Ford Focus XR5 2.5 Turbo

xr5_1.jpg

This is the hottest Ford Focus hatchback soon to hit the streets in April 2006. The Ford Focus XR5 Turbo. It’s powered by a 2.5 litre Duratec 20-valve 5-cylinder engine. I highly suspect this powertrain comes from Volvo. The 2.5L Turbo Duratec makes 222 horsepower at 6000rpm and 320Nm of torque at a nice low 1600rpm on a 1362kg hatchback. The engine is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission which drives the front wheels. Can you say “torque steer”? Top speed is 241km/h and it will take you from 0 to 100km/h in 6.8 seconds.

xr5_2.jpg

A nice contender for the Volkswagen Golf GTI indeed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 9:09 pm

Should be the same engine, it is sharing the same platform.
    What is the expected price of this?

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 9:20 pm

Did some digging around. This is the same car as the Ford Focus ST, which is its name in the UK and Europe. Down Under, it will be marketted as the Focus XR5 turbo.

Provided they stick with the same performance spec as the one in Europe, it will have 222bhp instead of 266 as reported by Paul. And yes, it does have a Volvo engine and yes, it is a cracking car. Autocar rated it as the best hot hatch above the VW Golf GTi.

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 9:56 pm

It should be at least RM180k?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 11:22 pm

I think I'm agree with you,the engine come from Volvo, must be good, the like of the one used in 850, lasti time so good in BTCC/ETCC but I think they still doing all those chassis sharing, engine sharing, technology transfer to satisfied the user and at the same time make more businesses….like the X5 emerge after the take over of RR/LR.the volvo itself have more curvacious design after 1999, Nissan come out with US market target Murano, 350Z..all doing the same evolve with time and money….to be competitive and value for money

except the G protected super duper 21 year old PROTON killing Msian appetite for cars, no enhancement, no respect, no happiness only price increase with longer loan tenure.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 12:11 am

Totally agreed with mycar-stolen, world class players embraces cooperation, innovation, strong R & D with all resources available to come out with value of rmoeny and best automotive product(s) to entice and pamper car buyers! Unlike Proton with Government's NAP together with "blood sucking" automotive tax structure squeeze the consumers until last drop of juice! Present domestic automotive market is very unfair in all aspects to car buyers for Proton products, pay high price, inferior quality, no truthfully new model(s), etc.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 12:40 am

I also agree that the engine is from Volvo. If it is similar to 850 T5, then perhaps it inherited the obvious torque steer traits as well. The Ford Focus XR5 looks good but I would prefer if it has 4WD, something like the VW Golf R32. Both cars have similar power and torque. However, as I am a fan of Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution cars therefore I would use it as a benchmark and I think it beat the Focus by a very big margin in terms of performance and handling, not just because Evo is more powerful but it offers better handling as well.

Sadly, Proton need to protect a lot of people as they have a social obligation to do so. Therefore, cooperation are not well come as they see it as a threat to certain parties especially when foreigners are in control. Besides that, I would think that many of its design and R&D members lacks passion to built good looking and quality cars.

• Paul Tan on Mar 17, 2006 at 12:48 am

I did somemore research and it's the same engine as the S40 T5. Shares same chassis as well anyway, the Focus and the S40/V50.

• Wai (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 1:32 am

1.2 bar max boost

now thats big boost baby!!

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 5:10 am

Isn't this the Focus ST?

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:03 am

the bodykit design looks soft to me…

it's not fierce enough laa…

come to think again, maybe they overdid

the front bumpers..

betul tak?

i mean, a good design is always a simple, but fresh one..

but the engine i dunno how to comment.. :P

sounds powerfull, exept that im sure i wont drive a 2.5 liter

hatchback here in malaysia…

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:57 am

I've just watched Top Gear Season 7 Episode 3 with this ST in it. The picture Paul has shown here is a 5-door hatchback while Jeremy drives the 3-door version. You know there's nothing will go wrong with the car for him because it's a Ford even though it runs on a Volvo. (Maybe I should get another review, somewhere else). According to him there is no torque steer as to what you'll get in a Vauxhall Astra VXR. And easy to drive too. But he said this car is about 17,500 quid in the UK. So if it make it to our shore it should be around RM180k to RM220k is it?

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:59 am

On second thought, I thought I was looking at the front of a Hyundai in the video. Eh?

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:25 pm

I think everyone here forgot that FORD owns VOLVO. As Paul said, the platform for the S40 and the Ford focus is one and the same.

Its weird that when proton shares platforms, shares engines, and works with other R&D people from lotus and korea(for the savvy), I noticed that almost practically everyone here will bash them for it. Sighting lack of imagination, proton cannot do their own work, need foreigners.. blah blah..

• catborg (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 7:36 pm

double standard malaysian.. biasalah honda_driver…

anyway.. not enough garang look for me.. :)

and 2.5? wooo minyak ada kuat juga…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 1:50 am

honda_driver please read Joe Ooi comments….other company they are sharing and come out with something with dignity to own. perodua is also malaysia make what? why not msian complaint about them? how about locally assemble Avanza in the Perodua factory…K3VE engine use by MyVi , Kembara and Avanza…WHY ARENT PEOPLE COMPLAINING…..

but come to Proton you want be smiling as you suppose to as other people in the world who gets a new car…yes I mean it people of the world should be smiling when they are driving their new car….because they bought it…

Malaysian should fight for their human rights…Proton is too much a torture

21 years….this must be stop.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Catborg is right, double standard Malaysian. Why Langkawi has the privilege of free tariff which is unfair to other Malaysians. It's time to increase auto tax in Langkawi and reduce it in other states. Langkawian, Labuanian should share the burden…

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 3:39 pm

hi mycar. btw, what car did you own that was stolen?

fair comment by you.. but i was just making my comments totally based on proton sharing technology with others..etc. i'm not ignoring all their problems, aging models, quality problems.. etc. etc. and everything else which is true also.

Just that i think its a true fact that many malaysians complain about proton using engines or platforms from other manufacturers without the knowledge that other car makers do the same thing.

• superman (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 5:59 pm

Ford branding , perfromance product heirarchy is such.:-

RS -top of the range with more aggresive performance and styling

ST-Softer or more publically acceptable. Also to cater for lower insurance bracket. Not as hardcore as RS but more liveable day to day.

FYI The new Focus and S40/V50/C70 share the same platform. Volvo engineers, with years of safety biased engineering in their systems work closely with Ford engineers who are more Ride & Hanlding (performance ) biased .

They work together.

Many car makers these days share platform and powertrains. Ford collaberates with PSA Group (Peugeot/Cotroen) due to their extensive experience in diesel technology. PSA works together with Toyota because Toyota has the most efficient plants in the world. etc etc etc.

I don't even want to start about VW/Audi/Seat/Skoda/Lamborghini/Buggatti/Bentley.

We should get used to it by now.

So if Proton buys a platform or egine that's better than the homegrown one we shouldn't complain but hope and pray they (Proton) don't mess up a good platform or drivetrain but improve on it.

here's hoping.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 1:02 am

dear honda_driver

civic ek99 specs :-(

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:26 pm

It's basically a 5-door version of the Focus ST sold in Europe. And yes, it's using a modified Volvo T5 engine. Very nice, is it going to be sold here in Malaysia? It would be cool if it is. My guess is that the price range will be around RM160K to RM170K.