NAP After-Effects: Proton to reduce prices

Proton M.D. Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir told press today that Proton would be reducing the prices of it’s cars across the board by 2% to 5%. Proton also aims to increase it’s local market share from 41.4% currently to 45.8% by the end of the financial year March 31 2007.

The new prices will see cars like Waja 1.6 Campro (A) being sold at RM60,700, Perdana V6 at RM106,888, Gen2 1.6 (A) at RM55,641 and the Proton Savvy 1.2 at RM42,916.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak also said today that the government was developing a new set of policies consistent with World Trade Organisation rules and regulations to continue supporting Proton. However he said Proton cannot expect to operate in a shielded environment forever and must undertake internal measures to improve the company’s competitiveness in the increasingly open market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theyein (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:08 am

It's been said so many times before. It's not Proton per-se that they are protecting, it's their own pride and interests that lie with the local vendors to Proton. I can imagine that, unshackled, Proton would be much better off then where it is today.

• jx (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:13 am

Well if they lower their prices i think it will be an extremely good step. All I can say is good luck Proton.

Anyone knows what will the price of gen.2 1.3 be after the price drop (if the price does really go down). Quite interested in trading in my wira 1.5 auto 2003 for a gen.2 1.3. Petrol consumption should be lower than the wira isn't it? Now a new gen.2 1.3 is RM 49,XXX. How much will it be after the drop?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:33 am

dont buy yet wait until they really bring down the price , like the P20Y promo everybody want to buy also can, but if you looking for better fuel consumption it will be the City. and one more thing if you buy cars that have high second hand value you will be happier with the car.after 5-7 years the value still good enough for your new car down payment and still the car in very good condition to drive you around.

gen2 actually very high consumption full tank now about RM70 but I can see the fuel amount decrease drastically, the mileage meter read full tank for 400km++ but only for constant driving 90km/highway. and my female colleague not driving that fast, but from Dsara Utama to Perodua in Rawang the car quite thirsty.this is g2 1.6 I yet to try the g2 1.3

• jet (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:36 am

yeah, they're not protecting proton really…no shame kah? using proton as sacrificial lamb; proton should be free to source out better parts elsewhere!

• kody (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:36 am

Wahlaueh…

JX bro, after prices reduce also no point… GEN 2, such heavy car (heavier than WAJA), do you think GEN 2, 1.3 will save much fuel?? no VVTi, VVT… heavy body, low performance…. can it really save fuel, just think about it. 49k better go for MYVI, worth for waiting, man. less problem than u can enjoy the driving.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:51 am

"Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak also said today that the government was developing a new set of policies consistent with World Trade Organisation rules and regulations to continue supporting Proton."

COMMENTS: WHAT A NEW SET OF POLICIES – IS IT MEANS OUR JUST ANNOUNCED NAP WILL BE SCRAP! CAN NEW POLICIES HELP PROTON, PROTON SURVIVAL IS NOT LIMITED TO DOMESTIC MARKET?

Do our government still believe in policies can help Proton? But at the same time equally ignoring the market forces?

"However he said Proton cannot expect to operate in a shielded environment forever and must undertake internal measures to improve the company’s competitiveness in the increasingly open market."

COMMENTS: ON INTERNATIONAL AND OPEN MARKET! LOOK AT HOW WORLD CLASS PLAYERS LIKE TOYOTA AND MECERDES BENZ ACCOMPLISHMENT COMPARE TO LOCAL JOKER'S PROTON PERFORMANCE. BELOW IS SIMPLE FINANCIAL COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS: –

Below is brief summary of comparison for 2004 operation among Daimler-Chrysler Group (2004), Toyota Motor Corporation, Fiscal Year to March 04 (Revenues – Â¥ 17,294,760 Millions, Net Income – Â¥ 1,162,098 Millions) and Proton Holdings Bhd, Year 2004 (Revenue – RM 6,362.1 Billion, Net Income – RM 510.3 Million).

DaimlerChrysler – USD 192,319 M (Revenue), 3,338 M (Net Income), 4,702,354 (Sales Volume), USD 4,702,354 (R & D expenditure)

Toyota – USD 147,021 M (Revenue), 9,879 M (Net Income), 6,719,000 (Sales Volume)

Proton – USD 1,670 M (Revenue), 134 M (Net Income), 168,603 (Sales Volume)

Note: Brief summary for Daimler-Chrysler, Toyota and Proton operation results (2004). Total for Proton (year 2004) sales volume including passenger and commercial (e.g. Juara – 958 units and Arena – 812 units) vehicles.

For Proton to be on par with world-class players, the following are comparisons with DaimlerChrysler Group and Toyota Motor Corporation based on Year 2004 performance: –

1. Proton turnover of USD 1,670 Millions required approximately 115 and 88 years revenues respectively to match Daimler-Chrysler and Toyota in their single year of operation! Even Daimler-Chrysler’s R & D expenditure is approximately 4.6 time Proton’s revenue!

2. Proton “pittance” net income of USD 134 Millions (USD 435 Millions loss in “open market”) required approximately 25 and 74 years net profits respectively to match Daimler-Chrysler and Toyota in their single year of operation! If operate in open market, then Proton all the time considered to be on the way out since its inception!

3. Proton needed approximately 28 and 40 years sales volume respectively to match Daimler-Chrysler and Toyota in their single year of operation! Toyota sales achieve 7,408 Millions vehicles in 2005. At same period, Proton’s sales expected to be plummeting!

This limited 3 basic financial criterion comparison already shown Proton performance is “disgrace”. If weigh against “anything and everything comparable”, or the above analysis is based on “Apple to Apple” comparison, there are strong indications that: –

1. The World-Class player like American producing best quality, juicy and reddish “WASHINGTON APPLES”.

2. Japanese have a long tradition of cultivating crunchy, bountiful and golden delicious “FUJI APPLES”.

3. Finally the “Local-Class Joker” is Proton (not Malaysian) merely reproduced unwanted “BAD/ROTTEN APPLES”.

So what we can expect from Proton? There are too many and varies bombardment and avanlanche of tsunami outburst from the big mouth of Proton about its survival, which include but not necessary limited to expecting government to formulate policy or policies (as it is an "illusion" it can apply and help on oversea market), announcement on partneship/alliances with foreign players, etc. These rich in defiance and bitter recrimination statements with too much lips service but little effort to remedy it own problems (e.g. inferior quality and outdated products) and did not response to market reality (i.e. open policy) will lead to Proton eventual "annihilation".

Fairly to say current Proton dependence on NAP and treat domestic buyers as "capture market" will lead to disgrace demise once Proton operate in open market, as it will face the steely jaw of worldclass players! Proton at that time will joint and become another member of no class "white elephants club of Malaysia".

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 1:57 am

its nothng wrong with protecting national interest la…it hapens every country…local industries get privileged suport,bt the part that doesnt make sence is supporting proton in the same time we all know that suporting thm for all thse yearas didnt help much…noting improved…suporting an almost failed project means ur suporting their low quality products and terrible managment…the G should give an ultimatum to proton , we all luv to see proton do well no doubt about that…bcos its part of us…bt hurts bad wen we feel short changed wen we get a proton car….it shouldnt be like this.shouldnt have been like this a long time ago…the only good news is that thr is stil time to salvage proton , the bad news is that the time is runing out….for the sake of us malaysians and for the sake of our national pride,we hope proton really do wake up….and put the interest of proton number one priority rather than jus few individuals get richer….

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 3:38 am

Finally we heard a little bit good news that price will drop 3-5%. But this 3-5% is peanuts. Nothing will make me too excited…anyway, have to live with it. No more waiting for more good news to come for at least five years. You guys can buy car now, otherwise you will be too old to enjoy driving your dream car…

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 4:15 am

Yeah 3-5% doean't mean anything. For example a waja is cost around RM65K if it drop 5% mean is RM61K+. If you afford to buy a waja then 4K i don't think mean much lor.

Wonder what the price for the Toyota. Toyota now on hold for the launch of the Yaris. Suppose to be launch at around RM105K but i think now they need to revise the price.

• stevarac (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 6:44 am

Shit ,

Just took delivery of my Savvy AMT yesterday. Wonder any reimbursement.

And yes , Proton still maintain their " high standard ". The central locking

stopped functioning today.

My long ordeal to Proton SC begins……….

The funny thing thing is I don't get that agitated anymore. Not like when I blew my top off when I had problems with my new Iswara , new Wira , new Waja and now this Savvy.

Finally , Syed Zainal in reading >> Wake up. Hari sulah malam. You will be damn lucky if proton share market don't shrink to peanut size . Maybe Proton should start producing those RC car instead….cantik ???

• lance (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:02 am

stevarac,

Sorry to hear about your "new" problems with a model from Proton.

Suggest you write about your new Savvy experience at http://www.consumer.com.my

Good luck!

:D

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:38 am

stevarac, I would sure like to hear more of your Savvy from time to time. Since it's hard to find a proud owner to condemn their own. Not to bash or just condemn or anything. But perhaps, we could have an insight of what really goes on in 'my first Lotus' of Proton.

I do hate the 'too much protection' that they (those people) recieve from the G. But I do want Proton to survive and produce the real high standard and high quality car. How can they claim to carry national pride when nobody is proud of them?

Perhaps it is time they should really listen to us (the majority) and start phasing out those 'parasites' that has been eating them inside out. Otherwise, they won't live to see 2010.

Wether it's 2% or 5% drop of Proton car prices, I'll still wait for the CKD New Civic! :D

• OpTiMuS (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 8:24 am

after so many years…proton is still a baby to the gov…

cant even walk on its own yet!!!!must have protection from others…wtf man…

let them stand on their on 2 feet la….if not how to progress???

• stevarac (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 8:47 am

Lance ,

If it is only the central locking that is problematic , it is still acceptable to me. Compare to my previous experience this is nothing.

As for aksMs ,

Don't get me wrong . I am not condemnming my brand new " savvy ". It is actually my wife's baby. That was the only way of getting back my Waja instead of driving her Kancil. I just have to take care of the downpayment , installment , petrol ( again shit ), insurance , road tax and car wash.

Overall , I am quite impressed with this Lotus " infant ". The handling and comfortable drive is the selling point.

I am now hoping for the reliabilty aspect to please me.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:25 pm

Nothing to be excited about, it is really peanut if one is paying a 9 years loan…

G decided to continue supporting proton, I do not have power to decide how garmen to waste tax payers' money anyway. But I do have the consumer right to decide not to buy a low quality product.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:46 pm

stevarac.. i almost booked myself a savvy.. but lucky i didnt.. why??.. bcoz i think proton use its customers as test subjects.. they sell it & let us test it for them.. just like gen2.. after that, they'll improve time to time.. they can save for R&D.. but they dont know, stupid problems like yours will eradicate our trust to proton.. they just never learned & what they know asking for more protection.. & worse they claim they have good products… i just dont understand them.. like people from tg rambutan doing bisnes…

ps: new ads for gen2.. 17km/L??

• stevarac (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:30 pm

Well ,just came back from the SC. It seemed to be the parts problem again.

The central locking control module has short circuit.

It is OK now & I hope it stays that way.

motorhead , I think you should just go ahead with your booking. Don't let my tiny problem scares you off. It is a very nice & fun car actually .

First thing this syed zainal need to do is review the existing parts vendor contract. To do that , he must over turn all the tables in proton to ensure there is nothing going on under it. To clean or sweep up the mess in proton , he should start from under the tables.

• Hilmax (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 8:30 pm

They cut the price, great but the engine still in R&D. I sure if CPS and VIM integrated the engine will boost consumer interest. Also for engineer i think they are not stupid to make all the loose 'part'. But all this political figure has mess up all their planing by using cheap 'part' to make more $$$. Surely only ABNORMAL people creating such junk. But eventhough they reduced the price, their car did not have safety device such as airbag or ABS.It quality also not as "quality" they promote on comersial TUV. This is cannot accepted by us, rakyat coz if we are in 90s, this is acceptable(dun thinks by major) but this is new millennium ma. All car now has airbag and ABS nowday. I be surprised if P1 put airbag and ABS in car with reduced price. But it think this is impossible la….

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:18 pm

ok stevarac my fren.. but not now la.. give sometime 1st.. i salute savvy's solid body, really tough indeed.. not like my kancils body plate.. so soft.. let poton solve small2 poblem like yours 1st.. i really like savvy front look.. so macho la.. the lamps so bright oso… i hope there will be savvy sedan version… i ve a kid la.. want more space… i want her to play around at back seat…

i heard from 1 ex poton boy.. actually poton cars r ok.. but parts poblem la.. vendors not so ok..but not 100% their fault.. big crocodiles inside poton always ask komisen from each parts.. so the vendors susah oso.. poton officials know this poblems & they r trying to solve it. they'll need to review the purchasing procedures….. they need to doit quick…

• Hilmax (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 2:35 am

Well said motorhead,People should make THIS BIG CROCCODILES masak "sup",BBQ or something similar because THIS BIG CROCODILES THAT EATS OUR MONEY.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 6:14 am

stevarac said,

"To clean or sweep up the mess in proton , he should start from under the tables".

There's no doubt Syed Zainal got a big task at hand. To actually clean up all the mess is not that easy. I'm sure a lot of people 'inside' will 'panas bontot'. They must overhaul Proton to the root. From the top management to the ground level. Re-asses the suppliers and the vendors, opt for the best quality. If they produce luxury class quality and reliability, I think many Malaysian will support them all out.

• darlingelle (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 8:29 am

proton has announced their new prices. check them out at http://www.proton.com/about_proton/press/full_det…

steverac – a colleague of mine also had some problems with the alarm the day it was collected. rectified the problem the very next day, but his was the savvy manual, the first few batches, so i assume things are getting a little bit better now i guess… hope you and your wife have fun driving the savvy…

btw… the savvy r3 is already in the market (check out www.proton-edar.com.my) … any comments about this?

• Paul Tan on Mar 26, 2006 at 11:57 am

that is not the savvy r3, that is just the zerokit only. bodykit.

• super33 (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 11:58 am

Check this ladies & gentlement..it was not bad too….. keke

• theyein (Member) on Mar 29, 2006 at 1:48 am

aksMs said: "If they produce luxury class quality and reliability, I think many Malaysian will support them all out."

That's a bit ridiculous. Luxury class cars, malaysians wouldn't be able to afford. And Proton would still not sell enough cars to make money.