only means one thing. That oldman is more efficient than our works ministry well although he doesn't have great tools and technology but the outcome of the work is quite comparable i guess. So think how efficient it is when u take away the petrol subsidies to pay more to govt. servant (sorry i'm not saying they dun deserve it but pls they should have a system in rewarding

Samy Vellu, who is also MIC president, said the majority of complaints received were about road conditions and “many say that this road is not good and that road is not good.”

“If we take into account all the complaints, the situation will be as if all the roads in the country are not good.”

It had been reported that the department had recently launched a public complaints bureau to enable people to send their complaints by SMS.

Samy Vellu noted that other complaints included faulty traffic lights and roads built by developers.

“Such roads have nothing to do with us but we do forward the complaints to the ministry concerned,” he said after attending the consecration ceremony of the Maha Mariamman temple in Chemor near here. "

We are not complaining for the sake of complaining if needed we should conduct a road test and starts going around the city on the car with a video cam and then we talk. Please do understand the user are suffering every day not those chauffered minister.

The publicity of Panjang is great for the public bad publicity to the govt. imagine an old man with a bicycle and some tools going around the town getting road fix this only means one thing. That oldman is more efficient than our works ministry well although he doesn't have great tools and machinery and solo but the outcome of his work is quite comparable i guess. So think how efficient it is when u take away the petrol subsidies to pay more to govt. servant (sorry i'm not saying they dun deserve it but pls they should have a system in rewarding those who deserve it well what am i saying when their boss is the same culprit welll what the heck) So public suffer because some smart ass knows nothing in planning and doing 5 years old minus and plus kind of calculating. Minus public plus govt. well who wants to advise the govt. Tau tolak campur bolehlah.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:03 am

I filled up one full tank last night, consider lucky. And my sister told me that she want to fetch her friends to go buy clothes in shopping centre tonite…

Why am i feeling so angry?

• Jay (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:06 am

Biggie you're rite. Let PETRONAS pay the subsidy. I can't see why we need to pay high petrol price despite our own petrol resources in the sea. They have very good profit.

I know we have lots of petrol out there, subsidising is just an EXCUSE !

Why they compare their petrol prices with the soaring world fuel price. Nothing to do with it what ? World oil price for 1 barrel = USD 62 as of yesterday FROM USD 70, a month ago. So if we are comparing our market with the US market, why haven't our price reduce ?

Come on leader….need to revamp things…i mean REVAMP ! The war price has begun for all items ! Be prepared for an increased trasportation budget.

This will definitely effect the poor. Even the middle class will feel the pinch already.

If you're in the G office or private sector…you don't feel the pinch…because many of them out there are taken care by their respective companies. They are covered due to company car & petrol claims. So what are the people like us going to do ? Plan better ?

• thetruth12 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:08 am

Cilipadi is damm straight to the point with this scenario with your kids suffer in hunger but the motehr is one big fat lady still singing in the ministry and the pm office overfed with freaking nasi lemak (fat rice) lol. u do the thinking is this how we should be taken care of. Mind i go stright to the point but i'm missing the dr.m time he is the pm i grew up as a man today and with enough food and clothing throughout my growing years well too bad he made a wrong choice at the end of his era. well in his time of course corrup.. is around which every country is but he is firm in managing it and ruthless one might put until get someone on trial and jail for ????? but for only one reason to protect his childs of malaysians sad that era is gone. He is also too dispaointed in his childrens who turn they're back on him. Well ppl always dun realise how bless they are until it is gone.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:29 am

i find it weird that so many people are calling for fuel efficient cars. We already have them in teh market.. myvvi, the savvy, and gen2 1.3. getz 1.3..

and its also funny i hear people saying the gen2 and waja are fuel guzzlers. everyone i know who own them seem to get great mileage out of the cars..?

hybrid cars are great, but they're expensive to maintain. i dont even want to imagine how much it will cost to replace the batteries when they eventually die out. the cost to buy and maintain them are so high, that they're not even selling well in the US. Will anyone here be willing to pay over Rm100,000 for a hybrid?

diesel cars are better, but the malaysian market just isnt interested in diesel cars. the car companies dont bother to bring them in because no will buy them. so who do we blame?

all i can say is, we are going to be forced to change our lifestyles, plan our trips better, use public transport as much as we can, eat less.. but one things for sure, i dont believe fuel prices will come down. it will eventually move all the way past RM2.00. time to tighten our belts. i'm going shopping for my small car now… i think a savvy amt will be nice.

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:43 am

The current G seems more incompetent than the previous 1..

What a sad case.. :(

• Jay (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:54 am

Hey guys out there, i just got a feedback from my friend in ARIZONA.

US Measurements;

1. Seems 1 gallon of petrol is USD 2.30. As we know 1 Gallon = 3.7853litres

2. If you convert the price here it would be…..USD 2.30 * RM 3.78 = RM ………8.694 per gallon.

3. We convert them to litres instead of gallons…as follows

4. RM 8.694 / 3.7853 litres……to get 1 litre of fuel here …….is goes as RM 2.296 / litre………so, after subsidising we pay RM 1.92 I guess…..

UK Measurements;

1. Seems 1 litre of petrol in UK cost 0.91pence…..so if we convert it to RM it is (0.91p *RM 6.78) = RM 6.1698 for 1 litre….WOW that's expensive..

But once again we always refer to the US Barrel oil price….and those 2 above are developed countries. What about us ?

I'm still against it comparing the price surge with US market.

We are still paying a lot because we have our own resources (FUEL). I just don't understand….not like UK they import fuel …. but why us…we don't import fuel…do we ?

• foreverunited (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:56 am

Please list down cars that has low fuel consumption anyone??

• foreverunited (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:57 am

Please list down cars that has low fuel consumption anyone?? my suggestion is Vios

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 12:57 am

Actually must correct something here. Malaysia does not produce petroleum (what Malaysia produces in abundance is in actual fact LNG, gas). In fact oil companies in Malaysia import petrol at the world rate and sell to consumers at a much lower rate. The difference is subsidized by tax-payers money (the govt lah). So, in a way, we are sort of (indirectly) paying the full price of petrol!!

But its important to note that as oil becomes more scarce, and it HAS in a major way, price will increase and will never ever drop (simple demand and supply will tell you that). We have to start using alternative source for fuel & power. There is no other option.

• epalhead (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 1:08 am

GUYS…

SEEMS U ALL PRETTY MAD…!!

COME ON GUYSSS…DO SOMETHING..UNDERSTAND THE ROLE BETWEEN GOVERNMENT AND OPPOSITION.

WHAT HAS HAPPEN TODAY AND WONDER WHAT HAVE YET TO COME….IS BECAUSE OF……YOU YOURSELF!!! GIVE THE G MORE 2/3 MAJORITY…NOW SEE WHAT U GET???? (i'm talking if u all vote if not, shame on u for doing nothing except for mumbling useless pethatic moron!!)…

USE UR RIGHT AS MALAYSIAN…..PICK THE G THAT CARES FOR "RAKYAT"…OR LET THE OPPOSITION HAVE MORE SEAT IN DEWAN RAKYAT TO VOICE UR NEEDS (now its only 12 seat from 190 over, how to fight????) OTHERWISE………

• cavino (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 1:12 am

Honda_driver,

Myvi is a petrol guzzling MPV at its range. There was comparison between hybrid and fuel efficient vehicle like Jazz iDSI and City iDSi. They were almost on par, so if no need hybrid (maintenance expensive), then these budget vehicles will do as well. Problem is government tax raise them so high that its out of reach from average people.

If you compare, iDSI can challenge 1.3cc in alot of cases in FC but imagine the comfort, power and safety provided by this budget vehicle compared with our counterpart. Kancil is an exception because its even lower than that.

btw Getz 1.3 is not really that fuel efficient. Try to compare its mileage with City or Jazz iDSI 1.5cc.

• raverus (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 2:15 am

Honda_driver,

I gues hes just a Honda driver. Getz……….heheheh, donno nuts about fuel efficiency cars.

I heard 1 of our neighbour contry is applying hybrid technology in all of their vehicles in the future, good step. P1 or P2 should figure out this technology and build it ! (yea rite….boleh land….LOL)

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 2:49 am

chain reaction coming, prepare for trouble…………ur food, clothings, taxes,…..and many other things r zooming up.

one thing i dun understand, why until the last minute only tell us hv increase in fuel in prices? aiyoh, rili they wanna give us the shock of our life, even can shock the sick to be well again.

so many complaints abt prices hike, so start buying bicycles, dun buy fuel-drinker anymore.

those car manufacturer can tapao liao, we malaysian now welcome bicycle manufacturer from the world. anyone or anybody wanna come ?

• DAN (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 3:02 am

government got no money anymore n the easy way to get it is from citizen like us, income TEX there TEX here all from us who do more u o me.

who happy ?? u know i know la!.

• Paul Tan on Mar 01, 2006 at 3:37 am

I'm suprised no one brought up the fact that Proton sells bicycles too yet.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:33 am

ya la, paul.. now you did mention it.. proton do have their own bikes.. t-bikes or what so ever they called it..

today i went to pasar malam at bangi, as far as i can see still no price up.. yet.. i just cant imagine how it would be if all the prices comes up.. even now to survive for one whole month to wait the next month salary is sooo hard man…

• Mac (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:49 am

proton bike very mahal

• thetruth12 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 5:19 am

Malaysians should start boycott pumping our national gas y pump them when most of their proceeds goes into so called projects. By the way who says Malaysia just produce LNG we are one of the major petroleums company but we only have the finest fuel in the world in which we SELL for a good profit as jet fuel and we import lower grade fuel for Malaysians use. Well definitely Petronas makes a lot with the fuel price surges but where all the proceeds goes to more highways??? More tols??? Just to let you guys know PLUS makes 40%++ net i mean NET profit yet they want the public to pay higher tols check this link: (http://www.malaysia-today.net/Blog-e/2005/03/plus-another-highway-robbery.htm) and now higher fuels wah was wondering how many unscrupulous milionaires and more brabus / ferraris on the road NAZA can give good discount on this area well i just think Malaysia memang tak boleh now Indonesia is slowly improving their economies yet we are degrading only indicated one thing this G can be the worst of all in our independence era … can we really governs ourself ?. To G's your honour / trust of the rakyat / credibility / promise just went down to the drain… well maybe u can be encourage by your very bight advisers u know. Have u heard before a ship is being controlled by his monkeys crew not the ship captain. Well this is what happen when the captain stewardship is nothing more than his crews … memang saya ini sangat sedih untuk Malaysia yang mempunyai potensi sebagai negara maju. Well farewell Vision 2020 we might be worse than Indonesia already…

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 5:27 am

Guys.. here an idea how to teach our gov a lesson (since election quite far), & we can save our pocket some more.. for those who already owns a car, stick to yr car.. boycott, dont buy new cars yet be patient.. dont burden yrself with new loans.. let the automotive industries feel the heat, a terrible heat.. especially proton.. it will give pressure to gov oso.. use our consumer power! Next time they'll think twice to do such stupid action. There r many other ways to increase gov revenue & decrease burden.. but they choose to punish us!

• thetruth12 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 5:48 am

Dear fellow malaysians y petrol efficient cars u wan efficient buy kancils or any vehicle below 1.0 cc then efficienlah why ask gov. to bring in hybrids by their ap kings then sell 100k over ke then petrol go up again in few months or next year hey why not just rob our money from our banks damn the current G…damn KJ this is what happens when a 60+ years old man listening to a 30+ as an adviser… UK standard what so UK petrol pricelah. Listen to a kindergarten kid no diff…

• thetruth12 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 5:57 am

Y u all talk about protection on Proton rather protection on AP kings why. Berita tu sudah lesap. Time for malaysians to stand up to fend for themselves or definitely letting these ppl goes freely rolling on the publics lagi boleh dapat AP lagi ke use AP to subsidise fuellah. Why not give malaysian everyone an ap then oklah… AP can sell 20-30k a piece multiple of 50k total ap issued wah RM 1 billion to RM 2 billion but no to some individualah so Pak lah memang bolehlah u ada tempat kosong kroni ke nampak issue AP u diam je

• thetruth12 (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:01 am

yes motorhead just dun boycott car boycott any company realated to gov lah maybe can see real great effects

• HMMaster (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:59 am

we better learn on how to save petrol than ranting about the price.
    http://www.mvria.nsw.gov.au/media/med_hol_savepet…

• Mac (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 7:02 am

goverment should cancel roadtax since petrol naik

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 8:35 am

agree with mac. when petrol price zooms up, something gotta zoom down to balance the equation.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 3:57 pm

i agree with HMMaster. no point ranting.

better to direct all the energy into finding ways to live with a higher fuel price, and eventually, higher price for everything.

btw, i am recommending the smaller 1litre to 1.3 litre class cars because they are more affordable. vios and city are in the higher price margin. of course, if you really have the money, just import in a hybrid car. but i dont see the point in buying a highly expensive car just to save some petrol, unless of course you are a high mileage driver. btw, a friend of mind drove to penang recently in a savvy, and he used around 14-15 litres of fuel one way. i think thats pretty decent.

• emalaysian (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 4:59 pm

In australia, cars can be converted to use gas (Those gas tank we use for cooking) for a few hundred aussie. Why can't we do that in malaysia? It beats NGV. Gas tank are available everywhere. I am not a car expert. I don't know.

Also, road tax in the US is about USD20 for 5 years (or is it 4 years) ….

Also, tol rates go down in other develop countries …

• biggie (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 5:10 pm

all,

a stray bird once told me that our crude grade is not that suitable for cars? our fuel when refined give different grade of fuel.

now let say we let Petronas pay subsidy to the 70% of the consumer who don't buy from Petronas. Then Petrona profit will shrink.

Let say of the 1 bil profit made by Petronas, 28% goes to G outright for tax, and apart from business expansion they build buildings, plant here and there mostly in M'sia. By the building/plant indirectly some ppl got contracts work ++. Of course it goes to crony but then most of the population work (directly or indirectly) for these cronies. IBM supply comp. equipment, Malayawata supply steel etc.

For foreign companies from clever accounting, they always don't make that much profit. So the 28% of corp. tax is small. Apart from plant or business expansion here, the profit go back to parent comp. So M'sian generally do not benefit much.

So why we need to boycott Petronas? btw Petronas engineers are the poorest in term of pay and benefit compare to their counterpart in other company.

However I agree that we need to boycott PLUS, Grand Saga, Bestraya and the like. Pay toll so that you can experience traffic jam. At least they have to do something to ease of the jam esp. at toll booth instead of relying on traffic police, as the user pay them not the police.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:24 pm

I agree that Petronas' engineers are not very well paid (but don't tell that to prospective engineers who wanna join them, not nice lah…). Not sure if they are the poorest though, hehe..

Agree on the highway operators making a lot of money now. But one must remember that its not cheap to build these highways also. It looks like a lot of profit as the expenses are low (the cost of building highways – which makes up the bulk of expenses – is capitalised and not expensed). But having said that, the profits they make should be utilised in improving the highways instead of just merely maintenance. I mean, why are we paying toll to use highways when we get stuck in traffic jams or flooding (like NKVE). Just my 2 cents worth.

• daze (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Yeah. petrol are sky high now…but anyway. feel lucky in M'sia n not in neighbouring country like S'pore.

but still. if petrol is that high. G promise for development.

at least a good public transport to accomodocate that numbers of public transport user are needed..

and the convenience of public transport.

Why in the hell Sunway, Subang & Puchong dun have LRT?? y make d last stop Kelana Jaya.. n not going further down?

Cost of living for M'sia are pretty high. for sure.not to compare with other country, but i feel that most of us, i mean proffesional people which is not in some high rank or wat. kinda like slightly underpaid..

Talking bout highway.. is just damn furking expensive travel on highway..

and. i still cant understand.. y till these days they still need tol attendents giving away tickets?

you need man power to collect cash and return change. but y for giving tickets?

isn't that will be cheaper if u deploy a machine like those in carpark?

in lorm term. will save more.?

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 2:16 am

we cant compare with australia lah. their petrol also not cheap now, more than AUD1.00 per litre. not sure the exact price now, used to be only 50-60cents a litre. you pay low roadtax, but insurance is expensive. you almost have no toll to pay at all, but you pay very very high income taxes.

In malaysia, most of us, pay comparatively low income taxes. are you prepared to pay almost 30-40% of your income as taxes for everything else that they get? you can never get the best of everything.

• nuggyn (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:16 am

Sad to say, this is what most of you voted for….

Malaysia boleh!

• vague (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:46 am

i agree with "themachine" come on la Jay… those brits are earning pounds!! compare dollar to dollar they earn as much as we do… but they have very high taxes… we….

however, their gov. pay it back every week after certain age… see if u are a brits you wouldn't mind paying taxes coz eventually the G will give back. regardless of either you are kuai lo, asian lo, middle east lo, indian lo etc…

anyway, point is…. VOTE!!! don't waste it…

i think we must bring back ANUAR I, his supporters sure will start some tunjuk perasaan outside wisma putra. u know wht i mean.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:06 pm

http://www.malaysiasite.nl/distance.htm

Savvy KL to Penang at 14-15 litres of 382 km distance? works about 25.5km/l.

Sap sap sui lah Civic EK3 Vi does 28km/l on highway leng lenglah.

http://216.239.39.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=htt…

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:31 pm

well, the grass is always greener on the other side.

now gotta keep on eye on the fuel pointer……………

• dd (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 11:05 pm

wtf? increase end of the year or mid year la…

• G SPOT (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 11:52 pm

"The Protocols of the Learned Elders of Zion"

• wajarian (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 11:13 am

naik motor je la..save more and more (still EX5 full tank now rocket to rm6.50)

• zerocool (Member) on Mar 04, 2006 at 1:01 am

Guys,

Since fuel's price is up……wanna fall back to this option ??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuclear_car

P.S. – Better not get into an accident with this car. Imagine how catasthropic it would be if I accidently knocked into something during reverse-parking with this car ;)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 12:43 am

we should give the G a lesson,

this coming F1 race zero local visitor, because too much cost impact to dirve to Sepang,

somemore no more stopping at Petronas station, they already have their must buy customer for NGV(they should share the profits of having oil in Msia),

first they force Msian to buy the never grow up Proton(very expensive) then increase the fuel price one time 30 cents.

If Pak Lah want the people to change their lifestyle , we should consider to change the G as well.

• Dorie Stubbs on Apr 22, 2015 at 1:14 pm

It’s hard to come by educated people about this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks