What is Perodua up to? – Kelisa Imago

eye_small.jpg

There’s a small teaser on Perodua’s site, depicting a nice pair of eyes. One of them is silver, and one of them is green. The teaser text says “Sometimes silver, sometimes green” and beckons us to their showrooms on March 19 to find out what it is. That’s this Sunday. Anyone have a clue?

Update: There are rumours that a new Perodua Kelisa special edition facelift will be launched, with a special coat of paint that varies between silver and green when you look at it under different light and angles. Kind of like Nokia’s old phone covers. These are just rumours of course, we’ll find out on Sunday. :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xefron (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:49 am

sumthin to do with kenari or kelisa if i am not mistaken…

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:51 am

I think its a new color… or duo-tone color for… Myvi perhaps… a limited edition Myvi in duo-tone…

• cell3216 (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:59 am

I think it would be Peroudua Customer Day…if not mistaken…..check this out…..

http://www.perodua.com.my/news_events.php?sub_pag…

• waja (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 9:15 am

it is definately the new colour that will be on the kelisa. it is like the white colour that some cars have that changes colour when viewed from different angles…this ad is also on the radio

• paradoxx (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:15 am

its bout the kelisa.. something to do with a new color scheme.. two tone or something like that… i forgot the name of it though..

• Mac (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:16 am

i think is perodua's new showroom all over malaysia.now the showroom must be at least 2 shoplots.that's what i heard from the salesman.:)

• wyejon (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:22 am

dude it's the Kelisa facelift:

http://wp.peachjon.com/edition_2004_06/2006/03/pe…

• don^don (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:29 am

parceleant color, kinda like duo color tone that can change between silver and green, and a new facelift. (intel duo trend?)

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 4:43 pm

What ever it is, bring in new model such as Kembara replacement the Bego…kancil replacement..etc..we are tired of these out of date oldies on the road..sienia!!!

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 7:03 pm

hm……..din change engine like fitting the 1.3 cc engine in kelisa? just change "clothes" only?

• pirtic (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 8:20 pm

Confirmed its a "Special Edition" Kelisa with two tone colours

all else wld be the same minor changes only

• peYno (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 9:01 pm

Perodua's partner toyota/daihatsu has not given approval to release new car in Malaysia…no choice maa…follower just folow la

• craziqbal (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 9:03 pm

there's alrd an ad on the radio…it's called the kelisa imago…

• catborg (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 9:32 pm

Facelift? yawn…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 18, 2006 at 10:05 pm

SAme old kelisa but name IMAGO ? huh? meaning ? image? anyway, its the colors of the body only but no skirting or spoiler like the Kelisa SE???? WTF? I still stick with Kelisa SE but i am growing sideways… size matters when it comes to buying it. :(

• wasabe (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 12:09 am

When I called an agent who was taking advance bookings, she said it would be the new Kelisa Imago, RM39K+ manual, RM41K+ auto. Only cosmetic changes, with leather seats. Heard it will appeal to women…what does THAT mean?? And the name – does P2 know that it refers to a sexually mature insect?

• Jason (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 12:39 am

Disappointed! All we get are face lifted cars. Foreign car makers have new models every year.

• eric (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 2:30 am

yeah.. why base all our "new" cars on the old chassis? i don't expect wonders but just something that's different and pleasing to the eyes..

• acbc (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 4:21 am

Facelift? Waste time man. Should come up with new model to cope with MyVi sales. Give alternative options to potential buyers who might opt for Savvy.

Better still, kill Savvy on the spot again with new model not just facelifts!

• xefron (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 8:08 am

developing a new car although derived from the same platform need time and money my friend….it is not an easy task.not to mention if u build it from scratch….

• Mac (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 8:09 am

kelisa 2.0 ..aeroplane car.haha

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 8:55 am

Guys, Kelisa is only how many years old? Lucky they want to do a facelift. For example, we have 2 different looks of Kancil. Now, Waja is how many years old? And we still have the same face since it was launch! And all we got is the so called Wira face-lift. WTF??!!!

• Jason (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 11:09 am

Aiya, you'll going out of topic again, this one not Peroduo vs Proton. I am losing my patience with this face lifted cars already, sigh.

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 6:03 pm

Do you have RM500million to invest to develop a new car? Although from the same platform…

That is how much is needed to come up with a new car…. since our RM value is so low… its really not cost effective to come up with new car every year…seeing that we do not have global market to 'back-up' the investment in developing the car..

Unlike those cars like from Japan, they have global market (ie selling their cars worldwide) hence they can recoup the investment in shorter period…

Thus, the reason why we only get new model every 5 year or so…

• peYno (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 8:05 pm

..perodua is not developing the design, They just follow Toyota/Daihatsu's instruction, so wat do u guys expect???

• catborg (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Peyno..

they even Owned by Toyota. What else?

late we can see = RUSA FACELIFT . hahaha

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 11:22 pm

anyway why u guys called it IMAGO?

its just a kelisa with silver/blue tone…

• peYno (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 2:51 am

Catborg..ya , Rusa Facelift sounds good. but still hv to get approval from their beloved partner , they cannot simply make decision . Do u think perodua need RM500million to invest to develop a new car? even all tests were done in Japan , they r so lucky to be an assembler, perodua can use RM500 million to do other thing instead of developing new car..( product development will be done in Japan…perodua just hold the screw , screw driver and assemble

• Jason (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 6:07 am

If they cant provide new models every year, then we should scrap Perodua and Proton. If it lags behind other car manufacturers even after so many years, is it worth it to keep running it? Why must we have our own national car? What does it prove? It's only making the rakyat's life worse with bad quality cars.

Anyway, just my opinion only la, hehe, so please dont take it seriously.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 10:17 am

but considering perodua new owners still happy when they are driving their car so ok lah. perodua small car is good because if you are first time buyer then it is ok to drive a small car, later after 3 years may be everything is so good, money , career and so happy you can get a nice imported car but the perodua still can drive the perodua as a second car.so no regret buying perodua small cars, and it is small cars dont expect it will make a you a fast driver but to commute from point a to b with minimal cost.
    EVERY NEW CAR OWNER SHOULD BE SMILING WHEN DRIVING THEIR CAR
    dont buy new proton if you do you will make friend with their serviceman.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 4:42 pm

So, anyone go to perodua showroom and check out whats happening there?

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 4:47 pm

as i said, its silver green…. leather seats… no skirting … normal spoiler.. 1.0cc, chrome handles… um…. basically nothing special. oh, no KELISA badge, replace by IMAGO signature, dark green with chrome sided by 3M.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Anyone got the pic of it?

Want to c how it look like.

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 7:42 pm

So just a replacement model of previous Kelisa? How bout the interior looks like? I mean the dashboard, console, is there's any special difference compare to Kelisa? lastly how bout the price??

• monomania (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 8:51 pm

http://www.perodua.com.my/our_cars.php?sub_page=k…

looks like the same to me

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 9:30 pm

Just the same car with new paint.

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 9:51 pm

Talking bout perodua, i've just remembered this story. Unbelieveable!

Kancil doing 956kph?

KANGAR, Wed.

Imagine a Perodua Kancil travelling at the speed of an aeroplane.

That’s what the traffic policemen are insisting that labourer Kamarul Khairi Kasin, 22, had done when they issued him with a summons for speeding along the North-South Expressway at 956km per hour.

He received the summons through the post from the Muar police station.

"I can’t imagine driving at that kind of speed.

"Besides, I have never driven to Johor in my life so how is it that I have a speeding ticket from there.

"The furthest I have driven is Sungai Petani," said Kamarul of Kampung Balik Bukit, Chuping.

The summons stated he committed the offence at Km173 of the highway on Jan 25.

Kamarul took the day off from his work to sort out the traffic offence at the Kangar traffic police station but was advised to make an appeal to the Muar police station.

taken from NST

• NR Calvin (Member) on Mar 20, 2006 at 11:16 pm

IMAGO = ???

nothing special!

IMAGO = "ee may go" meaning HABIS LAR.

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 4:28 am

NOTHING SPECIAL AT ALL!!!!!

how boring………………………

imagine japan getting facelifts like felix and hello kitty

version of mira… ( years ago )….

and all we get is this?

even the green is ugly…

maybe a darker shade will do…

but they should have agreed on a more funky colour…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 7:01 am

umm, no doubt its boring,… but at the meant time as a car manufacturer point of view… building something new takes time. More over I heard the sales were going down too… therefore its a marketing move. If its a facelift or anything major… it would require R&D and approval from many sectors. That takes time to make the sales figure turn around for this model. Maybe u guys may have a better stategic?

• wasabe (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 8:12 am

what a bland, boring color. a diluted tint for a diluted personality. granted, silver-tints still is the top color of choice for cars, but when it comes to K-class cars, they should've gone bright – look at Chevys, Kia Picantos, Hyundai Getzs. After all, their target is young females/first-time car buyers. Think even MYVI green would've garnered a few fans. And how do they justify the price? No skirting, just leather seats which is unsuitable in this weather, methinks. Is it that difficult to offer a few colour options? Personally, think a royal purple/ deep green version would've suited the Imago name.

• king (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 10:23 am

definately just a marketing gimmick to clear stock of the slow selling kelisa due to their own competitive product – myvi….definately not a facelift -they lifted nothing except the price!!!!!

i bet next in line would be kenari imago? WTF

we are not children!! but there will still be gullible ppl falling prey to these marketing gimmicks……so

potong should learn a thing or two fr P2 to clear their waja stock too maybe call waja superimago with 3 different colours in 1 …ahaahhahahh

• OpTiMuS (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:31 am

hmmm….the price is lifted allrite..notin much is done to it…

i prefer the kelisa limited edition….at least it resembles a mini abit…

• NR Calvin (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:18 am

give cash discount 5k will promote sales better.

• loveablelittlerascal (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Guys,

You remember how Air Aisa put MAS in the red? They it possible for everyone to fly free (of course, terms and codition applies). And then we all have to bear the losses.

So how about, Perodua offering the new silver or green or whatever colour for RM12.59 per car unit? Mmmm,… and now, 'everyone can drive'. No license? Get kopi lah!

Chow. So much fun to be irritating like this.

Cool site. Keep it up!

Chris.

• ntasha1227 (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 10:56 am

hello hello hello…….. discuss nicely la guys, why all the kutuk2 stuff ni???? ish ish ish.. it's up to anybody wants to drive any car, got money what! sukati la nak pakai kereta apa pun. your money your choice, ok.