Bruce Crower’s 6 stroke Crower cycle engine

crower.jpgAs we all know, the combustion engine does not really convert the potential energy in fuel to kinetic energy to move the car efficiently. We lose alot of that power – roughly 76% – in the form of heat. BMW has tried to salvage some of this lost energy with their TurboSteamer system which harnesses heat from the exhaust flow and uses steam to power an expansion unit connected to the crankshaft.

Someone in the engine business has another idea. Bruce Crower, the owner of Crower Cams and Equipment Company builds camshafts, crankshafts and connecting rods, including titanium rods for Formula 1 customers. He lets his company run itself while doing intensive R&D work in his 13-acre backyard in Jamul.

And his idea is a 6-stroke engine. He calls it the Crower cycle engine.

The combustion engines we find in the modern automobile are Otto/Miller cycle 4-stroke units. Intake, compression, power and exhaust. What Crower has done is take an old single cylinder diesel powerplant, and converted it to use petrol. The previous diesel injection system was modified to inject water instead of diesel. Crower has added 2 strokes to the 4-stroke cycle. The 5th stroke is an intake stroke where water is injected into the really hot combustion chamber. The water is turned instantly into steam. Water expands about 1600 times when converted into steam gas, so that is the last stroke called the steam power stroke.

An accidental benefit of the steam stroke is it effectively cools down the engine, eliminating the need for a radiator or other cooling systems. Crower says this would benefit large 18-wheeler trucks which have massive radiators that weigh about 450kg. Other benefits would be the possibility of increasing compression ratio to a higher ratio like 13:1 without the fear of engine pinging as the combustion chamber would be alot cooler. As a comparison, the 2006 Honda Civic’s 1.8 litre engine runs a 10.5:1 compression ratio.

The result is a supposed 40% higher fuel efficiency for the 6-stroke Crower cycle engine as compared to the conventional 4-stroke combustion engine.

Of course the downside is the car would have to carry both fuel and water. There’s still alot of experimentation to be done, but Bruce Crower is happy with his R&D work and even though there’s a possibility that the project might just not be commercially feasible, he doesn’t mind. “If it turns out to be great, fine. If it doesnt, its just another year out of my life that Ive had a lot of fun doing something.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 7:07 am

Wow… very interesting.. I wish Proton had a engine like that…

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 7:31 am

Interesting, it uses 2 types of fuels in one cycle. Are there any figures on the engine's efficiency?

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 7:32 am

Yeah very interesting, but soon we will short off water!!!, no water left to drink.. it needs water to work.. imagine bikes with water tank?… but i think they are practical for big engines, like lorries & buses… they consume a lot of energy.. this way they can save fuel.. and no problem of having extra tanks for water.. fuel cell technology much better.. they use H2o alone.. no need two types of tank, fuel & water.. this is just like another fuel additives technology… it improves combustion for more power…

ps: still dream of nuclear power vehicles… like nuclear powered robot.. Freedom Gundam!!!

Unlimited Power to Move… (motorhead's motto)

• gasman70 on Dec 27, 2010 at 8:39 am

Yo, “motorhead” dude…….when will this “water shortage” develop….???? Earth is covered by 70% water….DUHHHH>>>>did you make it through the eighth grade? BTW, who is Gundam>?

• anonymouse on Oct 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

1) We (as a species) will probably never run out of water, because it just evaporates and is recycled by the environment. (I should add that gasoline exhaust is roughly 50% water) BUT, in the desert areas of the world (such as the american southwest) water is scarce, and many cities have exceeded their freshwater carrying capacity, and are very quickly running out of water. (Las Vegas comes to mind.) That being said the water would need to be distilled, which could just as easily come from saltwater. Another point of interest is that the system could be designed to scavenge exhaust vapor and recycle the water. Finally, 15 gallons of water every time you fill your 15 gallon gas tank is a pretty small amount of water…

2) Not who, what. A gundam is a giant humanoid robot. Do you even anime???

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2006 at 9:00 am

where can run out of water, the steam condenses back into water later or goes up to the clouds.

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2006 at 9:31 am

aesthari: supposedly 40% more efficient

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 3:41 pm

Well unlike fossil fuels, water can be created via condensation which can be derived from heat. Fossil fuels cannot be recreated in this lifetime as it requires millions of years to be created.

Crower's engine is very interesting particularly the parts where radiators can be eliminated from the picture meaning less weight for our cars to carry alongside and the minimisation of dependency on fossil fuels because of the utilisation of petrol and steam.

• viceice (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 4:12 pm

I'm imagine engine durability would take a hit from the repeated rapid heating and cooling.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 4:18 pm

Oh yes, very interesting idea, rather then adding in a complete set of steam engine into the car like BMW did, this guy did it by simply injecting water into piston.

Maybe cannot inject water during moring cold start, perhaps only when the engine is hot enough, water injected and steam power extrated! Now this is much more sensible then a high pressure magic canister that can convert water into oxygen and hydrogen and then injected into combustion chamber….

• clark_kent (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 4:43 pm

obviously, our friend up there needs to learn more about the water cycle back in form 1.

• pendek (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Bruce Crower’s FTW

pwning BMW's

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Yeah.. you think u guys so clever.. u think u can control the cloud & rain?.. with the climate change, some country get lesser rain… in desert like Saudi Arabia water is so precious.. people would think twice wheater to put water in their mouth or car.. not all countries r water rich like msia.. water means life to them.. sometimes no rain for a year… even when el nino struck msia, we didnt ve enough water to bath oso.. & now analyst in UK predict water would be our next resource that can trigger wars…

ps. i am sure this engine will produce steam mix with smoke, and can contribute to acid rain…

Freedom's pilot.

• whatsoever (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 6:11 pm

if we stop thinking of the possibilities by all the environment factors, that's no way we can be inovative in any of the R&D. just like crower, he create something and start solving the problem one by one and i believe he know water is much easier to get in most of the country compare to petrol in any sense.

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 6:12 pm

What a brilliant idea… i luv the adventurous scientist spirit – “If it turns out to be great, fine. If it doesn’t, it’s just another year out of my life that I’ve had a lot of fun doing something.” Thus, anythings are possible…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 6:56 pm

clark_kent:

Whoever do you mean? Condensation can even happen on car windshields. Why else would car windows get fogged up?

• catborg (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 7:20 pm

– i got problem with my car..

+ what?

– it's about my aircond. My car all wet inside.. and for few second i drive, i got fogs in my car. what happened aa?

+ Oh!, i see.. its' your engine leaked into aircond.. :lol: ..

—-

btw, i prefer more on Electricity kinda vechile..

if we can find how to charge a car battery (that battery size as small as shoe box ) in a very few second ! . Somewhere scientist in Egypt has discover a battery(card) as smaller as credit card in size but can use for light up a bulb for more than 24 hours and just took few second to charge! (if i not mistake) ..

• pbj129 (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 10:00 pm

Would you really need to carry water with you? Can't they just reclaim the vapour from the exhaust and pipe it back into the engine???

• neurra (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:49 am

i wonder wat's the reliability of the engine since it's constantly on rapid expansion and contraction.. the cost of production of such materials would be high i suppose.. wat more the technology..

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 7:43 am

Worse bout this type of engine, they emit more dangerous smoke… steam+carbon+mono oxide+etc.. very heavy smoke, …i am sure countries that have strict smoke emission in europe would ban this engine.. , further more, mixture of steam & oil in an engine can produce foam in long run, so they sure need special engine oil.. so many weaknesses, so much to improve…& i still think this is not a WOW new technology.. there r still many to improve in our conventional engine, turbo systems, radiator systems,.. & many areas to improve & explore in hybrid engines, fuel cell, hydrogen and electric car.. which are more environment friendly.. & towkehs in automotive industries know that fossil fuel is running out.. (this crower engine still need fossil fuel to work).. Japan car makers are ahead in these new environment friendly technology..

the fact is environment is an important factor in automotive development technology nowdays, in some countries it is their 1st commitment.. for instance in Germany they start to use more diesel engines preparing for biodiesel fuel in the future…We cant see much environment awareness in msia.. bcoz we are no.1 polluters… we ve lotta water & rain, but recently we all drink shit, especially people in klang valley.. so sad…

ps: i am going for UnlimitedPowerToMove vehicles..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:21 am

motorhead said,

March 15, 2006 @ 11:43 pm

Worse bout this type of engine, they emit more dangerous smoke… steam+carbon+mono oxide+etc.. very heavy smoke, …i am sure countries that have strict smoke emission in europe would ban this engine.. , further more, mixture of steam & oil in an engine can produce foam in long run, so they sure need special engine oil.. so many weaknesses, so much to improve…& i still think this is not a WOW new technology.. there r still many to improve in our conventional engine, turbo systems, radiator systems,.. & many areas to improve & explore in hybrid engines, fuel cell, hydrogen and electric car.. which are more environment friendly.. & towkehs in automotive industries know that fossil fuel is running out.. (this crower engine still need fossil fuel to work).. Japan car makers are ahead in these new environment friendly technology..

the fact is environment is an important factor in automotive development technology nowdays, in some countries it is their 1st commitment.. for instance in Germany they start to use more diesel engines preparing for biodiesel fuel in the future…We cant see much environment awareness in msia.. bcoz we are no.1 polluters… we ve lotta water & rain, but recently we all drink shit, especially people in klang valley.. so sad…

ps: i am going for UnlimitedPowerToMove vehicles..

Friend, you ok ar? Dont get the point wrong k? This is not a hydro-combustion engine. It doesnt run on water k? Water is just a compliment in his design. And do you know why today we're still not using environmentally friendlier vehicles? Its because everyone goes like what you think -> TOTALLY ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY VEHICLES, and if doing this, will have a huge impact on profitability, thus threatening the sustainability of the company itself…. its rather better to come out with something that improves current technlogy.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:37 am

Dear motorhead,

i dont quite agree with you.. the fifth stroke involves injecting water into the combustion chamber.. but before that.. forth stroke has taken place and the damn pollutants.. or wateva gasses ur so paranoid about has already been discarded.. so u wont get a pure concoction of steam and carbon monoxide…. even if the steam were 2 mix with the carbon monoxide.. no biggy.. it happens in the sky.. i guess.. and dude.. the emissions wont increase la.. ur not making extra carbon monoxide k.. it wud be like any other engine.. but with and extra cycle.. same emissions!!! and ur claim bout acid rain?? read this k.. i quote from http://www.botany.uwc.ac.za/Envfacts/facts/acidra…

Sulphur dioxide reacts with water vapour and sunlight to form sulphuric acid. Likewise NOX form nitric acid in the air. These reactions takes hours, or even days, during which polluted air may move hundreds of kilometres. Thus acid rain can fall far from the source of pollution.

take note of the hours and days thing.. the engine would not be responsible 4 creating extra acid rain.. coz the emissions is mantained la dude.. maybe reduced coz ur harnessing extra energy from the fuel.. thus requirng less fuel per kilometre.. ta daaaaa!! i conclude.. its a better engine.. 4 now.. =p.. haha.. im only 17.. so.. if im toking crap.. sifu's please point out k? tq!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:57 am

err.. its said that it wud eliminate the need of the radiator?? how the hell?? u require cool water each time the engine goes through the.. erm.. water intake stroke to cool it down.. where does tat water come from.. and if u recycle the water.. u still need some sort of radiator to dispurse the heat from the steam and cool it down so it condenses back into water.. constantly feeding the engine with fresh water wud be insane.. ud need alot of water 2 cool the engine block.. rite? and would tat particular stroke be enough to cooldown the whole engine?? u wud be injecting merely a few cc's of water rite.. and that amount wont be enough 2 hold alot of heat.. am i missing anything here?

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 5:52 pm

ingolstadt,

fren i know la i doesnt run on water only.. u dont read properly.. if work with water only, good la.. totaly steam come out.. what worry me is 4T engine work with water plus 2 cycle somemore…

Gallardo,

Thanks for yr info.. but both of us dont know how effient this engine would be.. so let just wait and see…

My point is this engine wont be a hit.. need 2 resources fuel & water.. not practical… we still have a lot to improve in our 4T engine.. air as cooling agent is still relevan.. it is free and every where on earth.. our radiator system is improving in any car… maybe we might have radiator using gas like AC for intense heat for small but powerful turbo engines..

And hybrid car have so much room to improve… fuel cell is a fantastic breakthrough… my prediction for car tech evolution is this:

4T engines ( biodiesel- Methene gas) – hybrid cars -fuel cell – electric & solar power – reactor cell powered (the technology would be more stable in the future)

Gallardo, what u think?

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 10:34 pm

No idea bout hybrid cars.. if u watch top gear, clarkson actually claimed that his diesel engine vehicle covered more miles per galon.. ALOT more actually if compared to the Toyota Prius.. So im kinda in doubt about hybrid systems 4 now.. Companies just seem 2 be blowing things out of proportion.. claiming wonders.. having stupid adverts of deers trailing behind the prius.. JEEZ!

as for alternative fuel, maybe methanol.. or hydrogen.. methanol acquired from planting lots and lots of JAGUNG! the process of converting little yellow granules into.. fuel.. haha.. not so sure how.. as for hydrogen, they've already got some sort of algae that produces hydrogen.. need quite alot of them but if u scatter them accross a large area.. hrmph,, u wud be getting quite alot of hydrogen.. thats only 1 way.. there would be alot of other ways 2 produce hyrdogen.. maybe hydrogen would just supplement some other fuel for a car vehicle tat runs on various types of energy source.

thats my 2 cents! peace..

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Gallardo,

Yeah.. diesel engines now more efficent.. diesel vapourize much slower… hybrid engines ve conventional engine use electric motor alternatively.. fuel work the engine generate kinetic, spin the dynamo, create electric power then move the electric motor, after fully charge..

if diesel save more fuel, why not have diesel hybrid engines?.. i am sure they'll do it, soon.. this is a part of their business strategy.. i think.. later we wud ve Prius diesel! thats how they make cars keep selling… not like proton, after 20 years & nothing! we still ve same old wira till today..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:22 pm

hrmph.. using the standard gasoline engine to power a dynamo?? i dont think it works like tat rite.. tat would be terribly inefficient. as far as i know, the batteries recharge when the brakes are applied. Kinetic energy would be converted 2 electric when stopping. haha.. thats all i know bout hybrid cars.

anybody has the link to a full documentation of cower's six stroke engine?

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 8:30 pm

ermm.. it has motor as generator and recharge batteries.. sounds like a dynamo to me.. no?.. the motor drags the car when slowing and act like brakes.. so the motor spins, when slowing, and create power for the battery..

well i never saw hybrid so far… like 2 see one & understand more how it works..

• clark_kent (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 1:17 am

[cbljkkj said,

March 15, 2006 @ 10:56 am

Whoever do you mean? Condensation can even happen on car windshields. Why else would car windows get fogged up? ]

Exactly my point. All i meant was that the water cycle in the environment is endless. When did i ever mention anything about condensation or windows getting fogged up? I was refering to 'motorhead's comment that says "Yeah very interesting, but soon we will short off water!!!, no water left to drink.. it needs water to work"

No matter where you are all over the world, there WILL be water. Planet Earth consists of 70% water mass. And if what Saudi or whatever desert shit whoever is saying about, who asked you to buy a car like that? Not that anyone's pointing a gun at you to get a car like that.

[motorhead said,

i am sure countries that have strict smoke emission in europe would ban this engine.. , further more, mixture of steam & oil in an engine can produce foam in long run, so they sure need special engine oil.. so many weaknesses, so much to improve]

This engine is exactly an example of a brilliant idea. Water resources are abundant. To get full potential from this idea would be the engineer's job. Why would u think Ford from the very 1st 'black matchbox' car came up till today with the FordGT440?….R&D my friend. The idea of this concept is to have more BHP without the sacrifice of extra fuel… which is the main concern of global environmentalists now.

[motorhead said,

March 15, 2006 @ 11:43 pm

Worse bout this type of engine, they emit more dangerous smoke… steam+carbon+mono oxide+etc.. very heavy smoke]

c'mon… grow up! which would u think is worse. the many cars on the road TODAY chugging the atmosphere with CO, or the same amount of output that contains partial amount of H2O, which also means lower CO content. You do the math.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 5:46 pm

This engine is exactly an example of a brilliant idea. Water resources are abundant. To get full potential from this idea would be the engineer’s job. Why would u think Ford from the very 1st ‘black matchbox’ car came up till today with the FordGT440?…

Yeah rite.. but not brilliant enuf.. & still not a hit.. let the world decide that.. many days oredi, still never appeared in main newspapers.. i would say new technolongy like fuel cell is real brilliant.. & better they (the japs) start to improve & comercialize it than use this crower concept… i heard about HONDA's fuel cell car.. really impresive….

ps: fuel cell = brilliant..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 4:47 am

Dude.. fuel cell.. runs on electricity.. and where does ur electricity come from.. through generators that run on either coal or diesel.. or some sort of fossil fuel.. its a fact tat a largeeeeeeee portion of the electricity we get.. is produced from fossil fuel.. only a small percentage is harnessed through hydroelectic plans, or wateva other type of natural power out there.. to supply the car with electricity.. we wud be burning fuel alsooooo.. haha.. dunno if u get my logic.. my logic might be totally flawed though.. sure.. emissisons might be reduced from cars.. but engergy output from powerplants need 2 be multiplied 2 support the energy needs of the increasing amount of fuel cell cars.. so in the end.. more fossil fuel is used.. and ud still get rather the same emissions.. THE END

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 5:53 pm

Dude.. fuel cell.. runs on electricity.. and where does ur electricity come from.. through generators that run on either coal or diesel.. or some sort of fossil fuel.. its a fact tat a largeeeeeeee portion of the electricity we get.. is produced from fossil fuel.. only a small percentage is harnessed through hydroelectic plans, or wateva other type of natural power out there.. to supply the car with electricity.. we wud be burning fuel alsooooo.. haha.. dunno if u get my logic.. my logic might be totally flawed though.. sure.. emissisons might be reduced from cars.. but engergy output from powerplants need 2 be multiplied 2 support the energy needs of the increasing amount of fuel cell cars.. so in the end.. more fossil fuel is used.. and ud still get rather the same emissions.. THE END

Gallardo,

fren pls check out how fuel cell works 1st… yeah u r totally flawed orite…. the car doesnt require to recharge from electric source, u think it is a rechargeble car ka? like yr handpon? sorry brother, u r wrong la…

for yr info.. fuel cell is a electrochem car, it works by itself by electrolisis reactions.. it uses pure hydrogen and oxygen as fuel to generate electric and the emission is pure water vapor… to make it simple; H & O = electric = H2o… i never saw fuel cell engines b4, but i once saw how fuel cell work in 1 exhibiton last 2 years…

Intersting? Now this is the right path of auto technology.. that is why i am not amaze with this crower engines.. compare to fuel cell, it is 3 steps back.. hybrid concept even better 1 fuel generate 2 power fire & electric..

i want to share with u guys.. the world had a nuclear car concept b4.. it called Ford Nucleon.. developed by ford.. but never been produced.. may be after they find ways to control nuclear subtance better, we would ve nuclear car near future, using low grade uranium or other less dangeruos radioactive subtance..

UnlimitedPowerToMove…

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 9:09 pm

haha.. ok la.. shy ballz.. no ma.. the other time.. heard of the other sorta of cell battery tech.. assumed it was same.. ur fuel cell tech thing.. i know it as.. a car tat runs on hydrogen.. =p.. cheers..

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Gallardo,

Check out HONDA FCX… awesome tech.. the car of trrw.. i know i cannot afford 2 buy if it selling here now, but i proud of it.. proud of human capability to make awesome vehicles…

• GlynnvanHeeswijk (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 10:25 am

check out this http://www.dieselsmoke.com/forums/showthread.php?…

• tooomp (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 9:02 am

I think this makes a lot of sense. Okay, the radiator savings is countered by the need for a water tank. The ability to use the wasted heat created by an engine and run higher compression ratios, is where the efficiency would come in. This system might also be practical when combined with alcohol fuel which runs at higher temperatures than gasoline. If the power to weight ratio is good this one cylinder could possibly be utilized in a hybrid vehicle, on long trips a button could start the engine at the beginning of the journey eliminating the need for a larger engine.

• Arunprabu.m on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:31 am

In this engine what are the problems may occure ?. I think in this engine starting problem may occure due to incomplete cycles and present’s of water in the engine cylinder when the engine starts………