2006 Hartge H50 V10 based on the BMW E90

hartge_v10.jpg

While BMW toils to prepare it’s new 4.0 litre V8 engine for the new BMW M3, Hartge has injected some well needed horsepower into the new BMW E90 3-series. Feeling that the top of the line 3 litre in-line 6 and the upcoming 3 litre turbocharged in-line 6 is inadequate, they’ve somehow managed to take the Formula 1 inspired 5.0 litre V10 engine from the E60 BMW M5 and stuffed it into the E90’s engine bay, lock, stock, transmission and barrel. Not feeling satisfied with the 504 horses that it already has, it performed some extra tweaking to it. Hartge’s engineers managed to extract 550bhp, about 46 horses extra from the standard engine. Maximum torque remains at 520 Nm.

To take the new horses, the E90 has been modified with a stronger rear axle and it has been given and upgraded fully adjustable suspension system. The Hartge H50 V10 also comes with a special stainles steel exhaust system developed to improve the aural note of the high-revving V10 as well as give it a little more breathing ability.

The speed limit has been removed, giving the Hartge H50 V10 a new top speed of 330km/h. Wheels are 245/30/ZR20 at the front and 285/25/ZR20 at the rear, wrapped with high-speed specification Continental tyres.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 5:41 am

my goodness…talk about turning a plain jane into a hot mama!

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 7:05 am

this kind of mods is nice to read but not nice to own, hehe

• crossfire (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 7:38 am

330km/h top speed??? sure kena saman everyday!

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 7:39 am

245 at the front and 285 at the rear? Yea, it looks cool and is nice for the open road, but parking would be a miserable affair…

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:55 am

paper thin tyre….!?!?

very 'good' for driving in Malaysia :p

I think the wheels & tyre alone can buy a second hand kancil….

• Mac (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:25 am

malaysia road very nice..thx to JKR..

wow the light very 'garang' like 'what' ur problem dude?'

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 6:37 pm

Now Gallardo and F430 owners would really be humiliated when they are trash by one E90 monster which is still a four door sedan. Too bad it's they are only limited routes in malaysia with good condition road for owners too their car.

• eric (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 2:27 am

an M5 engine, the engineering marvel of BMW, stuffed into a normal looking BMW E90 chassis.. wouldn't you like to have lunch talking to the guy who thought of that? hahaha..

i think i wouldn't really like the new M3 because of the E90 chassis's look.. the E46 is still the best chassis to be converted to the M3..

there's a M3 CSL up for sale in motor trader.. hardcore car wei.. no air cond, no radio, carbon roof and bonnet, plastic boot, thinner glass to save weight.. and raw power from the engine.. too bad it's 500+k for a second hand one..

*sigh*

• vague (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 7:19 am

Tracks ma man….

felali is still a falalee…. i don't think this bm will stand a chance.. eventhough the spec shows a higher power and so.

:)

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 8:31 am

Woa!! That's a monster! 550hp on an E90 chassis? It sure fit to be a monster. Because the new 3-series is plain ugly to me. Not just the 3-series. All Beemers new line-up are ugly. I hate those ugly butt! Paul, what about the rear shot?

Who would wanna drive a 25-serie tyre on Malaysian road? Hazardous to your car's health and your own pocket's safety lorr..LOL! How much will this car cost on the road anyway?

By the way, Mac, I think JKR still can do a decent job building the roads. It's Road Care and their 3rd party contractor who's done a bad job maintaining it! I've drive on the country side a lot. There are some places you can still find a decent road built back in the late 70's and early 80's. And the surface are smoother than newly re-surfaced KL-Seremban PLUS highway.

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 10:02 pm

But the world’s fastest four door coupe still belongs to BRABUS CLS V12 S.

730-hp / 537-kW 6.3-liter twelve-cylinder twin-turbo engine

0 – 100 km/h in 4.0 seconds,

0 – 200 km/h in 10.5 seconds,

0 – 300 km/h in 29.5 seconds

top speed of 350 km/h .

• D3wald (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 10:48 am

I must have one…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 7:33 am

fantastic sound. tried it before.