2006 Honda Civic 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC engine

1800ivtec_small.jpgThis is for those who appreciate the technology that goes into a powertrain. How does the new 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine in the new 2006 Honda Civic achieve good fuel mileage (Honda claims 1.5 litre fuel economy during cruising) while producing a respectable 140 horsepower and 174 Nm of torque? Let’s have a look at some of the technologies that went into this new engine – the R18A1.

According to Honda, during low load driving conditions like highway cruising where the driver would be pressing the accelerator pedal only slightly, the engine experiences pumping losses due to the restricted air flow created by a throttle butterfly that is almost closed. Pumping losses and air resistance result in a negative impact to fuel economy Using a conventional mechanical throttle this cannot be avoided. Low speed = small throttle butterfly opening. Pedal to the metal = big throttle butterfly opening.

Honda got around this using Drive-by-wire and a fuel-economy optimized i-VTEC system. The i-VTEC system for the 1.8 litre SOHC engine has 2 sets of cam lobes, one for high output and one for low load conditions. During low load conditions, the pumping losses are avoided by letting the throttle butterfly open wider than it normally would. To offset the larger amount of air coming in, the intake valve timing is delayed. This reduces pumping losses up to 16 percent.

1800ivtec_cams.jpg

1800ivtec_range.jpg

To increase fuel economy, Honda has also taken steps to reduce friction in the engine. Piston skirts are coated with Molybdenum disulfide, and oil rings are ion-plated to ensure reduced friction. This provides a 10% reduction in friction.

Other technologies include a variable-length intake manifold using longer manifolds at low RPMs and shorter manifolds at high RPMs for an optimum ram effect and piston oil jets which cool down pistons to avoid engine knocking. As a result of these technologies and a compression ratio of 10.5:1, this 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine makes 140hp at 6300rpm and 174Nm of torque at 4300rpm.

1800ivtec_graph.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 8:36 pm

for sure it is a brilliant technology, a true technology a company that really have passion on what their doing..but in Msia for a Civic it is WHOPPING RM120K, that is the price you need to pay for a decent technology…

Malaysian car prices is crazy compare to the people's income cost of living and some more fuel price increased , even a tank of cooking gas also increased….

sad ….

• Si|v3rB|ooD (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 8:37 pm

Fuiyo…. if i got the extra $$$ for sure i bought the new honda. Not only fuel efficient but extra power.

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 9:31 pm

[quote]Other technologies include a variable-length intake manifold using longer manifolds at low RPMs and longer manifolds at high RPMs[/quote]

That doesnt sound right… or am I wrong?

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2006 at 9:39 pm

why did i type longer for both? lol. corrected.

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 9:41 pm

honda for teh win

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Does the 2.0l uses the same technology?

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 10:29 pm

all this so far is accrding to spec sheet and ful of theory , best if somebody can test in real life,bcos fuel efficiency is dependant on so many tings,im sure a real life test wd be alot clearer than spec sheet figures…bt have to applaude honda for wat thy r offering …jus that our prices here is way to gila…

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2006 at 10:33 pm

they've mentioned it's 1.5 liter stats for CRUISING only, not combined city and cruising cycle, so i suppose it's the truth.

• chuamike (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:34 pm

RM120k is only S$52,490 :)

In Singapore, the new 1.8L (A) Civic i-VTec costs S$75k. That's RM171,450!

So our friends in Malaysia should take solace that they r definitely paying much lesser than their counterparts down here in Singabloodypore ;p

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:34 pm

For me i think new CIVIC price tag are acceptable with its exceptional good spec. It already entered into Accord/Camry range but cheaper than both of them. This really a brilliant technology…

• edwin2 (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:51 pm

"Honda claims 1.5 liter fuel economy during cruising"….. that is a catch…. only during constant speed cruising probably at 100km/h …. that is the best fuel ecomony only… what about city driving, well combine drive, then this car will KILL you at the pump.

• moby (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:54 pm

chuamike bro,

quite sensitive to compare prices within asean countries :p its a better comparison if use dollar to dollar comparison. rm1 = $1 sing.

and then one can see that malaysia's car prices are sky high.

• lomotus (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 12:48 am

chuamike…

even though the price is higher but i think they got alot more gadgets compared to the malaysian models…

+ more choice for interior color…

you can get the sporty black interior in s'pore….

you can open your trunk by the press of a button( remote)…

more options in s'pore…manual/auto…1.8vti , 1.8vti-S…

something that we here in malaysia might have to wait if we want the same thing…or never will get…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 1:01 am

Hi edwin2, Honda's claim for 1.5L economy is not wrong as the figure is based on 10-15 test in japan. It's just a standardised benchmark. In Europe their test methods is different than in Japan so the values are never the same.

All being said, This version of Honda Civic fares 17km/l auto based on their website.

This link will show how the mileage of various cars in Japan fared:

http://tinyurl.com/n3yo5

on average, only around 60-70% of the claimed mileage can be acheived. This version of Honda Civic is 17km/l so expect mileage performance of around 11.9 km/l max. Goes the same for all jap cars using the 10-15 as the benchmark evaluation.

Happy Motoring ^_^

• chinomalayo (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 1:14 am

it's pure ignorance to compare prices like chuamike did.

yes, a CIVIC is more expensive in Singapore than Malaysia; if one does a direct forex conversion like he did. That's often a misleading way to use numbers and that's also how our Malaysian government compare toll and petrol prices!

What's more important is to know the affordability of the car by majority of the public like you and I i.e. the buying power of our $$$. A fresh grad in Singapore earns an average of S$3000 (that's RM6600) per month while over here, it's only roughly RM2000. Now you tell me: a CIVIC is more affordable for whom?

But of course, if chuamike is Singaporean, he shouldn't be complaining, cause after paying monthly installment for his CIVIC, he would still have plenty of cash left to spend.

As for average Malaysians like us; after paying our monthly CIVIC installment and home loan, we have no choice but to live on biscuits for the rest of the month!!

Just for your info, an average British fresh grad earns 3000 pounds per month i.e. that's RM19,200 per month!!!!!! Worse, a BMW 3-series only costs 23,000 pounds or RM147,200 over there. Mind you, a can of COKE in London costs only 45 pence (0.45pounds or RM2.88). Yes, RM2.88 for a can of COKE may be expensive for an average Malaysian but if i am working in Britain earning RM19,200 per month, i wouldn't mind!!!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 1:19 am

RM120k is only S$52,490

In Singapore, the new 1.8L (A) Civic i-VTec costs S$75k. That’s RM171,450!

this is when converted the RM into Sing$ but If I'm now working in Spore for Sing$3K surely I can afford it,I'm not converting the currency, please value the car as the currency you are earning.

For me cars in Msia more expensive with all the gadgets taken out all locally assemble with lesser QC strictness.

new HARRIER RM 250 in Msia only Sing$105k if one earn RM4K a month he wont able to drive a HARRIER but it does if he earn SING$4K.some more Spor have options for JDM specs.this civic on Spore road long time a go.

• KelvC (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 1:57 am

FYI, I read somewhere the Singapore Civic is a CBU spec where else the Malaysia and Thailand specs are CKD which explains the prices difference.

Found the article here: http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/MM/Saturday/…

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 3:24 am

yea…fresh grad may earn 3k pounds, but half of it will go on paying the mortgage due to the crazy house prices….hehe

• Isamu (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 3:35 am

edwin2 said,

March 13, 2006 @ 3:51 pm

“Honda claims 1.5 liter fuel economy during cruising”….. that is a catch…. only during constant speed cruising probably at 100km/h …. that is the best fuel ecomony only… what about city driving, well combine drive, then this car will KILL you at the pump.

———-

Even if you drive any hybrid-engined car "pedal to the metal" style, they will still kill you at the pump.

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 5:27 am

Just take the comparison like this..

If a normal (non vtec) 1.8 goes head to head with civic 1.8, Im sure the VTEC uses LESS PETROL than the non-vtec…

its that simple…. dont have to compare press metal-to-metal or city & cruising mode etc…

And yes, DO NOT compare the value of the car AFTER PRICE CONVERTION… but compare DOLLAR TO DOLLAR….

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 7:34 am

……..bla bla bla………

It's such a sad case.

What a beautiful car, with an even more 'beautiful' price-tag on it!

sheesh…

tsk tsk tsk

The Honda Civic is such a terrific car – sleek, futuristic, cool, spacious. I mean, how often do you get a car with such a cool dashboard lay-out?? like in so many blue moons(more like never, though). For such a car in this class, it has the most spacious, if not one if the largest, cabin space a car can offer. I'm pretty sure that Nissan and Toyota will have sleepless nights seeing this car quashing their market share. It's a tough act to follow. The engines that Honda offer are top notch in such a class – so powerful, yet frugal(that's what they say).

All I can say is that, the all-new Honda Civic is such a great car. Now if only there could be someway to tweak and lower the car's price….and get my dad to buy 1…..(I must be dreaming…)….muahaha

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 10:16 am

think about this. for someone who can afford to pay more than rm100k for a car, do u think Low FC is gonna be a selling point? do u think he/she even gonna bother about that?

nay, this "Low FC" thing is merely a bait for some ppl who knew they cant afford it yet wan to gaya, and went to terrible length just to buy it, such as, borrowing from ah long, friends and family members, max out their credit card and get personal loans from banks to get sufficient d/p, then take 9 yrs loan to repay the rest…

latest rumour i heard, there are plans for 12-14 yrs repayment, although i have no means to verify it, but i wont be surprised!

• indigo (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 6:27 pm

I heard someone mentioned Singapore's Civic is more expensive. But comparing M'sia and Singapore's economic situation, Civic is still consider cheap for all of them. I mean how much an average Malaysian can actually afford a car? In Germany, it needs to spend around 6 months salary to purchase a decent car as we M'sian will have to spend up to 7 years or even more to finance a SLK (small little kancil)!.

• whatsoever (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 9:42 pm

down to road, proton still the only choice?

• Civic2006 (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 10:10 pm

da saleman told me 2.0 is not using the same technology as the 1.8. dis 1.8 is a brand new engine.

i placed a booking on da 1.8 yesterday. compare to vios, city and any protons, i consider this da best investment i ve ever made on car for their technology, comfort and safety (of coz its style too)

i stop comparing our car price wif offshore price. it jes wont get me anywhere. for what might be comforting, in m'sia, u can drive ur car as long as it still can move. where else in some other country, old car became immensely expensive to maintain (roadtax, etc)

• edgeff (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 11:00 pm

chuamike bro,

yes, we malaysians pay much lesser than singaporeans.

but it's still way too high compare to country like thailand, indonesia n etc.

BTW, if not bcoz of those tax n duty, we can get it around RM72k to RM 76k only.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 5:08 pm

It is sad that when making comparison, the basis of comparison such as price is forgotten. You can't compare Civic with lesser cars that's nearly half the price, e.g. Waja, as it's simply unfair. Try comparing it to a Ford Focus instead. Now that's also an intersting car.

The Waja was created to be a great car to which it is not. However, during its creation it has features that never seen the light of day. Features such as Automatic Headlights, Automatic Headlights Levelling, Semi-automatic Air-cond, Side Airbags & Traction Control. Features such as these was eliminated from the list of options available locally due to the price tag that it was supposed to be sold. However, some of these features are available for export models only.

The new Civic is a good car with lots of features. But certainly everybody had notice its heafty price tag. The 1.8L i-VTEC engine maybe fuel economical but not so when compared to the 1.5L i-DSI engine. So again, it difficult to comments on its fuel economy since Honda didn't provide more details of the 1.5L engine that they are comparing with.

So if you could afford it, buy it and stop bashing other cheap cars that has lesser features from any other makes.

• drkhrs (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 5:59 pm

anybody can give me the estimated fuel consumption of this beaut?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 11:52 pm

drkhrs said,

March 15, 2006 @ 9:59 am

anybody can give me the estimated fuel consumption of this beaut?

17km/l for 1.8L auto, 16.2km/l for 1.8L manual (ironic eh auto better fc than manual).

Mind you that is the city driving value.

http://tinyurl.com/qfqf6

these values are the japanese 10-15 test method results which cannot apply for real world situations. In Japan only about 70% of the claimed fc could be attained. That's around 11.9km/l.

So expect around 11.9km/l or lower if used here.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:34 am

SG cars are mostly CBUs. Very rare to find CKDs because it is cheaper to just buy the CBUs from country of origin.

Hell, a Waja costs RM SGD 58k but it still inherited the poor QC crap (mind u, we are talkng abt the export model) like it's poorer Malaysian variant. So, which one more worth it? Buy CBU la!

Unfortunately, I won't buy cars in SG even if working there. What for? Their public transport is TOP NOTCH! And the hassle to find / pay for parking is another turn off.

My cousins in SG always complained that she has to take turns to share the family car with her siblings. And always felt jealous that we each have our own cars in KL (Very true, because we have 6 cars). Well, as I put it in words:

1. Our public transport system SUCKS! I'm not going to believe PM's word that the RM 4.4 bil will be used to improve the system. More like trying to save MAS n other GLCs.

2. The distance from our house to LRT is 10-25km! That's freaking far! Plus, even if u were to drive n park on the LRT public parking, there is no guarantee forking thieves won't break into your cars! Screw the teh tarik-sucking cops!

3. Believe or not, IT IS WAY CHEAPER to drive down to KL that to use a LRT + bus feeder or taxi service.

• rocknroll (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 8:40 pm

well abbc,

you are damm right :P

• lajapbor (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:06 am

Just got possession of a Civic 1.8 and am not too pleased with it. We have an Altis 1.8 in my family, so I'm comparing the Altis with the Civic. It is quite obvious that Honda has been skimping on a lot of things namely, quality. The plastics are very apparent in having a Proton-like quality and I have noted that there are 2 big gaps between the plastic components on the dashboard.

Compared to the Altis Honda has taken the liberty NOT to put in some useful gadgets/finishings into the car namely : 1) Immobiliser 2) Remote trunk lid opener 3) Auto door lock/unlock 4) Collapsible rear seats (available in 2.0 but it has been a long time since I see rears seats that are not collapsible) 5) Chrome door handles and aircon vent knobs (available in 2.0)

The fabric seat covers are of cloth and not velour (velvet like fabric as in the Altis). The beige cloth gets dirty very easily – I have seen the door handles which are covered with the same material already becoming soiled in the the display models. Vis-a-vis the Altis, gear changes are not as smooth and the car sometimes jolts when gear change is done at low speeds (might be better when the car is run-in?)

After the minus points, I will touch on the plus points. The handling of the car is superior and so is noise (NVH) dampening. The engine is responsive but has a hint of being a bit raw versus the Altis. All in all, my next car won't be another Honda. Just to share my thought with any would be buyers.

• king (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 11:38 am

lajapbor bro,

It all depends on what you prefer in a car, for the altis you get a 10 year old technology engine and its already selling for around RM 122k – 5k more than the civic and how come everyone forgot to say the altis is overpriced? ( 5k per car probably goes to Brad Pitt). whats more the seat cover is the ugliest colour anyone can imagine and gets dirty as well. if this is your concern better get the 2.0 with leather seats. you are picking on the smallest things without focusing at the more important things. eg. 5 speed auto vs 4 speed auto in the toyota ,not to mention the far superior vtec engine etc…these are the things that are worth much more than cheap accesories such as seat covers and chrome door handles.

• alamak (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 5:22 am

Hmm hybrid 1.5 will surely win over i-vtec 1.8… should compare hybrid to hybrid

• lapsi (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 3:05 am

I am impressed with the idea of a street car having paddle shifts. So which do you think is better in extracting maximum power from the engine – stick shift or paddle shift.

Your comments will be useful.

Also will the 2007 Honda CR-V come with paddle shifts or would I have to choose the Civic if I want to go in for paddle shifts.

• i_try (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 1:29 am

dear all friends,

I bought my new civic 1.8, and i'm so satisfy with all the exterior and interior.

But out of those newly added technical stuffs, can you guys tell me what is the functions of Ultra Sonic Sensor and VSA ???

thank you guys… you can't expect a lady to understand all those technical terms :P

• baktiau (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 1:30 am

hello i_try,

i've also just gotten my civic 1.8. if i m not wrong, my understanding is as follow:

1. ultrasonic sensor

security system that is activated once u lock ur car. it will sense any motion in the car while the car security lock is on, and will trigger an alarm if there is.

2. vsa (vehicle stability assistance)

a control of the stability of the car especially when turning at curvy roads or wet roads due to rain. this will make sure ur car wont 'buang', if u understand my term ;) it's advisible to ON the vsa all time for safety purpose.

dont forget to read the manual for more info :)

rgds… baktiau

• townam (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 2:30 am

I bought a honda civic 2007, 1.6 L, in Mauritius. The car does not come with the front fog lights. I will be spending a few days in Malaysia. can anybody please tell me where i can buy a pair of these fog lights. Thanks.

Jack

• Arabella (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 2:03 pm

I want to buy a new car full stop Now, I can afford a civic 1.8S, just. After eading all the comments, I am quite confused. My 1.6 Altis is just fine, but it’s 5 years old and I want a new car. I don’t drive more than 120 km/hr on the highway..(OK may be every so often 130-135 ), I hate ill fitting interior because of the sound it makes, I like the low consumption claimed by civic, but those little things like remote boot opener, velour seats etc do grow on you. So I really need an unbiased opinion. Should I buy a civic or wait for the new Altis rumoured to be coming out at the end of the year? The trade in would drop by another 5k I think. Help.

• Sam (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 6:03 am

Fuel mileage report – 2007 Civic Ex. We just got back from an 800 mile trip to Fort Myers, Florida. First fill-up was 9.7 gallons at 390 miles; 40.2 mpg! This was after driving at 70-75 mph with A/C running. I’m impressed and very happy with this car.

Sam in Florida

• Lurus Bendul on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:05 pm

What the impressive for i-vtec, however price for new car and good secondhand car are so expensive in Malaysia. How do u what to live with comfort when your sallary is not enough for this car. anything is increasing but sallary is not. Whoever you are GLC or GOC or Private , the executive sallary is still beyond your comfort zone. u want to pay u house, makan2, pakaian, incometax and etc. SOOOOO just pakai u 7years old car until there are bright in future.

• Lurus Bendul on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:20 pm

i find persons who own good i-vtec or expensive car in Malaysia are in category of notmarried, eat only bisscut/magie mee, VIP, GRO, HOD, Perompak, Businessman, Oilcompany, Not having life/hospital insurance,Not able to do donation in big amount, foreigner, ……

• Sayyed Shah on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Hi,

This car really best I had ever drived. Honda has got the only real technology of Cars. Long Drive or City drive it seems like you are driving in spring foam at home.

• Ahmad Salihin on Mar 22, 2012 at 3:37 pm

I would like to know whether Honda Civic 1.8 i-VTec is using a timing belt or a timing chain?
    When should it be replaced?